Singapore Work Pass not approved, S pass rejected

TSdenzel5007
post Jan 23 2024, 01:34 AM, updated 2y ago

44 posts

Hi, I've recently received a job offer to work in SG and my employer has submitted my details for a S pass application.

Unfortunately it was rejected not once but twice with no clear reasons. Checked with my employer and agent both of them do not have any idea the reason why it was rejected. My employer is now trying to appeal for the third time.

Posting here to see if there's anyone experienced any thing similar. Not sure if there's any chance the continuous appealing would help.

Thanks in advance for your insight.
cdspins
post Jan 23 2024, 01:43 AM

2,714 posts

Sorry for the bad news. But generally there is no reject reason required by MOM. It may not necessary be your issue. It maybe due to your future employee did not meet certain criteria for S-Pass. Maybe try to land another job and see your application can go through?
apis_jay
post Jan 23 2024, 01:48 AM

145 posts

https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/s...ted-application

I have no idea on S pass. But please have a read if you not done yet.
hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 02:02 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 23 2024, 01:43 AM)
Sorry for the bad news. But generally there is no reject reason required by MOM. It may not necessary be your issue. It maybe due to your future employee did not meet certain criteria for S-Pass. Maybe try to land another job and see your application can go through?
Yes, very good answer. S pass or Work permits may be dependent on your employer’s ratio of Singaporean vs foreigner hires, and if the ratio isn’t correct, new foreigner hires may be rejected - it may not be a problem on your end at all.
Lucas0323
post Jan 23 2024, 03:51 AM

808 posts

Too many flood in SG i guess
knwong
post Jan 23 2024, 06:51 AM

3,567 posts

What role and company?

Have you quit your current job?
cuddlybubblyteddy
post Jan 23 2024, 08:46 AM

218 posts

QUOTE(denzel5007 @ Jan 23 2024, 02:34 AM)
Hi, I've recently received a job offer to work in SG and my employer has submitted my details for a S pass application.

Unfortunately it was rejected not once but twice with no clear reasons. Checked with my employer and agent both of them do not have any idea the reason why it was rejected. My employer is now trying to appeal for the third time.

Posting here to see if there's anyone experienced any thing similar. Not sure if there's any chance the continuous appealing would help.

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 23 2024, 03:02 AM)
Yes, very good answer. S pass or Work permits may be dependent on your employer’s ratio of Singaporean vs foreigner hires, and if the ratio isn’t correct, new foreigner hires may be rejected - it may not be a problem on your end at all.
Yeap, this, your employer need to check their own ratio first.

hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 08:55 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lucas0323 @ Jan 23 2024, 03:51 AM)
Too many flood in SG i guess
It's not just your expected Malaysian Chinese that's coming into Singapore. A lot of Malaysian Indians and even Malays are here working, especially in the blue collar sector. Many more such cases than I can remember in recent years. Half the Grab Food delivery drivers are Malaysian (usually Malays and Indians), and most of the security guards are Malaysian Indians. Most of the Chinese blue collar sector works are in the F&B industry (waiters, servers, restaurant captains).

So, yeah, you're right... it's a bit of a flood at the moment.
Aurora Boreali
post Jan 23 2024, 09:08 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 23 2024, 08:55 AM)
It's not just your expected Malaysian Chinese that's coming into Singapore. A lot of Malaysian Indians and even Malays are here working, especially in the blue collar sector. Many more such cases than I can remember in recent years. Half the Grab Food delivery drivers are Malaysian (usually Malays and Indians), and most of the security guards are Malaysian Indians. Most of the Chinese blue collar sector works are in the F&B industry (waiters, servers, restaurant captains).

How does a foreigner even get any employment pass to go there and work as a Grab delivery driver? Grab doesn't employ their riders/drivers so on what pass do they go into Singapore to work like that?
hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 09:10 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 23 2024, 09:08 AM)
How does a foreigner even get any employment pass to go there and work as a Grab delivery driver? Grab doesn't employ their riders/drivers so on what pass do they go into Singapore to work like that?
That's what I'd really like to know. They drive JB or Malaysian registered bikes, so I assumed that they must be Malaysians. Singaporeans are not allowed to drive foreign registered bikes in Singapore.
Aurora Boreali
post Jan 23 2024, 09:12 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 23 2024, 09:10 AM)
That's what I'd really like to know. They drive JB or Malaysian registered bikes, so I assumed that they must be Malaysians. Singaporeans are not allowed to drive foreign registered bikes in Singapore.
Interesting. Maybe you can stop one and ask them next time 😁
nelson969
post Jan 23 2024, 09:13 AM

323 posts

the meta changed, now there are many new rule

>You cannot employ foreign workers to work at a food stall in a hawker centre, coffee shop or food court. Such operations are small scale and should be manned by owners or family members.

>Degree or Diploma from an accredited institute

>working experience

>Quota requirement for different sector

Sector DRC
Construction 83.3%
Process 83.3%
Marine shipyard 77.8
Manufacturing 60%
Services 35%

u are out of luck if the quota reached, try your luck next time or maybe not at all because right now 50% or even 90% of malaysia are working in small land
singapore.

sometime if there are too much male > female ratio , they wont take any more male unless u are top 100 uni and powerful male , rich fellas , can contribute a lot to singapore, topkekw , it is normal open secrets since 2015.

This post has been edited by nelson969: Jan 23 2024, 09:14 AM
bottomfrag
post Jan 23 2024, 09:17 AM

104 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 23 2024, 09:12 AM)
Apparently a work pass holder who is not a resident of Singapore (eg staying in Johor and commuting daily) are allowed to use M'sian registered vehicles in SG. Never knew this until I saw this thread and looked it up.

Any person who is not a resident of Singapore, but holds a Work Pass issued by the Ministry of Manpower, may keep or use a foreign-registered vehicle in Singapore if ALL these conditions are met:

The person is the registered owner of the vehicle
The person resides outside Singapore
The person has a valid certificate of insurance (with third party coverage for bodily injury and death) and road tax to use the vehicle on Singapore roads
The vehicle is kept or used outside Singapore for a total period of 6 hours or more every day
The vehicle has an Autopass Card to validate its entry / exit at Woodlands or Tuas Checkpoint and to pay for the required fees and charges

mushigen
post Jan 23 2024, 09:25 AM

4,954 posts

QUOTE(bottomfrag @ Jan 23 2024, 09:17 AM)
Apparently a work pass holder who is not a resident of Singapore (eg staying in Johor and commuting daily) are allowed to use M'sian registered vehicles in SG. Never knew this until I saw this thread and looked it up.
Those daily jams at checkpoints are contributed mostly by Malaysians using Msia-registered vehicles lo.
Aurora Boreali
post Jan 23 2024, 09:35 AM

470 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 23 2024, 09:08 AM)
QUOTE(bottomfrag @ Jan 23 2024, 09:17 AM)
So my original question above still remains unanswered. How do they get a work pass to work as a Grab driver/rider? Who would their employer be as Grab does not "employ" their riders
hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 09:43 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 23 2024, 09:12 AM)
Here's your answer:

Illegal Malaysian Grab Delivery Drivers
Deathscythe@@
post Jan 23 2024, 09:55 AM

989 posts

Minimum salary for S pass? Or quota full.
knwong
post Jan 23 2024, 09:58 AM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(Aurora Boreali @ Jan 23 2024, 09:35 AM)
So my original question above still remains unanswered. How do they get a work pass to work as a Grab driver/rider? Who would their employer be as Grab does not "employ" their riders
They "buy" the accounts of locals. However every 3 months they can't enter more than 60 days, otherwise ICA will bar them...

