Bike losing power in heavy rain
TSbluecat68
Jan 23 2024, 08:13 PM, updated 2y ago
10 years Kriss MR1 here often losing power in heavy rain. Some google results mention about the spark plug can be one of the cause. So just change the spark plug can fix the problem ?? By the way I do change the spark plug like every 2-3 months.
Is there other possible reasons for the issue beside spark plug ??
alex000999000
Jan 23 2024, 08:22 PM
i am not technician, just sharing here, have you check the air intake/ filter part ? like my experience is drive through small river the water somehow get in or the air intake part got jammed then no smooth air flow go in so the engine die at the spot, after dry abit or start a few time then no issue again, or the engine sealing glue already too old (which less likely is this issue
did your bike pop alot of white smoke maybe ?
TSbluecat68
Jan 23 2024, 08:29 PM
QUOTE(alex000999000 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:22 PM) i am not technician, just sharing here, have you check the air intake/ filter part ? like my experience is drive through small river the water somehow get in or the air intake part got jammed then no smooth air flow go in so the engine die at the spot, after dry abit or start a few time then no issue again, or the engine sealing glue already too old (which less likely is this issue did your bike pop alot of white smoke maybe ? I have no clue how my bike's air intake/ filter part looks like or where those part located, may be should go workshop again tomorrow to figure that out but pretty sure my bike don't pop white smoke .. may be a little bit once a while but that's all.
alexei
Jan 23 2024, 09:13 PM
how many threads you want to start for your Kriss? plug cap leak water
TSbluecat68
Jan 24 2024, 02:59 AM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 23 2024, 09:13 PM) how many threads you want to start for your Kriss? plug cap leak water What's the problem ?? Different topic different post. Simple as that.
TSbluecat68
Feb 22 2024, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 23 2024, 09:13 PM) how many threads you want to start for your Kriss? plug cap leak water What is plug cap ?? This (1st Attachment) ?? If yes then change the whole cable ?? By the way why leak now ?? I didn't see any hole or something like that along side the cable. Also this cable connect to this components (2nd Attachment) .. should I change that together ??
alexei
Feb 22 2024, 07:57 PM
QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Feb 22 2024, 06:50 PM) What is plug cap ?? This (1st Attachment) ?? If yes then change the whole cable ?? By the way why leak now ?? I didn't see any hole or something like that along side the cable. Also this cable connect to this components (2nd Attachment) .. should I change that together ?? » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « yes, plug cap leak when got water splash to it, then the plug cannot ignite becoz water short circuit the spark to ground just change plug cap, google for pic, search shopee for pic just unscrew the plug cap off the old cable and screw on the new one
TSbluecat68
Feb 22 2024, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 22 2024, 07:57 PM) yes, plug cap leak when got water splash to it, then the plug cannot ignite becoz water short circuit the spark to ground just change plug cap, google for pic, search shopee for pic just unscrew the plug cap off the old cable and screw on the new one The thing is water splash to it every time when it rain all the past 10 years and suddenly it causing short circuit now ?? To be honest I not getting it without convincing explanation. By the way pls note the problem is "Bike losing power and even shut down in heavy rain" not "Bike can't ignite in heavy rain" if that make any different. This post has been edited by bluecat68: Feb 22 2024, 08:10 PM
alexei
Feb 23 2024, 01:47 PM
alexei
Feb 23 2024, 01:47 PM
alexei
Feb 23 2024, 01:50 PM
TSbluecat68
Feb 24 2024, 02:19 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 23 2024, 01:47 PM) What is plug lead ?? The cable which connect to the plug cap ?? This >> ??
And since the other end of the spark cable connect to this then I guess this is the coil ??
