any ideas? today encounter very kuat one.
at SUNGKAI section. blow righg then blow left. two direction
i remember gvc can help. izit effective for my situations
mod to reduce hiway cross wind
Feb 12 2024, 07:03 PM, updated 2y ago
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
13,217 posts Joined: Jul 2006 |
any ideas? today encounter very kuat one. at SUNGKAI section. blow righg then blow left. two direction i remember gvc can help. izit effective for my situations wkkm007 liked this post
Feb 12 2024, 07:39 PM
325 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Feb 12 2024, 08:25 PM
Show posts by this member only | Post
3,520 posts Joined: Feb 2017 |
Reduce speed StrikeQUAN, iUnique, and 13 others liked this post
Feb 12 2024, 09:39 PM
1,810 posts Joined: May 2008 |
Make cambers more negative.
Most Japanese cars give 0° camber, which is no good imo. |
Feb 13 2024, 12:42 AM
5,369 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: KL Malaysia |
netmatrix liked this post
Feb 13 2024, 08:48 AM
Feb 13 2024, 08:55 AM
QUOTE(guysmiley @ Feb 12 2024, 07:39 PM) big car is lightweight afterall. compare to natural forcesQUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 12 2024, 08:25 PM) i tried before. less direction change with steering.still not safe feel. becos car being tekan to sideway |
Feb 13 2024, 09:11 AM
expensive car need to drive faster baru activate
Function of ESP® Crosswind Assist ESP® Crosswind Assist detects sudden gusts of side wind and helps the driver to keep the vehicle in the lane: ESP® Crosswind Assist is active at vehicle speeds between approx. 75 km/h and 200 km/h when driving straight ahead or cornering slightly. The vehicle is stabilised by means of individual brake application on one side. This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 13 2024, 09:11 AM |
Feb 13 2024, 10:34 AM
Show posts by this member only | Post
Feb 13 2024, 10:51 AM
Feb 13 2024, 11:16 AM
470 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
add all the bodykits for maximum aerodynamics and big spoiler for downforce
tyre and rim stock and not overinflated? |
Feb 13 2024, 11:33 AM
QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 13 2024, 11:16 AM) add all the bodykits for maximum aerodynamics and big spoiler for downforce Now you're talking. It's about resistance, forward thrust and downward force. Even then, there is a limit to that, once wind speed transforms to tornado level, even a stationary vehicle can be blown away.tyre and rim stock and not overinflated? |
Feb 13 2024, 11:34 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:11 AM) expensive car need to drive faster baru activate Wow, which car has this feature call Crosswind Assist ?Function of ESP® Crosswind Assist ESP® Crosswind Assist detects sudden gusts of side wind and helps the driver to keep the vehicle in the lane: ESP® Crosswind Assist is active at vehicle speeds between approx. 75 km/h and 200 km/h when driving straight ahead or cornering slightly. The vehicle is stabilised by means of individual brake application on one side. |
Feb 13 2024, 11:39 AM
2,323 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Smallville |
Feb 13 2024, 11:47 AM
1,568 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
Feb 13 2024, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(erry- @ Feb 13 2024, 11:39 AM) So for this Crosswind Assist feature to kick in, one has to drive even faster, so that the individual brakes would come on automatically. Why no just drive slower then ? Don't tell me that this Crosswind Assist when it functions at top speed, it will keep the vehicle in the same lane, correct ? |
Feb 13 2024, 11:55 AM
2,323 posts Joined: Nov 2004 From: Smallville |
Feb 13 2024, 11:57 AM
4,695 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
QUOTE(guysmiley @ Feb 12 2024, 07:39 PM) Yesterday an Alphard tailgated me at 110km/h after Menora tunnel downhill Ipoh bound.Cilaka that fella, after i let him pass, he further accelerated & after 2 corners I can't see him d. Siapa kata big box handling no good? |
Feb 13 2024, 12:05 PM
1,568 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
tifosi and constant_weight liked this post
Feb 13 2024, 12:07 PM
Feb 13 2024, 12:10 PM
Feb 13 2024, 12:16 PM
1,188 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
you encounter cross winds on daily basis?......
Feb 13 2024, 12:30 PM
I wonder if during certain times of the year, specific areas along the NSE that are prone to crosswind, becomes really more hazardous ?
