Help Need advice on budget PC

TSPebbie
post Feb 16 2024, 08:34 PM, updated 2y ago

521 posts

Hi sifus,

need advice and sanity check for new PC that i plan to buy around April. 10 years old PC is dying and need a new replacement. no plan to upgrade for at least 5 years, and aim to use it for 10 years. the most heavy task it going to run is gaming at 1080p @ 60FPS.

CPU : AMD 5600 or 5800x3d? Have the budget for 5800x3d, but not sure if it is worth it. Given that i do play 4X game occasionally and going to use this CPU for 10 years.
GPU : AMD 7600. or is there any better value GPU in the market?
Mobo : ASROCK Steel legend b550m. Not sure if this mobo is suitable / durable for my use case.
Ram : 32GB @ 3600. is this suitable? Any brand recommendation?
SSD : 1TB. Any brand recommendation?
Case : Any MATX recommendation?
PSU : thinking of master cooler V650 Gold V2. is this ok?

Welcome any suggestion and quotation for the build.

This post has been edited by Pebbie: Feb 16 2024, 09:14 PM
laksamana
post Feb 16 2024, 08:44 PM

1,356 posts

Looks decent, but already 1-2 generations behind out-of-the-box

You don't really need 64GB RAM, as 32GB will be more than enough (unless you're into some very heavy-duty video / music editing)

Since this is prob a 3.5 - 4k priced build, you might want to consider a i5-14400 with RTX 4060 for around the same price

This post has been edited by laksamana: Feb 16 2024, 08:45 PM
SUSifourtos
post Feb 16 2024, 08:51 PM

2,256 posts

5700x3d
4070 super
16Gb fast ram better than average 32gb

u hardly utilize 32gb with games.

mid tower is best.
matx or ssf for people who hate performance and versatality.
TSPebbie
post Feb 16 2024, 09:00 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Feb 16 2024, 08:44 PM)
Looks decent, but already 1-2 generations behind out-of-the-box

You don't really need 64GB RAM, as 32GB will be more than enough (unless you're into some very heavy-duty video / music editing)

Since this is prob a 3.5 - 4k priced build, you might want to consider a i5-14400 with RTX 4060 for around the same price
yeah, want to keep the ~5k ish budget. noted on the 32gb ram

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Feb 16 2024, 08:51 PM)
5700x3d
4070 super
16Gb fast ram better than average 32gb

u hardly utilize 32gb with games.

mid tower is best.
matx or ssf for people who hate performance and versatality.
any reason for 5700x3d? since 5800x3d is faster.

can you explain on the 16gb faster ram compared to 32gb? since im planning to get 3600mhz ram anyway.
kesvani
post Feb 16 2024, 09:05 PM

955 posts

What you mean by dying actually? Slowing down or randome BSOD
Gargamel_gibson
post Feb 16 2024, 09:10 PM

526 posts

Get AM5 7xxx CPU, don't get AM4 if you want to keep for next ten years. AM4 already EOL no upgrade path left. Few more years you can just sell off CPU and buy new processor to keep for even longer
TSPebbie
post Feb 16 2024, 09:11 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(Gargamel_gibson @ Feb 16 2024, 09:10 PM)
Get AM5 7xxx CPU, don't get AM4 if you want to keep for next ten years. AM4 already EOL no upgrade path left. Few more years you can just sell off CPU and buy new processor to keep for even longer
Considered that. but not willing to pay AM5 premium when i have no plan to touch on the parts for next 10 years anyway. next PC is probably EOL AM6 system.

QUOTE(kesvani @ Feb 16 2024, 09:05 PM)
What you mean by dying actually? Slowing down or randome BSOD
random freeze, reboot loop, overall sucky performance with intel 4460 + gtx 750 + 8gb ram.

might as well get a new pc right? when i need to replace the big 3 to keep up with new game.

This post has been edited by Pebbie: Feb 16 2024, 09:13 PM
SUSifourtos
post Feb 16 2024, 09:15 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 16 2024, 09:00 PM)

can you explain on the 16gb faster ram compared to 32gb? since im planning to get 3600mhz ram anyway.
price nearly 15% higher
but almost same speed in most game.

especially u use tier 2 GPU at high reso.

Most game DO NOT see any benefit frm 16 to 32GB increased
u wasted.
But fastest 16GB sure faster than average 32GB ram at lower price.

3600mhz is slow
especially for Ryzen.

if ur main usage is gaming

5800x3d is overkill
7600 is rubbish
32GB ram is wasted.

