Byd Atto3 kena this time

TSrobotking123
post Jan 20 2024, 02:14 PM, updated 2y ago

Oh my, so many cars got problem

Hi! Last friday i experienced some problems with my Atto3. After starting the car i had this notification, then it was blocked and i couldn’t re-start. I thought because of my latest car battery level of 23% the night before. Called the depannage/breakdown service. The problem was the start battery (accu) which was totally flat. After a traditional jump-start session, the car restarted. Surprisingly car battery level stayed 23% despite the cold temperature, so i could easily drive around to recharge the start battery that day. Afterwards no problem to start the car. However, another problem occured : all the steering wheel buttons just stopped working (cruise control, music volume, etc).

Made the appointment with the BYD service centre next week. Hope it will get fixed soon and no more problems afterwards, cos i really like the car and it’s just so unexpected to experience some problems (already) for a relatively new car. On the other hands, i read on the other EV forum in Belgium that apparantly this start battery problem occurs regularly with EV’s…

MaybachS600
post Jan 20 2024, 02:15 PM

896 posts

Hope BYD can fix this.
degraw19
post Jan 20 2024, 02:16 PM

345 posts

Boy96 cum ur feveret EV owaiiiii
smallcrab
post Jan 20 2024, 02:17 PM

139 posts

Masalah orang kaya

blmse92
post Jan 20 2024, 02:20 PM

603 posts

lol. that system error message so cheap.. 'BYD shop'...

BYD Service Center la topkek. shop....
Dweller
post Jan 20 2024, 02:24 PM

105 posts

Got time at hand. Come I help you Google.

Jasonist
post Jan 20 2024, 02:27 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

haha ini kari bei yan diu lah
max_cavalera
post Jan 20 2024, 02:28 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 20 2024, 03:24 PM)

This
knwong
post Jan 20 2024, 02:30 PM

3,558 posts

EV more software problem rather than mechanical
ketupatlazat
post Jan 20 2024, 02:30 PM

555 posts

Takyah pening takyah susah

Angkat myvi sudah
GOPI56
post Jan 20 2024, 02:32 PM

1,494 posts

Rich people problem,

Last I heard from my buddy in Volvo. People have bought up all the remaining stocks for Volvo EV cars. People are snapping up luxury cars before service tax increase and luxury tax introduced.

Next batch of new Volvo cars have increased in prices and have quite long wait list.

Who said orang Malaysia poor, Volvo cars are not cheap man.

soul78
post Jan 20 2024, 02:36 PM

925 posts

the frustation will build up and soon they will return to the ICE scene...

GOPI56
post Jan 20 2024, 02:40 PM

1,494 posts

Yup, EV cars are suitable as second car for city drive use only.

ICE > EV cars for now.
soul78

925 posts

HERTZ car rental company also dumped 20,000 EVs and go back to ICE cars...

topkekk...

whistling.gif
mick84

96 posts

Pls dont believe EV tak payah balik service...
bereev
post Jan 20 2024, 02:41 PM

257 posts

QUOTE(blmse92 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:20 PM)

direct translation from Mandarin lol...
trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 02:48 PM

359 posts

Not sure why they didn't use LFP as the starter battery instead of the old-style lead acid battery. Lead acid batteries have a very short lifespan. Probably to cut some costs.

But luckily...

BYD announces to stop using lead-acid starting battery

BYD recently announced that it will stop using 12V lead-acid starting battery on its electric vehicles, which will be equipped with 12V LFP starting battery instead. BYD becomes the first carmaker in the world that applies LFP starting battery to all of its electric vehicles.

Compared with lead-acid battery, BYD's LFP starting battery has longer cycle life of over 3,000 cycle times, which almost equals the service life of the entire vehicle, against an average life of 2-3 years for lead-acid battery.

They are the first to announce that. Hope other EV makers do the same.
SUSasx26365
post Jan 20 2024, 02:51 PM

27 posts

Build your dick.
moiskyrie
post Jan 20 2024, 02:53 PM

3,213 posts

Wait…
EV jump start the electronic still ok?
Not scare later fry the electronic meh?
old_and_slow
post Jan 20 2024, 02:57 PM

1,602 posts

later go workshop nobody know how to fix because its still new

deswai ev is considered rich ppl car - those who can afford to wait and pay, got backup car
trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 02:58 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 20 2024, 02:53 PM)
Wait…
EV jump start the electronic still ok?
Not scare later fry the electronic meh?
There's an external battery which is the same type we have on ICE cars. If flat just join the terminals with another car's battery then can start the EV. They shouldn't have use traditional lead acid batteries in the first place when the EV has a sophisticated LFP battery.
trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 03:01 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(old_and_slow @ Jan 20 2024, 02:57 PM)
later go workshop nobody know how to fix because its still new

deswai ev is considered rich ppl car - those who can afford to wait and pay, got backup car
EV nothing much to fix. In this case, it's the starter lead-acid battery that became flat. Anyone can easily solve that problem.
moiskyrie
post Jan 20 2024, 03:01 PM

