Chat Bank Negara requirement makes people waste money

TSAlternate Gabriel
post Mar 2 2024, 08:50 PM, updated 2y ago

158 posts

Bank Negara Malaysia requirement on using phone for mobile banking app authorisation is making people waste money on unnecessary phone upgrade. doh.gif

I have a backup phone that still functioning well, no scratch and damaged since I'm not frequently used it. Now the phone cannot be used for mobile banking authorisation since the requirement is you need to use Android 11.

In other countries no such nonsense that being applied to their citizen.

Just because certain "STUPID MALAYSIAN" that keep download bullshit apps on their phone and keep being scammed due to their fault, now the whole Malaysian need to face the consequences thanks to the idiots that don't know how to use their phone properly. ranting.gif shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by Alternate Gabriel: Mar 2 2024, 08:51 PM
oRoXoRo
post Mar 2 2024, 08:52 PM

Level 1 Audiophile
1,630 posts

which countries not affected?
Roadwarrior1337
post Mar 2 2024, 08:54 PM

979 posts

It’s called security. Old phones no longer get patches and back door can be exploited. Simple as that

This post has been edited by Roadwarrior1337: Mar 2 2024, 08:54 PM
SUSrtk74
post Mar 2 2024, 08:56 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

RtK b40 also need to upgrade phone..
Will be doing it in coming months so can claim tax

Waiting for poco f6

ListenToTheWind
post Mar 2 2024, 08:57 PM

453 posts

Unker agree, much nonsense SOP.

Last week Maxis gip another fon. Unker switch over, suddenly Secure2U no longer work.

Bank say "oh, you change fon ah? You need to go ATM reactive your secure2u"

Cibai
acbc

9,050 posts

Waste 600-1000 for new phone with latest OS or risk losing entire life savings? Pick one.
GOPI56

1,495 posts

When kena hack and money lost from account they cry father mother…

When check found out that customer is still using old phone with the operating system is not up to date. Have vulnerabilities.
g5sim
post Mar 2 2024, 08:58 PM

5,756 posts

QUOTE(ListenToTheWind @ Mar 2 2024, 08:57 PM)

Last week Maxis gip another fon. Unker switch over, suddenly Secure2U no longer work.

Cibai
I agree as well. Cibai!
TSAlternate Gabriel
post Mar 2 2024, 09:02 PM

158 posts

Cibai
Yep, if use Maybank, need to go atm to reactivate at ATM, then have to wait for cooling period for 12-18 hours.

While other banks still can do it via phone. No need going to ATM.

But to be honest, it's not making the mobile banking experience getting easier, but creating more inconvenience to other users.

TSAlternate Gabriel
post Mar 2 2024, 09:04 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 2 2024, 08:57 PM)
Waste 600-1000 for new phone with latest OS or risk losing entire life savings? Pick one.
QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Mar 2 2024, 08:57 PM)
When kena hack and money lost from account they cry father mother…

When check found out that customer is still using old phone with the operating system is not up to date. Have vulnerabilities.
I don't play games, I don't surf nonsense on my phone.

I have other devices that I used to play games or do other nonsense things.

acbc
post Mar 2 2024, 09:07 PM

9,050 posts

Cibai
Maybank problem. Other banks can verify using the new phone.
imkevin2022

56 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Mar 2 2024, 08:50 PM)
Bank Negara Malaysia requirement on using phone for mobile banking app authorisation is making people waste money on unnecessary phone upgrade.  doh.gif

I have a backup phone that still functioning well, no scratch and damaged since I'm not frequently used it. Now the phone cannot be used for mobile banking authorisation since the requirement is you need to use Android 11.

Just because certain "STUPID MALAYSIAN" that keep download bullshit apps on their phone and keep being scammed due to their fault, now the whole Malaysian need to face the consequences thanks to the idiots that don't know how to use their phone properly. ranting.gif  shakehead.gif
It is Bank Negara Malaysia (BNM), you should go and talk to them, not here in /k.
diffyhelman2

863 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Mar 2 2024, 09:02 PM)
Yep, if use Maybank, need to go atm to reactivate at ATM, then have to wait for cooling period for 12-18 hours.

While other banks still can do it via phone. No need going to ATM.

