6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Put $ to FD better or clear housing loan better?, 25 years,4 percent, RM 300,000

TSplouffle0789
post Feb 8 2024, 04:13 AM, updated 2y ago

1,836 posts

Loan Amount (P): RM 300,000
Loan Years: 25 years
Interest Rate: 4%

We'll calculate the monthly payment (M) using the formula:

Then, we'll find the total payment to the bank over 25 years by multiplying the monthly payment by the total number of payments (n):

Total Payment to Bank
=

Total Payment to Bank= M × n

After performing the calculations, the total interest to the bank over 25 years is approximately

RM 175,095.

Add back RM 300,000 housing loan amount,it is equal to

RM 475,095 (total loan amount pay to bank)

Vs

Fixed deposit 25 years of yearly compound
= 300,000×(1.04). 0.25
= RM 780,000

RM 780,000 - RM 300,000
= RM 480,000 (total interest earned)

Principal Interest Earned Maturity Amount
RM 300,000 RM 480,000 RM 780,000

Only RM 5,000 difference.....

Can someone confirm this? - Housing loan is calculated on a daily rest basis, while FD is compounded annually.

If neither the loan nor the fixed deposit is touched, will the housing loan still cost more?

Therefore, is it better to clear the housing loan first before putting money into a fixed deposit?

It is better to put your money into an EPF account to enjoy a higher interest rate than an FD.

You can still withdraw the money to pay your housing loan if the need arises when you reach age 55.

Good?

My REITs and blue-chip investments yield over 6% returns. With RM 400k, I can receive around RM 24k annually or RM 2k monthly in dividends.

If I invest RM 400k in high-rise properties, considering net rental income (after deducting maintenance fees, repairs, dealing with troublesome tenants, vacancies, etc.), can I still expect to earn RM 2k per month?

High-rise properties are currently being sold at future prices, with prices stagnant for the past few years.

There are many units being auctioned off, and new condos are being built nearby, selling at similar prices.

After some years, people may prefer newer units, making it challenging to sell older ones.

Indeed, it's becoming increasingly difficult to profit from property investment, with only agents profiting from property sales. Unless you're simply looking to diversify your investment portfolio.

Many of my middle-aged colleagues have liquidated their property investments to increase their EPF savings to over 1 million. This way, they can cash out some dividends every year for spending.

***** The interest charged on a housing loan is likely to be lower than the interest earned on a fixed deposit (yearly compounding) because mortgage interest is based on the reducing balance, not on accumulation.    ****** 

So which one better?

This post has been edited by plouffle0789: Feb 8 2024, 02:26 PM
billyboy
post Feb 8 2024, 04:33 AM

2,220 posts

Interest paid on loan is tax deductible

Interest from FD is taxable

Depends on tour tax position

SUStatabun
post Feb 8 2024, 04:45 AM

59 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Feb 8 2024, 05:33 AM)

eh? i tot UT and FD is tax free one? no ah?
DarkAeon
post Feb 8 2024, 05:13 AM

774 posts

usually interst on loan > fd rate

so......
Akaashi
post Feb 8 2024, 05:46 AM

199 posts

Clear loan first. If still got extra cash, put in FD.
lowyat9999
post Feb 8 2024, 05:47 AM

155 posts

QUOTE(billyboy @ Feb 8 2024, 04:33 AM)

tis is for company, individual where got tax for fd and where can reduce tax from interest.
SUSwilsonjay
post Feb 8 2024, 06:03 AM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

Huh since when interest paid on loan is tax deductible?
KenM
post Feb 8 2024, 06:05 AM

192 posts

can someone confirm… loan is daily rest, rate of calculation..FD is yearly compounded.. if neither is touched, loan will still cost more?
thus better to clear loan, correct?
vhs
post Feb 8 2024, 06:09 AM

90 posts

Interest paid on loan can only be offset against rental income, not other income such as salary.

Interest from local bank FD received by individual is not taxable, it is tax exempt in Malaysia.

I guess you are rich and own company managing many properties purchase and rental collection. biggrin.gif

https://www.propertyguru.com.my/property-gu...-malaysia-11868
https://taxsummaries.pwc.com/malaysia/indiv...%20tax%20exempt.

This post has been edited by vhs: Feb 8 2024, 06:12 AM
sibehluan
post Feb 8 2024, 06:09 AM

19 posts

Loan interest if tax deductible, T20 will be happy lor. Get money back from Gomen and use it to pay off additional loan amount.