6800 used is farrr better than 7600 at same price

kesvani
post Feb 16 2024, 09:21 PM

955 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 16 2024, 09:11 PM)
Considered that. but not willing to pay AM5 premium when i have no plan to touch on the parts for next 10 years anyway. next PC is probably EOL AM6 system.
random freeze, reboot loop, overall sucky performance with intel 4460 + gtx 750 + 8gb ram.

might as well get a new pc right? when i need to replace the big 3 to keep up with new game.
Weird.We both have same spec except mine 16GB RAM recently upgrade though im not into gaming. If gaming i think only games before 2018 even then my GPU dying. If play game the game will hang whole screen and need to log out then sign in again. Watch 1080 movie still no problem. So far all still snappy as usual and abit better after upgrade RAM
TSPebbie
post Feb 16 2024, 09:28 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Feb 16 2024, 09:15 PM)
price nearly 15% higher
but almost same speed in most game.

especially u use tier 2 GPU at high reso.
Most game DO NOT see any benefit frm 16 to 32GB increased
u wasted.
But fastest 16GB sure faster than average 32GB ram at lower price.

3600mhz is slow
especially for Ryzen.

if ur main usage is gaming

5800x3d is overkill
7600 is rubbish
32GB ram is wasted.

6800 used is farrr better than 7600 at same price
Will check on the 5700x3d. can you recommend on the ram speed?
kindda wary on buy used gpu, since i plan to use for long time and they only discount for 30%.

QUOTE(kesvani @ Feb 16 2024, 09:21 PM)
Weird.We both have same spec except mine 16GB RAM recently upgrade though im not into gaming. If gaming i think only games before 2018 even then my GPU dying. If play game the game will hang whole screen and need to log out then sign in again. Watch 1080 movie still no problem. So far all still snappy as usual and abit better after upgrade RAM
well... the main reason for upgrading is to play newer game title. if there's no game involve, this pc still work great as HTPC, which is not heavy task at all.

was thinking of upgrading the ram, but choose to not do it since it doesn't make THAT much difference as HTPC.
SUSifourtos
post Feb 16 2024, 09:41 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 16 2024, 09:28 PM)
Will check on the 5700x3d. can you recommend on the ram speed?
kindda wary on buy used gpu, since i plan to use for long time and they only discount for 30%.
well... the main reason for upgrading is to play newer game title. if there's no game involve, this pc still work great as HTPC, which is not heavy task at all.

was thinking of upgrading the ram, but choose to not do it since it doesn't make THAT much difference as HTPC.
3600 MHz CL14, that the best configuration for Gaming.
8GB x 2 dual channel.
hard to find in Malaysia.

the next best is 3600 MHz CL16 ( cas latency )
not all 3600MHz is same.

just dont buy RX 7600, rubbish card.

TSPebbie
post Feb 16 2024, 10:08 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(ifourtos @ Feb 16 2024, 09:41 PM)
3600 MHz CL14, that the best configuration for Gaming.
8GB x 2 dual channel.
hard to find in Malaysia.

the next best is 3600 MHz CL16 ( cas latency )
not all 3600MHz is same.
just dont buy RX 7600, rubbish card.
then any recommendation for <1.5k new card? rx 6600xt?
SUSifourtos
post Feb 16 2024, 10:58 PM

2,256 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 16 2024, 10:08 PM)
then any recommendation for <1.5k new card? rx 6600xt?
Bro, i seriously suggest u go Used.

you can trust Lowyat user.

mostly Gamer here.

even mining, they would tell you mining.

those selling single card, usually ok

example :

https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5435108
this should be able to nego around 1.6~1680

at this price.... 6800 still centimeter faster than RX7700xt

eddie2020
post Feb 16 2024, 11:04 PM

Trusted
3,125 posts

kasi la budget... my signature 5k cost... latest one except gpu
TSPebbie
post Feb 17 2024, 08:29 AM

521 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Feb 16 2024, 11:04 PM)
kasi la budget... my signature 5k cost... latest one except gpu
budget is 4-5k. welcome system builder to give quotation
eddie2020
post Feb 18 2024, 12:36 AM

Trusted
3,125 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 17 2024, 08:29 AM)
budget is 4-5k. welcome system builder to give quotation
Build yourself... If your budget 5k I think the cost of the build maybe around 4k as those builder took some margin

TSPebbie
post Feb 18 2024, 10:25 PM

521 posts

QUOTE(eddie2020 @ Feb 18 2024, 12:36 AM)
Build yourself... If your budget 5k I think the cost of the build maybe around 4k as those builder took some margin
eh their margin that high? i thought like 500 or so.
mbr
post Feb 21 2024, 03:33 PM

Hmm?
2,834 posts

QUOTE(Pebbie @ Feb 16 2024, 09:00 PM)
There's a nice comparison video by Hardware Unboxed for 5600x3d, 5700x3d, 5800x3d
5600x3d is best value but only in Microcentre USA

So between 5700x3d (around RM 1250) and 5800x3d (RM1650) the gap is around 5-10% in game performance, if I recall right

But I propose going for AM4 Ryzen 5700x or AM5 Ryzen 7600 unless that 3D cache is really attractive to you.

0.0203sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:32 PM