But to be honest, it's not making the mobile banking experience getting easier, but creating more inconvenience to other users.
Too many get scammed. Some inconvenience in return for more security is worth it
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 09:09 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Mar 2 2024, 08:58 PM)
I agree as well. Cibai!
you are so rude. Anyway, since you can't accept the online banking, you should stay at cash & ATM, no need to use app transfer. with that, your problem solved.
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 09:09 PM

1,036 posts

Miss the good old days when you had SMS TAC only. Life was so simple.
alexkos
post Mar 2 2024, 09:10 PM

2,275 posts

custom rom kan ade
Rusty Nail

Why am I still here?
4,883 posts

I demand banking app for my 3310
Oh wait
TSAlternate Gabriel

158 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 09:09 PM)
Agreed on this. thumbup.gif

No bullshit. Just straight forward.
ticke
post Mar 2 2024, 09:15 PM

****E***y*u***i***@**
1,682 posts

Bank Negara Malaysia requirement on using phone for mobile banking app authorisation is making people waste money on unnecessary phone upgrade.  doh.gif

Just because certain "STUPID MALAYSIAN" that keep download bullshit apps on their phone and keep being scammed due to their fault, now the whole Malaysian need to face the consequences thanks to the idiots that don't know how to use their phone properly. ranting.gif  shakehead.gif
china phone cheap2. kenot brain ts at all
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 09:19 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 2 2024, 09:07 PM)
Maybank problem. Other banks can verify using the new phone.
other banks like what? pbb also cannot whistling.gif
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 09:20 PM

56 posts

good old days online banking no need SMS TAC.
AfraidIGotBan
post Mar 2 2024, 09:27 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 2 2024, 12:57 PM)
Knowing the Malaysian style, they'll go to another extreme.

Not changing new phone, download some APK to cover the requirement of getting the bank account to work on that random APK they downloaded and installed and LCLY kat orang lain says you guys newb la, buy new phone only can use bank apps, look at me this that.

Later Michael Cheong cry fadermader coz kena scam lose 10k.
TaylorS8
post Mar 2 2024, 09:27 PM

72 posts

Many stupid ppl give their OTP to other ppl (especially stranger, officer). Stranger told them to download APK then they follow their instructions to download and install.
Banking SMS, App said never disclosed the OTP but they still so stupid.
When OTP is disclosure all money will be gone!
Avangelice
post Mar 2 2024, 09:28 PM

5,274 posts

Just wait when your phone kena hack because Samsung or Apple decided to stop security firmware updates and hackers managed to drain your bank accounts. You are those type kena hack then cry why the banks didn't do anything?
Hobbez
post Mar 2 2024, 09:29 PM

1,235 posts

Malaysia have the highest number of skyscrapers in South East Asia. Did uoll know that?

Malaysia ke arah kuasa MAJU...

Kekw

This post has been edited by Hobbez: Mar 2 2024, 09:29 PM
acbc
post Mar 2 2024, 09:30 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:19 PM)
other banks like what? pbb also cannot  whistling.gif
CIMB
GX
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 09:30 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:20 PM)
It's ok to have 2 step authentication, i agree with this policy for security (just having password is not enough). But the method the bank negara uses requiring you to spend rm500-rm1000 for an up to date model android phone a bit too much la
diffyhelman2
post Mar 2 2024, 09:32 PM

863 posts

QUOTE(Alternate Gabriel @ Mar 2 2024, 09:10 PM)
Agreed on this. thumbup.gif

No bullshit. Just straight forward.
Sms is so insecure. Might as well not have 2 factors like that.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/SIM_swap_scam

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:20 PM)
Those days when everyone use 123456 as their pw?
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 09:33 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 2 2024, 09:30 PM)
CIMB
GX
only 1 example, gx not a real bank. welp, it's 2 vs 1 biggrin.gif
TaylorS8
post Mar 2 2024, 09:34 PM

72 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 09:30 PM)
It's ok to have 2 step authentication, i agree with this policy for security (just having password is not enough). But the method the bank negara uses requiring you to spend rm500-rm1000 for an up to date model android phone a bit too much la
Yes, It is 2FA. Next time might need 3FA
ray123
post Mar 2 2024, 09:43 PM