3,213 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 02:58 PM)
There's an external battery which is the same type we have on ICE cars. If flat just join the terminals with another car's battery then can start the EV. They shouldn't have use traditional lead acid batteries in the first place when the EV has a sophisticated LFP battery.
Becos hear someone say don’t jump start when car battery flat…
Later electronic fry…..
Apply to when the external jump start battery is bigger that problem battery….
old_and_slow
post Jan 20 2024, 03:08 PM

1,602 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 03:01 PM)
EV nothing much to fix. In this case, it's the starter lead-acid battery that became flat. Anyone can easily solve that problem.
normally this one need how long to repair?
bereev
post Jan 20 2024, 03:08 PM

257 posts

trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 03:09 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(moiskyrie @ Jan 20 2024, 03:01 PM)
Becos hear someone say don’t jump start when car battery flat…
Later electronic fry…..
Apply to when the external jump start battery is bigger that problem battery….
In the case of an EV, there is no need for a huge power requirement to start it, unlike ICE cars because there is no ignition involved, so connecting another car's battery to the starter battery should be safe.
SUSCincai lar
post Jan 20 2024, 03:10 PM

113 posts

EV can do jump start ???... got alternator ???... won't fried the electronics ???.. last time i heard Hybrid can't use traditional jump start,.. it'll fried the car,..
Capt. Marble
post Jan 20 2024, 03:11 PM

220 posts

1 degree Celsius in the screenshot. Masalah negara sejuk.. electrolite frozen.
trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 03:11 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(old_and_slow @ Jan 20 2024, 03:08 PM)
normally this one need how long to repair?
Just get a new lead acid battery and plug it in. But with BYD's announcement, this would be a thing of the past as the starter lead acid battery is phased out.
Capt. Marble
post Jan 20 2024, 03:20 PM

220 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Jan 20 2024, 03:10 PM)
EV can do jump start ???... got alternator ???... won't fried the electronics ???.. last time i heard Hybrid can't use traditional jump start,.. it'll fried the car,..
I did that to my hybrid. It's ok.
MR_alien
post Jan 20 2024, 03:32 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,580 posts

that's why i kept saying, u want a fuss free EV
just buy tesla
killdavid
post Jan 20 2024, 03:37 PM

Senior Satire Officer
1,636 posts

QUOTE(Dweller @ Jan 20 2024, 02:24 PM)

Macam restarting andriod phone.
So your ev behaves like an android device
li_hat
post Jan 20 2024, 04:01 PM

213 posts

i noob here, why still need jump start..thre are no engine, so what are the purpose of jump start.

why need batery over batery..i pening
Boy96
post Jan 20 2024, 04:05 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

Its a 12v battery issue je

The byd battery is using 38b20l battery same as axia and myvi old model without eco idle

This post has been edited by Boy96: Jan 20 2024, 04:07 PM
Boy96
post Jan 20 2024, 04:08 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(li_hat @ Jan 20 2024, 04:01 PM)
i noob here, why still need jump start..thre are no engine, so what are the purpose of jump start.

All the accessories are 12v similar to regular car, takkan mau use 400v of the main power unit to power the small accessories
pureawesomeness
post Jan 20 2024, 04:08 PM

188 posts

Last time when I was a kid I had an EV also. The type where I press the remote the her goes forward, and when letgo the car reverse in circle. We were so poorfag that we couldn't afford an EV that could go left and right type. That time also it didn't last long. The 9V battery was expensive and 4 AAA batteries always must replace.
kangkayu
post Jan 20 2024, 04:26 PM

128 posts

ctrl+alt+Del tak da?
kembayang
post Jan 20 2024, 04:56 PM

1,441 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 20 2024, 04:05 PM)

The byd battery is using 38b20l battery same as axia and myvi old model without eco idle
For BEV, can DIY swap out 12v battery like the ICE way?
Any calibration needed?
Boy96
post Jan 20 2024, 05:03 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(kembayang @ Jan 20 2024, 04:56 PM)
For BEV, can DIY swap out 12v battery like the ICE way?
Any calibration needed?
Can.