Feb 13 2024, 02:06 PM
325 posts Joined: Dec 2012 |
Feb 13 2024, 03:10 PM
Thinking about TS title thread, sebenarnya modification that can be done to reduce highway crosswind ni, soalan itu sepatutnya ditujukan kepada highway operators la or the government of public roads, betul ? As a road user reducing one speed accordingly until the vehicle is under control is the most logical thing to do. A d segment vehicle obviously will be able to travel at higher speed due to it's higher kerb weight as compared to a a segment vehicle. Kalau masih ingat boleh travel at the allowable speed limit while kereta hayun sini hayun sana, keluar kat berita nanti. Femes la tu. Someone mentioned big spoiler, yup theoritically betul la, however for standard stock street vehicle, are they able to achieve speed of a F1 car to be able to have that kind of downward force onot plus with such clearance ? Amende la. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 03:24 PM tifosi, RalphRatedR, and 2 others liked this post
Feb 13 2024, 08:28 PM
Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 11:51 AM) So for this Crosswind Assist feature to kick in, one has to drive even faster, so that the individual brakes would come on automatically. Why no just drive slower then ? Don't tell me that this Crosswind Assist when it functions at top speed, it will keep the vehicle in the same lane, correct ? benz say so. their gl serie (gla glc gle those) got support.QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 12:07 PM) terus flipp. becos of fast or slow har |
Feb 13 2024, 08:34 PM
Feb 13 2024, 08:54 PM
Feb 13 2024, 09:00 PM
1,267 posts Joined: Oct 2009 |
Feb 13 2024, 09:33 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM) 1:15 ~1:48 s time stamp are important points to note. Whether it's fast or slow, I presume it would be safe to assume that generally such truck driver would drive within the speed limit but even then, notice the report went on to say, drivers pulling over when they noticed the trailer started to sway etc. Once swaying fish tail or dog wagging its tail starts to happen it's very hard to recover from it. Actually it's all about forces. The moment crosswind force exceeds the downward force of a vehicle, that vehicle is a goner. Even it was mentioned that the tow truck on rescue mission wouldn't do anything for the fallen over truck until to strong winds had died down. The risk increases trying to do stupid things. Come to think of it, Crosswind Assist sounds very much like Lane Keep Assist. ktek liked this post
Feb 13 2024, 09:36 PM
Feb 13 2024, 09:44 PM
1,185 posts Joined: Feb 2008 From: Not Found |
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM) fast or slow, surface area matter most in crosswind problems.low level crosswind gonna push you off course. if anyone remember force vector (i dont think this is the accurate use of it), add speed, just maybe, less veering off course. or sell the myvi, get a Merc with crosswind stablization high level crosswind... well, if it gonna flip is gonna flip. unless you mod (reducing surface area) your car to slide the crosswind. but on a serious note, crosswind is no joke. best solution, pick a route with no to little crosswind or wait for it to die. |
Feb 13 2024, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 09:33 PM) 1:15 ~1:48 s time stamp are important points to note. lane keep using steering motion. driver alertWhether it's fast or slow, I presume it would be safe to assume that generally such truck driver would drive within the speed limit but even then, notice the report went on to say, drivers pulling over when they noticed the trailer started to sway etc. Once swaying fish tail or dog wagging its tail starts to happen it's very hard to recover from it. Actually it's all about forces. The moment crosswind force exceeds the downward force of a vehicle, that vehicle is a goner. Even it was mentioned that the tow truck on rescue mission wouldn't do anything for the fallen over truck until to strong winds had died down. The risk increases trying to do stupid things. Come to think of it, Crosswind Assist sounds very much like Lane Keep Assist. cross assist using brake. steering no motion. driver steady |
Feb 13 2024, 09:50 PM
Feb 13 2024, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 09:36 PM) Heavy items is a plus during crosswind but since you went on to say that swaying still happened to Myvi G3 with heavy load, those must be some pretty strong crosswinds. yalo. kinda rare to get wind from two direction (to right immediately to left).maybe spring/shock press down nearly end. no more allowance. i even hit bumpstop (suspension rubber) along d way |