Senior Citizen
2,510 posts

Look at your bank app's requirement. Maybank's MAE for example requires Android 9 which was release in 2018. Getting a phone from that year and above should be relatively cheap.
AfraidIGotBan
post Mar 2 2024, 09:45 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Mar 2 2024, 01:32 PM)

Wife give me her card and mader card to withdraw from atm. Password is 000000. Both card. Lel.
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 09:48 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ Mar 2 2024, 09:45 PM)
Wife give me her card and mader card to withdraw from atm. Password is 000000. Both card. Lel.
china already progressed to facial recognition payment terminals. Of course there might be a case where someone can dupe your face, otherwise it can be the safest form of biometrics/password smile.gif
TruboXL
post Mar 2 2024, 09:49 PM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

If still got news come out scam money really a wasted move
acbc
post Mar 2 2024, 09:50 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:33 PM)
only 1 example, gx not a real bank. welp, it's 2 vs 1  biggrin.gif
GX is real la.

Digital bank no need physical branches.
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 09:51 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(TruboXL @ Mar 2 2024, 09:49 PM)
If still got news come out scam money really a wasted move
2FA can never protect you from scams, it only protects you from hacking. Scamming is a social issue, not a technology issue whistling.gif
munak991
post Mar 2 2024, 09:52 PM

ZONIC!
2,746 posts

Phone is cheaper than ur bank account kena hack yo
accordvtec
post Mar 2 2024, 09:52 PM

107 posts

you would never know you could be the stupid one. this is a blanket step to try curb scam
AfraidIGotBan
post Mar 2 2024, 10:00 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 01:48 PM)
china already progressed to facial recognition payment terminals. Of course there might be a case where someone can dupe your face, otherwise it can be the safest form of biometrics/password smile.gif
Indeed. Atcherlee the facial recog is quite efficient in some way.

If kantoi issue, as long your darn face on the record, you wont be blocked from any access and can straight pass without further dispute. Tak machiam card or ticket or whatever, dispute until no tomorrow.

Also, many might see it as easy to godam system, but there, the system already perfected to the point just qr-code it, where also accessible as long you got balance in the account. Damn convenient. My wife go spa with her phone QR code open.

Miss you want mask for 199? scan.
Miss you want deep exfoliate for 199? scan.
Miss I can rub your tofu for 99. Scan.
Miss my bebird gatal need medicine. Scan.

Not even need to reach to whatever lapsap pocket this that open apps transaction this that. Even dispute immediately can settle menyetel (as long you're on the right side la of coz)
AfraidIGotBan
post Mar 2 2024, 10:01 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(munak991 @ Mar 2 2024, 01:52 PM)
Phone is cheaper than ur bank account kena hack yo
Not that case if your bank balance is more kering than your phone's internal SSD space.
AfraidIGotBan
post Mar 2 2024, 10:02 PM

246 posts

QUOTE(accordvtec @ Mar 2 2024, 01:52 PM)
you would never know you could be the stupid one. this is a blanket step to try curb scam
Bit true. Once the blanket spreaded, you wont even know until you got hit.

Only the notification will inform you that you kena godam liao.

End of day, still sendiri careful is most important.
SUS~min~
post Mar 2 2024, 10:02 PM

SUN AND SUMMER!!
1,045 posts

Ts u use affin?
nelson969
post Mar 2 2024, 10:04 PM

322 posts

what u mean other country dont have ?

can give example ?
sonypshomer
post Mar 2 2024, 10:05 PM

1,595 posts

True yesterday was the 1st day of the month where i have to pay bills and shit, mana tau my iporn battery swelling until screen also not responsive. try every steps on youtube for non responsive screen nothing works, Then I tot can just pay bill using computer manatau everything needs phone also for MAE approval. Then i saw old android sony phone, i tot can just transfer simcard,. manatau cannot need android 11, there already wasted hours just to pay bill.

Hiyo anchua? Takkan wanna buy new iphone which at least 6K, terpaksa went to phone repair shop and change battery and OLED screen. Lucky the shop have all spare parts. 10 minutes siap. Damage RM300 oklah now can pay bill.
silverhawk
post Mar 2 2024, 10:16 PM

Eyes on Target
4,956 posts

This is actually BNM following up to date security practices. Which is damn bloody good for a gov agency.