For byd no need any calibration. For Conti ev maybe need to reset system
mushigen
post Jan 20 2024, 05:06 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 03:01 PM)
Why do EV need the starter battery?
msacras
post Jan 20 2024, 05:08 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(knwong @ Jan 20 2024, 02:30 PM)
EV more software problem rather than mechanical
Do it like router, power off then on again.
SUSMr Mercedes
post Jan 20 2024, 05:10 PM

424 posts

Sound moar atas ma.

You go to japang, got Toyota/toyopet store.
msacras
post Jan 20 2024, 05:11 PM

1,766 posts

QUOTE(Boy96 @ Jan 20 2024, 04:05 PM)

ATTO3 still new car so fast already 12V kong?

Mah stock Axia battery lasted me 3+ years.
Boy96
post Jan 20 2024, 05:18 PM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(msacras @ Jan 20 2024, 05:11 PM)
ATTO3 still new car so fast already 12V kong?

Mah stock Axia battery lasted me 3+ years.
Yeah normal for non teslas using regular non lithium type 12v's
trusol
post Jan 20 2024, 05:28 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 20 2024, 05:06 PM)
Why do EV need the starter battery?
The starter battery powers the car's computer. Not sure if it is still correctly called the ECU (Engine Control Unit), because EV doesn't have an engine.
milolauda
post Jan 20 2024, 05:41 PM

41 posts

pay money to get into so much trouble

might as well just buy a Vios

duh
Pugbunny
post Jan 20 2024, 05:49 PM

717 posts

Lemon we need lemon
Grape Seed X
post Jan 20 2024, 07:30 PM

200 posts

BYD Bite Your Dick

transl : gigit batang ko
suikod3n
post Jan 20 2024, 07:34 PM

34 posts

kasi chance bro, got text limit. have to fill in the blank with the shortest words biggrin.gif
acbc
post Jan 20 2024, 07:37 PM

9,037 posts

EVs are like Windows laptops. Any problems, need to reboot.
mushigen
post Jan 20 2024, 07:55 PM

4,949 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 05:28 PM)
The starter battery powers the car's computer. Not sure if it is still correctly called the ECU (Engine Control Unit), because EV doesn't have an engine.
Ah, I see.
So high tech, I wonder why it's not possible to have a stepped down 12V rail instead of a physical battery.
janszmatt
post Jan 20 2024, 08:05 PM

363 posts

You have seen Ora good cat breaking instead of braking yet
darksider
post Jan 20 2024, 08:06 PM

868 posts

why buy a time bomb aka EV
WhiskeyTango777
post Jan 20 2024, 09:44 PM

30 posts

that's why old school car manual the best laugh.gif
max_cavalera
post Jan 20 2024, 09:50 PM

rebirth
5,613 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 03:48 PM)
Not sure why they didn't use LFP as the starter battery instead of the old-style lead acid battery. Lead acid batteries have a very short lifespan. Probably to cut some costs.

But luckily...

Make sense….

Lithium too cheap nowadays at raw material price…

1kwh already around 80+usd like that…

Its not expensive to make 12v lfp battery
h@ksam
post Jan 20 2024, 09:51 PM

@ is a
3,460 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Jan 20 2024, 07:37 PM)
EVs are like Windows laptops. Any problems, need to reboot.
yeah explain the steering wheel buttons stopped working.
yeapsc73
post Jan 20 2024, 10:10 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(max_cavalera @ Jan 20 2024, 09:50 PM)
Make sense….

Lithium too cheap nowadays at raw material price…

1kwh already around 80+usd like that…

Its not expensive to make 12v lfp battery
Tesla already using lithium ion 12v battery since 2022 that last a life time no need replacement
Roadwarrior1337
post Jan 20 2024, 10:12 PM

979 posts

Mater of time all this issue come out
xtrabite
post Jan 20 2024, 10:30 PM

181 posts

Jumpstart EV car?
How does it work?
For ice car, we need that electricity to ignite the fuel.
For EV?
SUSyolldddd
post Jan 20 2024, 10:42 PM

535 posts

As long as i no stay or park near ev I am ok...let it burrnnnn

This post has been edited by yolldddd: Jan 20 2024, 10:42 PM
trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 06:25 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Jan 20 2024, 07:55 PM)
Ah, I see.
So high tech, I wonder why it's not possible to have a stepped down 12V rail instead of a physical battery.
Separate battery means the driver still can control some things and receive reports even if you drive until the main battery is totally flat.
vexus
post Jan 21 2024, 06:28 AM

Master of Eatery & Sleeping
6,659 posts

China car is still far away to reach reliable notch compare to japan.
trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 06:38 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(vexus @ Jan 21 2024, 06:28 AM)
China car is still far away to reach reliable notch compare to japan.
You must be referring to China ICE cars. EVs are far more reliable than ICE cars. I'm sick of repairing this, repairing that, changing this, changing that with ICE cars.