Because they drive a lot in a day, they will fill up cheap M'sia petrol in water bottle before departing to work. During inspection at Causeway, ICA officer won't check water bottle content

Can easily chat with those B40 and they are won't be discrete to share these kangtao

This post has been edited by knwong: Jan 23 2024, 10:00 AM
TSdenzel5007
post Jan 23 2024, 10:03 AM

44 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 23 2024, 06:51 AM)
What role and company?

Have you quit your current job?
Am currently working part time. The role offered is Product Specialist with Great Eastern.
Ahsin1987
post Jan 23 2024, 10:14 AM

154 posts

Are you work permit holder?
knwong
post Jan 23 2024, 10:45 AM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(denzel5007 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:03 AM)
Am currently working part time. The role offered is Product Specialist with Great Eastern.
Is that Sales or back office role? Back office job actually many locals can do. Perhaps that's why MOM playing hard there
hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 10:52 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 23 2024, 09:58 AM)
They "buy" the accounts of locals. However every 3 months they can't enter more than 60 days, otherwise ICA will bar them...

Because they drive a lot in a day, they will fill up cheap M'sia petrol in water bottle before departing to work. During inspection at Causeway, ICA officer won't check water bottle content

Can easily chat with those B40 and they are won't be discrete to share these kangtao
Thanks for the enlightenment bro!
ameliorate
post Jan 23 2024, 11:19 AM

370 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 23 2024, 09:58 AM)

Wow, stinkaporeans also got alibaba style.

malz89
post Jan 23 2024, 11:25 AM

1,140 posts

S pass is very dependent on the quota available. Even EP now has a new requirement after they were constantly abused.
knwong
post Jan 23 2024, 11:35 AM

3,567 posts

QUOTE(ameliorate @ Jan 23 2024, 11:19 AM)
Wow, stinkaporeans also got alibaba style.
The B40 there also want easy way. Easy income, just shake leg while others do the heavy work
achong09
post Jan 23 2024, 11:40 AM

1,280 posts

but RM jatuh many want to work in SGD stronger currency mah..
so blame who?? blame current gomen ka?? RM jatuh many factors leh not gomen factor... so blame who?? Blame war in ukraine or gaza?? lagi?
achong09
post Jan 23 2024, 11:41 AM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(denzel5007 @ Jan 23 2024, 01:34 AM)

Many msian men go sg find sg wife leh.... good meh?
bottomfrag
post Jan 23 2024, 12:06 PM

104 posts

No idea. Never paid attention to the license plates.
nelson969
post Jan 23 2024, 12:10 PM

323 posts

QUOTE(achong09 @ Jan 23 2024, 11:41 AM)
topkek /k and reddit dont know this lmao,

did u know sg women finding foreigner man to own house hbd flat in singapore ? if local sg men buy will be expenses, hence sg women finding rich foreigner men / potential men to own the hbd flat cheaper , because if rely local sg men will take 100 decade

in another word find rich victim and marry and have fun outside, then claim child and asset when divorce.

topkek
TSdenzel5007
post Jan 23 2024, 12:40 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(Ahsin1987 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:14 AM)
Nope. Residing in Malaysia currently.
achong09
post Jan 23 2024, 01:17 PM

1,280 posts

QUOTE(nelson969 @ Jan 23 2024, 12:10 PM)
did u know sg women finding foreigner man to own house hbd flat in singapore ? if local sg men buy will be expenses, hence sg women finding rich foreigner men / potential men to own the hbd flat cheaper , because if rely local sg men will take 100 decade
in another word find rich victim and marry and have fun outside, then claim child and asset when divorce.

topkek
got many rich sg man also mah in sg right?
TSdenzel5007
post Jan 23 2024, 01:53 PM

44 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 23 2024, 10:45 AM)
Is that Sales or back office role? Back office job actually many locals can do. Perhaps that's why MOM playing hard there
I'm in sales. Well to be specific, telesales 😅
SUSfuzzy
post Jan 23 2024, 02:13 PM

*pew pew pew*
7,106 posts

QUOTE(denzel5007 @ Jan 23 2024, 01:53 PM)
I'm in sales. Well to be specific, telesales 😅
Potentially is this, it's not a highly skilled role so your company might have to prove first why they can't find locals to fill that role instead have to hire foreigner.
J2001k2
post Jan 23 2024, 03:25 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(nelson969 @ Jan 23 2024, 12:10 PM)

topkek
Singapore wife with foreign spouse can only buy 2-room flat (i.e. living room + 1 bedroom) only.
Most Singapore women are wealthy, and do not use this option, esp. if they can buy together with another family member too.
Or they can wait till they are 35 and buy the flat alone and the government will even throw in grants.
J2001k2
post Jan 23 2024, 03:38 PM

22 posts

QUOTE(nelson969 @ Jan 23 2024, 09:13 AM)
the meta changed, now there are many new rule
>You cannot employ foreign workers to work at a food stall in a hawker centre, coffee shop or food court. Such operations are small scale and should be manned by owners or family members.
>Degree or Diploma from an accredited institute
>working experience
>Quota requirement for different sector
Sector  DRC
Construction  83.3%
Process  83.3%
Marine shipyard  77.8
Manufacturing  60%
Services  35%
u are out of luck if the quota reached, try your luck next time or maybe not at all because right now 50% or even 90% of malaysia are working in small land
singapore.
sometime if there are too much male > female ratio , they wont take any more male unless u are top 100 uni and powerful male , rich fellas , can contribute a lot to singapore, topkekw , it is normal open secrets since 2015.
Poetry for the Day

we big land malaysia...everyone drive big car, live big house....all want to give these up....all want to work in SG earn SGD.
chinese, malay, indian....all cross causeway everyday

push and shove....every morning, every evening...all kiasu
scream and shout...scared late for work...all kiasi

got oil, got palm, got water.....all no use
no money, no food, no dignity.....all work in sg

complain sg food sucks...yet all eat
complain sg ppl bad...yet all work for them

complain they greedy...yet all rush for SGD in greed
complain they steal our petrol, speed on our highway.....yet all grovel and serve the mighty SG

we look at our economy and shake our head
we look at our leaders and give big sigh
in politics, race and religion we fight among ourselves

In SG we must trust...all for our family
For SGD we must earn...settle our commitments
Let us kneel, let us pray...to SG our savior today and tomorrow.

