Pickleball: Any players here?, Pickleball related discussion
goldfries
Nov 30 2024, 12:10 AM
40K Club
QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Nov 29 2024, 07:22 PM) You want it to go up or down? 😁 DUPR is very easy to manipulate, so its not very dependable. Noobs want to climb up quickly, buayas wanna bring it down so they can play in lower rating tournaments for easy win. Good gauge also la, just that in the short run it won't be accurate. Lucky win game then go up already. Even now I rank myself 2.00 - 2.25 range.
TStinkerfy
Nov 30 2024, 11:18 PM
Ini confirm buaya.. 2.0 is barely know anything about PB...
DUPR is inaccurate because, I started playing using DUPR at an event.. Won 8 out of 9 games, My DUPR was at 3.6 already. Then I tried to find DUPR newbies to play and purposely lose 2 games to them.. It went down to 3.49.
goldfries
Dec 2 2024, 03:02 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Nov 30 2024, 11:18 PM) Ini confirm buaya.. 2.0 is barely know anything about PB... DUPR is inaccurate because, I started playing using DUPR at an event.. Won 8 out of 9 games, My DUPR was at 3.6 already. Then I tried to find DUPR newbies to play and purposely lose 2 games to them.. It went down to 3.49. Self-rate put newbie / 2.0 lor. If not put 2.5 also don't feel correct or not.
TStinkerfy
Dec 2 2024, 03:20 PM
as long as you can play full game, can dink, can serve, can return shots, occasionally can win, know the rules, then can be considered a 2.5 liao.
Just don't be like some noobs who go self rate themselves as 4.5 - 5.0 and joined competitive sessions, end up the host asked them to leave after 1 game.
Most important is the enjoy pickleball for the workout and company.
This post has been edited by tinkerfy: Dec 2 2024, 04:18 PM
goldfries
Dec 5 2024, 04:14 PM
40K Club
QUOTE(tinkerfy @ Dec 2 2024, 03:20 PM) as long as you can play full game, can dink, can serve, can return shots, occasionally can win, know the rules, then can be considered a 2.5 liao. Interesting take. I know those but my more experienced friend rated me as 2.0 - 2.2 so OK lor. And yes indeed, I play it for the fun - enjoy the game and the company.
TStinkerfy
Dec 5 2024, 08:52 PM
Shall I organise a LYN Pickleball session? Anyone interested?
TStinkerfy
Yesterday, 11:05 AM