Breaking: MPH Mid Valley to close down., End of an era...

thesoothsayer
post Jan 23 2024, 08:30 PM

954 posts

QUOTE(xpole @ Jan 23 2024, 07:46 PM)
Yes, I do agree with you a lot of the bookstores in US are closing.

But when it comes to latest book that available in their bookstores, they are the best.

But in our country, if I want to buy latest books, I have to drive to KLCC Kinokuniya or alternatively ordered from Amazon Singapore.

Tsutaya bookstore, MPH, Populars are so lousy. I'm a big fan of fiction books.

Youtubers, booktok influencers are mostly from US, UK or other western countries. But Malaysia? KRIK KRIK KRIK KRIK.
Fiction I just get from Google play books nowadays. I read so fast that they pile up in my house.

Bought 136 books though Google play books last year.
SUSasx26365
post Jan 23 2024, 08:32 PM

27 posts

Kena boikot? Yes kita sudah menang
leftycall9
post Jan 23 2024, 08:41 PM

Left of leftist
1,046 posts

But when it comes to latest book that available in their bookstores, they are the best.

But in our country, if I want to buy latest books, I have to drive to KLCC Kinokuniya or alternatively ordered from Amazon Singapore.

Youtubers, booktok influencers are mostly from US, UK or other western countries. But Malaysia? KRIK KRIK KRIK KRIK.
Lucy Foley got new book coming this year. I might give it a try after finishing Jess Lourey Unspeakable Things.
https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1997437...-midnight-feast

I can't continue the book about giant butterfly attacks my phobia just stopped me lol. Now back to thriller and murder mystery.
treblecase
post Jan 23 2024, 08:44 PM

IHI
779 posts

Kinokuniya > all

I’ll be sad when even this kolos one day.
h@ksam
post Jan 23 2024, 08:44 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

MPH put one adult section see what happen la, business rebound
myasiahobby
post Jan 23 2024, 09:11 PM

693 posts

Thank you MPH. I use to treat it as library, the books all free to read
kding2
post Jan 23 2024, 09:21 PM

1,007 posts

Kito sudah mena- oh wait.
ykj
post Jan 23 2024, 09:22 PM

Mission on educating on Hibah Takaful importance
837 posts

So many extremists, perhaps focusing on wrong books
ry8128
post Jan 23 2024, 09:27 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,648 posts

Surprising they cant last this long actually.

But impact to ayam still not as big as when book depository closed down.
Lembu Goreng
post Jan 23 2024, 09:29 PM

1,129 posts

Booknest at Gardens wayyyyy better
piscesguy
post Jan 24 2024, 06:55 AM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,965 posts

Personally, I used to go MPH MV 20 years ago, every weekend sure will go there, sit there read FREE magazines. laugh.gif

Sad to hear this news. anyway now my favourite bookstore is Tsutaya Books Bukit Jalil. brows.gif

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MPH Bookstores has recently announced the closure of its outlet in Mid Valley Megamall after 25 years of operation

The bookstore said it is having a clearance sale of up to 90% until the end of the month

The MPH Mid Valley Megamall outlet's last day of operation will be on 31 January.

With the close of a chapter, MPH added that the good news is it will be opening an exciting new flagship store at The Exchange TRX this year.

https://says.com/my/news/mph-closes-its-boo...-after-25-years

SUSSihambodoh
post Jan 24 2024, 07:18 AM

436 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 24 2024, 06:55 AM)
Personally, I used to go MPH MV 20 years ago, every weekend sure will go there, sit there read FREE magazines.  laugh.gif
This is why they closed shop.
Capt. Marble
post Jan 24 2024, 07:20 AM

221 posts

QUOTE(piscesguy @ Jan 24 2024, 06:55 AM)

With the close of a chapter, MPH added that the good news is it will be opening an exciting new flagship store at The Exchange TRX this year.

https://says.com/my/news/mph-closes-its-boo...-after-25-years
Ingat tak a duit tapi nampaknya bukan. Open kat TRX pulak...

I still remember when it was huge when it opened in Midvalley with a lot of books. That's the go to place to find rare books during university days. Sad to see it scaled down and now even closing that branch.
tahfeikei
post Jan 24 2024, 08:38 AM

TALK TO MY ENGRISH
1,248 posts

QUOTE(leftycall9 @ Jan 23 2024, 07:44 PM)
Kesalahan BookTok by shitty TikTokers who viral shitty books causing websites like Goodreads keep pushing another Colleen Hoover crapporomance tales onto my face 24/7.

Actually many complaints on Reddit till some said it just not worth to splurge on physical Paperback anymore and I'm 100% agree with them.
pls give link for the reddit complaints you mentioned, TQ

MPH book selection is the problem, all trash

QUOTE(Lembu Goreng @ Jan 23 2024, 09:29 PM)
Booknest at Gardens wayyyyy better
which level, near any landmarks?
vassilius
post Jan 24 2024, 08:49 AM

494 posts

Seriously don't know how it managed to last till now.

Msia don't really have reading culture, so when smartphone and digital era came, it's really difficult to make money from book already.
johnnycp
post Jan 24 2024, 08:50 AM

600 posts

Budayo membaca bukan budayo kito

Tiktok FTW

This post has been edited by johnnycp: Jan 24 2024, 08:51 AM
Ichibanichi
post Jan 24 2024, 08:50 AM

327 posts

QUOTE(Capt. Marble @ Jan 24 2024, 07:20 AM)
Ingat tak a duit tapi nampaknya bukan. Open kat TRX pulak...

I still remember when it was huge when it opened in Midvalley with a lot of books. That's the go to place to find rare books during university days. Sad to see it scaled down and now even closing that branch.
It is all down to cost
Rental is part of the operational cost.
TRX must has been give a very good deal rental contract to MPH
wertty
post Jan 24 2024, 09:00 AM

154 posts

reading culture long gone, now all google pakar liao

just read some of the comments in /k/ when plane crash suddenly all aviation expert, when economy bad all turn to economist

either msian are multi-talented or just some fat geeks/kids behind the screen, real world talent i met dun even post here…..
SUSandylyc
post Jan 24 2024, 09:06 AM

27 posts

Mega malls are charging rental sky high to tenants.
degraw19
post Jan 24 2024, 09:06 AM

345 posts

QUOTE(wertty @ Jan 24 2024, 09:00 AM)
reading culture long gone, now all google pakar liao

just read some of the comments in /k/ when plane crash suddenly all aviation expert, when economy bad all turn to economist

either msian are multi-talented or just some fat geeks/kids behind the screen, real world talent i met dun even post here…..
u must been new here recently i guess /k really is truly expert at everything not just aviation industry and economy even accident, love, surgeon u named it even they will die die twist the fact saying its true from their own made up sourse arse hole

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0243sec    1.13    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:34 AM