Malaysian millennials give up on home ownership

bigwolf
post Jan 19 2024, 05:50 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Jan 19 2024, 04:04 PM)
uncle see a lot of successful business man are not coming rich by saving...

it is their idea, their innovation, and their value behind their work...

if Mark Zukerberg follow our way to study hard and get a job....then buy property etc... he will never build his Meta empire

he will everyday think about property and how to buy a property

do you understand?
You don't need to be a mark zukerberg or bill gates business empire level to be considered rich. Plenty of reasonably well off ppl saved their way to where they are. Something which millenials/ gen z don't seem to understand

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Jan 19 2024, 05:57 PM
bigwolf
post Jan 19 2024, 05:54 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(Slowpokeking @ Jan 19 2024, 05:04 PM)
Hoarding is bad.

Just like we have laws that prevent people from hoarding necessities like rice, sugar etc etc. there should be laws that prevent people from hoarding properties.
The fact that we have surplus unsold properties showed that hoarding is not the issue with our property market. It's the price itself

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Jan 19 2024, 05:55 PM
bigwolf
post Jan 19 2024, 10:21 PM

275 posts

QUOTE(AfraidIGotBan @ Jan 19 2024, 10:05 PM)
First time buyer memang sudah di subsidi pun. They cilakak mementang want house here there at posh special good location saje.

My kawan cannot afford own house, even share with his sister also buy a house at rawang that time before the highway (dunno call what) is completed. But for some, if not segambut, not Kota Damansara, Mutiara Damansara, not worth buying la, this la, that la, etc.

Fukken hell these people. Duit takde, house want posh good nice super duper location.

There's scheme done to help the poor, its just the poor despise those schemes. Else, everyone had a home. Im just being honest. They can afford paying 9 years installment for a kotak kosong masili, pay premium Vpower petrol and weekly cherating, genting, langkawi, penang, sg, melacca, etc, but cannot afford put a small side of these expenses to afford their travel from maybe Setapak to KL work, Melacca to KL work, seremban to KL work, and so on.

This is human issue.

Buy and sell is natural case. Its something that gonna goes alone regardless. Else, wait until this year sudah know got 1 million sohai get born, then plan 18 years later only build 1 million homes for these bastards to buy?
Facts. But you'll see many even here in /k cannot accept it. Help has always been there- RUMAWIP la, PRIMA la, Rumah Selangor Ku la, MyHome la etc. But nooooo this cannot that cannot, want nice want posh want cheap n quality, like pay RM10 but expect full course dinner at Le Gavroche laugh.gif

This post has been edited by bigwolf: Jan 19 2024, 10:34 PM
bigwolf
post Jan 20 2024, 12:38 AM

275 posts

QUOTE(xiaojohn @ Jan 19 2024, 11:52 PM)
Boss, no jokes high rise building management is a big big big issue in near future…

Malaysia baru merdeka 50 years…still not yet see much leasehold title expiry, building rebuild, and management know how to maintenance…

Worst is gov set the guideline but no education…sure all messy coming up
We're talking about home ownership or leasehold expiry here? If everything also scared leasehold expiry or building mgmt then no need buy homes lor.

If you can't afford that landed property then start off with something cheaper and slowly build from there la.

When I first started out, I bought a crappy 850sf apartment for RM115k, that was me n wifey first home. We saved as much as possible minimizing on spending useless stuff like starbucks, posh dinners, expensive holidays etc to maximize the repayment, and also utilized epf acct-B further reduce the loan. 10 years later the apartment was fully paid off (loan tenure was 25 years) and we were able to sell it off and used the proceeds to buy our dream landed property. Bear in mind I wasn't even drawing RM5k salary at that time.

Point here is, your first house may not necessary be your permanent home, but at least get something that belongs to YOU no matter how crappy it is. That's because the monthly installments goes to YOUR own property rather than renting and paying for SOMEONE ELSE'S home installment. Then you can consider upgrading when your financials are better. Even if worst case scenario you're stuck and unable to progress much in your career and salary, at the very least you still have your OWN roof over your head.

It very much depends on your mindset and how you plan for your finances, not just whining about location la, quality la, maintenance issues la or leasing expiry la or limiting ownership (I thought we not communists?)

0.0141sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:38 PM