If you have driven ICE cars long enough, you might even get the experience of things falling off, such as the exhaust pipe, or things overheating such as the radiator.

Maybe you do like repairing your ICE cars and calling the tow truck often, Japanese car or otherwise. I don't.
TSrobotking123
post Jan 21 2024, 06:45 AM

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 21 2024, 06:38 AM)
You must be referring to China ICE cars. EVs are far more reliable than ICE cars. I'm sick of repairing this, repairing that, changing this, changing that with ICE cars.

If you have driven ICE cars long enough, you might even get the experience of things falling off, such as the exhaust pipe, or things overheating such as the radiator.

Maybe you do like repairing your ICE cars and calling the tow truck often, Japanese car or otherwise. I don't.
Ya, and 7 years later you will pay 3x more to replace the battery, save all those money for your new battery
trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 06:51 AM

359 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Jan 21 2024, 06:45 AM)
Ya, and 7 years later you will pay 3x more to replace the battery, save all those money for your new battery
It's a myth, you do know that, don't you? They don't have such a short lifespan. Unless you use it as a taxi or drive over half a million km in 7 years.
TSrobotking123
post Jan 21 2024, 06:54 AM

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 21 2024, 06:51 AM)
It's a myth, you do know that, don't you? They don't have such a short lifespan. Unless you use it as a taxi or drive over half a million km in 7 years.
Hahaha, you will see. Don't be fooled with 10 years warranty that got term 60% usable capacity only. Unless you don't mind to charge it daily like your phone, lol
river.sand
post Jan 21 2024, 07:14 AM

3,806 posts

Inb4 TS is EV hater ...
N9484640
post Jan 21 2024, 07:21 AM

Chasing Electric
1,282 posts

QUOTE(li_hat @ Jan 20 2024, 04:01 PM)

Because you need the 12v battery to energize the relays to turn on the high voltage battery. If not then you would need the high voltage battery to be on all the time. Easier to use a low voltage battery to run everything in the car and leave the high voltage to run the motors. Also for safety reasons. Imagine you using the high voltage battery, convert it to 12v to run all the accessories….no they prefer to separate high and low voltage
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 07:27 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 21 2024, 06:38 AM)

boring oh engines..have 10 years old jazz 20+ years old kancil at home and a 5 years old picanto..after few years all same only power escapes not that smooth and just not nice to drive anymore

put fully syn oil lah what oil its just the same once engine wear out its not nice anymore

terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 07:36 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 07:27 AM)
boring oh engines..have 10 years old jazz 20+ years old kancil at home and a 5 years old picanto..after few years all same only power escapes not that smooth and just not nice to drive anymore

put fully syn oil lah what oil its just the same once engine wear out its not nice anymore
man thus is the dumbest thing i had read today to date
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 08:45 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 07:36 AM)
man thus is the dumbest thing i had read today to date
Of course,, coming from people like you here you know all..yawn
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 08:49 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 08:45 AM)
Of course,, coming from people like you here you know all..yawn
i'm more interested on how you quantify for the "power escape"

because apparently you know more than me right? you have kancil, picanto, and jazz that we don't have

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 08:50 AM
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 08:55 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 08:49 AM)
i'm more interested on how you quantify for the "power escape"

because apparently you know more than me right? you have kancil, picanto, and jazz that we don't have
And how do you prove that a engine doesn't lose horsepower and efficiency over the years

You ask me I you back if you don't mind
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 09:01 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 08:55 AM)
And how do you prove that a engine doesn't lose horsepower and efficiency over the years

You ask me I you back if you don't mind
What should I be the one to prove it when you are the one claiming your car have "power escape" doh.gif

I didn't claim anything in my previous statement, but simply asking you to prove what you claimed.

don't forget about what's the criteria for something to have "power escape" is it 20% power loss, or is it 1% power loss?

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 09:02 AM
MGM
post Jan 21 2024, 09:02 AM

18,399 posts

Can use this to jump-start?

PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 09:08 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 09:01 AM)
What should I be the one to prove it when you are the one claiming your car have "power escape"  doh.gif

I didn't claim anything in my previous statement, but simply asking you to prove what you claimed.

don't forget about what's the criteria for something to have "power escape" is it 20% power loss, or is it 1% power loss?
errr why do i need to prove to you?
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 09:12 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 09:08 AM)
errr why do i need to prove to you?
i guess you can't walk your talk then doh.gif

very disappointing behavior

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 09:13 AM
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 09:32 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 09:12 AM)
i guess you can't walk your talk then doh.gif

very disappointing behavior
the thing is that why should i? these kinda thing can read it easily..there are people discuss it but you wanna win over a argument over the internet asking people to prove it..sound silly to me

guess thats the thing with people in this forum lol

Boy96
post Jan 21 2024, 09:48 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 21 2024, 09:02 AM)
Can use this to jump-start?