Not sure if the OS version of the device is a requirement set by BNM. Could easily be something advisory, but up to banks to see what version they can cater to.
Ayambetul
post Mar 2 2024, 10:37 PM

336 posts

Smartphone is a scam.

They keep on update the apps and make.your phone brick after 2 years, and no more security patch update for old pong.

U got no choice but to buy new pong
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 10:39 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:33 PM)
only 1 example, gx not a real bank. welp, it's 2 vs 1  biggrin.gif
You need to update with the times. Even your shopee wallet is sort of a bank these days. I can transfer money from my shopee to your "real" bank using duitnow transfer
Ayambetul
post Mar 2 2024, 10:39 PM

336 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 2 2024, 10:16 PM)
This is actually BNM following up to date security practices. Which is damn bloody good for a gov agency.
Not sure if the OS version of the device is a requirement set by BNM. Could easily be something advisory, but up to banks to see what version they can cater to.
The apps developer have to update the apps based on the OS version, so after sometime the updated apps no longer compatible with old OS.
Seawater
post Mar 2 2024, 10:40 PM

Bank negara should mandate all banks must set a locked amount which can only be withdrawn with physical visit. Then security improved without needs to upgrade phone.
lj0000
post Mar 2 2024, 10:41 PM

2,207 posts

Blame 'security researchers'
koja6049

615 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 10:39 PM)
You need to update with the times. Even your shopee wallet is sort of a bank these days. I can transfer money from my shopee to your "real" bank using duitnow transfer
if you treat your shopee wallet as your bank, good luck to you when they bankrupt, not covered by pidm whistling.gif
insan_kamil

164 posts

Agreed. Its like covid. The ones that are affected are so minute in percentage of population but they deployed measures affecting everyone else.

Affin was first to go from my redmi 9s. Maybank and publix still doing ok on there. What a dumb move
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 10:42 PM

56 posts

if that is too much, just skip online banking and go back to physical transaction. no long queue like old days.

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Mar 2 2024, 09:32 PM)

now i still use 123456 as password. never have issue.

compare to TS noob thread, I much more hate those website require us to use complex password. Next time they should use only Apple iPhone with touchID, we just use fingerprint to log in.

This post has been edited by imkevin2022: Mar 2 2024, 10:44 PM
zenoboy111
post Mar 2 2024, 10:42 PM

133 posts

You're the stupid Malaysian.

Play Store also got min requirement to use Android 13 now, and banks need to follow.
Also do you think banks should keep develop using old insecure Android version with security issues with ppl can exploit and possibly take all your money?

You think SMS was secure? If so secure, we would still be using it bodo
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 10:45 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(zenoboy111 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:42 PM)
You're the stupid Malaysian.

Play Store also got min requirement to use Android 13 now, and banks need to follow.
Also do you think banks should keep develop using old insecure Android version with security issues with ppl can exploit and possibly take all your money?

You think SMS was secure? If so secure, we would still be using it bodo
actually they should let Apple iPhone come back with their touchID, then let all people use that. NFC your MyKAD then fingerprint verify.
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 10:45 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:41 PM)
if you treat your shopee wallet as your bank, good luck to you when they bankrupt, not covered by pidm  whistling.gif
Then you should have been clear from beginning you meant pidm insured bank.

But in terms of storing money and transferring, it behaves like a bank. I can even take loan on shopee now too.

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Mar 2 2024, 10:46 PM
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 10:47 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(Ayambetul @ Mar 2 2024, 10:37 PM)
Smartphone is a scam.

They keep on update the apps and make.your phone brick after 2 years, and no more security patch update for old pong.
U got no choice but to buy new pong
you can skip smartphone. nobody force you to use it.
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 10:50 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 10:45 PM)
Then you should have been clear from beginning you meant pidm insured bank.

