6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

PSA: Remember check your Car Battery before CNY..., Else later kaput, cant jumpstar easily.

MrBaba
post Feb 1 2024, 08:27 PM

2,506 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 1 2024, 08:01 PM)
Well concern maybe got arcing or battery explode or battery is considered "shorted" state.
Will short out the car electronics, and ended up the with 2 cars with flat batteries or shorted electronics later.
Actually u know how the battery work or not ?
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 09:00 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 1 2024, 07:56 PM)
Well, I think newer cars less of an issue.  hmm.gif
Hopefully my dashboard+fog lamps running won't be sucking too much power from the battery and/or alternator.
Really stupid feature of Bezza of designing a dashboard so recessed can't even read the speedometer under sunlight without the backlight on.

I normally only leave that on, heating element for rear windshield also off.
Only normally need to drive additional Xiaomi Dashcam from 5V/2A USB port and a 12V to 5V/9V/12V PD Charger Type C charger only  rclxub.gif
How I wish what you said is true, I think newer cars less of an issue. I am seeing so many troubles happening because owners think. To tell you the truth, I don't even allow clients close to my heart to jumpstart. They have my number and they are suppose to call me and not allow anyone to jumpstart etc etc provided they are within range.

Instead of writing the problems I am coming across, I will quote another forummer bad experience instead. New vehicle mileage 30k and the alternator had failed. Forummer acbc I thought my clients vehicle 5.5 years was the fastest but I think acbc friend took pole position !

About the dashboard and fog lamps. If those are stock from the factory, I wouldn't worry about it. If you have made any modifications to them, then that will be a problem. A potential problem. A potential customer called and what to know why his battery in his Honda last a year max. On!y at the end of the conversation, that I managed to uncover that he had done aftermarket modifications to his vehicle.

I dont recommend these aftermarket modifications especially if they are not approved by the manufacturer. Modern vehicles CANBUS will go haywire because of such modifications. Tip Ever wonder why the warranty on such aftermarket products are such a short period ? Back to the caller with a year max battery lifespan, KNN his camcorder stays on even after he turned off his vehicle for a period of time. Mana battery tak mati woi !

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 1 2024, 09:43 PM
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 09:05 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 1 2024, 08:22 PM)
Thanks to those people i found 1 month old battery at my friend's scrap yard.

U can try Kingbolen BM550, quite cheap and accurate, less than rm50 can get, youtube got ppl test it against Bosch battery tester and it is almost as accurate as the Bosch.

Redneck like me I don't just charge it using a conventional battery charger, I zap those battery with DC inverter welder, after zapping u can see the CCA improve. That how my scrap yard's friend lorry don't have to buy battery. And of course not all battery can be zapped, if u don't know what you are doing, you can end up with acid bath.
Ha ha. Here is the kicker, "if u don't know what u are doing." Kejap. I think like that also can la. I see YouTube video, they also do no problem what. I done so many times already, how difficult can it get.

I have to thank everyone because of their willingness to try out stuff and when it fails, then I know those stuff cannot work one.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 1 2024, 09:26 PM
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 09:13 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 1 2024, 07:53 PM)
I never bought battery for all the car in my house, my friend open scrap yard, so i just go there and take for free only... U will be surprised by how many battery is actually "misdiagnosed" or "scam" by mechanic.
A mechanic who retires a Good Battery from service in a client vehicle is not honest but the mechanic who sends a Good Battery to the scrap yard, is he an intelligent mechanic ? LOL

You must be blessed to have so many intelligent mechanics nearby.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 1 2024, 09:27 PM
rcracer
post Feb 1 2024, 09:27 PM

?????
3,772 posts

If you can't get a new battery or want to chance it, just keep a set of jumper cables in the car
iUnique
post Feb 1 2024, 09:48 PM

90 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 1 2024, 09:00 PM)
had done aftermarket modifications to his vehicle.
may I know which mods that should be avoided/ think thouroughly?

a. changing the infotainment system to aftermarket one - for 360 feature
b. DVR

both should be ok right?
boonwuilow
post Feb 1 2024, 09:54 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 1 2024, 09:13 PM)
A mechanic who retires a Good Battery from service in a client vehicle is not honest but the mechanic who sends a Good Battery to the scrap yard, is he an intelligent mechanic ? LOL