Lai lai, I sappot
christ14
post Feb 8 2024, 06:25 AM

1,567 posts

wait what interest from loan is tax deductible?
p4n6
post Feb 8 2024, 06:42 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(plouffle0789 @ Feb 8 2024, 04:13 AM)
Loan Amount (P): RM 300,000
Loan Years: 25 years
Interest Rate: 4%

We'll calculate the monthly payment (M) using the formula:

Then, we'll find the total payment to the bank over 25 years by multiplying the monthly payment by the total number of payments (n):

Total Payment to Bank
=

Total Payment to Bank= M × n

After performing the calculations, the total interest to the bank over 25 years is approximately

RM 175,095.
Add back RM 300,000 housing loan amount,it is equal to

RM 475,095 (total loan amount pay to bank)
Vs

Fixed deposit 25 years of yearly compound
= 300,000×(1.04). 0.25
= RM 780,000
RM 780,000 - RM 300,000
= RM 480,000 (total interest earned)
Principal Interest Earned Maturity Amount
RM 300,000        RM 480,000      RM 780,000     
Only RM 5,000 difference.....
So which one better?
Your math all correct but not use correctly.

1. You assume you have 300k in FD to get compounding interest but you compare this to getting 300k loan from bank. Note that if you have 300k to start with you wont need to get loan from bank the first place.

2. You assume FD interest rate equal to mortgage rate, which also untrue in reality.

3. You assume installment amount remains unchange over 3 years also untrue.

4. Your calculation of mortgage interest is using simple interest which also not the case in reality.

5. Property price may appreaciate abit over period of 30 years so really no apple to apple, FD rate also changes every year.

6. You buy a house for 2 purpose, own stay or rent out/investment, let say you ownstay, if you dont buy you have to rent, so you need to minus the rental from your FD interest to compensate in your comparison. Let say you rent out, you basically not paying (installment= rent collected), pay less than installment (installment > rental) or get rental income (rental > installment). When you sell the house, you get back the money.

p4n6
post Feb 8 2024, 06:48 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(sibehluan @ Feb 8 2024, 06:09 AM)
Loan interest if tax deductible, T20 will be happy lor. Get money back from Gomen and use it to pay off additional loan amount.

Lai lai, I sappot
It is tax deductible.

Rental Income - Interest From Bank - Maintenance Fee = Total Income To Declare to IRB.

sluive
post Feb 8 2024, 06:58 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(KenM @ Feb 8 2024, 06:05 AM)
can someone confirm… loan is daily rest, rate of calculation..FD is yearly compounded.. if neither is touched, loan will still cost more?
thus better to clear loan, correct?
Yes. I can confirm. If you have money, park it into your loan account will save more, even if loan rate = fd rate
p4n6
post Feb 8 2024, 07:03 AM

5,974 posts

QUOTE(sluive @ Feb 8 2024, 06:58 AM)
Yes. I can confirm. If you have money, park it into your loan account will save more, even if loan rate = fd rate
Technically, bank takes the money you put in FD to loan it to someone else for profit …

If mortgage interest not higher than FD, what business is bank doing?
DarkNite
post Feb 8 2024, 07:05 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Feb 8 2024, 06:42 AM)
Your math all correct but not use correctly.

1. You assume you have 300k in FD to get compounding interest but you compare this to getting 300k loan from bank. Note that if you have 300k to start with you wont need to get loan from bank the first place.

2. You assume FD interest rate equal to mortgage rate, which also untrue in reality.

3. You assume installment amount remains unchange over 3 years also untrue.

4. Your calculation of mortgage interest is using simple interest which also not the case in reality.

5. Property price may appreaciate abit over period of 30 years so really no apple to apple, FD rate also changes every year.

6. You buy a house for 2 purpose, own stay or rent out/investment, let say you ownstay, if you dont buy you have to rent, so you need to minus the rental from your FD interest to compensate in your comparison. Let say you rent out, you basically not paying (installment= rent collected), pay less than installment (installment > rental) or get rental income (rental > installment). When you sell the house, you get back the money.
What were you expecting from a B40?
There are so many variables & situation.
No one shoe size fits all.
Like other member da ckp it really depends on the individual financial situation.
sluive
post Feb 8 2024, 07:11 AM

87 posts

QUOTE(p4n6 @ Feb 8 2024, 07:03 AM)
Technically, bank takes the money you put in FD to loan it to someone else for profit …

If mortgage interest not higher than FD, what business is bank doing?
You are correct. I was saying, even if.
N9484640
post Feb 8 2024, 07:14 AM

Chasing Electric
1,296 posts

Which country is this for? lol both also not applicable in Malaysia
N9484640
post Feb 8 2024, 07:20 AM

Chasing Electric
1,296 posts

For me I clear off house loan. Reason is I'm guaranteed to save 4% or whatever the loan rate is. FD nowadays so low interest. Yesterday I had to nego back and forth with the officer just to get an extra lousy 0.1% 🤦🏻‍♂️
drug5
post Feb 8 2024, 07:25 AM

107 posts

Where got so low loan interest rate and where got so high FD rate

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0199sec    0.76    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:30 PM