Malaysian millennials give up on home ownership

Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 10:20 AM

13 posts

“The younger generation should no longer adopt a wait-and-see approach. The longer they wait, the higher the prices of houses given that the growth of household income is not at par with the growth in property or house prices,” he said, adding that what’s worrying, this group will end up as ‘homeless’ when they reach their golden age.

This Dr makes it sound like it is so easy for most millennial to buy overpriced house nowadays

Life is not only about getting a house, paying half or most of your monthly net income for over 35 years, and just die

Unless it is your dream house to settle down and you are really ready to commit, don't buy and just rent.

Don't listen to these boomer "experts" and get pressured into buying a property. They will never see things from millennials' POV because they are already established.
Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 11:59 AM

13 posts

QUOTE(M4A1 @ Jan 19 2024, 11:49 AM)
if u limit = property will crash , meaning existing will not sell

new property will not launch cause they know price is cheap. no ppl want build
and demand is low. cause now got limit. meaning rich dont buy , poor cant buy also

so how??
Also if you limit the number of max purchases / increase the downpayment % / reduce tenure

property price will crash, existing owner will suffer,
the bank will suffer with all their collateral value dropping, bank rating will drop causing cost of fund to increase and bank might collapse

you see the vicious cycle here.
can't just touch one thing without affecting another.

Buying a house is a privilege, not a right

Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 12:05 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(McDullDull @ Jan 19 2024, 11:56 AM)
by that time... u dah mampos so cannot feel anything dah...
your kids... gets free money... getting free 2mil or free 1.9mil... still free what... better teach them be thanful and syukur dah la.
The house is worth 2mil on paper; what if the parents only inherit the house and no cash. How's the kid supposed to pay the 100k cash unless selling off the house

The state should not have the right on inheritance, and we should keep it that way. We work hard for next generation, nothing wrong with that.
Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 12:17 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(McDullDull @ Jan 19 2024, 12:12 PM)
So conclusion is...
Lucky Malaysian millennials yg ada dedikasi... syukur je and thanks boomer daddi.
Poor Malaysian millennials just give up on home ownership la...
dun blame boomer gen for causing property price increase... boomer also just thinking wanna pass to their millenial kids je.
like it or not, "being born rich also a talent" biggrin.gif

if poorfag then need to either work harder and just give up on home ownership like you said
there's nothing wrong with renting really, you saved shit tonne of money

also property is not for investment one, want to make an investment then go buy stock or put in asb/epf

This post has been edited by Unifi agent - YC: Jan 19 2024, 12:18 PM
Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 05:24 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(teslaman @ Jan 19 2024, 05:20 PM)
why give money freely to the poors ?
exactly, always this mindset, everything subsidy.

always want to take from others.

Unifi agent - YC
post Jan 19 2024, 05:26 PM

13 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 19 2024, 04:01 PM)
but easy for millenials to buy overpriced cars , coffee, handphone, etc.

where as buying home is always put to the lowest priority.
I mean, everyone has their own choice; let them pick their priority la thumbup.gif

as long as they are self-sufficient

0.0131sec    0.39    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 09:58 AM