Feb 13 2024, 09:55 PM
QUOTE(bo093 @ Feb 13 2024, 09:44 PM) fast or slow, surface area matter most in crosswind problems. open both window can or not. i dont mind one.low level crosswind gonna push you off course. if anyone remember force vector (i dont think this is the accurate use of it), add speed, just maybe, less veering off course. or sell the myvi, get a Merc with crosswind stablization high level crosswind... well, if it gonna flip is gonna flip. unless you mod (reducing surface area) your car to slide the crosswind. but on a serious note, crosswind is no joke. best solution, pick a route with no to little crosswind or wait for it to die. less surface area. |
Feb 13 2024, 10:11 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:51 PM) yalo. kinda rare to get wind from two direction (to right immediately to left). Bro., crosswinds can even fuckup a heavy loaded jumbo jet upon ILS approach, what is a Myvi for that matter or even a trailer.maybe spring/shock press down nearly end. no more allowance. i even hit bumpstop (suspension rubber) along d way Wonder if the plane that went down in Klang today has anything to do with winds also, crosswind or tailwind. If i remember correctly the last issue on crosswind was when it took out an ambulance on a highway in the north. Cannot remember that location liao. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 10:18 PM |
Feb 13 2024, 11:18 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:55 PM) Here is a video purportedly from Toyota. Will find another better video. Korang reading my posts "Look mum no hands", jangan ikut ya. Hands must be on the steering at all times as the driver is fully responsible for the safe operation of the vehicle. I remember someone was asking why his didn't automatically brake by itself ? Although the video above may read or appear like it has AEB function like the Volvo but never read the fine lines. I have seen new vehicles with frontal collision and asked the SA, Why ? The answer is owners assumes, thinks the vehicle has AEB and that the vehicle will magically brake by itself. If it had such a function, the said vehicle wouldn't be at the SC awaiting approval of insurance claims. Here is another video all the way from New Zealand ... As much as we think that such technological advancement are good but the danger is when we believe and rely such technology completely to drive the vehicle on our behalf, now that is dangerous. If it was safe, apahal Malaysia Tesla langgar tembok ? Funny case, I had seen videos of Tesla US camera capturing of images at cemetery even displaying picture of a skull on it's screen but Tesla Malaysia cannot register the image of a block of wall across the road and went straight into it. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 11:43 PM |
Feb 14 2024, 08:17 AM
2,736 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
Bro, change car easy. You cant change the car aerodynamic design without getting JPJ involved.
Cheapo way to help try lowered your ride. |
Feb 14 2024, 08:34 AM
1,810 posts Joined: May 2008 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:34 PM) weekly. i often drive pg-kl earlier was using conti. no big deal That's because out from the factory most or all conti always build-in very substantial front negative camber.now is local cheap vehicle Local cars generally has 0° front cambers, especially among segments A and B cars. Hence my suggestion above for you to go for more negative front cambers ...... for ALL cars encountering cross winds like your case, including conti cars if any. |
Feb 14 2024, 09:21 AM
13,494 posts Joined: Jan 2012 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:48 AM) recently i notice tayar eat outside. prolly camber out of spec. Not really...will make alignment more negative tarik back often did. haha From my experience, normally camber abnormality usually only occurs on one side. If both sides also makan outside, then most likely your crazy tyre shop gave u an excessive toe-in setting which causes excessive wear on outer tyres. Many shops are doing this. bo093 and constant_weight liked this post
Feb 14 2024, 09:45 AM
Interesting video ...
Truck bukannya laju pun. If I issue my own High Wind Advisories, this is the only advisory that will be given "Road Closure". If we compare how the Europeans deal with crosswinds, we can immediately see that kerajaan memang kurang bijak. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 14 2024, 09:52 AM |
Feb 14 2024, 09:48 AM
1,153 posts Joined: Oct 2009 From: KBR-BKI |
dont drive peti sejuk.