You must be blessed to have so many intelligent mechanics nearby.
Some of it are sent in from walk in customer, that bangla worker also ask, eh battery baru 1 bulan sudah mau buang ka... that customer say, neh itu mechanic lah, sudah tukar lagi x boleh, lagi tukar lagi check baru tau alternator punya hal. Then every week will have this one guy come with a small van, he will unload on average at least 10 battery each time, and he can explicitly tell that bangla worker which battery still good working condition which is not, then the worker will separate out the working battery and when i test, that seller put his money where his mouth is. And this guy, how much money u give him, he don't care, he just take whatever u give him, he don't even care if he bring in a DIN110 but you pay him NS40 price, just as long as he walks out with money.

All i know is this is very good for the economy even though is dishonest or incompetent mechanic. And beneficial for people like me. And good for my scrap yard friend, pay lower than market value still got ppl willing to sell, then drill holes to the battery and brim it with water before selling to larger scrap, cause larger scrap they weight the battery instead of by unit and size. Then also beneficial to my other close friend, they need battery just let me know they get the battery for free (as long as they exchange their old one) and belanja me eat.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 09:56 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(iUnique @ Feb 1 2024, 09:48 PM)
may I know which mods that should be avoided/ think thouroughly?

a. changing the infotainment system to aftermarket one - for 360 feature
b. DVR

both should be ok right?
The.caller didn't specify which camcorder model but what he said was initially the camcorder was connected to the cigarette adaptor but subsequently it was rewired directly to the battery itself.

My advice is best to buy a vehicle that comes with whatever one wants. Unless these aftermarket modifications are approved by the car manufacturer, I wouldn't dare install anything to my new vehicles.

In the old post, there was a new forummer who bought the basic Axia. Send the new Axia to make such modifications, then car cannot start ! Apa lagi buka thread, ask how la. Dunno Perodua Service Center is going to help him out for doing illegal modifications onot. The guy never came back online despite PM him. Definately the accessories shop is not going to take responsibility for screwing up the guy new Axia.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 1 2024, 09:57 PM
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 10:05 PM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 1 2024, 09:54 PM)
Some of it are sent in from walk in customer, that bangla worker also ask, eh battery baru 1 bulan sudah mau buang ka... that customer say, neh itu mechanic lah, sudah tukar lagi x boleh, lagi tukar lagi check baru tau alternator punya hal. Then every week will have this one guy come with a small van, he will unload on average at least 10 battery each time, and he can explicitly tell that bangla worker which battery still good working condition which is not, then the worker will separate out the working battery and when i test, that seller put his money where his mouth is. And this guy, how much money u give him, he don't care, he just take whatever u give him, he don't even care if he bring in a DIN110 but you pay him NS40 price, just as long as he walks out with money.

All i know is this is very good for the economy even though is dishonest or incompetent mechanic. And beneficial for people like me. And good for my scrap yard friend, pay lower than market value still got ppl willing to sell, then drill holes to the battery and brim it with water before selling to larger scrap, cause larger scrap they weight the battery instead of by unit and size. Then also beneficial to my other close friend, they need battery just let me know they get the battery for free (as long as they exchange their old one) and belanja me eat.
That is why, my clients are taught to listen only to me. I say battery can use, they follow la. 1 client went to SC for servicing. Battery on!y 1 year, SC told him battery weak liao. Luckily he brought up the issue with me and when I check the battery ok je. I asked the guy where is the proof that the SC said it was weak ? He said they just told him verbally only. I replied, next time anybody say anything about my Principal Co battery I install, I want to see the back & white. It has been 6 months already, the weak battery still OK only. Of course it's a good battery la. This is classic example of battery 1 year already kah ? Going to spoil already according to the battery tester inside their head. 😂 Kelapa otak dia.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 1 2024, 10:12 PM

3,520 posts

Good title thread. Even better is before any road trip, get a trusted person to check the battery is OK.

