75-77 inch TV Recommendation

TSpodrunner
post Feb 29 2024, 02:47 PM, updated 2y ago

2,214 posts

Hi all, as the topic suggests, am looking to get a 75-77inch TV, not immediately, but around June/ July. Living room quite bright, so am hoping there are anti-glare (or almost) TVs. Have always been watching Panasonic TVs, but will consider Sony and Samsung, or LG. Budget RM20k.
Kahlamx
post Feb 29 2024, 03:12 PM

369 posts

With this budget I am sure you can get the upcoming 2024 flagship models easily. You can look into Samsung S95D (anti glare but still with the one connect box) or LG G4.

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Feb 29 2024, 03:14 PM
TSpodrunner
post Feb 29 2024, 03:17 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Feb 29 2024, 03:12 PM)
With this budget I am sure you can get the upcoming 2024 flagship models easily. You can look into Samsung S95D (anti glare but still with the one connect box) or LG G4.
For this size? I was expecting them to be over RM20k. Don't mind this year's if they are still available as new of course. Thank you.
ZeneticX
post Feb 29 2024, 03:19 PM

stars for what
12,412 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 29 2024, 03:17 PM)
For this size?  I was expecting them to be over RM20k. Don't mind this year's if they are still available as new of course.  Thank you.
June / July you can definitely get 2024 models. S90D should be cheaper than S95D

if not you can try get a S95C or G3 now

This post has been edited by ZeneticX: Feb 29 2024, 03:21 PM
Kahlamx
post Feb 29 2024, 04:46 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 29 2024, 03:17 PM)
For this size?  I was expecting them to be over RM20k. Don't mind this year's if they are still available as new of course.  Thank you.
I saw 77” S95C on Shopee listing for rm19K. But honestly speaking with your budget and you are not in the rush , why not wait and see what’s the upcoming S95D/S90D or G4 will be like then only you decide.

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Feb 29 2024, 03:19 PM)
June / July you can definitely get 2024 models. S90D should be cheaper than S95D

if not you can try get a S95C or G3 now
G4 claims it can hit 3000 nits with MLA+ panel this round

Samsung also says they can match it with 3rd gen QD-OLED panel. interesting to see how it goes this round 😂😂

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Feb 29 2024, 04:46 PM
TSpodrunner
post Feb 29 2024, 10:20 PM

2,214 posts

So basically OLED? I don’t play games, but I enjoy my movies a lot. Used to download Blu-ray content etc, but now mostly Netflix, prime, and apple tv. I do watch the news, but TV never on for more than 5 hours if on the news channels.
panafone
post Mar 1 2024, 12:24 PM

426 posts

I have the Samsung 77" S90C and love it.

More than bright enough for my living room with sliding doors on the left side and curtains open. Not direct sunlight but not dim either. I even had to reduce the brightness cos it was too bright for me out of the box.

I "upgraded" from the Sony a90j and I think the Sony has a better picture but a little dimmer. They're both awesome, but the Sony is better. I miss it sometimes lol.

Sony picture is more pleasing and seems smoother but not like soap opera. Don't know how to describe it, but it's just nicer. YouTube looks better too.

Don't really care for Dolby Vision so I don't miss it on the Samsung.

The sound from the s90c is surprisingly good, loud with good base. But I hook it up to my avr with 5.1 so I don't use it.

S90C small remote controller is not the best. Would have preferred more buttons and no backlight like the Sony. Also hate the operating system on the Samsung. I hook it up to an Nvdia Shield. Sony has Android built in.

All in all, the S90C is good and to my mind it's 90% the capabilities of the much more expensive sony (of the same size).

Bottom line, I think you can't go wrong with any new OLED TV. Plus, it's not like you'll have the "best" TV next to it to show you what you're missing. You'll just enjoy the deep blacks and wonderful picture of your shows.

Not a very technical review I know but hope it helps.
TSpodrunner
post Mar 1 2024, 12:57 PM

2,214 posts

A non-technical review is very helpful, for a non-tech person like me, and for that, many thanks! You're so right about not having another TV next to it for comparison, and at the end of the day, we just want to enjoy the PQ on the content we watch.

I do appreciate all the opinions, at was getting a but overwhelming now, with words I have never even come across back in 2016.

Any reason for the upgrade from A90J to S90C? Just wondering, as Sony seemed, from your opinion, better. Or did you want a bigger screen, as Sony's A90s and A95s are only available in 65" in Malaysia, if I'm not wrong.

QUOTE(panafone @ Mar 1 2024, 12:24 PM)
I have the Samsung 77" S90C and love it.

More than bright enough for my living room with sliding doors on the left side and curtains open. Not direct sunlight but not dim either. I even had to reduce the brightness cos it was too bright for me out of the box.

I "upgraded" from the Sony a90j and I think the Sony has a better picture but a little dimmer. They're both awesome, but the Sony is better. I miss it sometimes lol.

Sony picture is more pleasing and seems smoother but not like soap opera. Don't know how to describe it, but it's just nicer. YouTube looks better too.

Don't really care for Dolby Vision so I don't miss it on the Samsung.

The sound from the s90c is surprisingly good, loud with good base. But I hook it up to my avr with 5.1 so I don't use it.

S90C small remote controller is not the best. Would have preferred more buttons and no backlight like the Sony. Also hate the operating system on the Samsung. I hook it up to an Nvdia Shield. Sony has Android built in.