But in terms of storing money and transferring, it behaves like a bank. I can even take loan on shopee now too.
you don't really understand what is a bank. A bank is different from any financial institution. If you borrow money from ahlong, is ahlong a bank? rclxub.gif
RGRaj
post Mar 2 2024, 10:52 PM

560 posts

Went to RHB, to get queue number oso need to download an app. 🤦‍♂️
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 10:55 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(RGRaj @ Mar 2 2024, 10:52 PM)
never had to do that with rhb because i'm priority, always skip queue brows.gif
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 10:55 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:50 PM)
you don't really understand what is a bank. A bank is different from any financial institution. If you borrow money from ahlong, is ahlong a bank?  rclxub.gif
If it behaves like a bank, yes you can call it a bank. But if you're talking whether it's a bank recognised by bank negara then no. So you gotta be clear what your definition of bank is.

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Mar 2 2024, 10:55 PM
ju146
post Mar 2 2024, 10:58 PM

1,594 posts

See, that's why FI in our country are facing immense roadblock when it comes to security implementation.. I guess bank should just back to every customer mandatory for hardware token, we need to rollback to 20 years ago at least for consumer banking, and let all this customer line to the branch if they refuse to accept the modern world. And of course chargeable for every branch transaction
koja6049
post Mar 2 2024, 10:59 PM

615 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 10:55 PM)
If it behaves like a bank, yes you can call it a bank. But if you're talking whether it's a bank recognised by bank negara then no. So you gotta be clear what your definition of bank is.
bank is not my definition, it is defined by both the dictionary and bank negara as well as world bank whistling.gif
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 11:03 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(koja6049 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:59 PM)
bank is not my definition, it is defined by both the dictionary and bank negara as well as world bank  whistling.gif
So now it's clear you referring to bank's recognised by BNM. That's totally fine. I was referring to basic definition as found in your dictionary.

This post has been edited by jonthebaptist: Mar 2 2024, 11:04 PM
LamboSama
post Mar 2 2024, 11:04 PM

769 posts

Rich people make decisions this is what happen.
They think everyone got new phones yearly.
Spend few hundred to throw away.
This decisions is bad for environment and carbon footprint some more since it creates more electronic waste.
QUOTE(ticke @ Mar 2 2024, 09:15 PM)
china phone cheap2. kenot brain ts at all
K said China phone and android not secure need iPhone.
So having such requirements claim for security yet undermine it cheap phones k security expert say unsecure?

This post has been edited by LamboSama: Mar 2 2024, 11:06 PM
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 11:04 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 2 2024, 10:58 PM)
See, that's why FI in our country are facing immense roadblock when it comes to security implementation.. I guess bank should just back to every customer mandatory for hardware token, we need to rollback to 20 years ago at least for consumer banking, and let all this customer line to the branch if they refuse to accept the modern world. And of course chargeable for every branch transaction
banking in malaysia should go back old days physical transaction only.
ju146
post Mar 2 2024, 11:05 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(silverhawk @ Mar 2 2024, 10:16 PM)
Device version, it is recommended in BNM rmit to comply to OS thst still receive security patches. Many banks are slack in complying to this and they are bucking up.

Anyway, BNM themselves is slack. If they are really proactive looking at all FI app(not jus those newly launch), many would have kantoi thst still supporting android <10 etc
jonthebaptist
post Mar 2 2024, 11:05 PM

1,036 posts

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:04 PM)
I'm pro modernization, but I will not accept total 100% cashless. Cash needs to still be accepted for me personally.
ju146
post Mar 2 2024, 11:06 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:04 PM)
Ya, let's meet at branch or pay your bill at pos office. This must be the good old day we missed lol
h@ksam
post Mar 2 2024, 11:08 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

They want to save on the sms charges
Phoenix_KL
post Mar 2 2024, 11:09 PM

156 posts

new phone rm500
no one say you need to spend rm1k.
Natsukashii
post Mar 2 2024, 11:09 PM

^^
1,084 posts

QUOTE(alexkos @ Mar 2 2024, 09:10 PM)
custom rom kan ade
Many banking apps will not run in custom ROM

Please don't suggest magisk, that thing needs IT savvy person to do it

imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 11:13 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Mar 2 2024, 11:05 PM)
I'm pro modernization, but I will not accept total 100% cashless. Cash needs to still be accepted for me personally.
I didn’t say 100% cashless. But the online transaction have so many problems and costly, bank should just ditch it. Nobody stop TS to use cash.