Feb 14 2024, 11:23 AM
346 posts Joined: Nov 2016 |
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 12 2024, 07:03 PM) any ideas? today encounter very kuat one. A good suggestion is to... Slow down... If you feel the crosswind pushing, lift off the gas, don't stay so close to the barrier and both hands on the steering. Unless you are driving F1, every car will have some sort of crosswind due to the surface area.at SUNGKAI section. blow righg then blow left. two direction i remember gvc can help. izit effective for my situations RalphRatedR liked this post
Feb 14 2024, 11:28 AM
QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Feb 14 2024, 09:21 AM) Not really... From what I found out, usually, if you go back SC compared to outside WS, alignment will be way better. I am not sure if it is because outside WS didn't calibrate or didn't input vehicle specs.From my experience, normally camber abnormality usually only occurs on one side. If both sides also makan outside, then most likely your crazy tyre shop gave u an excessive toe-in setting which causes excessive wear on outer tyres. Many shops are doing this. Note: So far I found Tyre Plus alignment quite good on par with SC ktek liked this post
Feb 14 2024, 06:54 PM
Despite all of our assumption, it seems that F1 cars are affected by crosswind too. ![]() ![]() ![]() This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 14 2024, 06:57 PM JON97 liked this post
Feb 14 2024, 08:31 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 12 2024, 07:03 PM) any ideas? today encounter very kuat one. Bro., you wrote the wind blew right and then blew left. at SUNGKAI section. blow righg then blow left. two direction i remember gvc can help. izit effective for my situations Could you explain in further detail what happened exactly ? Got video ? Really interested to understand the situation you encountered. |
Feb 14 2024, 08:33 PM
f1 ringan vehicle. aero also front direction optimize
Feb 14 2024, 08:34 PM
Feb 15 2024, 12:38 AM
Feb 15 2024, 01:41 AM
Feb 18 2024, 12:18 AM
1,526 posts Joined: Dec 2005 |
ktek able to solve the problem after added Ultra Racing bars? Or now no met same strong wind? (Relatively less strong wind since Friday)
Feb 18 2024, 02:23 PM
17,888 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
well i do experienced crosswind before , all i did was slowing down for a while
Feb 18 2024, 02:46 PM
QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 18 2024, 12:18 AM) ktek able to solve the problem after added Ultra Racing bars? Or now no met same strong wind? (Relatively less strong wind since Friday) dreaming ah u. baru otw return pg.slp road side QUOTE(GamersFamilia @ Feb 18 2024, 02:23 PM) safer |
Feb 18 2024, 08:11 PM
17,888 posts Joined: Dec 2007 From: Bandar Baru Bangi , Malaysia |
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 18 2024, 02:46 PM) safer yes |
Feb 19 2024, 10:42 AM
4,065 posts Joined: Apr 2010 From: Kuala Lumpur |
just slow down.
Feb 19 2024, 12:35 PM
Instead of placing signages like this, ![]() I would prefer they put up windsocks instead along the sides of the expressway thats prone to crosswinds. Most of the time these windsocks are located somewhere hidden from the drivers plain view of sight because a good location for windsock is not always visible from expressway. When windsocks are not visible to drivers, it means nothing. Therefore having erected numerous windsocks along areas prone to crosswinds is more important. to having a signage. I don't know about you guys, but whenever I use the expressway, crosswind areas is the last thing on my mind while driving, if I can even remember about them. If Plus management don't like the windsock, well can use this design also ... ![]() This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 19 2024, 12:40 PM ktek and constant_weight liked this post
Feb 19 2024, 12:46 PM
7,938 posts Joined: Mar 2014 |
Feb 19 2024, 01:52 PM
2,736 posts Joined: Jun 2009 From: Penang |
Feb 19 2024, 02:21 PM
Feb 19 2024, 04:14 PM
OPEN THE WINDOWS SAFER ? I am not too sure about this one, because another factor to consider is lift. Although the following video does not specifically talk about opening the windows but understanding the basics of crosswinds and area, I think opening the windows will actually aggravate the situation further at high speed. The best option at the moment is reducing speed to increase the downward force of the vehicle and hence stability and control of the vehicle. I will try to find out more information about MB Crosswind Assist, surely we can learn something valuable from there. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 19 2024, 05:04 PM amscouzach57 liked this post
Feb 19 2024, 10:13 PM
916 posts Joined: Jun 2017 |
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 19 2024, 04:14 PM) OPEN THE WINDOWS SAFER ? Lol... finally someone come to sense and use the right word "lift". Basically almost all road car has lift aka "negative downforce".I am not too sure about this one, because another factor to consider is lift. Although the following video does not specifically talk about opening the windows but understanding the basics of crosswinds and area, I think opening the windows will actually aggravate the situation further at high speed. The best option at the moment is reducing speed to increase the downward force of the vehicle and hence stability and control of the vehicle. I will try to find out more information about MB Crosswind Assist, surely we can learn something valuable from there. And seriously everyone please keep both hands on steering, and sit at appropriate distance where 3 + 9 o'clock position with elbow at 45-90 degree bend. I've seen so many drivers sit so far away, it is downright dangerous. Impossible to have good control of the car. Sit properly, hold properly, cross wind is not that hard to compensate. When necessary slow down. ** Gone are my days with old Corolla with soft plastic like chassis, eco sponge tyres, doing top speed 190km/h floating