Can. But actually dont even need this. We have the v2l cable, just plug that in it would force the big battery to wake up the 12v battery to recharge them
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 09:53 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 09:32 AM)
the thing is that why should i? these kinda thing can read it easily..there are people discuss it but you wanna win over a argument over the internet asking people to prove it..sound silly to me

guess thats the thing with people in this forum lol
nah no need to talk so much to justify you dodging your own talk, I already understand you are king and we can never question you right? thumbsup.gif

it's alright bro, we just treat your comments in the future without any seriousness anymore okie

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 09:54 AM
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 10:16 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 09:53 AM)
nah no need to talk so much to justify you dodging your own talk, I already understand you are king and we can never question you right? thumbsup.gif

it's alright bro, we just treat your comments in the future without any seriousness anymore okie
you start with a tone saying dumb lah what lah..if wanna say something useful just say it no need twist and turn..you could have give your opinion and why its so hard

i dont mind have conversation with anyone over the internet even i dont know you..talk a little also like wanna argue so damn hard

anyway have a good day
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 10:28 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 10:16 AM)
you start with a tone saying dumb lah what lah..if wanna say something useful just say it no need twist and turn..you could have give your opinion and why its so hard

i dont mind have conversation with anyone over the internet even i dont know you..talk a little also like wanna argue so damn hard

anyway have a good day
that's my opinion, it's dumb and dumber when you are asking others to prove what you yourself claimed

at first i was so speechless on how someone can claim something like that while bragging it's true because he owned kancil, picanto and, like other people never owns any or multiple old cars before like wut. I guess when I was driving my 35 years old 4AGE corolla thr power escaped so much it can only runs below 90km/h (oh sorry i did managed to get the almost the same topspeed as when it was new), other people on the internet can get the same power too so since internet said so it must be true for everyone else (echo chamber confirmation bias at play here)

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 10:33 AM
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 10:32 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 10:28 AM)
that's my opinion, it's dumb and dumber when you are asking others to prove what you yourself claimed

anyway, continue on with your own internet facts that's coming straight out from echo chamber confirmation bias
thats not a opinion, its just you wanna jibe on others just like most here

whatever makes you happy my friend as long make you feel big

moving along

terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 10:34 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 10:32 AM)
thats not a opinion, its just you wanna jibe on others just like most here

whatever makes you happy my friend as long make you feel big

moving along
asking you to show what you claimed as "power escape" is "makes me feel big"

okie

you get alot of potential to be a politician with those taichi skills bro

also i edited my last post, go read it back

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 10:37 AM
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 10:39 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

so much fun in this forum you can claim anything you want, if somebody questions you, just claim they are doing it because it makes them feel big without answering their question on your claimed statement, topkek
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 21 2024, 10:44 AM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

page 5 already got ppl arguing haih...

sunday ppl, it is sunday wei

lunch mau makan apa?

tatabun
post Jan 21 2024, 10:46 AM

59 posts

buy ev once got nuclear powered battery la.. 10 years no need to charge..
spursfan
post Jan 21 2024, 10:51 AM

110 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 02:48 PM)

But luckily...

I had some rechargeable lead acid batteries. Lasted for only 2 years tops.
focusrite
post Jan 21 2024, 10:58 AM

409 posts

I salute you for being an early adopter
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 11:03 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 21 2024, 10:44 AM)
page 5 already got ppl arguing haih...

sunday ppl, it is sunday wei

lunch mau makan apa?

asking simple things only, what does he meant by power escape by criteria and can he show it, but he dunwan to answer what he claims wut
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 21 2024, 11:16 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 11:03 AM)
asking simple things only, what does he meant by power escape by criteria and can he show it, but he dunwan to answer what he claims wut
one can opt to walk away

sunday lah. have fun a bit
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 11:18 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Jan 21 2024, 11:16 AM)
one can opt to walk away

sunday lah. have fun a bit
sure if it was topics about other field, but engines are my my chosen fyp project in engineering so i gets irked too much when there are some bullshitting on it.