All in all, the S90C is good and to my mind it's 90% the capabilities of the much more expensive sony (of the same size).

Bottom line, I think you can't go wrong with any new OLED TV. Plus, it's not like you'll have the "best" TV next to it to show you what you're missing. You'll just enjoy the deep blacks and wonderful picture of your shows.

Not a very technical review I know but hope it helps.
This post has been edited by podrunner: Mar 1 2024, 02:04 PM
panafone
post Mar 1 2024, 03:20 PM

426 posts

I upgraded to the s90c when I moved to a new house last year. I wanted to try out the new, supposedly better, QDOLED so I thought, why not?

Also wanted to upgrade to the larger size.

Don't be overwhelmed.

It's really an embarrassment of riches if you ask me.

Any OLED, in my humble opinion, whether it be from Samsung, Sony, or LG will be fantastic. Especially if it's been a few years since your last purchase.

So stick to your budget and enjoy.

Whatever's the best today will be yesterday's news in a few years anyway. Don't worry about it.
Convael
post Mar 1 2024, 03:28 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Feb 29 2024, 04:46 PM)
G4 claims it can hit 3000 nits with MLA+ panel this round

My guess is the peak highlights will be at around at around 1500-2000 nits @ D65.
They've previously claimed the 2nd gen QD OLED can hit 2000 nits as well but it has never reach anywhere close to that .

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 3 2024, 05:35 AM
Convael
post Mar 1 2024, 03:43 PM

1,108 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Feb 29 2024, 10:20 PM)
So basically OLED? I don’t play games, but I enjoy my movies a lot. Used to download Blu-ray content etc, but now mostly Netflix, prime, and apple tv.  I do watch the news, but TV never on for more than 5 hours if on the news channels.
S95C : Waste of money if you are aiming for 77 " , get S90C instead . S95C has better cable management because of the One Connect box but box itself can be quite a disaster.

A95L : Basically S95C with a better motion processing and banding removals. Has custom heatsink installed so image retention ( NOT TO BE CONFUSED WITH BURN IN ) clear away faster.

S90C / S89C : Probably deal of the year , especially if you can find one of the version 2 model which is guaranteed to have a 2nd generation of QD OLED. All 77" S90C have 2nd gen panels.

G3 : Fantastic picture processing , on par ( if not better ) with Sony . If you can't live without Dolby Vision , this is your go-to TV , not A95L because Dolby Vision on A95L is buggy and raised black levels.

Since you are aiming for 77 " , the A95L is out of question . S90C should be your first choice by all means . I can't actually see a scenario where you are getting the other two unless you are really obsessed with Dolby Vision.

This post has been edited by Convael: Mar 1 2024, 03:47 PM
Kahlamx
post Mar 1 2024, 07:02 PM

369 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Mar 1 2024, 03:28 PM)
My guess is the peak highlights will be at around at around 1500-2000 nits when @ D65.
They've previously claimed the 2nd gen QD OLED can hit 2000 nits as well but it has never reach anywhere close to that .
Ya that might be the case for 10% at D65 like you said, the 3000 nits was measured by Vincent on such a small 3% window at a supercool 9000-10000k panel native white point for the Meta 2.0 MLA+.

This post has been edited by Kahlamx: Mar 1 2024, 07:03 PM
AthrunIJ
post Mar 1 2024, 07:06 PM

2,992 posts

With this budget.
OLED and MiniLED from top brands.

Can't go wrong. Just the matter of UI
nles
post Mar 7 2024, 12:17 AM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

With my tight budget, I’m looking at 75” Q80C RM6659 vs X90L RM7110
jimbet1337
post Mar 7 2024, 01:06 PM

meh
2,669 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Mar 7 2024, 12:17 AM)
Hi bro, where to get 75" X90L at RM7110? mind sharing the shop?
nles
post Mar 7 2024, 01:59 PM

♥ It's not about the girl ♥ It's the G-Shock
2,125 posts

QUOTE(jimbet1337 @ Mar 7 2024, 01:06 PM)
Hi bro, where to get 75" X90L at RM7110? mind sharing the shop?
Desa home, I will utilize cash back credit from my previous purchase. The price is 7900 - 790 = 7110. If directly purchase maybe you can negotiate the price with them.
TSpodrunner
post Mar 7 2024, 02:58 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(nles @ Mar 7 2024, 12:17 AM)
Very good reviews for the X90L. If you have time, please come back and share your experience later. Thank you.
TSpodrunner
post Mar 7 2024, 08:44 PM

2,214 posts

QUOTE(panafone @ Mar 1 2024, 03:20 PM)
I upgraded to the s90c when I moved to a new house last year. I wanted to try out the new, supposedly better, QDOLED so I thought, why not?

Also wanted to upgrade to the larger size.

Don't be overwhelmed.

It's really an embarrassment of riches if you ask me.

Any OLED, in my humble opinion, whether it be from Samsung, Sony, or LG will be fantastic. Especially if it's been a few years since your last purchase.

So stick to your budget and enjoy.

Whatever's the best today will be yesterday's news in a few years anyway. Don't worry about it.
Any thoughts on the Sony A80L? Quite drawn to its XR processor, if I understand it correctly.

0.0224sec    0.17    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 01:42 PM