QUOTE(ju146 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:06 PM)
Ya, let's meet at branch or pay your bill at pos office. This must be the good old day we missed lol
You still can do it now.
ju146
post Mar 2 2024, 11:19 PM

1,594 posts

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:13 PM)
I didn’t say 100% cashless. But the online transaction have so many problems and costly, bank should just ditch it. Nobody stop TS to use cash.
You still can do it now.
Branch wise, they will route you to atm. Maybe exception for elderly or you willing to pay the branch charger or large amount. Other scenarios may apply, case to case basis. BNM do not rule out do and don't on this.

As for pos, it is dying off in the matter of time.
RT8081
post Mar 2 2024, 11:22 PM

355 posts

Cibai
Prob is their communication also like cibai. Worst is PB
TSAlternate Gabriel
post Mar 2 2024, 11:28 PM

158 posts

QUOTE(RGRaj @ Mar 2 2024, 10:52 PM)
I already close RHB account. Stupid bank. During covid time, they make it so hard for cust to come to their branch.

Calling their call centre also really painful.
unknown_2
post Mar 2 2024, 11:48 PM

573 posts

as always, SG does it first, MY follow suites.
3.5x u jilat, when B buat u kutuk.

but i do agree that it's very troublesome.
especially if u drop u lost your phone, phone rosak, or replace phone.
u'll lost on9 banking capability for @ least 12 hours.
not to mentioned all the non standard ways bank imposed to re-activate bck your mobile banking.
imkevin2022
post Mar 2 2024, 11:52 PM

56 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:48 PM)
as always, SG does it first, MY follow suites.
3.5x u jilat, when B buat u kutuk.

but i do agree that it's very troublesome.
especially if u drop u lost your phone, phone rosak, or replace phone.
u'll lost on9 banking capability for @ least 12 hours.
not to mentioned all the non standard ways bank imposed to re-activate bck your mobile banking.
It has been awhile our phone is much more important than our wallet. If we left our phone at home, we will u-turn and drive back home to retrieve it. But if we left our wallet at home, we probably just borrow some money from colleagues if no Apple Pay. That’s why Bank use this particular characteristic to build their identity verification and safety.

This post has been edited by imkevin2022: Mar 2 2024, 11:52 PM
AyamBannedTwice
post Mar 2 2024, 11:54 PM

130 posts

Mybnk mmg pundek lately
U try miss due date one time eventhough u are paymaster
Laju je dia auto deduct
Fck u mybnk.

I already zeroed my account & move to bank islam eventhough the apps so slow
Human Nature
post Mar 2 2024, 11:56 PM

- student of human nature -
26,532 posts

MAE app under maintenance so cannot buy things online
Kadaj
post Mar 2 2024, 11:58 PM

586 posts

Bankers want you to take loan and chase for new phone every 3 years.
Imagine they make all your tv, washing machine stop working every 3 years.
Fuyoo, suck your blood money dry..
imkevin2022
post Mar 3 2024, 12:04 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(Kadaj @ Mar 2 2024, 11:58 PM)
Bankers want you to take loan and chase for new phone every 3 years.
Imagine they make all your tv, washing machine stop working every 3 years.
Fuyoo, suck your blood money dry..
Ini comment yg paling tak masuk akal
jackalyong
post Mar 3 2024, 12:27 AM

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 3 2024, 12:04 AM)
Ini comment yg paling tak masuk akal
what there to surprise? hp printer already monthly subscription. It will be a new norm
imkevin2022
post Mar 3 2024, 12:53 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(jackalyong @ Mar 3 2024, 12:27 AM)
what there to surprise? hp printer already monthly subscription. It will be a new norm
Bank is not seller
faizeq
post Mar 3 2024, 01:08 AM

13 posts

Yang keras kepala sangat nih apsal TS??? Dah lumrah teknology macam tuh nak buat camna.. kang bila semua duit kena curik bising lah pulak takda security...
amir.asyraf
post Mar 3 2024, 01:28 AM

504 posts

SMS OTP is insecure and unsafe

You're the moron here
amir.asyraf
post Mar 3 2024, 01:31 AM

504 posts

Here's another security measure you oldfag would hate, that banks should really implement:

2FA, so when you login with your username and password, you need to get a 6 digit code from your smartphone

Or better yet, completely eliminate passwords and go fully passwordless.