SUSM4A1
post Jan 23 2024, 04:10 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

do share your qualification and work experience and age
styrwr91
post Jan 23 2024, 04:17 PM

~ON THE WAY~
696 posts

Few possible reasons, could be
1. Your employer not enough quota
2. MOM feels the role can be filled with locals instead. Low skilled office role harder to approve compared to high skilled office role (under EP) and low skilled 3D jobs (under WP)
3. Your qualitification is questionable in MOM’s POV
Bananahead
post Jan 23 2024, 05:17 PM

57 posts

Never understood how this pass works. Last time my friend salary lower than the EP requirement, but also managed to get EP instead of SP.
Lescotesco
post Jan 23 2024, 05:33 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(Bananahead @ Jan 23 2024, 05:17 PM)
Never understood how this pass works. Last time my friend salary lower than the EP requirement, but also managed to get EP instead of SP.
don say last time now i m also quite confuse. my gf should be earning 7k if follow EP requirement and age factor but she didnt even hit the 5k mark.

when i told her this i tot she wont be getting ep anymore but S pass instead, then to my surprise her ep renewal was approved in Dec'23

and i also told her not easy to get PR as it would required years of working in sg etc etc, then her pr approved this month...., she only started to work in SG since Jun'22.

u say i m confuse or not....

RT8081
post Jan 23 2024, 05:36 PM

355 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 23 2024, 01:43 AM)
Currently SG has tighten their quota process. Company need to explain why they need to hire foreign worker and why local can't fill the job

This post has been edited by RT8081: Jan 23 2024, 07:01 PM
hoonanoo
post Jan 23 2024, 06:06 PM

1,782 posts

Hope you didn't resigned from your current job to take up this one.

if cannot get worker pass, your job gonna be rescinded?
hksgmy
post Jan 23 2024, 07:00 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ Jan 23 2024, 05:33 PM)
don say last time now i m also quite confuse. my gf should be earning 7k if follow EP requirement and age factor but she didnt even hit the 5k mark.

when i told her this i tot she wont be getting ep anymore but S pass instead, then to my surprise her ep renewal was approved in Dec'23

and i also told her not easy to get PR as it would required years of working in sg etc etc, then her pr approved this month...., she only started to work in SG since Jun'22.

Good for her! She might be in a role that the company values, hence supportive of her application ... but the criteria are never revealed publicly - so your guess is as good as mine.
CaffeineDog
post Jan 23 2024, 07:33 PM

Find sg wife so that can buy new BTO. Then rent out to foreigners.
jmas
post Jan 23 2024, 08:44 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jan 23 2024, 09:10 AM)
malaysian vehicle are allowed to enter SG for no longer than 24hrs
those ppl just rent/buy/borrow local's id to register grab n work illegally
chromatino_hex
post Jan 23 2024, 08:51 PM

176 posts

Try your best to GTFO Malaysia. The issue of flooding will just get even worse unless you are a doctor/politician in Malaysia. There is literally no reason to stay in MY unless you own a business. Haha
SUSM4A1
post Jan 23 2024, 09:00 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

if S pass cannot then ask HR to try WP?
SUSM4A1
post Jan 23 2024, 09:01 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

u think sg wife want msian men meh laugh.gif laugh.gif
malz89
post Jan 23 2024, 10:54 PM

1,140 posts

Getting PR is not surprising if you're an EP holder from Malaysia, specifically for female. Male has no value, unless you apply before 25 and be prepared to serve NS.

EP requirement is quite ambiguous. The new requirement is 5k, but if you're a past holder, and you still hit certain criteria, which is listed per MOM. You should be able to retain it.

I was a past EP holder, changed to student, and now back to EP. While my peers, despite the same salary range, they were only given SP.
SUSsmallydupe
post Jan 23 2024, 11:00 PM

125 posts

Wow malaysians go foreign country also work low value job?

hksgmy
post Jan 24 2024, 01:47 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:54 PM)
Getting PR is not surprising if you're an EP holder from Malaysia, specifically for female. Male has no value, unless you apply before 25 and be prepared to serve NS.

EP requirement is quite ambiguous. The new requirement is 5k, but if you're a past holder, and you still hit certain criteria, which is listed per MOM. You should be able to retain it.

I was a past EP holder, changed to student, and now back to EP. While my peers, despite the same salary range, they were only given SP.
First generation PRs regardless of age, do not need to serve NS.
hksgmy
post Jan 24 2024, 01:48 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(smallydupe @ Jan 23 2024, 11:00 PM)
It would seem so, yes.
cdspins
post Jan 24 2024, 05:29 AM

2,714 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:54 PM)

Yes, young healthy single female is much sought-ed. SG wanted to build their population nevertheless.
Similarly, if apply PR or citizenship with whole family (spouse + children), will get approve very easily.

QUOTE(smallydupe @ Jan 23 2024, 11:00 PM)
Even tukang sampah salary is 5 figures leh... and they are degree holder.
https://focusmalaysia.my/malaysian-garbage-...-singapore-but/
hksgmy
post Jan 24 2024, 07:14 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

Low value or low class job but comes with high pay.
MGM
post Jan 24 2024, 08:00 AM

18,468 posts

Could it be the reason SG men hard to Court local women, so govt bring in more MY women?
MGM
post Jan 24 2024, 08:02 AM

18,468 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 23 2024, 08:44 PM)
malaysian vehicle are allowed to enter SG for no longer than 24hrs
those ppl just rent/buy/borrow local's id to register grab n work illegally
What is the possible consequences if caught, jail, permanent bar from entry?
J2001k2
post Jan 24 2024, 09:01 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(cdspins @ Jan 24 2024, 05:29 AM)
Yes, young healthy single female is much sought-ed. SG wanted to build their population nevertheless.
Similarly, if apply PR or citizenship with whole family (spouse + children), will get approve very easily.
Even tukang sampah salary is 5 figures leh... and they are degree holder.
https://focusmalaysia.my/malaysian-garbage-...-singapore-but/
join marriage agency lah....like vietnamese girls marrying sg men as overseas brides through marriage agencies.
but most sg male customers of such marriage agencies are the not-so-educated, income not too high, blue collar types.

our engrish standards can't match up to theirs
our chinese accent too strong and too "malaysian" and get mocked by them sometimes

but make-do lah....dont be too picky.