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 11:19 AM
JimbeamofNRT
post Jan 21 2024, 11:20 AM

1,902 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 11:18 AM)
sure if it was topics about other field, but engines are my my chosen fyp project in engineering so i gets irked too much when they are some bullshitting
ok carry on with your mission

PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 11:22 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 10:34 AM)
asking you to show what you claimed as "power escape" is "makes me feel big"

okie

you get alot of potential to be a politician with those taichi skills bro
you say confirmation bias..but in f1 or racing in general wear out engine slower lap times and failing

F1 engine still its a engine just like in your car..uses the same fuel do the same thing the same rule apply which is wear and tear just a in F1 it wear a thousand times faster but a F1 engine is very specialized and they lose power so what to a road car engine driving over the years..can the engine in your car still fresh after years of using?

terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 11:27 AM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 11:22 AM)
you say confirmation bias..but in f1 or racing in general wear out engine slower lap times and failing

F1 engine still its a engine just like in your car..uses the same fuel do the same thing the same rule apply which is wear and tear just a in F1 it wear a thousand times faster but a F1 engine is very specialized and they lose power so what to a road car engine driving over the years..can the engine in your car still fresh after years of using?
f1 engines aren't the same as normal car engines bro, even the tolerance is totally different. parts in f1 engine are so tight it needed to be warmed up by a heater before it can be started. normal car engines don't have tolerances as that, and the materials used is not the same grade too

of course i'm taking about confirmation bias, there's people testing their 10-20 yers old car on dyno which has the same hp as the car when it's new (manufacturer claimed), there's also old ferraris engine tested on dyno tested to lose like half the power. so which conclusion is correct? are you going to take the ferrari's case and claim that as power escape? that's what we refer to confirmation bias

so that's also why i asked you, how do you quantify as power escapr since you claimed that you feel it on your kancil, picanto and jazz? can you answer me now?
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 11:58 AM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 11:27 AM)
f1 engines aren't the same as normal car engines bro, even the tolerance is totally different. parts in f1 engine are so tight it needed to be warmed up by a heater before it can be started. normal car engines don't have tolerances as that, and the materials used is not the same grade too

of course i'm taking about confirmation bias, there's people testing their 10-20 yers old car on dyno which has the same hp as the car when it's new (manufacturer claimed), there's also old ferraris engine tested on dyno tested to lose like half the power. so which conclusion is correct? are you going to take the ferrari's case and claim that as power escape? that's what we refer to confirmation bias

so that's also why i asked you, how do you quantify as power escapr since you claimed that you feel it on your kancil, picanto and jazz? can you answer me now?
like i say still a engine that it cant escape from wear and tear no matter what or how they are made of

the kancil is probably the best example, 225K KM still on ori gearbox and engine..chnage oil every 5K km change gearbox oil every 40K km..even step on loud pedal it makes so much noise but going from 20 to 50km/h takes a little more time these days..20 to 50km/h its very quick back in the days..its even amazing back then driving in city/town with that pickup speed..so what now? my leg gone soft? from 1999 till now the kancil is still as good as it use to be while im the one wearing out? or like you say im just bias its just in head car is slower lol

but a car so old claim it doesnt loses some horsie i dont believe it

terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 12:07 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 11:58 AM)
like i say still a engine that it cant escape from wear and tear no matter what or how they are made of

the kancil is probably the best example, 225K KM still on ori gearbox and engine..chnage oil every 5K km change gearbox oil every 40K km..even step on loud pedal it makes so much noise but going from 20 to 50km/h takes a little more time these days..20 to 50km/h its very quick back in the days..its even amazing back then driving in city/town with that pickup speed..so what now? my leg gone soft? from 1999 till now the kancil is still as good as it use to be while im the one wearing out? or like you say im just bias its just in head car is slower lol

but a car so old claim it doesnt loses some horsie i dont believe it
cause power loss on aged engine is such a significantly small issue in the real world for 99.99% of the people. I haven't seen any of my friend send their mitsu evos, 350z, silvias etc for engine rebuild yet because it's such an insignificant issue for well designed engines. My 35 years old 4AGE still have good acceleration.

kancil runs on carb, you probably should check your carb and your engine probably need teppet adjustments. newer cars barely have noticeable power loss issues anymore, my 20 years old kelisa which runs on fuel.injection don't have any issues on power. I just recently changed all oil seals and gaskets last year or two ago and opened the engine head, no issues on the cylinder wall and piston rings, still runs great with power to date.

what about your picanto and jazz?
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 12:23 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 12:07 PM)
cause power loss on aged engine is such a significantly small issue in the real world for 99.99% of the people. I haven't seen any of my friend send their mitsu evos, 350z, silvias etc for engine rebuild yet because it's such an insignificant issue for well designed engines. My 35 years old 4AGE still have good acceleration.

