JPJ approval needed to drive overseas now?

TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 01:33 AM, updated 2y ago

744 posts

The JPJ explicitly states the LMM renewal slip can only be used within Malaysia and is not valid overseas. If you intend on driving in a foreign country, you’ll need to visit a JPJ counter to request for a physical card and pay RM20 for it. Similarly, the e-LMM can’t be used in foreign countries, so it looks you’ll have to get the physical card as well.

You’ll need to provide proof and any supporting documents such as travel tickets, an offer letter, a passport or any other relevant documents relating your trip overseas. Certain countries require an international driving permit (IDP), which is another thing you’ll have to pay for.

tldr:
So basically, just to get a physical driving lesen card, just like what we have now, need to go to JPJ office to apply. And whether can get also based on JPJ officer's discretion. On top of that, need to pay RM20 for the card.

not sure about you, feeling that this is a regressive move. More bureaucratic process and at the same time open for chances of power abuse.

sos: paultan

TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 10:45 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(Roadwarrior1337 @ Feb 11 2024, 06:03 AM)
Idp if I recall cost 150 ringgit. Buta buta now another 20 ringgit

Senang je make money
IDP is basically a booklet made of manila card with a passport photo pasted on it using normal glue. Name is also handwritten if not mistaken.

Only valid for 1 year and cost RM150
TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 10:47 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Feb 11 2024, 07:42 AM)
since when people thought we can use our driving license to drive overseas other than within aseans?...basically thailand and SG only

everywhere else is IDP all the way
Actually our lesen is quite laku overseas.

USA, UK, Australia, South korea, Taiwan, South east asia, europe, and many more also can use. No need extra IDP
TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 11:03 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(andyng38 @ Feb 11 2024, 09:23 AM)
Cukur I got a physical license when I renewed for 10 years and paid for 9 years last year at pejabat pos
Now still can get physical license, just need to go JPJ office, queue for long hours, then show prove that you going overseas, approval up to officer discretion, pay RM20 on top of the annual renewal fee.

More bureaucracy, means more chance for kopi duit?

Also, important to note that, even in Malaysia, without physical license, it is driver's responsibility to show the digital license in JPJ app with your phone when requested by JPJ/polis. Failure to produce the said documents is a criminal offence. So if you change phone, remember to install back the JPJ app and remember the login details.

And when you pass your phone to polis to see, basically you also given the consent for them to search thru your phone. And they can open any photo gallery and apps to look for any illegal stuff (eg nudity, prawn, gambling app/website, political stuffs), which give them opportunity to look for any chance to charge you in court, which can land you in jail.

Also, somewhat forced to install a government app in your phone might opens to many privacy concern. Like how much info can the app access in your phone? Location? What if the app is compromised and got hacked, will it open for hackers to hack the phone?
TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 01:33 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(Chinoz @ Feb 11 2024, 11:39 AM)
Rindu zaman can go post office renew and get physical card  In and out in under 5 minutes.
Rindu zaman bossku
TSBL98
post Feb 11 2024, 05:44 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(simonblowais @ Feb 11 2024, 05:39 PM)
Loke make things difficult so rakyat need pay more... Lousy
Some people say he is best transport minister ever....
TSBL98
post Feb 28 2024, 12:19 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(BaronVonchesto @ Feb 28 2024, 10:30 AM)
Lots of misinformation here. IDP is secondary to the issue at hand.
The problem is now if you go to renew your driving license, you need to waste time to go to JPJ and request a physical driving license card and pay EXTRA RM20 on top of your renewal, because that stupid piece of paper Anthony Loke gives you as proof of renewal, is not valid outside of Malaysia.

IDP is secondary. If you want IDP you still need to get the physical driving licsnse and pay not just the RM150, but also the RM20 for the card. Because the IDP is not valid without the driving license, and the paper LMM slip is not valid outside Malaysia!

so as long as you want to drive outside Malaysia, be it Singapore, Thailand, Australia or wherever, you need to waste time to go to JPJ and que for half the day. Dont forget to dress covering your aurat so that the little napoleons wont turn you away.

Anthony Loke's digitasation efforts are seriously a joke. He wants to force us to install his stupid JPJ app
If don't have the renewal slip, need to make sure the phone got jpj app installed and registered.

Failure to produce the app in the phone is also an offence.
TSBL98
post Feb 28 2024, 12:26 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Feb 28 2024, 12:23 PM)
It's going digital too far.

And why must I need to justify my request for a physical license? Need passport and flight booking as well!
If planning to drive into Singapore or Thailand how to have flight ticket?

Create more bureaucratic process, more chances for individual officer to have their own discretion, more chances of ahHuat white coffee.
TSBL98
post Feb 28 2024, 12:28 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(noien @ Feb 28 2024, 12:24 PM)
Stupid idea. Loke got no place else to earn money from ?
All pos office already got machine to print the physical lesen.
Now all of the machine just sitting there do nothing.
TSBL98
post Feb 29 2024, 09:09 AM

744 posts

QUOTE(BaronVonchesto @ Feb 28 2024, 09:49 PM)
If you want to drive outside of malaysia you MUST get the physical card.

JPJ app is NOT VALID OUTSIDE OF MALAYSIA
LMM Slip is also NOT VALID OUTSIDE OF MALAYSIA
Problem is to apply for physical card is not easy and up to individual officer's discretion.

What used to be easy straightforward process that can be done in any pos office, become unnecessarily tedious.
TSBL98
post Mar 1 2024, 04:05 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(myasiahobby @ Feb 29 2024, 09:47 AM)
Tomorrow im driving to Thailand. That day I went to jpj the officer say need  show hotel booking, passport or any supporting documents you are going overseas
Cannot day trip meh? Or cannot stay in friend's house? No hotel booking how?

Summor, we have to pay RM20 extra for the physical card, so should be no questions asked.
TSBL98
post Mar 1 2024, 04:06 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(ApocalypseSoon @ Feb 29 2024, 09:52 AM)
Ah Loke want MOT to earn money ma...to help gov fund hospital in gaza.
If let Pos Malaysia print then how can JPJ earn money & scrutinized each and everyone of u like a Little Napoleon.
Remember to tutup aurat yah when go to JPJ. 

LOL
Now those lesen printer sitting in every pos office in the country collecting dust.

supper brilliant.
TSBL98
post Mar 1 2024, 04:09 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(Avangelice @ Feb 29 2024, 09:54 AM)
Really dumbfuck need to show them. I want to get that card and I AM PAYING FOR IT. Why need approval??.
Just like go renew passport, need to prove going overseas.

This procedure does not make sense.
TSBL98
post Mar 1 2024, 04:14 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(a13solut3 @ Mar 1 2024, 04:08 PM)
just go agoda and book any hotel with free cancellation.

thing is already difficult enough

u don't have to make it harder than it already is sometimes.
Used to be able to renew and get card in nearby pos office. minimal crowd and waiting. Don't mind paying RM2.50 service fee to pos office.

Now need to get a fake agoda itenary, apply half day leave, go Q at JPJ office, just to get a lesen card. cry.gif
TSBL98
post Mar 1 2024, 04:15 PM

744 posts

QUOTE(jamesteoh8177 @ Mar 1 2024, 04:11 PM)
ini macam bkn red tape lagi oo...
trus hantam black tape oo...

mampuih nak kuar oversea nanti... punya la susah
Now that everyone install JPJ app in their phone, god knows what info will gov extract from our phones?

0.0217sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:43 PM