nauticat99
post Jan 24 2024, 10:05 AM

587 posts

QUOTE(Bananahead @ Jan 23 2024, 05:17 PM)
It depends on the industry requirements. Example is teachers or nurses are scarce and badly needed, they will give EP even if the salary scale didn’t reach that level. Plus can get PR just after 6 months of working
jmas
post Jan 24 2024, 01:39 PM

I can edit title???
830 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 24 2024, 08:02 AM)
What is the possible consequences if caught, jail, permanent bar from entry?
nvr heard any news on this, I would assume similar treatment like those illegal immigrants/worker
- jail
- deport
- perma banned
MGM
post Jan 24 2024, 02:43 PM

18,468 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 24 2024, 01:39 PM)
nvr heard any news on this, I would assume similar treatment like those illegal immigrants/worker
- jail
- deport
- perma banned
Found this, very serious offence:

Malaysians working illegally as food delivery riders in Singapore: Some 'hide' food in top box
Stomper: "Malaysian-registered motorcycles are doing GrabFood deliveries in Singapore."photo_library

Ong Su Mannmail
Posted on 04 October 2023 | 70,318 views | 67 comments
Submitted by Stomper Anonymous

It is illegal for a foreigner to work as a food delivery rider in Singapore.

Yet motorcycles with Malaysian plates have been spotted here with riders wearing the distinctive green Grab apparel carrying the distinctive green Grab bag behind.

Sharing photos of several such motorcycles, a Stomper said: "Malaysian-registered motorcycles are doing GrabFood deliveries in Singapore."

But some are more discreet about it.

"Some of them have no GrabFood bag on the motorcycle seat, only a top box. They hide the food inside to not let people know they are doing GrabFood delivery in Singapore," said the Stomper, who shared a video showing a GrabFood delivery in an anonymous box on the back of a motorcycle with a Johor plate.

Last month, four foreigners were charged with four counts of working illegally as food delivery riders in Singapore without valid work passes.

Two Singapore citizens and one permanent resident were also charged with three counts of abetment of these offences. They had purportedly provided the foreigners with access to their accounts on various food delivery platforms, despite being aware that the foreigners did not have valid work passes to work as food delivery riders.

Foreigners who are self-employed without a valid work pass may be liable to a fine not exceeding $20,000, imprisonment for up to two years, or both. Upon conviction, they will be permanently barred from working in Singapore.

Local delivery platform workers who are found to have allowed foreigners to use their accounts may face the same penalties.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 24 2024, 02:45 PM
wawasan2200
post Jan 24 2024, 03:10 PM

190 posts

in Malaysia got tongkat and cable

go Singapore you are competing without tongkat

hksgmy
post Feb 2 2024, 02:32 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(wawasan2200 @ Jan 24 2024, 03:10 PM)
in Malaysia got tongkat and cable

go Singapore you are competing without tongkat
But you could potentially be competing against people who are hungrier, work harder and more eager and more talented… results matter.

Both countries have their own challenges for the workers
gnc88
post Feb 2 2024, 08:45 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 23 2024, 09:01 PM)
u think sg wife want msian men meh  laugh.gif  laugh.gif
My wife is sg and it can happen. In fact, it's quite prevalent but most have 'converted' or don't disclose.
However, your chances to find such a wife is very slim if you need to stay in JB but work in Sg. In short, financially-challenged.
hksgmy
post Feb 2 2024, 08:53 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Feb 2 2024, 08:45 AM)
My wife is sg and it can happen. In fact, it's quite prevalent but most have 'converted' or don't disclose.
However, your chances to find such a wife is very slim if you need to stay in JB but work in Sg. In short, financially-challenged.
Converted? You mean the husband from Malaysia's converted?

Or the ex-Malaysian wife converted to take up Singapore citizenship?
gnc88
post Feb 2 2024, 09:05 AM

145 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Feb 2 2024, 08:53 AM)
Converted? You mean the husband from Malaysia's converted?

Or the ex-Malaysian wife converted to take up Singapore citizenship?
Opps sorry for ambiguity. Husband from Malaysia's converted. Many have assimilated into Sg so well that you won't know until you casually ask if they have holiday plans.. that's when they speak about 'balik kampung'.

hksgmy
post Feb 2 2024, 09:14 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(gnc88 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:05 AM)
Opps sorry for ambiguity.  Husband from Malaysia's converted. Many have assimilated into Sg so well that you won't know until you casually ask if they have holiday plans.. that's when they speak about 'balik kampung'.
Yeah... I'm also at the verge of thinking of trading my passport in....

Wife traded her in decades ago...
RT8081
post Feb 2 2024, 09:38 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Feb 2 2024, 09:14 AM)
Yeah... I'm also at the verge of thinking of trading my passport in....

Wife traded her in decades ago...
Better keep one as backup la. Wife and child can be Singaporean and you can still hold as Malaysian, then can retire her, better environment and house is cheaper too
J2001k2
post Feb 2 2024, 09:51 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:38 AM)
Better keep one as backup la. Wife and child can be Singaporean and you can still hold as Malaysian, then can retire her, better environment and house is cheaper too
how can the environment be better here? hahaha

floods, mudslide, water disruption, high crime, 3-5 million illegals everywhere.
poor education system, unstable politics, corruption, bribery
collapsing economy, collapsing ringgit
racial tensions, religious politics
which one is untrue i ask u?
open your eyes!

u think big land, big house, big car is everything??...u think can compensate for all this? once you step outside...problems everywhere...
(i assume you own big house, big car...all cheap material assets to singaporean)

wife/kids singaporean....you think they coming back with you to retire? u think your kid wants to work here when he or she grows up?

admit it...sg better than us...even their "pigeon hole" HDB as we like to call it is spacious, better maintained and worth a million ringgit after conversion.
and KL (240 km2) is actually 3.5 times smaller than sg (735 km2). compare city to city.

if got chance run quickly!!!! if not sg, then australia....for the sake of your family.

dont live in denial, or paste cotton wool over your eyes!
RT8081
post Feb 2 2024, 09:55 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(J2001k2 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:51 AM)
how can the environment be better here? hahaha

floods, mudslide, water disruption, high crime, 3-5 million illegals everywhere.
poor education system, unstable politics, corruption, bribery
collapsing economy, collapsing ringgit
racial tensions, religious politics
which one is untrue i ask u?
open your eyes!

u think big land, big house, big car is everything??...u think can compensate for all this? once you step outside...problems everywhere...
(i assume you own big house, big car...all cheap material assets to singaporean)

wife/kids singaporean....you think they coming back with you to retire? u think your kid wants to work here when he or she grows up?

admit it...sg better than us...even their "pigeon hole" HDB as we like to call it is spacious, better maintained and worth a million ringgit after conversion.
and KL (240 km2) is actually 3.5 times smaller than sg (735 km2). compare city to city.

if got chance run quickly!!!! if not sg, then australia....for the sake of your family.