kancil runs on carb, you  probably should check your carb and your engine probably need teppet adjustments. newer cars barely have noticeable power loss issues anymore, my 20 years old kelisa which runs on fuel.injection don't have any issues on power. I just recently changed all oil seals and gaskets last year or two ago and opened the engine head, no issues on the cylinder wall and piston rings, still runs great with power to date.

what about your picanto and jazz?
you are a car enthusiast is very different from the rest of us lah..even i like cars alot but im not until like you go drop engine and rebuild

you do a more rigorous maintenance compare to average car owner any car will run better

jazz my sis the one complain say potong car very slow nowadays..i say to her probably just she dont know build momentum lol but just coming to 11 years old 100K KM+ only

picanto still got warranty until this may..but not refer to this lah..you wanna buy ah? genuine low mileage car zero accident tongue.gif
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 12:28 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 12:23 PM)
you are a car enthusiast is very different from the rest of us lah..even i like cars alot but im not until like you go drop engine and rebuild

you do a more rigorous maintenance compare to average car owner any car will run better

jazz my sis the one complain say potong car very slow nowadays..i say to her probably just she dont know build momentum lol but just coming to 11 years old 100K KM+ only

picanto still got warranty until this may..but not refer to this lah..you wanna buy ah? genuine low mileage car zero accident  tongue.gif
that's the thing, they never never send their engines to rebuild yet. my 4age didn't even open the engine for the past 20 years. i tried 0-100 and the time is not far off than factory spec, maybe less than a second longer

my 2003 vios 240k km don't have power issues too, maybe slightly lesser power than when it was new but not to the point i'm annoyed on day to day drive, it's still runs with good power. honestly i can't really feel that it has even lost that much power. the power is still relatively almost the same

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 12:31 PM
6942nole
post Jan 21 2024, 12:44 PM

346 posts

to know power lose just from wear and tear of cylinder/piston/valve train, do the compression test (new VS now).

no need to talk until the moon is falling.
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 12:59 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 12:28 PM)
that's the thing, they never never send their engines to rebuild yet. my 4age didn't even open the engine for the past 20 years.

my 2003 vios 240k km don't have power issues too, maybe slightly lesser power than when it was new but not to the point i'm annoyed on day to day drive, it's still runs with good power. honestly i can't really feel that it has even lost that much power. the power is still relatively almost the same
just the way things are..either make your car as good as possible or just dont care much anymore

last time wajunk i use fully syn oil do this maintenance try what brake pads what tires but after 10 years its slow off the line get even slower and the engine become noisier until fedup of it and change to picanto which is night and day different..so much quieter better ride more comfy

looking at ev since i dont drive much anymore, but ev still have ev issues..just wait and see how things goes for now

ozak
post Jan 21 2024, 12:59 PM

17,018 posts

This is ICE car?

If ICE car, just change the battery. What huh hah about it?
terradrive
post Jan 21 2024, 01:05 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

QUOTE(PowerSlide @ Jan 21 2024, 12:59 PM)
just the way things are..either make your car as good as possible or just dont care much anymore

last time wajunk i use fully syn oil do this maintenance try what brake pads what tires but after 10 years its slow off the line get even slower and the engine become noisier until fedup of it and change to picanto which is night and day different..so much quieter better ride more comfy

looking at ev since i dont drive much anymore, but ev still have ev issues..just wait and see how things goes for now
it really depends on how well the engine is designed and built

one guy dynoed his 16 years old porsche 911 with 56k miles, stock should ne 300hp on flywheel, it measured 275hp on the wheel, barely any loss of power

but some other cars, can have huge power losses, i don't like those brands after seeing those.

i'm also waiting for cheap ev because doesn't seem good choice to buy new ice car now when nee things keeps coming out

one of my friend had waja, i also drove one long time ago and i don't find them to be loud hmm, my friend's pretty old too with mitsu engine

This post has been edited by terradrive: Jan 21 2024, 01:07 PM
PowerSlide
post Jan 21 2024, 02:37 PM

----------
6,035 posts

QUOTE(terradrive @ Jan 21 2024, 01:05 PM)
it really depends on how well the engine is designed and built

one guy dynoed his 16 years old porsche 911 with 56k miles, stock should ne 300hp on flywheel, it measured 275hp on the wheel, barely any loss of power

but some other cars, can have huge power losses, i don't like those brands after seeing those.

i'm also waiting for cheap ev because doesn't seem good choice to buy new ice car now when nee things keeps coming out

one of my friend had waja, i also drove one long time ago and i don't find them to be loud hmm, my friend's pretty old too with mitsu engine
Think properly first before get a ev, there are good things but also huge bad points with ev.. with EV either it works for your lifestyle or it don't

Mine also a 2002 with mitsu, didn't abuse it too much just enjoy the handling a little lol and not say high mileage just 130k km or so only.. drive on highway the noise is quite loud add with tire noise it's kinda tiring
mac_mac21
post Jan 21 2024, 02:42 PM

189 posts

Why electric car still stuck with 12v lead acid tech for acc component?