Don't tengah highway, bateri mati woi. Call me, I also won't help. Gila ka ? KNN Highway le, fucking dangerous. 10 pipu already died because of battery Itu pun pasal official report. Unofficial dunno how many die already.

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 1 2024, 10:12 PM
boonwuilow
post Feb 1 2024, 10:26 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 1 2024, 10:05 PM)
That is why, my clients are taught to listen only to me. I say battery can use, they follow la. 1 client went to SC for servicing. Battery on!y 1 year, SC told him battery weak liao. Luckily he brought up the issue with me and when I check the battery ok je. I asked the guy where is the proof that the SC said it was weak ? He said they just told him verbally only. I replied, next time anybody say anything about my Principal Co battery I install, I want to see the back & white. It has been 6 months already, the weak battery still OK only. Of course it's a good battery la. This is classic example of battery 1 year already kah ? Going to spoil already according to the battery tester inside their head. 😂 Kelapa otak dia.
Ah when you say SC, last time my scrap collector friend go and pakat with the SC of the brand with tiger on it's logo. He offer them good price for the battery, with that this motivated the mechanic to entice and coax the customer into replacing their battery. Last i know they are so motivated until all the mechanic will come and queue up as soon as his lorry arrive just to sell him the battery. U see... like this good for the SC in terms of sales and those mechanic, with the xtra money they can go and spend it and treat their family to a nice meal. This is what i called help drive the growth of economy... thumbsup.gif thumbup.gif

But yeah the X50 really got prob... like 9/10 the battery is really bad.
Dweller
post Feb 1 2024, 10:52 PM

105 posts

QUOTE(iSean @ Feb 1 2024, 04:43 PM)
blink.gif

To start car (proper) :  Click Button Once --> Dashboards lights up --> Then Press Break Pedal --> Click Start Button again

To start car (unproper) :  Press Break Pedal --> Click Start Button again --> Everything fully On.

To stop car : Put in Park and Pull Up Hand break --> Press Break Pedal --> Click Stop Button

Typically I won't turn on the circular fog/sport lights , as Bezza designed the dashboard too dark, I need the backlight on my dashboard on , which requires my circular fog lamps to be on.
You should pull up hand brake then put it in park. This way your gearbox won't hold the car static, but the brake will

Dweller
post Feb 1 2024, 11:01 PM

105 posts

Rule for jumpstart I kept in my mind
1. Make the jumper connection on the bad battery first and on the good battery last. This way, spark will only be at the good battery, reduce the chance of explosion
2. Jump start with the jumper car turned off. Don't want both alternator running causing potential electronic damage

Can also consider to keep supercapacitor jump starter. Cool tech where it can take the juice from your low battery, cranked up the voltage and start your car (working principle akin to camera flash) . No periodic charging needed like powerbank.

This post has been edited by Dweller: Feb 1 2024, 11:02 PM
brkli
post Feb 1 2024, 11:17 PM

592 posts

what year alreday just buy a portable jump start powerbank la.. 70mai one cost like RM200 or less only..
CoffeeDude
post Feb 1 2024, 11:26 PM

1,609 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ Feb 1 2024, 03:50 PM)
Buy a charger.

Charge the batts to 100% every 6 months.

Ur batts would last at least 3 years.
I have been using a Bosch C7 for many years to charge my 2 car batteries 👍
mushigen
post Feb 1 2024, 11:42 PM

4,952 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 1 2024, 09:56 PM)
The.caller didn't specify which camcorder model but what he said was initially the camcorder was connected to the cigarette adaptor but subsequently it was rewired directly to the battery itself.

My advice is best to buy a vehicle that comes with whatever one wants. Unless these aftermarket modifications are approved by the car manufacturer, I wouldn't dare install anything to my new vehicles.

In the old post, there was a new forummer who bought the basic Axia. Send the new Axia to make such modifications, then car cannot start ! Apa lagi buka thread, ask how la. Dunno Perodua Service Center is going to help him out for doing illegal modifications onot. The guy never came back online despite PM him. Definately the accessories shop is not going to take responsibility for screwing up the guy new Axia.