dont live in denial, or paste cotton wool over your eyes!
I mean cheap than living overseas and our medical for old age even If private is affordable compared to.SG. especially if you already build your wealth

This post has been edited by RT8081: Feb 2 2024, 09:56 AM
J2001k2
post Feb 2 2024, 10:10 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Feb 2 2024, 09:55 AM)
I mean cheap than living overseas and our medical for old age even If private is affordable compared to.SG. especially if you already build your wealth
dude, i give you my honest opinion...

it's cheaper in malaysia compared to sg yes. but "cheap" only if you earn sgd and spend in malaysia.
it's not "cheap" for a malaysian who work and live here.
and our medical facilities are below par compared to sg. u want cheap or u want your life?
even our political leaders go to sg for medical treatment...just google.

there is no such thing as cheap or free medical treatment
someone has to pay for it...directly or indirectly
u think doctors, nurses, medicines, hi-tech medical equipment just drop from sky?
you get what you pay for...pay peanuts get monkey
if got chance u go to their public hospital, and u compare with our public hospital in KL...the difference is so clear
RT8081
post Feb 2 2024, 10:12 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(J2001k2 @ Feb 2 2024, 10:10 AM)
dude, i give you my honest opinion...

it's cheaper in malaysia compared to sg yes. but "cheap" only if you earn sgd and spend in malaysia.
it's not "cheap" for a malaysian who work and live here.
and our medical facilities are below par compared to sg. u want cheap or u want your life?
even our political leaders go to sg for medical treatment...just google.

there is no such thing as cheap or free medical treatment
someone has to pay for it...directly or indirectly
u think doctors, nurses, medicines, hi-tech medical equipment just drop from sky?
you get what you pay for...pay peanuts get monkey
if got chance u go to their public hospital, and u compare with our public hospital in KL...the difference is so clear
That's what I am explaining la 😅

After working hard in SG, spend the money here on retirement la. If give up Malaysian citizenship, then waste loosing the privilege.

My comments is for hksgmy because he is right now working in SG

This post has been edited by RT8081: Feb 2 2024, 10:14 AM
J2001k2
post Feb 2 2024, 10:17 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Feb 2 2024, 10:12 AM)
After working hard in SG, spend the money here on retirement la. If give up Malaysian citizenship, then waste loosing the privilege.

oh...sorri...i go eat my bread now. biggrin.gif
RT8081
post Feb 2 2024, 10:18 AM

355 posts

QUOTE(J2001k2 @ Feb 2 2024, 10:17 AM)
oh...sorri...i go eat my bread now.  biggrin.gif
LOL better Chill and enjoy your Friday tonight brows.gif
SUSM4A1
post Feb 2 2024, 12:11 PM

[*#^♥SONE♥^#]
1,365 posts

ts no update?
hksgmy
post Feb 2 2024, 02:43 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(RT8081 @ Feb 2 2024, 10:12 AM)

Thanks bro, but I’m thinking of retiring in Australia haha
RT8081
post Feb 2 2024, 02:44 PM

355 posts

[quote=hksgmy,Feb 2 2024, 02:43 PM]
Thanks bro, but I’m thinking of retiring in Australia haha

[/quote

ok as long you are happy and content, bro. Australia is not bad either.
diffyhelman2
post Feb 3 2024, 01:50 AM

863 posts

cuz she young, female, correct race?
J2001k2
post Feb 3 2024, 09:50 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 3 2024, 07:23 AM)
Ya and yet still being a traitor that did not bother to contribute on malaysia income tax and without a sense of guilt to milk enjoyment from a Malaysian forum nonstop. Terrible.
out of curiosity...u know the TS personally ah? how you know he did not pay income tax? or you just assuming, making things up so that you have something to post here?

fact: only 1.3 million malaysians (or 4% of population) pay income tax out of a population of 33 million. taking out kids, students, retirees, unemployed, housewives....this is a huge number not paying despite enjoying all the privileges as a citizen living here. you should focus your attention on these groups.

This post has been edited by J2001k2: Feb 3 2024, 09:56 AM
SUSAccord2018
post Feb 3 2024, 09:55 AM

Time Will Tell !!
9,617 posts

QUOTE(J2001k2 @ Feb 3 2024, 09:50 AM)
out of curiosity...u know the TS personally ah? how you know he did not pay income tax? or you just assuming, making things up so that you have something to post here?

fact: only 1.3 million malaysians (or 4% of population) pay income tax out of a population of 33 million. taking out kids, students, retirees, unemployed, housewives....this is a huge number not paying despite enjoying all the privileges as a citizen living here. you should focus your attention on these groups.

fact: we live in a country where corruption, bribery, under table transactions is the norm. customs, traffic police ask for bribes and get exposed in newspapers but nothing changes. the rich and powerful get prison sentences reduced. people see not paying income tax as normal. gst proposals cause social protests and all sorts of excuses. the govt is expected to subsidise lifestyles for food, petrol and the like....it's a country where it's "each for himself". you should talk about this culture.
At least some of them still milking enjoyment/escapism from Malaysia forum. And such enjoyment is priceless. Msia protected you at least 20years before they fleeing away. Rohingya wan a place to sleep also dun have. Not grateful at all and still dare to talk bad about the place that raised you up.

This post has been edited by Accord2018: Feb 3 2024, 10:01 AM
J2001k2
post Feb 3 2024, 09:59 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(Accord2018 @ Feb 3 2024, 09:55 AM)
At least some of them still milking enjoyment/escapism from Malaysia forum. And such enjoyment is priceless.  Msia protected you at least 20years before they fleeing away. Rohingya wan a place to sleep also dun have. Not grateful at all and still dare to bad about the place that raised him up.
i dunno who you talking about. malaysia protecting who?

your brain can skip to rohingya too?

the TS asking why his work pass rejected. he didnt say anything bad about malaysia.

you post in wrong thread is it?
Lescotesco
post Feb 5 2024, 04:34 PM

231 posts

QUOTE(diffyhelman2 @ Feb 3 2024, 01:50 AM)
cuz she young, female, correct race?
yeah might be that case. i have also submitted my application last year aug. lets see what will be the outcome biggrin.gif
Diesel 86
post Feb 5 2024, 05:42 PM

29 posts

QUOTE(Lescotesco @ Feb 5 2024, 04:34 PM)
yeah might be that case. i have also submitted my application last year aug. lets see what will be the outcome  biggrin.gif
How long usually PR process takes ? i heard many different stories 4, 6 months to 1.5 years.
Lescotesco
post Feb 6 2024, 08:53 AM

231 posts

QUOTE(Diesel 86 @ Feb 5 2024, 05:42 PM)
How long usually PR process takes ? i heard many different stories  4, 6 months to 1.5 years.
not sure but my gf case is about a year. she applied last year jan.

few of our friend applied during mco, got their pr within 6 months. i think it takes longer now...
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 24 2024, 07:07 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(Ahsin1987 @ Jan 23 2024, 10:14 AM)
I was on ep prior to 2022

Returned to Malaysia and came back to work as wp in 2023

Year end my employer tried to apply ep but rejected

I’m switching job now, the employer will try ep.

