8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

BoostBank - By Axiata & RHB, Digital Bank of Malaysia

SUSTOS
post Aug 9 2024, 01:52 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(songokujames @ Aug 9 2024, 01:41 PM)
is 3.6% rate can become 7.2% using the round up trick like GX bank?
I recall the interests are credited weekly, not daily.

So, no.
SUSTOS
post Sep 18 2024, 06:11 PM

8,667 posts

Looking to hire some white mice to confirm the calculations. tongue.gif The "experiment" will last for one week...

So, I am proposing 3 magic numbers here to test out:

Normal saving account: 73.20 MYR

Normal saving jar: 50.84 MYR each (up to maximum of 8 jars)

Special saving jar: 45.75 MYR (per jar)

7 days later, each jar/saving account will give you 0.07 MYR, if the FAQ is correct.

Feel free to correct me if my calculation is wrong yea. I am now in SG can't download BoostBank app, will try out when I go back tomorrow.

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 19 2024, 12:23 PM
SUSTOS
post Sep 19 2024, 11:43 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 18 2024, 06:11 PM)
Looking to hire some white mice to confirm the calculations. tongue.gif The "experiment" will last for one week...

So, I am proposing 3 magic numbers here to test out:

Normal saving account: 73.20 MYR

Normal saving jar: 50.84 MYR each (up to maximum of 8 jars)

Special saving jar: 45.75 MYR (per jar)

7 days later, each jar/saving account will give you 0.07 MYR, if the FAQ is correct.

Feel free to correct me if my calculation is wrong yea. I am now in SG can't download BoostBank app, will try out when I go back tomorrow.
Opened BoostBank account today. Tried out the 50.84 MYR normal saving jar for one jar first.

Next Friday morning we will see the results. I will report back here. Will see if I get 0.07 MYR...

Worst case I earn 3.6% p.a. 20 basis points below Rize's 3.8% p.a., not a big opportunity cost for one week.
SUSTOS
post Sep 25 2024, 10:08 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(weejin2000 @ Sep 25 2024, 08:53 PM)
So I deposit what TOS suggest above, after one which is today, I get 4 cents of interest for each saving jar.
Right, we got 2 observations here, so time to abandon the ship and follow this earlier advice below. Boost Bank is fooling people with its FAQ. tongue.gif

QUOTE(TOS @ Sep 18 2024, 04:20 PM)
I see what you mean now.

For all others:

Main saving account amount to deposit = (0.005/0.025)/(7/366) = 10.46 MYR (you get 0.01 every 7 days)

Normal saving jar amount to deposit = (0.005/0.036)/(7/366) * 8 = 7.27 MYR * 8 = 58.16 MYR (you get 0.01 every 7 days per jar for a maximum of 8 jars)

Special saving jar amount to deposit = (0.005/0.04)/(7/366) = 6.54 MYR (you get 0.01 every 7 days per jar)

--------------------------------------

The effective rate (simple interest, no compounding aka FD-equivalent quote) will be 0.01 per week * 52 weeks per year / amount to deposit, which are:

Main saving account: 4.97% p.a.

Normal saving jar: 7.15% p.a. (per jar, can open maximum of 8 jars)

Special saving jar: 7.95% p.a. (per jar)

-------------------------------------------

I am one of those without access to special saving jar... So counting only main account + normal saving jar, you deposit 68.62 MYR into Boost, split into 10.46 MYR in main + 58.16 MYR in 8 saving pockets, each having 7.27 MYR. You will earn 0.09 MYR per week. Assuming EOD balance remains the same for the next 52 weeks/1 year, that translates to an overall effective return of 0.09*52/68.62 = 6.8% p.a.

Let me know if any of my calculations are wrong. smile.gif

If we are all good, I will post this over to the Boost Bank thread for more appropriate discussion as this is GX Bank thread.

Thanks!
Thanks to weejin2000 and sam93xxxxx for becoming the white mice... I quit the experiment just before Friday haha, abandon ship halfway lol

This post has been edited by TOS: Sep 25 2024, 10:20 PM
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:39 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 1 2024, 08:37 AM)
Still cannot withdraw? shocking.gif
Maybe we shall call it a 1 month 5% p.a. FD then tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:41 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(songokujames @ Oct 1 2024, 08:02 AM)
I deposited to Boost birthday jar but then I cannot withdrawn it back . It show me" transfer is not allow for debtor"  ?
QUOTE(wjleong15 @ Oct 1 2024, 08:37 AM)
Still cannot withdraw? shocking.gif
Yup, I tried it myself, can't be withdrawn. Money tied up for 1 month...
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:44 AM

8,667 posts

For those who want to maximize their birthday jar interest to 10%, deposit (0.005/0.05)/(7/366) = 5.23 MYR will do.
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:46 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(gempakstarz @ Oct 1 2024, 08:44 AM)
u put 25k?
Haha I am ikan bilis. I put 10.46 MYR, originally meant to earn 4.97% p.a. effectively in my main account. But now money stuck at this special jar for one month at 5% p.a., not very enticing...

Let's hope they fix the withdrawal issue soon.
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:49 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ycktech @ Oct 1 2024, 08:47 AM)
Wierd not even birthday month also can unlock it.
How come? Is there a bug?
Yea, I suspect so. If you click on the "Find Out More" button things are not working too.