Why no development for this component of the car

Still need bateri ku come to rescue
a_dot_el
post Jan 21 2024, 02:51 PM

193 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:32 PM)
Rich people problem,

Last I heard from my buddy in Volvo. People have bought up all the remaining stocks for Volvo EV cars. People are snapping up luxury cars before service tax increase and luxury tax introduced.

Next batch of new Volvo cars have increased in prices and have quite long wait list.

Actually Volvo cars are quite cheap compared to BMW or Merc. Which is why you see tons of XC40 running around.
GOPI56
post Jan 21 2024, 02:57 PM

1,494 posts

QUOTE(a_dot_el @ Jan 21 2024, 02:51 PM)
Actually Volvo cars are quite cheap compared to BMW or Merc. Which is why you see tons of XC40 running around.
XC40 is suitable for small families with small kids I think. It falls in compact SUV class.

But I like the design of XC40, looks sexy for my eyes.
yeapsc73
post Jan 21 2024, 03:04 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Jan 21 2024, 02:42 PM)
Why electric car still stuck with 12v lead acid tech for acc component?

Why no development for this component of the car

Still need bateri ku come to rescue
Tesla used 12v lithium ion battery from 2022 which last as long the car. BYD to follow soon
mac_mac21
post Jan 21 2024, 03:21 PM

189 posts

QUOTE(yeapsc73 @ Jan 21 2024, 03:04 PM)
Tesla used 12v lithium ion battery from 2022 which last as long the car. BYD to follow soon
U mean same battery tech that power my makita power tools????

yeapsc73
post Jan 21 2024, 03:31 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(mac_mac21 @ Jan 21 2024, 03:21 PM)
U mean same battery tech that power my makita power tools????
Not sure whether same tech.

https://thedriven.io/2023/09/26/ev-explaine...ry-maintenance/

TSrobotking123
post Jan 21 2024, 03:38 PM

This cny see got ev stuck on highway or not, jam till battery empty
acbc
post Jan 21 2024, 03:49 PM

9,037 posts

Cars like Peugeot will warn the driver if the 12V battery is weak. U will get messages such as Economy Mode or Economy Mode Active. Usually after 2-3 years will see this message.
derebanz
post Jan 21 2024, 03:57 PM

14 posts

QUOTE(trusol @ Jan 20 2024, 02:48 PM)

But luckily...

This type of battery? It is more expensive though.

yeapsc73
post Jan 21 2024, 04:05 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(derebanz @ Jan 21 2024, 03:57 PM)

Similar. Not sure how long byd LFP battery will last but Tesla one should last a life time according to Tesla
yeapsc73
post Jan 21 2024, 04:06 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Jan 21 2024, 03:38 PM)
Another ignorant comment who dunno how EV works
ozak
post Jan 21 2024, 04:08 PM

17,018 posts

If it is EV, it even more funny.

Why the car need to drive to charge back the 12v battery?

An auto switch or whatever to let the main battery charge the 12v battery. It shouldn’t an issue of car cannot drive cause by 12v battery.

Farking cannot brain such stupid tech.
yeapsc73
post Jan 21 2024, 04:18 PM

382 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 21 2024, 04:08 PM)

An auto switch or whatever to let the main battery charge the 12v battery. It shouldn’t an issue of car cannot drive cause by 12v battery.

Is the main battery charging the 12v

trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 05:18 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Jan 21 2024, 04:08 PM)

EVs don't have alternators, another problematic moving part on ICE cars, prone to failure. The starter battery is charged by the EV main battery.
tctham
post Jan 21 2024, 05:23 PM

653 posts

QUOTE(GOPI56 @ Jan 20 2024, 02:32 PM)
Rich people problem,

Gc mah from autobuzz sapu xc90 polestar
trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 05:23 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(robotking123 @ Jan 21 2024, 03:38 PM)
EVs don't have engines, so it doesn't have wasteful idling.

You are far more likely to encounter overheated ICE cars that boiled over during massive jams.
trusol
post Jan 21 2024, 05:30 PM

359 posts

QUOTE(derebanz @ Jan 21 2024, 03:57 PM)

It is more expensive, which was probably why many EVs use lead-acid batteries as the starter. But since BYD manufactures LFP batteries, its cost should be lower than others, so its decision to get rid of the lead acid battery is easier.

0.0368sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 09:36 PM