When my car was still under warranty, I had lots of things to install but sked void warranty.
Now that the warranty is over, I'm still sked to install in case those workers screw up the wiring. Even simple things like installing horn to replace the original pandan horn pun put me off because I don't know how they're going to splice the wire.
Roman Catholic
post Feb 2 2024, 12:04 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Feb 1 2024, 11:42 PM)

Best is to leave it original.
diffyhelman2
post Feb 2 2024, 01:41 AM

863 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 1 2024, 08:22 PM)
Thanks to those people i found 1 month old battery at my friend's scrap yard.

U can try Kingbolen BM550, quite cheap and accurate, less than rm50 can get, youtube got ppl test it against Bosch battery tester and it is almost as accurate as the Bosch.

Redneck like me I don't just charge it using a conventional battery charger, I zap those battery with DC inverter welder, after zapping u can see the CCA improve. That how my scrap yard's friend lorry don't have to buy battery. And of course not all battery can be zapped, if u don't know what you are doing, you can end up with acid bath.
Thanks for the info. Bought one for rm44 during the 2.2 Shopee shocking sales
Roman Catholic
post Feb 2 2024, 06:22 AM

3,520 posts

QUOTE(boonwuilow @ Feb 1 2024, 10:26 PM)
Ah when you say SC, last time my scrap collector friend go and pakat with the SC of the brand with tiger on it's logo. He offer them good price for the battery, with that this motivated the mechanic to entice and coax the customer into replacing their battery. Last i know they are so motivated until all the mechanic will come and queue up as soon as his lorry arrive just to sell him the battery. U see... like this good for the SC in terms of sales and those mechanic, with the xtra money they can go and spend it and treat their family to a nice meal. This is what i called help drive the growth of economy...  :thumbsup:  thumbup.gif

But yeah the X50 really got prob... like 9/10 the battery is really bad.
Thinking over your post about them being "so motivated", ini yang bahaya ni. It's akin to stealing already by using deception to mislead customers into replacing their Good Battery. Pity customers who comes in contact with such characters and then blame "Why these days batteries don't last long ?"

Bro., I have a question. Since you are into using scrap batteries. How long have the scrap batteries lasted Iin your turbo diesel, correct ? Means for 1. Scrap RFB how long ? 2. Scrap EFB how long ? & 3. Scrap AGM how long ?

This post has been edited by Roman Catholic: Feb 2 2024, 06:23 AM
boonwuilow
post Feb 2 2024, 01:50 PM

Diesel rocks
3,836 posts

QUOTE(Roman Catholic @ Feb 2 2024, 06:22 AM)
Thinking over your post about them being "so motivated", ini yang bahaya ni. It's akin to stealing already by using deception to mislead customers into replacing their Good Battery. Pity customers who comes in contact with such characters and then blame "Why these days batteries don't last long ?"

Bro., I have a question. Since you are into using scrap batteries. How long have the scrap batteries lasted Iin your turbo diesel, correct ? Means for 1. Scrap RFB how long ? 2. Scrap EFB how long ? & 3. Scrap AGM how long ?
Then you ask back the customer loh... If you as a battery manufacture do you want your battery to last like super super long? So long that people who pakai your battery don't have to change battery making your business turnover rate super low till gulung tikar... laugh.gif

The scrap AGM in my turbo diesel has been a few months, every week i monitor the CCA and internal resistance and it never drop and increase. EFB i don't bother to take, they always arrived like super super dead, can't even power the battery tester that kind of dead. Normal RFB, for my own car only target those which were like super new and sold to scrap simply because of alternator failed and can't charge the battery. Like i just got a Amaron 65d26L 420CCA rated but tested 500CCA. Yes... i understand about the fact that SLI battery sulfation will occur when it is deep discharged. Expect maybe can use for 1 year? Those Century and Motolite NS70 and D23 tends to be good, if the CCA is low, i just have to zap it with DC welder can regain 100-150CCA, improving it very close to factory rated CCA. Those use on lorry so far already more than 6 months still going strong. So far the oldest battery i put on my diesel car is the Merc OE AGM which was approx 3 years + when it was send to scrap.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0239sec    0.37    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 03:11 AM