Very buggy. Typical GLC service standard laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 08:58 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ycktech @ Oct 1 2024, 08:52 AM)
Not sure if we put in money to the birthday jar later due to bug they revert to only 3.6% or not.
Wan to risk it or not?
CelcomDigi actually shared the 5% thingie here: https://www.celcomdigi.com/promotions/boost-bank-offer-copy

Now they removed the page.

If they give 3.6% then withdraw to somewhere else like KDI Save etc.

Was hoping Bank Islam BeU will come out up with something to fight with the digital bank boys... no news yet? ikanez
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 09:03 AM

8,667 posts

I just found out that there's a new version of BoostBank app on Play Store. Try updating it and see if the bug is fixed.

Nope, the update is just to display debit card offering...

This post has been edited by TOS: Oct 1 2024, 09:06 AM
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 09:14 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(songokujames @ Oct 1 2024, 09:12 AM)
All the 5% special jar cannot withdrawn, I have try deposit to all 5% special jar
I see, so you mean the Bataras, Farley, CKS, CelcomDigi etc, all cannot be withdrawn?

Was that the case in the previous month?
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 09:50 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(ikanez @ Oct 1 2024, 09:45 AM)
Still in our backlog atm smile.gif
Aweee man

Kena cepat ni. Banyak ikan paus dekat sini sekali gus 50k, rugi interest banyak lah laugh.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 11:42 AM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 10:25 AM)
Interest is credited daily now.  biggrin.gif

According to the new T&C:
6. Interest Payment Frequency
DSA: Interest is credited daily on the anniversary of the DSA account opening date.
Savings Jars: Interest is credited daily on the anniversary of each individual Savings Jar's opening date. If a Savings Jar is closed, any accrued interest will be credited to the DSA.
QUOTE(songokujames @ Oct 1 2024, 10:32 AM)
Problem solve, now all can withdrawn
Oh I missed that. Daily interest means new magic number... Let's recalculate...

I think the saving jar can cause GX Bank to lose customer deposits given 3.6% > 3%
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 12:55 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 12:52 PM)
According to the latest Boost's Product & Disclosure sheet dated today, seems like the saving jar interest rate is going to reduce to 3.2% soon.
But it still showing 3.6% on my phone? Will know it whether 3.2% or 3.6% on tomorrow once daily interest credited.
https://myboostbank.co/sites/default/files/...osure_Sheet.pdf
The way they communicate is very bad. The PR team is terrible lah, compared to GX Bank...
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 01:00 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 10:25 AM)
Interest is credited daily now.  biggrin.gif

According to the new T&C:
6. Interest Payment Frequency
DSA: Interest is credited daily on the anniversary of the DSA account opening date.
Savings Jars: Interest is credited daily on the anniversary of each individual Savings Jar's opening date. If a Savings Jar is closed, any accrued interest will be credited to the DSA.
The old T&C also has the same statement: https://myboostbank.co/terms-and-conditions

So it's still weekly I think.

The old PDS also says 3.2% p.a., but the saving jar rates have been 3.6% since Boost Bank was launched: https://myboostbank.co/sites/default/files/...ngs_Acocunt.pdf
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 01:12 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 01:07 PM)
Pretty sure that the previous days' interest was credited to me this morning. since I just opened the account less than a week and noticed the interest was credited this morning.  biggrin.gif
I see, the old PDS did mentioned 3.2% as well. So it doesn't take effect yet.  rclxm9.gif

Updated: Just made a call to Boost, and they said interest for saving jar remain 3.6%.
Uhmm previous day means yesterday and that's still September. System only upgraded to take effect this month (i.e., starting today), no?

Previously the interest is credited on a weekly basis. You have checked that your first deposit was less than 1 week ago?
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 01:13 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 01:07 PM)
Updated: Just made a call to Boost, and they said interest for saving jar remain 3.6%.
Can you ask them if interest is still credited daily or weekly? tongue.gif
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 01:28 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(skymade @ Oct 1 2024, 01:25 PM)
Today is my 5th day with Boost Bank, my first deposit on 27-Sept, and never received any "Interest Paid" before last night.
This morning when I open the app,  I saw there are a number of transactions named "Interest Paid" was credited into DSA and diff jars.
According to the transactions records, the 1st interest was paid on 28-Sept until today, all interest credited today.
Oh, so that means BoostBank shifted to daily interests from at least 27th September onwards?

You deposited on 27, you already got money coming in on 28?
SUSTOS
post Oct 1 2024, 01:34 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(cclim2011 @ Oct 1 2024, 01:27 PM)
i am.actually getting interest daily since 28th
Right, then it's time to move money form GX entirely to BoostBank...

Magic numbers to try out:

Normal DSA: (0.005/0.025)*366 = 73.20 MYR assuming 2.5% daily interest (effective rate 5% p.a.)
Normal saving jars: (0.005/0.036)*366 = 50.84 MYR assuming 3.6% daily interest (effective rate 7.2% p.a.)
5% special jars: (0.005/0.05)*366 = 36.60 MYR assuming 5% daily interest (effective rate 10% p.a.)

cclim2011 and skymade can you guys confirm that you deposited at least 73.20/50.84 into the DSA or normal saving jars. (For the 4% saving jars last month, to earn at least 0.01 MYR interest the magic number should be (0.005/0.04)*366 = 45.75 MYR.) You guys deposited at least the above numbers and got daily interests?

8 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0198sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:58 PM