with cross winds near KLIA. Was rushing to attend customer escalation as most junior guy (with least valuable life as bean sprout) in the team. Not dare to do that anymore. This post has been edited by constant_weight: Feb 19 2024, 10:13 PM bo093, amscouzach57, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 19 2024, 11:42 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 19 2024, 10:13 PM) Lol... finally someone come to sense and use the right word "lift". Basically almost all road car has lift aka "negative downforce". Gonna agree with this, no matter how good is your car. Crosswind is always a problem, and there is no actual way to reduce it; even aeroplanes have turbulence. The best way to over come is to be prepare for it and slow down if needAnd seriously everyone please keep both hands on steering, and sit at appropriate distance where 3 + 9 o'clock position with elbow at 45-90 degree bend. I've seen so many drivers sit so far away, it is downright dangerous. Impossible to have good control of the car. Sit properly, hold properly, cross wind is not that hard to compensate. When necessary slow down. ** Gone are my days with old Corolla with soft plastic like chassis, eco sponge tyres, doing top speed 190km/h floating with cross winds near KLIA. Was rushing to attend customer escalation as most junior guy (with least valuable life as bean sprout) in the team. Not dare to do that anymore. amscouzach57 and constant_weight liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 12:55 AM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 19 2024, 10:13 PM) Lol... finally someone come to sense and use the right word "lift". Basically almost all road car has lift aka "negative downforce". I have never considered lift before, not engineer mah. All I know is forward thrust dan downward force. Adding into the equation crosswind, I know things can get pretty screwed up. That video brought to light many things I had never even considered before. Now arm with better knowledge, I will be looking into ways of making my ride a safer one. And seriously everyone please keep both hands on steering, and sit at appropriate distance where 3 + 9 o'clock position with elbow at 45-90 degree bend. I've seen so many drivers sit so far away, it is downright dangerous. Impossible to have good control of the car. Sit properly, hold properly, cross wind is not that hard to compensate. When necessary slow down. ** Gone are my days with old Corolla with soft plastic like chassis, eco sponge tyres, doing top speed 190km/h floating with cross winds near KLIA. Was rushing to attend customer escalation as most junior guy (with least valuable life as bean sprout) in the team. Not dare to do that anymore. While we would have driven at crazy high speeds when we were younger, I am sure we have not encountered strong crosswinds to really endanger our vehicle. I personally have not encountered a dangerous crosswind situation either but when ktek experienced it, it was a chance for me to learn especially when ktek mentioned crosswind hit from left and then right or was it the other way round ? The most dangerous situation I've ever encountered on the NSE is hydroplane. No matter how perfect the sitting position is going to be, the vehicle will have a mind of its own when it starts hydroplaning. I am extremely lucky during hydroplaning on the fast lane, the vehicle decided to go to the empty lane on my left and not into the road barrier. Since that incident, I don't dare do jack shit no more when it's wet. constant_weight liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 06:07 AM
QUOTE(JON97 @ Feb 19 2024, 11:42 PM) Gonna agree with this, no matter how good is your car. Crosswind is always a problem, and there is no actual way to reduce it; even aeroplanes have turbulence. The best way to over come is to be prepare for it and slow down if need Herein lies my problem, I am so completely focus on the expressway traffic and without a row of windsocks along the area prone to crosswind, I wouldn't know where the crosswind prone stretch begins and ends. In my mind, being prepared for it means to lower one's speed before entering the crosswind stretch. The only time I think about crosswind is when it appears on Lowyat forum. When ktek said he experienced crosswind at Sungkai area, I don't even remember seeing any warning notices or windsocks along Sungkai stretch despite traveling KL-Ipoh so many times. The best would be PLUS erects more windsocks along the expressway for maximum visibility for it's road users OR build wall along those stretch. Initially when PLUS started planting Teak trees all along the expressway, I thought they would grow up to be excellent wind breakers against crosswind but after seeing how those Teak trees developed overtime, it's very disappointing indeed. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 20 2024, 06:08 AM |
Feb 20 2024, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 20 2024, 06:07 AM) Herein lies my problem, I am so completely focus on the expressway traffic and without a row of windsocks along the area prone to crosswind, I wouldn't know where the crosswind prone stretch begins and ends. In my mind, being prepared for it means to lower one's speed before entering the crosswind stretch. The only time I think about crosswind is when it appears on Lowyat forum. You don't need to pay much attention to those windsock, if you feel it, you should slow down and keep your car in your lane as much as possible. Car/Trucks passing you or you passing a vehicle also can cause crosswind.When ktek said he experienced crosswind at Sungkai area, I don't even remember seeing any warning notices or windsocks along Sungkai stretch despite traveling KL-Ipoh so many times. The best would be PLUS erects more windsocks along the expressway for maximum visibility for it's road users OR build wall along those stretch. Initially when PLUS started planting Teak trees all along the expressway, I thought they would grow up to be excellent wind breakers against crosswind but after seeing how those Teak trees developed overtime, it's very disappointing indeed. constant_weight liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 09:21 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 12 2024, 07:03 PM) any ideas? today encounter very kuat one. Tried it before in stock Axia at 160km/h going down to Malacca. Road was quite empty at that time as it was a weekday, and was on the fast lane. A sudden crosswind pushes the car to the right, and the only way to overcome it is to slow down to have better control of the car and grip.at SUNGKAI section. blow righg then blow left. two direction i remember gvc can help. izit effective for my situations Lighter car = More prone to crosswind Heavier car = Lesser Tank > 0 Crosswind |
