Re-nego salary after signing offer letter, Should I?

Should I re-nego salary after signing offer letter as I have gotten a higher offer from another company?

Yes [ 2 ] ** [10.53%]
No [ 17 ] ** [89.47%]
Total Votes: 19

TSJack234
post Feb 16 2024, 09:14 AM, updated 2y ago

135 posts

I have accepted an offer with 30% higher pay compared to my current job in January. Before the new company give me the offer letter, I have negotiated the salary during verbal discussion and they have agreed to my proposal.
Last week another company offered me few hundred Ringgit/4% higher than the accepted offer. Should I renegotiate the salary with the new company to match this offer? Would the new company retract the offer if I nego again?
I am more keen on working in the new company as the career progression is better.
Hades76
post Feb 16 2024, 09:17 AM

680 posts

Dont ruin your rep before even going into the new company. Hiring manager wont appreciate this. Enjoy the 30%.
matrix88
post Feb 16 2024, 09:18 AM

2,236 posts

take letter from a company then nego with B company then go back A company nego for higher salary...
if I am A company, I will just retract the offer, why let people threaten?
TSJack234
post Feb 16 2024, 09:32 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Feb 16 2024, 09:17 AM)
Dont ruin your rep before even going into the new company. Hiring manager wont appreciate this. Enjoy the 30%.
QUOTE(matrix88 @ Feb 16 2024, 09:18 AM)
take letter from a company then nego with B company then go back A company nego for higher salary...
if I am A company, I will just retract the offer, why let people threaten?
Thanks for the advise. I also think it is not good to do it this way. Will stick with the 30% offer.
hoonanoo
post Feb 16 2024, 09:44 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Feb 16 2024, 09:14 AM)
I have accepted an offer with 30% higher pay compared to my current job in January. Before the new company give me the offer letter, I have negotiated the salary during verbal discussion and they have agreed to my proposal.
Last week another company offered me few hundred Ringgit/4% higher than the accepted offer. Should I renegotiate the salary with the new company to match this offer? Would the new company retract the offer if I nego again?
I am more keen on working in the new company as the career progression is better.
in 1st place why did your current co suddenly offer u 30% hike?

is it because of promotion?

or did u resign and they counter offer you?
TSJack234
post Feb 16 2024, 09:58 AM

135 posts

QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 16 2024, 09:44 AM)
in 1st place why did your current co suddenly offer u 30% hike?

is it because of promotion?

or did u resign and they counter offer you?
Not my current company. It is new company.
Hades76
post Feb 16 2024, 09:59 AM

680 posts

Good choice...just go enjoy the 30%. Dont have to be so greedy for 4%.
hoonanoo
post Feb 16 2024, 10:17 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Feb 16 2024, 09:58 AM)
Not my current company. It is new company.
Aiya just enjoy the 30% lah

don't be greedy for anothre 5%
Darkcloudz
post Feb 16 2024, 10:33 AM

940 posts

i'm on your shoe currently but unless the company B offer more than 15% else will just stick back company A offer.
langstrasse
post Feb 16 2024, 11:55 AM

~ Have a Vice day ~
1,588 posts

Call and ask the recruiter/HR to see how receptive they might be to this idea.

You should know in this case your leverage probably isn’t as high as you think - if you’re working in company A, a company B has offered X amount and company C has offered XX amount, why are you asking company B to match company C when you can just accept C if salary is what’s important ?

My point is, if you’re asking this to B, they probably guess that you’re more interested in them anyway. Of course if they really want you then a few hundred RM isn’t going to be an issue
nexona88
post Feb 16 2024, 10:47 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,444 posts

Just take the 30% one first...

Later jump with another 30% few years down the road 🔥
contestchris
post Feb 18 2024, 12:55 PM

5,544 posts

Put yourself in the hiring manager / HR shoes of the new company.

Unless they were aware beforehand that you're interviewing with another company and expecting an offer from them, it's going to look bad on you.

You accepted their offer with no caveat.

If I was the hiring manager, I would 100% not accept a negotiation for increment on bad faith, and depending if I could get another candidate, I will even push HR to retract the offer.

0.0413sec    0.47    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 07:56 PM