My question is is there any implication of my wp status on subsequent ep applications?
malz89
post Jun 24 2024, 09:51 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 24 2024, 07:07 AM)
I was on ep prior to 2022

Returned to Malaysia and came back to work as wp in 2023

Year end my employer tried to apply ep but rejected

I’m switching job now, the employer will try ep.

My question is is there any implication of my wp status on subsequent ep applications?
How did u end up with wp instead s-pass? EP now is harder to get compared to 2022.
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 24 2024, 04:53 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 24 2024, 09:51 AM)
How did u end up with wp instead s-pass? EP now is harder to get compared to 2022.
S pass quota is almost non existent today
malz89
post Jun 24 2024, 05:24 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 24 2024, 04:53 PM)
S pass quota is almost non existent today
Ah lol .. but WP has no quota meh? I thought both have quota. From WP to EP .. if you're earning 5k+, you should have the chance as a malaysian.
hksgmy
post Jun 26 2024, 02:02 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 24 2024, 05:24 PM)
Ah lol .. but WP has no quota meh? I thought both have quota. From WP to EP .. if you're earning 5k+, you should have the chance as a malaysian.
I hope his prospective employer isn’t trying to pull a fast one… EP no quota but WP has quota and they are willing to apply for WP… maybe salary issue? EP has much higher salary requirement now
malz89
post Jun 26 2024, 09:20 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 02:02 AM)
I hope his prospective employer  isn’t trying to pull a fast one…  EP no quota but WP has quota and they are willing to apply for WP… maybe salary issue? EP has much higher salary requirement now
EP doesn't come with a quota, but with more stringent requirements. Because of the abuse, they increased the salary to 5k .. soon to 5.6k. Basically it is harder for us Malaysians to get EP le ..
hksgmy
post Jun 26 2024, 09:44 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 26 2024, 09:20 AM)
EP doesn't come with a quota, but with more stringent requirements. Because of the abuse, they increased the salary to 5k .. soon to 5.6k. Basically it is harder for us Malaysians to get EP le ..
I see. Maybe that’s the reason ?
malz89
post Jun 26 2024, 10:43 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 09:44 AM)
I see. Maybe that’s the reason ?
But to drop from EP to WP .. something never heard of. Usually from EP to S-pass. From WP to EP is rather a huge leap again.
hksgmy
post Jun 26 2024, 11:49 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 26 2024, 10:43 AM)
But to drop from EP to WP .. something never heard of. Usually from EP to S-pass. From WP to EP is rather a huge leap again.
Yeah... I hope he's not being taken for a ride by his prospective employers.
malz89
post Jun 26 2024, 04:45 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 11:49 AM)
Not too surprising .. especially for sme ..
ja836kyau
post Jun 26 2024, 06:24 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 26 2024, 10:43 AM)
Currently, Singapore is generous to award EPs and WPs with lower salary requirement to only Malaysians compared to other foreigners.

Heard these rules for Malaysians will be adjusted to same level as other foreigners soon.

malz89
post Jun 26 2024, 07:47 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(ja836kyau @ Jun 26 2024, 06:24 PM)
Currently, Singapore is generous to award EPs and WPs with lower salary requirement to only Malaysians compared to other foreigners.

Heard these rules for Malaysians will be adjusted to same level as other foreigners soon.
Actually salary is just one of the criteria for EP, not necessarily you need it. For example, 5k is the minimum, at age of maybe 22? If you're 30, you will need maybe 8k to hit that criteria. So, 5k, malaysian, education >> you hit the 40 points criteria >> EP .. on the other hand, for PRC or Indian, they may hit only 30 points >> only S-pass ..

I know this because my colleagues were complaining that I was the only EP holder although we had the same starting salary. The rest of them were on Spass
hksgmy
post Jun 26 2024, 08:24 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 26 2024, 07:47 PM)
Actually salary is just one of the criteria for EP, not necessarily you need it. For example, 5k is the minimum, at age of maybe 22? If you're 30, you will need maybe 8k to hit that criteria. So, 5k, malaysian, education >> you hit the 40 points criteria >> EP .. on the other hand, for PRC or Indian, they may hit only 30 points >> only S-pass ..

I know this because my colleagues were complaining that I was the only EP holder although we had the same starting salary. The rest of them were on Spass
The small benefit of being Malaysian smile.gif
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 30 2024, 11:49 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 11:49 AM)
in what way?
hksgmy
post Jun 30 2024, 11:51 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 11:49 AM)
in what way?
Say can’t get EP but offer WP because salary not high enough… ie employer not willing to pay the required salary to meet the EP threshold.
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 30 2024, 01:20 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 30 2024, 11:51 AM)
Say can’t get EP but offer WP because salary not high enough… ie employer not willing to pay the required salary to meet the EP threshold.
i don't see how, they didn't pay me the official threashold but i hit the threshold for Malaysians yet my application is not approved

SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 30 2024, 01:23 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jun 26 2024, 08:24 PM)
The small benefit of being Malaysian smile.gif
Being Malaysian doesn't automatically grant you the privilege, it's reviewed case by case basis, unfortunately i was deemed undesirable for unknown reasons, i'm malaysian chinese by the way.

EP is designed so that it's a prelim step to integrate individuals with superior traits into their society, it's an elitist society. I suspect that it has to do with physical appearance, i'm 28 and never had a girlfriend, so unless i'm exceptionally talented (indicated by exceptionally high salary), there is no reason to grant me that visa without a basic merit (such as an acceptably desirable gene ie: appearance, height etc).
hksgmy
post Jun 30 2024, 01:58 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 01:20 PM)
i don't see how, they didn't pay me the official threashold but i hit the threshold for Malaysians yet my application is not approved
I wasn’t aware that EPs made a salary distinction between Malaysians vs others. This is news to me.
ja836kyau
post Jun 30 2024, 02:01 PM

27 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 01:20 PM)
Think they had raised EP salary for Malaysians again due to the large numbers of Malaysians wanting to work in Singapore. Still lower than the official level.
hksgmy
post Jun 30 2024, 02:04 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(ja836kyau @ Jun 30 2024, 02:01 PM)
Think they had raised EP salary for Malaysians again due to the large numbers of Malaysians wanting to work in Singapore.  Still lower than the official level.
So there IS an advantage to being Malaysian after all smile.gif
malz89
post Jun 30 2024, 03:33 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 01:23 PM)
Being Malaysian doesn't automatically grant you the privilege, it's reviewed case by case basis, unfortunately i was deemed undesirable for unknown reasons, i'm malaysian chinese by the way.