Feb 20 2024, 09:27 AM
QUOTE(JON97 @ Feb 20 2024, 09:13 AM) You don't need to pay much attention to those windsock, if you feel it, you should slow down and keep your car in your lane as much as possible. Car/Trucks passing you or you passing a vehicle also can cause crosswind. I didn't know if crosswind is also proper description for turbulences caused when 2 vehicles passes too close to each other. I thought it is call something else in physics like Balotelli's effect or something. That I kena before after picking my wife's new car from KL and when the express bus overtook, the vehicle became unstable even though I was going like 80km/h only. Since that incident, I don't travel outstation with that vehicle anymore. All I could see was the car was drifting closer and closer to the side of the express bus while I was trying to slightly turn the wheels away from the bus. Bus lalu already, no problems whatsoever. |
Feb 20 2024, 09:28 AM
1,170 posts Joined: Apr 2011 From: Deus Vult |
Feb 20 2024, 09:32 AM
there were no windsock/ signage at the place i kena.
but other section got sign. haha last saturday i went again while less affected, quite safe as usual. maybe car was empty or wind is weaker |
Feb 20 2024, 09:43 AM
Feb 20 2024, 09:44 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 20 2024, 09:32 AM) there were no windsock/ signage at the place i kena. but other section got sign. haha last saturday i went again while less affected, quite safe as usual. maybe car was empty or wind is weaker ![]() RalphRatedR and Quazacolt liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 09:47 AM
from kl to pg, south heading north
Feb 20 2024, 09:50 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 20 2024, 09:43 AM) Sorry what is the time stamp in the video you kena crosswind ? OK better still don't reply yet but see if forummers can guess what is the exact time stamp you experience crosswind, cause I can't. Lai Lai tikam tikam ... constant_weight, Quazacolt, and 1 other liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 10:02 AM
actually louder noise could be heard and noticeable traffic movement.
on white line markers This post has been edited by ktek: Feb 20 2024, 10:02 AM |
Feb 20 2024, 01:13 PM
Feb 20 2024, 01:27 PM
Feb 20 2024, 02:29 PM
470 posts Joined: Aug 2014 |
Feb 20 2024, 02:38 PM
Feb 20 2024, 02:40 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 20 2024, 09:50 AM) Sorry what is the time stamp in the video you kena crosswind ? this. 4 pages of ultimate time sink.OK better still don't reply yet but see if forummers can guess what is the exact time stamp you experience crosswind, cause I can't. Lai Lai tikam tikam ... sigh. constant_weight liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 03:33 PM
Feb 20 2024, 04:46 PM
495 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
Feb 20 2024, 04:50 PM
495 posts Joined: Dec 2017 |
QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 20 2024, 01:13 PM) Wow that Altis GR so fast and unaffected by cross wind huh? First time see this gen Altis 1.8 drive so fast, usually they drive middle lane slow slow because of weak engine... for sure can feel too. but not that strong I believe as compare to taller or lighter vehicle. |
Feb 20 2024, 04:57 PM
3 types of people. Wanna start a vote? Hahaha - ahhhh crosswind, I gotta die - easy peasy... I can deal with it - huh... what crosswind??? Quazacolt liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 05:48 PM
Feb 20 2024, 05:56 PM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 20 2024, 05:48 PM) I don't see any cross winds constant_weight liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 06:07 PM
704 posts Joined: Aug 2018 From: Shemalelism |
few ways to reduce "crosswind sway left right?" for myvi g3:
-upgrade KYB performance absorber/shocks (cheapest way) -install roll bar / strut bar (abit pricy) -upgrade bigger rim and lower profile tyre (veli pricy) btw is reduce ya, not eliminate. |
Feb 20 2024, 06:10 PM
QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 20 2024, 05:56 PM) Oh I think you have misunderstood my post. What I am saying is, in ktek video, even I myself cannot determine exactly when did the crosswind occur. Just before the 50s mark, it appears that ktek was going very close to the divider but whether it was the crosswind or ktek unknowingly turned the steering, only he would know. It appears to be windy too, as some palm fronds appears to moving in 1:00s on the left at the top of the hill. Looks like it's a headwind judging the direction the fronds were facing. Even then it's very hard to predict the direction as the wind blows wherever it wishes, since ktek mentioned blown to the right and then to the left. Ktek, how fast were you going exactly ? Seems like the Altis and you were overtaking everyone. Even the Alphard decided to go into the middle lane at the beginning, when such vehicle usually occupy the fast lane only. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 20 2024, 06:12 PM constant_weight and Quazacolt liked this post
Feb 20 2024, 06:21 PM
Imagine in that video, if the Alphard remain speeding on the fast as fast as ktek was going, it could possibly ended crashing into the road divider.