I see no hole or crack alongside the cable though. Nvm will definitely change it if my current new taught method by a foreman not working. He say that's very normal because rider like me who work delivery very often drive under rain and carburetor will eventually get too many water inside by leaking somewhere or moisture effect from air filter especially I found out my air filter foam actually totally destroy like it never there (10 yrs never service or replace the foam). He open the screw which located at the bottom of my carburetor and let those fluid came out a little bit and there indeed water inside along with the petrol but I never has chance to find out if the method solve my problem because no heavy rain this 2 days the time I work. Somehow problem like this might explain why most rider will choose to stop and wait instead of continue working when the rain get heavier, may be most of them actually having the same problem but don't know how to solve it.
This post has been edited by bluecat68: Feb 24 2024, 02:20 PM
alexei
Feb 25 2024, 09:30 AM
let the engine run with double stand take a hose, and splash water the the plug cap is and see
he open the carb is fuel at the bottom, of course fuel will leak out there he need to collect the fuel, and check for water
suggest you service the bike properly and thoroughly
SUSifourtos
Feb 25 2024, 09:38 AM
cannot go wirkshop??
TSbluecat68
Feb 25 2024, 02:35 PM
QUOTE(alexei @ Feb 25 2024, 09:30 AM) . let the engine run with double stand take a hose, and splash water the the plug cap is and see he open the carb is fuel at the bottom, of course fuel will leak out there he need to collect the fuel, and check for water suggest you service the bike properly and thoroughly He didn't guarantee that is the solution but the fluid that came out from the bowl does contain water and he tell me just try again and see how and yesterday evening I have a chance to test it under medium-heavy rain for about 2 hrs travel and that problem didn't happen at all. Coincidence ?? Guess I need another 1 or 2 heavy rain trip to find out.
TSbluecat68
Feb 25 2024, 02:41 PM
QUOTE(ifourtos @ Feb 25 2024, 09:38 AM) Can but they all need me to leave my bike there for at least few hours but no temp transport that make me hesitate. They all not close to where I stay.
zuozi
Feb 25 2024, 02:53 PM
The concept is similar to car
Sparkplug cable is not 100% water proof type of thing
Last time car engine with standalone ignition coil, then distributor then distributor cap then spark plugs cable into spark plug
Every time if engine wash at non experience car wash or user error even for modern vehicle can lead to missed fire if there are moisture
Unless you glue whole thing up which have very high heat resistant hard like rock then everytime spark plugs change you got to replace the spark plug cable together
If ignition coil also masuk air got moisture you can also seal it up the concept it's similar to submersible water pump if you know what I'm talking about 😂😂
zuozi
Feb 25 2024, 02:59 PM
Even the blue circular part the carburator gasket failure ada air hujan air masuk also can stalling the engine if you ask how to masuk air because it's considered breathing air in of course can masuk air Gasket it's not a forever seal Prof of thing if you wonder why now only rosak just like you shoe wear and tear when your shoe dah bukak mulut buaya you either glue balik or tukar shoe baru This post has been edited by zuozi: Feb 25 2024, 03:03 PM
TSbluecat68
Feb 26 2024, 12:26 PM
I pay the price getting cold by examine the bike over 2 hrs in the heavy rain that day and just now I spray water directly into the spark plug area for like few mins but no luck to re-create the stutter and stop issue, may be the "free the water from the bottom bowl of the carburetor" trick that foreman show me really work ??  Regardless I will definitely change my plug coil / plug lead / cap altogether because many people or google search mention it do bring back a good amount of engine performance in whatever condition after the old one already use for so long.
alexei
Feb 26 2024, 08:32 PM
QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Feb 26 2024, 12:26 PM) I pay the price getting cold by examine the bike over 2 hrs in the heavy rain that day and just now I spray water directly into the spark plug area for like few mins but no luck to re-create the stutter and stop issue, may be the "free the water from the bottom bowl of the carburetor" trick that foreman show me really work ?? Regardless I will definitely change my plug coil / plug lead / cap altogether because many people or google search mention it do bring back a good amount of engine performance in whatever condition after the old one already use for so long. thanks for doing this we ruled out the plug cap next is possibly the carb is leaking water, or the air intake is ingesting water