EP is designed so that it's a prelim step to integrate individuals with superior traits into their society, it's an elitist society. I suspect that it has to do with physical appearance, i'm 28 and never had a girlfriend, so unless i'm exceptionally talented (indicated by exceptionally high salary), there is no reason to grant me that visa without a basic merit (such as an acceptably desirable gene ie: appearance, height etc).
If they can't offer you EP, they shouldn't be offering you an WP, you're overqualified for that no? They can only issue you an S-pass.

Anyway they come out with the compass: https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/e...ass/eligibility

So, it is easier for us to hit 40 points compared to other FT. I doubt they look at looks. They need brains, not appearances. Lol
malz89
post Jun 30 2024, 03:34 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(ja836kyau @ Jun 30 2024, 02:01 PM)
Think they had raised EP salary for Malaysians again due to the large numbers of Malaysians wanting to work in Singapore.  Still lower than the official level.
I think it's a general increase for everyone, you need a minimum of 5k. Just that it is easier for us malaysian to hit the 40 points criteria compared to other FT.

heihei2
post Jun 30 2024, 03:37 PM

75 posts

someone posted, the portal advice employer not taking worker that need to travel daily between spore n malaysia.... so that might contribute why your pass not approved
malz89
post Jun 30 2024, 05:26 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(heihei2 @ Jun 30 2024, 03:37 PM)
someone posted, the portal advice employer not taking worker that need to travel daily between spore n malaysia.... so that might contribute why your pass not approved
Is this true? Hearing it for the first time. Are they that strict nowadays? Is this applicable to S-pass holders? I doubt WP holders would wanna stay in Sg, if they can commute daily.
jojolicia
post Jun 30 2024, 05:52 PM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 30 2024, 05:26 PM)
Is this true? Hearing it for the first time. Are they that strict nowadays? Is this applicable to S-pass holders? I doubt WP holders would wanna stay in Sg, if they can commute daily.
I was told, for extension lately mom did ask for proof of tenancy registration from hdb portal.
2 staff (spass-malaysian) asked their landlord to furnish

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jun 30 2024, 05:58 PM
malz89
post Jun 30 2024, 07:25 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 30 2024, 05:52 PM)
I was told, for extension lately mom did ask for proof of tenancy registration from hdb portal.
Wow .. didn't know they are this strict now .. I guess this may affect PR sooner or later
Mackiddo
post Jun 30 2024, 08:31 PM

† St. David †
5,859 posts

from East Malaysia?
jojolicia
post Jun 30 2024, 09:09 PM

1,923 posts

What did I just read there?
hksgmy
post Jun 30 2024, 09:12 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 30 2024, 09:09 PM)
Yeah. Blinked a few times but still “pak boh kiu”… catch no ball
SUSsomewhataut
post Jun 30 2024, 11:00 PM

289 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 30 2024, 09:09 PM)
sorry i dived deeper than the original topic, into social science

what i was trying to say is that sg is after individuals with superior gene, if you have been granted ep or pr, you possess traits deemed as indicator of superior gene.

It's a form of social engineering

50 years down the road u will notice that the vast majority of singaporean are either exceptionally intelligent (indicated by high wage), attractive (indicated by the photo u submitted), tall (indicated in your passport)

Singaporean women are after men who are bright, wealthy, tall. And MOM is extremely hostile toward low tier population marrying themselves into Singapore society, for example singaporeans cannot marry work permit holders without approval, wp holders who got pregnant will be expelled. What you are seeing here is that reproduction of inferior gene is very unlikely in Singapore.

natural selection which is a process of evolution happens everywhere, it is simply accelerated in sg, many things including your ep application is a part of this accelerated evolution.

This post has been edited by somewhataut: Jun 30 2024, 11:02 PM
hksgmy
post Jul 1 2024, 06:28 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 11:00 PM)

what i was trying to say is that sg is after individuals with superior gene, if you have been granted ep or pr, you possess traits deemed as indicator of superior gene.

50 years down the road u will notice that the vast majority of singaporean are either exceptionally intelligent (indicated by high wage), attractive (indicated by the photo u submitted), tall (indicated in your passport)

Singaporean women are after men who are bright, wealthy, tall. And MOM is extremely hostile toward low tier population marrying themselves into Singapore society, for example singaporeans cannot marry work permit holders without approval, wp holders who got pregnant will be expelled. What you are seeing here is that reproduction of inferior gene is very unlikely in Singapore.

natural selection which is a process of evolution happens everywhere, it is simply accelerated in sg, many things including your ep application is a part of this accelerated evolution.
Whatever gave you that idea!? Their new PM is a short fella and even if I were being kind, I would t be able to call him (or any of the other PMs that came before him) “attractive”.

Intelligence and talent may be nurtured more than anything else.

I suspect your social engineering theory may be, well… suspect.
jojolicia
post Jul 1 2024, 08:44 AM

1,923 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jun 30 2024, 11:00 PM)

No need to be sorry, no harm sharing your thoughts.

Well, make sure you decompress upon resurfacing from your deep dive.

I reread your post till #83. How long were you on ep before 2022? and rejoin in 2023 under WP

You switched new co last month (June 2024) for ep, any outcome from mom on this by now?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Jul 1 2024, 08:59 AM
malz89
post Jul 1 2024, 03:57 PM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 1 2024, 06:28 AM)
Whatever gave you that idea!? Their new PM is a short fella and even if I were being kind, I would t be able to call him (or any of the other PMs that came before him) “attractive”.

Maybe he's right? The younger generation doesn't look too ah beng already! Haha just kidding. I doubt looks is their criteria. Rather how can you contribute to the pool. So sector plays a very important role. SME vs MNC.

IQ can be nurtured but talent abit hard la .. it's hidden until discovered.
hksgmy
post Jul 1 2024, 06:05 PM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 1 2024, 03:57 PM)
Maybe he's right? The younger generation doesn't look too ah beng already! Haha just kidding. I doubt looks is their criteria. Rather how can you contribute to the pool. So sector plays a very important role. SME vs MNC.

Aiya, sesuka hati diorang ... he may have his (valid or otherwise) reasons for rationalizing why his EP was rejected. It's all part of the coping mechanism.
SUSsomewhataut
post Jul 2 2024, 06:42 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jun 30 2024, 03:33 PM)
If they can't offer you EP, they shouldn't be offering you an WP, you're overqualified for that no? They can only issue you an S-pass.

Anyway they come out with the compass: https://www.mom.gov.sg/passes-and-permits/e...ass/eligibility

So, it is easier for us to hit 40 points compared to other FT. I doubt they look at looks. They need brains, not appearances. Lol
Very rare for companies to have s pass quota, only 1 for every 11 locals

I’m familiar with the compass framework. In what way Malaysians easier to hit 40?