Feb 20 2024, 06:23 PM
QUOTE(JON97 @ Feb 20 2024, 03:33 PM) about there. and multi directionQUOTE(DS51 @ Feb 20 2024, 04:46 PM) tall car problem. actually, if u drive low centre of gravity vehicle also, u will met this crosswind, but only if u drive very high speed. sadness but this pickup truck looks like got strong crosswind even not driving that fast. so weak. so easily lifting. QUOTE(Quazacolt @ Feb 20 2024, 05:56 PM) of course im old driver maa. counter back progressively. still not perfect lo.some vehicle also cross lane, for no other reasons. |
Feb 20 2024, 06:31 PM
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 20 2024, 04:57 PM) 3 types of people. Wanna start a vote? Hahaha overall im still steady lar. in the video didnt heard any ppl (parents & granny) complain rite.- ahhhh crosswind, I gotta die - easy peasy... I can deal with it - huh... what crosswind??? just that suspension bottom out feel uneasy QUOTE(JZenith @ Feb 20 2024, 06:07 PM) few ways to reduce "crosswind sway left right?" for myvi g3: will go for rim tyre. finish soon-upgrade KYB performance absorber/shocks (cheapest way) -install roll bar / strut bar (abit pricy) -upgrade bigger rim and lower profile tyre (veli pricy) btw is reduce ya, not eliminate. while absorber use until spoil. no wastage QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 20 2024, 06:10 PM) Oh I think you have misunderstood my post. What I am saying is, in ktek video, even I myself cannot determine exactly when did the crosswind occur. Just before the 50s mark, it appears that ktek was going very close to the divider but whether it was the crosswind or ktek unknowingly turned the steering, only he would know. 130 only ㅠㅠIt appears to be windy too, as some palm fronds appears to moving in 1:00s on the left at the top of the hill. Looks like it's a headwind judging the direction the fronds were facing. Even then it's very hard to predict the direction as the wind blows wherever it wishes, since ktek mentioned blown to the right and then to the left. Ktek, how fast were you going exactly ? Seems like the Altis and you were overtaking everyone. Even the Alphard decided to go into the middle lane at the beginning, when such vehicle usually occupy the fast lane only. |
Feb 20 2024, 08:13 PM
QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 20 2024, 06:31 PM) overall im still steady lar. in the video didnt heard any ppl (parents & granny) complain rite. Luckily you didn't go any faster and if you are slow to react to the situation, you could have crashed very quickly into the railing. just that suspension bottom out feel uneasy will go for rim tyre. finish soon while absorber use until spoil. no wastage 130 only ㅠㅠ I think newer safety design call Lane Tracing Assist, it's available in some markets already, it's function is to keep the vehicle right in the center on it's lane, which is far better than the Lane Keep Assist, that bouncing all over within it's lane. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 20 2024, 08:13 PM |
Feb 20 2024, 08:52 PM
crosswind, try to drive the previous gen Almeera with sampan suspension. Passing big lorry also feel moving on the suspension
Feb 20 2024, 08:53 PM
What car is ts driving?