Both need modern phone.

If you can't adapt, go live in a cave.
acbc
post Mar 3 2024, 01:40 AM

9,050 posts

I have a couple of old phones sitting inside my drawer after upgrading to newer phones.

Examples. Moto Z, Moto Z2, Pixel 3A, OnePlus 5, Mi A2 and many more. All working except the Android version is below Android 10 and many bank apps won't even install.

In the end, I upgraded to Nothing 1 with Android 14, OnePlus 7 and OnePlus 7 Pro with Android 12. Good for many years to come. Again, I never buy these phones new. I bought all used from Carousell. Met with the seller on the spot and paid cash.
unknown_2
post Mar 3 2024, 02:30 AM

573 posts

QUOTE(imkevin2022 @ Mar 2 2024, 11:52 PM)
It has been awhile our phone is much more important than our wallet. If we left our phone at home, we will u-turn and drive back home to retrieve it. But if we left our wallet at home, we probably just borrow some money from colleagues if no Apple Pay. That’s why Bank use this particular characteristic to build their identity verification and safety.
phone has bcom important, but we certainly doesn't treat it as important.
ie, we take out phone in public a lot.
we hold it to make calls/msg, sometimes we leave it on the table.
all these exposed to accidental damage, drop, or get rob/stolen.

say our phone cost 3k, will u treat it the same if it was 3k cash on your hand?
will u just hold 3k cash just out it open, waiving it around?
setting it on table?
counting your cash in the toilet when u're doing your business?
dont say 3k, i think 1k also people wont do that.
imkevin2022
post Mar 3 2024, 02:35 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(unknown_2 @ Mar 3 2024, 02:30 AM)
phone has bcom important, but we certainly doesn't treat it as important.
ie, we take out phone in public a lot.
we hold it to make calls/msg, sometimes we leave it on the table.
all these exposed to accidental damage, drop, or get rob/stolen.

say our phone cost 3k, will u treat it the same if it was 3k cash on your hand?
will u just hold 3k cash just out it open, waiving it around?
setting it on table?
counting your cash in the toilet when u're doing your business?
dont say 3k, i think 1k also people wont do that.
I don’t understand your analogy. But it seems like I am driving a 200k car, wearing 100k watch and i will need to much more careful about my properties now. I always just put my watch on table.
Maxieos
post Mar 3 2024, 07:55 PM

3,766 posts

Same situation.Just to pay bill need Android higher version for bank.

If bank so concern on security , allow old phone but require ekyc for every transaction above rm100, done.
Someone from Economic affairs also said ekyc secure.
TNG allow old phone and going to force ekyc https://soyacincau.com/2024/02/29/touch-n-g...he-end-of-2024/

If bank so concern , why not allow apps to set transaction limit a day with ekyc ? like those news get scammed over 10k in few minutes , why bank allow transfer without verification ? doh.gif
If ekyc not working , just use back old method by phone call to verify and if still cannot then walk in to bank give ic and thumbprint.

I am sure a lot had discuss here , but bank never change. shakehead.gif

KingArthurVI
post Mar 3 2024, 08:03 PM

BWOAHHHH
1,127 posts

Imagine if someone has the master key to your door, would you upgrade to new lock technology?
NoNameSoldier
post Mar 3 2024, 08:06 PM

284 posts

The policymakers are already earning lucratively .. Do you really expect they will think on the shoes of the underprivileged ?
JimbeamofNRT
post Mar 23 2024, 02:59 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(amir.asyraf @ Mar 3 2024, 01:31 AM)
Here's another security measure you oldfag would hate, that banks should really implement:

2FA, so when you login with your username and password, you need to get a 6 digit code from your smartphone

Or better yet, completely eliminate passwords and go fully passwordless.

Both need modern phone.

If you can't adapt, go live in a cave.
QUOTE(Maxieos @ Mar 3 2024, 07:55 PM)
Same situation.Just to pay bill need Android higher version for bank.