Just look at diversity point, if the company is mostly Malaysian, then 0 point cuz no diversity

It’s not look but genetic, in fact pr approval is very ambiguous, some Malaysian phd get rejected while a random diploma with lower salary gets approved. Some people attempt to explain this ambiguity with genetic selection, or even personal activities surveillance. Meaning they may have a methodology of identifying inferior genes or they surveilled every candidate’s personal life to determine whether the person is a good addition to the pool
hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 06:44 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Jun 30 2024, 05:52 PM)
I’ve been getting a rash of requests from my S pass tenants to verify their residency statuses (these are the ones renting out the residential portion of the HDB shop houses) … $107 per application with GoBusiness… bloody money grab.

Maybe that’s the reason why huh?
SUSsomewhataut
post Jul 2 2024, 06:55 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 1 2024, 03:57 PM)

Not look but genetic, look is simply an indicator

It’s a mnc, sector is construction material supplier

If they approve ep and pr for candidates from fnb, I don’t see how it’s based purely on how you can contribute, fnb is not a critical sector correct me if I’m wrong

Another theory is the big brother surveillance, they may have access to my internet activities, places I visit, purchases I made and they decided I’m not a good addition to the pool based on these
hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 06:56 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jul 2 2024, 06:55 AM)
Not look but genetic, look is simply an indicator

It’s a mnc, sector is construction material supplier

If they approve ep and pr for candidates from fnb, I don’t see how it’s based purely on how you can contribute, fnb is not a critical sector correct me if I’m wrong

Another theory is the big brother surveillance, they may have access to my internet activities, places I visit, purchases I made and they decided I’m not a good addition to the pool based on these
If you sincerely believe this, then why would you want to come to such a country to work?
malz89
post Jul 2 2024, 06:59 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jul 2 2024, 06:42 AM)
Very rare for companies to have s pass quota, only 1 for every 11 locals

I’m familiar with the compass framework. In what way Malaysians easier to hit 40?

Just look at diversity point, if the company is mostly Malaysian, then 0 point cuz no diversity

It’s not look but genetic, in fact pr approval is very ambiguous, some Malaysian phd get rejected while a random diploma with lower salary gets approved. Some people attempt to explain this ambiguity with genetic selection, or even personal activities surveillance. Meaning they may have a methodology of identifying inferior genes or they surveilled every candidate’s personal life to determine whether the person is a good addition to the pool
Ah I think you're right on this. Maybe coz my sector is filled with PRC, so I got my EP approved easily while the rest were on S-pass.

I think PR criteria is rather vague as you mentioned. I got mine within 6 months, applied within 2 months of employment (total 8 months). Some got it almost immediate. Most got rejected without knowing why. Definitely it's easier for us Malaysians to get it but not others. For example, a Burmese I know, which is a senior of mine, hasn't gotten his although he has been in singapore almost 20 years. They kept asking for more documents from him. And he's good looking, smart. So I doubt ..

hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 07:02 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 2 2024, 06:59 AM)
Ah I think you're right on this. Maybe coz my sector is filled with PRC, so I got my EP approved easily while the rest were on S-pass.

I think PR criteria is rather vague as you mentioned. I got mine within 6 months, applied within 2 months of employment (total 8 months). Some got it almost immediate. Most got rejected without knowing why. Definitely it's easier for us Malaysians to get it but not others. For example, a Burmese I know, which is a senior of mine, hasn't gotten his although he has been in singapore almost 20 years. They kept asking for more documents from him. And he's good looking, smart. So I doubt ..
Malaysians I know have an unspoken advantage when it comes to PRs as we are already considered integrated into society as we share a similar cultural heritage. Hence no quotas on Malaysians renting HDBs…
SUSsomewhataut
post Jul 2 2024, 07:04 AM

289 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 1 2024, 06:28 AM)

I got the idea from a Chinese thread claiming to have insider information

I didn’t say Singaporeans select their president based on look. This is largely irrelevant

Like I said unless you are exceptionally talented, you need to have basic merits to be granted approval, and there are people claiming that look is one of them

Mainstream findings suggest that iq which correlates talent, is largely genetic, how can you beat someone who naturally does things 10 times easier , be it due to their iq or look
hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 07:07 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jul 2 2024, 07:04 AM)

I didn’t say Singaporeans select their president based on look. This is largely irrelevant

Like I said unless you are exceptionally talented, you need to have basic merits to be granted approval, and there are people claiming that look is one of them

Mainstream findings suggest that iq which correlates talent, is largely genetic, how can you beat someone who naturally does things 10 times easier , be it due to their iq or look
Bro, don’t go down that rabbit hole leh…. Sometimes these threads can be echo chambers and may do more harm than good for your peace of mind.
malz89
post Jul 2 2024, 07:12 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(somewhataut @ Jul 2 2024, 07:04 AM)

Read up on TED. Some people may be smarter than most, but the fact is that IQ can actually be nurtured.

Please don't read too much xhs. Most high earners PRC will never try to integrate into Sg community, the feel they are elitists, hence they are often rejected. Likewise for Indians from India, some of them were saying they get paid 200k per year but PR keep getting rejected. They have a family. Good genes usually. Especially those northern ones. But huge rejection for them.
malz89
post Jul 2 2024, 07:15 AM

1,140 posts

QUOTE(hksgmy @ Jul 2 2024, 07:07 AM)
Bro, don’t go down that rabbit hole leh…. Sometimes these threads can be echo chambers and may do more harm than good for your peace of mind.
It's just like how my wife spends her time listening to nonsense there. People love to spread negativity either to gloat over others or just to justify their inferiority. I think things should be taken with a pinch of salt especially on the Internet. Yes, so don't take my words literally haha.
hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 07:17 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 2 2024, 07:12 AM)
Read up on TED.  Some people may be smarter than most, but the fact is that IQ can actually be nurtured.

Please don't read too much xhs. Most high earners PRC will never try to integrate into Sg community, the feel they are elitists, hence they are often rejected. Likewise for Indians from India, some of them were saying they get paid 200k per year but PR keep getting rejected. They have a family. Good genes usually. Especially those northern ones. But huge rejection for them.
SPOT ON analysis! You took the words right out of my mouth…
hksgmy
post Jul 2 2024, 07:18 AM

Doraemon!
7,847 posts

QUOTE(malz89 @ Jul 2 2024, 07:15 AM)
It's just like how my wife spends her time listening to nonsense there. People love to spread negativity either to gloat over others or just to justify their inferiority. I think things should be taken with a pinch of salt especially on the Internet. Yes, so don't take my words literally haha.
XHS can be as toxic a place to be as Reddit or 4Chan… so I’ve been told. I’ve never had any personal experiences with any of them though. Kopitiam is where I get my Malaysian fix.

0.0466sec    1.48    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:38 PM