Help me choose laptop, Thinkpad T14s or P14s

TSnampaknyahebat
post Mar 16 2024, 02:10 AM, updated 2y ago

76 posts

So I have been wanting to buy a new laptop and Lenovo has some deals on its website now with some vouchers and also student discounts. I am really in a dilemma to choose between these two laptops.

Both are configured with
AMD 7840U
32GB RAM
1TB SSD storage
1920x1200 400nits, 100% sRGB screen

T14s - RM5.6k (RM50 added for external monitor, FHD 24inch 100Hz)
P14s - RM5.4k (RM1 added for external monitor, QHD 24inch 60Hz)

Now the question comes, which one should I choose? I have read through tons of review. The T14s has better build, thinner and lighter, larger battery than P14s. P14s has better performance due to better thermal.

Since I am studying Electrical Engineering, I will be using Microsoft Office, some CAD software and also connected to the monitor most of the time at my dorm, with some occasion of bringing the laptop to class or meeting with my lecturer.

Does the RM200 difference justify going for a more expensive T14s or save it for P14s? Thank you!

RT8081
post Mar 16 2024, 02:24 AM

355 posts

If you are always mobile, get T14s as you won't regret getting a lighter spec.

There isn't much difference between both which you will see unless P uses discrete GPU.

But take note that T14s has fixed memory, so make sure to max Ur memory before purchasing. Default is 8gb I think

P on the other hand is more suited as desktop replacement.

This post has been edited by RT8081: Mar 16 2024, 02:36 AM
WH4CockcooBird
post Mar 16 2024, 09:14 AM

194 posts

T and X series were IBM's flagship, own design. Other series are kinda semi OEM'ed. Lenovo maintained this trend after buying out PC division from IBM.

In short, T is far more superior than P you are looking at. I would go for T for long run.

For external monitor, go for minimum 27" QHD if you are into serious work, preferably with USB C so hook up to your laptop for charging and display.
ktek
post Mar 16 2024, 10:00 AM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

2d cad rite. not using gpu much
avoidz amd for lappy
ktek
post Mar 16 2024, 10:01 AM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

gashout
post Mar 16 2024, 10:19 AM

⭐ My stars are growing ⭐
5,741 posts

T for me, next heard of P
funnyTONE
post Mar 16 2024, 10:22 AM

certified /k/ oldfag
2,949 posts

I'm only familiar with T series.
Its basically their business laptop model.
No fancy gaming design.
Traditional old IBM features like the red nipple.
And if I remember, the body itself is makde of something like plastic magnesium material, but definitely not cheap plastic. Best thing I love about lenovo laptop is the keyboard is really comfy to type. Again, I don't know what the P series stand for, but given the choice, I'd still go for the T series.
malz89
post Mar 16 2024, 10:24 AM

1,139 posts

I am a P14s gen 2 user .. both are the same actually, maybe T is slimmer, so the cooling is not as good as P series.

Unfortunately, the one thing I dislike about my laptop is its battery capacity. It would usually last me 4h at most without a charger, and I don't use heavy task stuffs .. if you don't mind carrying a charger, either is fine .. else try to get those with bigger battery capacity, which I moved to apple
WH4CockcooBird
post Mar 16 2024, 11:10 AM

194 posts

QUOTE(funnyTONE @ Mar 16 2024, 10:22 AM)
I'm only familiar with T series.
Its basically their business laptop model.
No fancy gaming design.
Traditional old IBM features like the red nipple.
And if I remember, the body itself is makde of something like plastic magnesium material, but definitely not cheap plastic. Best thing I love about lenovo laptop is the keyboard is really comfy to type. Again, I don't know what the P series stand for, but given the choice, I'd still go for the T series.
My guess... P for Peasant series (sic), use cheap materials overall and plenty cutting corners.

T is more suitable for long run, everything feels "right" when you use it.

Ahbutthen, if you haven't experience enough varieties you won't know the diff lah
cempedaklife
post Mar 16 2024, 11:22 AM

Master Decoy
4,357 posts

Whatever you choose, given the difference is only 200, take that out of consideration and focus on the spec and build instead.
acbc
post Mar 16 2024, 11:34 AM

9,048 posts

For CAD, take the P series. It is built for mostly 2D work.
Lembu Goreng
post Mar 16 2024, 11:40 AM

1,129 posts

T

Imbi Plaza Lot 1.28
post Mar 16 2024, 11:47 AM

187 posts

P14s, is more suitable for your usages.
myasiahobby
post Mar 16 2024, 12:10 PM

693 posts

Choose the most expensive one
jibpek
post Mar 16 2024, 12:16 PM

708 posts

Get yourself a Legion, you will appreciate the extra juice when you need it.
Chanwsan
post Mar 16 2024, 01:12 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

T for Terminator, P for Pandan

Jk. T usually more compact yet rugged. And unless your CAD simulations are super complex and demanding, I'm not sure why you would be worried about thermals. If budget is not a concern, go for the T model
Chanwsan
post Mar 16 2024, 01:14 PM

सोहम
1,406 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Mar 16 2024, 10:00 AM)
2d cad rite. not using gpu much
avoidz amd for lappy
Why avoid AMD for laptop? It has been serving me very well so far

I hope it's not the retarded AMD inefficient prone to overheating bullshit
ktek
post Mar 16 2024, 01:17 PM

小喇叭
13,208 posts

rely to shared ram. cannot increase or reduce
MrBaba
post Mar 16 2024, 04:14 PM

2,506 posts

5k lappy without GC biar betik . Pretty sure Asus or Lenovo have similar spec at way low budget .
jojolicia
post Mar 16 2024, 05:18 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(nampaknyahebat @ Mar 16 2024, 02:10 AM)
So I have been wanting to buy a new laptop and Lenovo has some deals on its website now with some vouchers and also student discounts. I am really in a dilemma to choose between these two laptops.

Both are configured with
AMD 7840U
32GB RAM
1TB SSD storage
1920x1200 400nits, 100% sRGB screen

T14s - RM5.6k (RM50 added for external monitor, FHD 24inch 100Hz)
P14s - RM5.4k (RM1 added for external monitor, QHD 24inch 60Hz)

Now the question comes, which one should I choose? I have read through tons of review. The T14s has better build, thinner and lighter, larger battery than P14s. P14s has better performance due to better thermal.

Since I am studying Electrical Engineering, I will be using Microsoft Office, some CAD software and also connected to the monitor most of the time at my dorm, with some occasion of bringing the laptop to class or meeting with my lecturer.

Does the RM200 difference justify going for a more expensive T14s or save it for P14s? Thank you!
For CAD user why not consider E16 (bigger screen) with numeric keypad? That was my consideration

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Mar 16 2024, 05:20 PM

0.0211sec    0.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 09:29 PM