If bank so concern on security , allow old phone but require ekyc for every transaction above rm100, done.
Someone from Economic affairs also said ekyc secure.
TNG allow old phone and going to force ekyc https://soyacincau.com/2024/02/29/touch-n-g...he-end-of-2024/

If bank so concern  , why not allow apps to set transaction limit a day with ekyc ? like those news get scammed over 10k in few minutes , why bank allow transfer without verification ? doh.gif
If ekyc not working , just use back old method by phone call to verify and if still cannot then walk in to bank give ic and thumbprint.

I am sure a lot had discuss here , but bank never change. shakehead.gif
cimb MY need android 9 and above
while cimb SG need android 8 and above

weird

that just 1 bank

ssh lagging public benk engage need android 10 and above

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Mar 23 2024, 02:59 AM
saigetsu
post Mar 23 2024, 05:51 AM

707 posts

Cibai
Stop complaining la. U dont want to change, dont use mobile app.

Want to use mobile app, of course must have security la.

lyekit
post Mar 15 2025, 08:53 PM

196 posts

When backdoor is exploited and your phone kena hacked, money stolen... then please don't complain to the banks yea. Banks will not entertain you because their apps already has disclaimer. Just invest in newer devices if you frequently uses phone for banking transactions. It's a peace of mind.
lyekit
post Mar 15 2025, 08:55 PM

196 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 3 2024, 01:40 AM)
I have a couple of old phones sitting inside my drawer after upgrading to newer phones.

Examples. Moto Z, Moto Z2, Pixel 3A, OnePlus 5, Mi A2 and many more. All working except the Android version is below Android 10 and many bank apps won't even install.

In the end, I upgraded to Nothing 1 with Android 14, OnePlus 7 and OnePlus 7 Pro with Android 12. Good for many years to come. Again, I never buy these phones new. I bought all used from Carousell. Met with the seller on the spot and paid cash.
How do you know those used phone has not been installed malware before? Just saying...
M2020
post Mar 15 2025, 08:59 PM

80 posts

Even with the latest and greatest still can back door by Pegasus, right?
Stirmling
post Mar 15 2025, 09:04 PM

291 posts

securities purpose lor.
and you can practically get free phones from some telcos already (but with contract)
acbc
post Mar 15 2025, 11:10 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(lyekit @ Mar 15 2025, 08:55 PM)
How do you know those used phone has not been installed malware before? Just saying...
Always hard reset before parting the cash.

Also check for OEM unlocking via Developer Mode. If enabled means the seller already tampered the bootloader.
LuckyBai
post Mar 15 2025, 11:12 PM

426 posts

BNM thinks that the people are earning as high as them so upgrading to a new phone is something the people would do similarly to those working at BNM
lyekit
post Mar 16 2025, 09:28 AM

196 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Mar 15 2025, 11:10 PM)
Always hard reset before parting the cash.

Also check for OEM unlocking via Developer Mode. If enabled means the seller already tampered the bootloader.
These days, hackers are way smarter than this. If can afford, better to get brand new phone.
samftrmd
post Mar 16 2025, 09:37 AM

Interface 2037
1,774 posts

If no use newer phone for security reason, then you will complain not safe pula.
I bought the cheap Samsung phone already android 14 liau

This post has been edited by samftrmd: Mar 16 2025, 09:39 AM
ju146
post Mar 16 2025, 09:51 AM

1,594 posts

You should blame google and apple of not providing security patches perpetually for all OS version.
SUSw19
post Mar 16 2025, 10:08 AM

412 posts

Serious, I also feel like am I stupid because of bank app then change phone n subscribe data!?

I'm not a fancy person, I don't play game, I don't have any network app, I'm not phubbing......I can't ever use up 5GB per month!

World is beautiful! Please use your 5 senses to enjoy it.
GalaxyV
post Mar 16 2025, 10:09 AM

791 posts

because many people kena scam, then have this new policy?
lyekit
post Mar 19 2025, 08:05 PM

196 posts

2 main factors people kena scam. One is the user themselves. Another is using a compromised device(s) such as outdated Android/iOS/Windows. There are people saying banks are still using Windows 7 PC, which maybe is true but don't forget that they have other layers of protections like firewalls and antivirus. Can't say the same for our mobile devices though.
katijar
post Mar 19 2025, 08:39 PM

2,294 posts

Dont use bank

Keep cash under the bed

0.0370sec    0.78    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 03:09 PM