mod to reduce hiway cross wind

Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 12:10 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 10:51 AM)
mvyi g3 嘻嘻
Sorry Myvi G3 is light but it's still better than the previous generations that it is lower surface area of vehicle cross section to reduce wind sheer resistance.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 12:17 PM
Chrix
post Feb 13 2024, 12:16 PM

1,188 posts

you encounter cross winds on daily basis?......
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 12:30 PM

3,520 posts

I wonder if during certain times of the year, specific areas along the NSE that are prone to crosswind, becomes really more hazardous ?
guysmiley
post Feb 13 2024, 02:06 PM

325 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Feb 13 2024, 11:57 AM)
Yesterday an Alphard tailgated me at 110km/h after Menora tunnel downhill Ipoh bound.

Cilaka that fella, after i let him pass, he further accelerated & after 2 corners I can't see him d.

Siapa kata big box handling no good?
urrrmmm.. 110 is minimum speed on plus whistling.gif
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 03:10 PM

3,520 posts

Thinking about TS title thread, sebenarnya modification that can be done to reduce highway crosswind ni, soalan itu sepatutnya ditujukan kepada highway operators la or the government of public roads, betul ?

As a road user reducing one speed accordingly until the vehicle is under control is the most logical thing to do. A d segment vehicle obviously will be able to travel at higher speed due to it's higher kerb weight as compared to a a segment vehicle.

Kalau masih ingat boleh travel at the allowable speed limit while kereta hayun sini hayun sana, keluar kat berita nanti. Femes la tu.

Someone mentioned big spoiler, yup theoritically betul la, however for standard stock street vehicle, are they able to achieve speed of a F1 car to be able to have that kind of downward force onot plus with such clearance ? Amende la.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 03:24 PM
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 08:28 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Feb 13 2024, 11:57 AM)
Yesterday an Alphard tailgated me at 110km/h after Menora tunnel downhill Ipoh bound.

Cilaka that fella, after i let him pass, he further accelerated & after 2 corners I can't see him d.

Siapa kata big box handling no good?
downhill master classss
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 11:51 AM)
So for this Crosswind Assist feature to kick in, one has to drive even faster, so that the individual brakes would come on automatically. Why no just drive slower then ? Don't tell me that this Crosswind Assist when it functions at top speed, it will keep the vehicle in the same lane, correct ?
benz say so. their gl serie (gla glc gle those) got support.

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 12:07 PM)

terus flipp. becos of fast or slow har
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 08:34 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(Chrix @ Feb 13 2024, 12:16 PM)
you encounter cross winds on daily basis?......
weekly. i often drive pg-kl earlier was using conti. no big deal
now is local cheap vehicle icon_question.gif big differences
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 08:54 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(FrogBlob @ Feb 13 2024, 11:16 AM)
add all the bodykits for maximum aerodynamics and big spoiler for downforce  tongue.gif

tyre and rim stock and not overinflated?
i pam very high pressure above 250kpa becos carry heavvy items
zuozi
post Feb 13 2024, 09:00 PM

1,267 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 10:51 AM)
mvyi g3 嘻嘻
Is myvi good? My wife sometimes don't like the vehicle i bought always complain too big.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 09:33 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM)
1:15 ~1:48 s time stamp are important points to note.

Whether it's fast or slow, I presume it would be safe to assume that generally such truck driver would drive within the speed limit but even then, notice the report went on to say, drivers pulling over when they noticed the trailer started to sway etc. Once swaying fish tail or dog wagging its tail starts to happen it's very hard to recover from it. Actually it's all about forces. The moment crosswind force exceeds the downward force of a vehicle, that vehicle is a goner.

Even it was mentioned that the tow truck on rescue mission wouldn't do anything for the fallen over truck until to strong winds had died down. The risk increases trying to do stupid things.

Come to think of it, Crosswind Assist sounds very much like Lane Keep Assist.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 09:36 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:54 PM)
i pam very high pressure above 250kpa becos carry heavvy items
Heavy items is a plus during crosswind but since you went on to say that swaying still happened to Myvi G3 with heavy load, those must be some pretty strong crosswinds.
bo093
post Feb 13 2024, 09:44 PM

1,185 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 08:32 PM)
fast or slow, surface area matter most in crosswind problems.

low level crosswind gonna push you off course.
if anyone remember force vector (i dont think this is the accurate use of it), add speed, just maybe, less veering off course.
or sell the myvi, get a Merc with crosswind stablization laugh.gif

high level crosswind...
well, if it gonna flip is gonna flip.
unless you mod (reducing surface area) your car to slide the crosswind.

but on a serious note, crosswind is no joke.
best solution, pick a route with no to little crosswind or wait for it to die.

TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 09:46 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 09:33 PM)
1:15 ~1:48 s time stamp are important points to note.

Whether it's fast or slow, I presume it would be safe to assume that generally such truck driver would drive within the speed limit but even then, notice the report went on to say, drivers pulling over when they noticed the trailer started to sway etc. Once swaying fish tail or dog wagging its tail starts to happen it's very hard to recover from it. Actually it's all about forces. The moment crosswind force exceeds the downward force of a vehicle, that vehicle is a goner.

Even it was mentioned that the tow truck on rescue mission wouldn't do anything for the fallen over truck until to strong winds had died down. The risk increases trying to do stupid things.

Come to think of it, Crosswind Assist sounds very much like Lane Keep Assist.
lane keep using steering motion. driver alert
cross assist using brake. steering no motion. driver steady
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 09:50 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:46 PM)
lane keep using steering motion. driver alert
cross assist using brake. steering no motion. driver steady
Let try to find a video on Lane Keep Assist. Look mummy no hands needed. 😉
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 09:51 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 13 2024, 09:36 PM)
Heavy items is a plus during crosswind but since you went on to say that swaying still happened to Myvi G3 with heavy load, those must be some pretty strong crosswinds.
yalo. kinda rare to get wind from two direction (to right immediately to left).

maybe spring/shock press down nearly end. no more allowance.
i even hit bumpstop (suspension rubber) along d way
TSktek
post Feb 13 2024, 09:55 PM

小喇叭
13,217 posts

QUOTE(bo093 @ Feb 13 2024, 09:44 PM)
fast or slow, surface area matter most in crosswind problems.

low level crosswind gonna push you off course.
if anyone remember force vector (i dont think this is the accurate use of it), add speed, just maybe, less veering off course.
or sell the myvi, get a Merc with crosswind stablization  laugh.gif

high level crosswind...
well, if it gonna flip is gonna flip.
unless you mod (reducing surface area) your car to slide the crosswind. 
but on a serious note, crosswind is no joke.
best solution, pick a route with no to little crosswind or wait for it to die.
open both window can or not. i dont mind one.
less surface area.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 10:11 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:51 PM)
yalo. kinda rare to get wind from two direction (to right immediately to left).

maybe spring/shock press down nearly end. no more allowance.
i even hit bumpstop (suspension rubber) along d way
Bro., crosswinds can even fuckup a heavy loaded jumbo jet upon ILS approach, what is a Myvi for that matter or even a trailer.

Wonder if the plane that went down in Klang today has anything to do with winds also, crosswind or tailwind.

If i remember correctly the last issue on crosswind was when it took out an ambulance on a highway in the north. Cannot remember that location liao.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 10:18 PM
Roman Catholic
post Feb 13 2024, 11:18 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Feb 13 2024, 09:55 PM)
open both window can or not. i dont mind one.
less surface area.
Here is a video purportedly from Toyota.

Will find another better video.

Korang reading my posts "Look mum no hands", jangan ikut ya. Hands must be on the steering at all times as the driver is fully responsible for the safe operation of the vehicle.

I remember someone was asking why his didn't automatically brake by itself ? Although the video above may read or appear like it has AEB function like the Volvo but never read the fine lines. I have seen new vehicles with frontal collision and asked the SA, Why ? The answer is owners assumes, thinks the vehicle has AEB and that the vehicle will magically brake by itself. If it had such a function, the said vehicle wouldn't be at the SC awaiting approval of insurance claims.

Here is another video all the way from New Zealand ...

As much as we think that such technological advancement are good but the danger is when we believe and rely such technology completely to drive the vehicle on our behalf, now that is dangerous. If it was safe, apahal Malaysia Tesla langgar tembok ? Funny case, I had seen videos of Tesla US camera capturing of images at cemetery even displaying picture of a skull on it's screen but Tesla Malaysia cannot register the image of a block of wall across the road and went straight into it.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 13 2024, 11:43 PM
littlefire
post Feb 14 2024, 08:17 AM

2,736 posts

Bro, change car easy. You cant change the car aerodynamic design without getting JPJ involved.

Cheapo way to help try lowered your ride.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0216sec    0.85    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 11:58 PM