QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 10 2024, 05:29 PM)
You have a point there. No co would be willing to enforce such a contract. Even the most petty HR, would not sue because its normal in their business to have offer rejected.
They do suffer some losses, in terms of effort to get in the candidate. But not enough to sue.
I am thinking of setting up a poll to ask if it is ethical or not for a person to use this tactic.
But of late, I been seeing a lot of people doing this,
Ethics and moral is dependent on a person's principles. It's not imposed by law. If I was given any counter-offer also, I will consider, I mean if its like 50% or 60% more why not? lol...
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 10 2024, 05:29 PM)
stupid KPI, because by counter offer, it breeds ineffective self entitled employees.
it also demoralizes the rest of those who does not have opportunity to change jobs
Not really, this is normally imposed by CEO on HODs. Typically, subordinate don't know what is your immediate superior's KPI.
Some may have or some don't have but depends whether your superior share with you or not.
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 10 2024, 05:31 PM)
Don't know, I do notice those who got counter offer, when they come back, they are changed person.
and rest of the office suddenly like don't like them anymore.
depends, some CEO are blind as a church mice, they set up KPIs like this.
More pay, promotion etc... OF COZ i will come back a change person haha...
The again, those who typically get counter-offer especially before Bonus, normally get lesser or they don't get anything because they already receive earlier in their counter-offer. This is the downside, you can't eat your cake and have it too!
QUOTE(hoonanoo @ Feb 10 2024, 10:32 PM)
but risks of the person kena boikot by existing colleagues who felt unfair
Yes and no. If the person is a suck up then maybe but generally people don't mind but in fact it will motivate others to jump cause they know that the company can pay more.