Feb 21 2024, 08:36 PM
Feb 21 2024, 09:29 PM
QUOTE(JZenith @ Feb 20 2024, 06:07 PM) few ways to reduce "crosswind sway left right?" for myvi g3: Sorry, none of the above reduce any crosswind sway.-upgrade KYB performance absorber/shocks (cheapest way) -install roll bar / strut bar (abit pricy) -upgrade bigger rim and lower profile tyre (veli pricy) btw is reduce ya, not eliminate. Don't even improve track time attack given a well establish racing driver. What they do is increase the overall car rigidity such that driver input has less delay. So an everyday normal driver suddenly feels more confident to drive the car closer to it's limit. The limit itself don't really change. In the crosswind situation, it avoid over compensation by a novice driver, subsequently reduce correction needed due to the initial overcorrection. In a racing dog fight situation, it helps the racing driver consecutive busy input. Bigger rim and lower profile tyre would reduce grip in bumpy situation, so it depends on the road Only real upgrade is also install some proper UHP tyre, when upgrade to larger wheel. Quazacolt liked this post
Feb 22 2024, 09:59 AM
704 posts Joined: Aug 2018 From: Shemalelism |
QUOTE(constant_weight @ Feb 21 2024, 09:29 PM) Sorry, none of the above reduce any crosswind sway. im not sure about the "crosswind" term from ts.Don't even improve track time attack given a well establish racing driver. What they do is increase the overall car rigidity such that driver input has less delay. So an everyday normal driver suddenly feels more confident to drive the car closer to it's limit. The limit itself don't really change. In the crosswind situation, it avoid over compensation by a novice driver, subsequently reduce correction needed due to the initial overcorrection. In a racing dog fight situation, it helps the racing driver consecutive busy input. Bigger rim and lower profile tyre would reduce grip in bumpy situation, so it depends on the road Only real upgrade is also install some proper UHP tyre, when upgrade to larger wheel. is the "crosswind?" that cause the car to sway when overtaking/kena overtake by lorries/bus or the "crosswind?" that cause the car to loose control lost tyre grip? i dont know about you but the upgrades i mentioned does significantly reduce the "crosswind?" also you mentioned "Don't even improve track time attack given a well establish racing driver." hmmmmmm...... |
Feb 22 2024, 12:49 PM
QUOTE(JZenith @ Feb 22 2024, 09:59 AM) im not sure about the "crosswind" term from ts. i believe in aero. riteis the "crosswind?" that cause the car to sway when overtaking/kena overtake by lorries/bus or the "crosswind?" that cause the car to loose control lost tyre grip? i dont know about you but the upgrades i mentioned does significantly reduce the "crosswind?" also you mentioned "Don't even improve track time attack given a well establish racing driver." hmmmmmm...... |
Feb 22 2024, 08:30 PM
Interesting ain't it ? The wind speed must be very high to be able to pick up things and twirl them in the air like it was nothing. I wonder what's it speed. Like this can consider crosswind onot ? This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 22 2024, 10:02 PM |
Feb 23 2024, 09:09 AM
QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 22 2024, 08:30 PM) Interesting ain't it ? The wind speed must be very high to be able to pick up things and twirl them in the air like it was nothing. I wonder what's it speed. Like this can consider crosswind onot ? ![]() adding rain (hot--cold exchange) become tornado https://scijinks.gov/tornado/ |
Feb 23 2024, 09:11 AM
[quote=ktek,Feb 23 2024, 09:09 AM]
when the air becomes very unstable, with winds at different altitudes blowing in different directions or at different speeds—a condition called wind shear. ![]() adding rain (hot--cold exchange) become tornado https://scijinks.gov/tornado/ [/quo Although it was a tornado but the wind speed was strong enough to topple over vehicles right ? Toppled vehicles were seen in the video right ? If it's not in that video, it must have been other videos I have seen on the same incident from other different sources. I remember a video being taken inside the building, safe mah, sekali the debris smashed the huge glass panel, Kalam kabut the situation became. This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 23 2024, 09:14 AM |
Feb 23 2024, 09:16 AM
dont under estimate d power of natural forces
Feb 23 2024, 09:40 AM
QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Feb 20 2024, 08:52 PM) crosswind, try to drive the previous gen Almeera with sampan suspension. Passing big lorry also feel moving on the suspension speed upQUOTE(JON97 @ Feb 20 2024, 08:53 PM) mvyi 1.5QUOTE(voscar @ Feb 21 2024, 08:36 PM) counterfeit product fails |
May 26 2024, 11:59 AM
yesterday big rain at sungkai kena windy blow again
May 26 2024, 03:51 PM
May 27 2024, 10:15 AM
QUOTE(ktek @ May 26 2024, 11:59 AM) Get this or mod your car to this. Confirm no issue. Just make sure to set it as low as possible.Attached thumbnail(s) ktek liked this post
May 27 2024, 06:56 PM
May 27 2024, 09:36 PM
May 28 2024, 05:27 AM
| Change to: | 0.0580sec
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 05:10 AM |