Penang water pipe burst again!, Pls dun come to Pg for this weekend?

loserguy
post Jan 24 2024, 12:14 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 24 2024, 12:02 PM)
I think you don't know how pipe works
Of course can.
The water just flow faster in 2x 600mm pipes and then flow slower in 1350mm.
you need to square it

area of 2x600 mm is less than half of 1x1350 mm

you can increase the flow rate by upping the pressure, but got limit also or the pipe will pecah again
loserguy
post Jan 24 2024, 12:43 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 24 2024, 12:34 PM)
What I mean is, if the piping is constricted at 2x600mm, the water will just flow faster there.

Nothing really change

Let's say output from pump is 2000l/hour flow rate

A (1350) --> B (2x600) --> A (1350)

The connected in between B will flow faster

But when it back to A, it will flow back to 2000l/h rate

Nothing change
Pressure need to increase with the faster flow rate, they cannot just keep on increasing pumping pressure and flow rate. Most likely will need to reduce a bit of pumping pressure if they do not want the new smaller pipes to burst too.

just a random figure i googled

edit:
from the picture, take for example 40 psi,
big pipe ~230 gpm
2xsmall pipe ~2 x 50 gpm

if you want to maintain the flow rate at 2 x 100 gpm, the pressure in the smaller pipes would go > 100 psi.

so yeah, most likely they will need to reduce the pressure a bit.

in practice, the frictional losses would also reduce some of it.

This post has been edited by loserguy: Jan 24 2024, 12:51 PM
loserguy
post Jan 24 2024, 03:27 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(throwawayacclmao @ Jan 24 2024, 03:13 PM)
How ah? Still no water? My condo at bayan lepas airport area water tank left half..
Considering escape to taiping lol
jom we go Selangor, kasi Selangor full with P plate cars

0.0247sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 08:40 AM