QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 24 2024, 08:26 AM)
naw... education in Malaysia means jack shit for manners / moral/values.
I sure as hell encountered or even personally know many more educated people but act like ah beng ah lian or just generic uncivilized barbarian/ruffian
I personally am a drop out but i work as IT in MNC serving clients regionally (hard for your average ah beng that struggles with English)
it kinda depends on the upbringing and people you surround with more than just education. but that's an entirely different topic than of this thread.
Yeah, I'm with you on this.
Education, going to school is most people first entrance to grow social network.
Especially college when most live in different city/country first time, meet people with different backgrounds/cultures/races.
Working in MNC, working abroad have the same perks. Learn modern universal values, respect each others, and best thing is try every culture's food.
But there is always some weird shabby, put them in different country also the isolate in small corner with few of them from exact same background.
Some of them very smart, professionally training doesn't paint full picture manners/education.
Ok... too far, back to topic one more information for TS.- Target for Ah Beng/Ah Lian yes. White + Red + Ong... works.
- Target for modern kids, very hard.
few examples of what's trending among them.
- No sure you seen DIY mechanical kit watch on kickstarter. Showing off watch they put together themselves = Cool. Most luxury expensive watch = Not really.
- Teapot from a tiny village, the maker is raising fund to rebuild village due to natural disaster, the teapot full of thumbprints of the surviving kids after the disaster = Super Cool. Teapot from master maker from China with most precision crafting = Not really.
- Vegan/Humane leather from Polestar (I think YSL too), where the leather come from cow that already slaughter for their meat. No double killing. If the leather is qualified as "vegan" is debatable, but the latest kids around the block absolutely lovessss this kind of story = Super Cool. Top smooth quality leather from calf = Not really
In summary branded cars, bags thingy no longer attract those people. But their story does. If you notice, all the major luxury bag brands have more and more offering with tiny subtld logos. There are more and more youngsters appreciate the story, the quality, but it is all about individualism. The bag suite me, my taste, it is all about me, not the brand + daily use don't catch too much attention.
If you notice, the traditional cafe/bakery/bak kua shop after taken over by new generation, they start putting banners/ads on the story, like how they discover the coffee beans use, or go around finding coffee bean that give the owner smell of his/her childhood etc...
That's the modern definition of luxury, again the modern civilized youngsters loves them.
Want their business either include top trending pop culture, or build nice story around the car you wanted to rent out... (true or fake ... no one verify LOL)
So wedding car
- Good taste, good choise = Super Cool.
- Wah, expensive car, you buy or your dad car? = Not really
Suzuki Jimny is the easiest example. If the couples are into camping, outdoor lifestyle, even get to know each other during camping. Jimny shows the couples personality, interest, echo with their individual values. Modern luxury not necessary = expensive.
This post has been edited by constant_weight: Feb 25 2024, 09:05 AM