maintenance for 10 yo bike, what to do?, Yamaha FZ150i

TSbukankhadam
post Jan 18 2024, 11:27 AM, updated 2y ago

19 posts

my bike Yamaha FZ150i is 10yo next year.
all these years, i just do the basics/minor maintenance such as oil n filter change, battery, breaks pads, tyres, chain n sprocket, etc follow the list that in the user manual (but not all lah)
so far, the bike runs ok IMO.

other than the maintenance listed in the user manual, what other things i should do for my bike that's almost 10yo next year? i read somewhere overhaul needed for old bike, but idk if i should do it or not.

This post has been edited by bukankhadam: Jan 18 2024, 11:34 AM
alexei
post Jan 18 2024, 11:14 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

mileage berapa?
any issues?
mADmAN
post Jan 19 2024, 01:33 AM

10,530 posts

Overhaul is not a maintenance thing....its a repair thing...no real need to overhaul unless ur bike is super high mileage n u may need to hone the cylinder walls, only if the condition is bad. Otherwise, overhauling is mainly to tear the engine apart n replace a broken or worn part.

Age by years doesnt determine the need to do this n that...except maybe for the fluids n some plastic parts that might deteriorate... Mileage is what mainly determines the need to do something.

Can just follow ur manual by mileage n u should be fine unless ur bike.

Depending on mileage, id do a valve clearance check or some mechs refer to as grind valve.
TSbukankhadam
post Jan 23 2024, 05:05 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 18 2024, 11:14 PM)
mileage berapa?
any issues?
mileage around 61k
issues.. i think not much
1- some engine oil kinda disappeared(?) a little everytime i change oil around 2-3k. read somewhere online it's common for my FZ version.
2- pickup not powerful. i think need to change fuel filter & air filter.

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 19 2024, 01:33 AM)
Overhaul is not a maintenance thing....its a repair thing...no real need to overhaul unless ur bike is super high mileage n u may need to hone the cylinder walls, only if the condition is bad. Otherwise, overhauling is mainly to tear the engine apart n replace a broken or worn part.

Age by years doesnt determine the need to do this n that...except maybe for the fluids n some plastic parts that might deteriorate... Mileage is what mainly determines the need to do something.

Can just follow ur manual by mileage n u should be fine unless ur bike.

Depending on mileage, id do a valve clearance check or some mechs refer to as grind valve.
my bike 61k mileage. what u think need to do?
what the valve clearance check will do?

mADmAN
post Jan 23 2024, 06:22 PM

10,530 posts

QUOTE(bukankhadam @ Jan 23 2024, 05:05 PM)
my bike 63k... i just changed my oil n oil filter only... air filter washable, already washed at 40k km when i did my valve clearance. planning to wash at 70k km.

valve clearance basically ensures clearance between ur valves n pistons so they dont bang each other.

if u havent done valve checks... go do it... other than that, just service like normal
jaycee1
post Jan 23 2024, 08:12 PM

AFK
2,484 posts

mileage around 61k
1- some engine oil kinda disappeared(?) a little everytime i change oil around 2-3k. read somewhere online it's common for my FZ version.
The FZ is basically a simple bike with cheap plentiful parts.

Bike only needs an overhaul if you are massively loosing oil or coolant or have loud knocking noises...or the engine doesn't run at all.

Beyond that, just regular maintenance will do. About the only other thing engine related is to do a valve clearance check.

As for loosing oil, sometimes it depends on the oil and the viscosity you use. Some brands resist burn off better than others..sometimes your engine just needs thicker oil, especially older ones with higher mileage.. I was loosing about 250 to 300ml every 5000km OCI, on motul 5100 10/40 but don't loose any on my Mizu 15/50 both full synthetic.

My Dominar just turned 65k after less than 3 years of use.
alexei
post Jan 23 2024, 09:12 PM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

mileage around 61k
that's nothing to worry about
- use fuel injector cleaner, change spark plug
- EO makan - change different oil brand, what spec you use? 15W-40?
- can consider valve clearance, but so far I don't hear FZ/LC having this issue - main symptom is difficult to start, and idle not stable due to exhaust valve unable to close properly

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 23 2024, 06:22 PM)
valve clearance basically ensures clearance between ur valves n pistons so they dont bang each other.
not really, it's actually the other way around, and to prevent improper valve closure and burning it

QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:12 PM)
As for loosing oil, sometimes it depends on the oil and the viscosity you use. Some brands resist burn off better than others..sometimes your engine just needs thicker oil, especially older ones with higher mileage.. I was loosing about 250 to 300ml every 5000km OCI, on motul 5100 10/40 but don't loose any on my Mizu 15/50 both full synthetic.
+1
TSbukankhadam
post Jan 23 2024, 10:59 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 23 2024, 06:22 PM)
my bike 63k... i just changed my oil n oil filter only... air filter washable, already washed at 40k km when i did my valve clearance. planning to wash at 70k km.

if u havent done valve checks... go do it... other than that, just service like normal
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:12 PM)
The FZ is basically a simple bike with cheap plentiful parts.

Bike only needs an overhaul if you are massively loosing oil or coolant or have loud knocking noises...or the engine doesn't run at all.

Beyond that, just regular maintenance will do. About the only other thing engine related is to do a valve clearance check.

My Dominar just turned 65k after less than 3 years of use.
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 23 2024, 09:12 PM)
that's nothing to worry about
- use fuel injector cleaner, change spark plug
- EO makan - change different oil brand, what spec you use? 15W-40?
- can consider valve clearance, but so far I don't hear FZ/LC having this issue - main symptom is difficult to start, and idle not stable due to exhaust valve unable to close properly
not really, it's actually the other way around, and to prevent improper valve closure and burning it
+1
orait ty for suggestions

the engine oil lost was kinda a lot. i never check how much, but maybe approximately close to 1/3 loss. so maybe 200-300ml?
i mostly use the 'default' yamalube oil. never change the oil type and change oil every 2k-3k range.
usually use fully 10W-40. sometime use semi, still 10-40.
recently bought & wanna try shell long ride, still 10-40 tho.. will see the difference later.

oof.. i never knew about fuel injector, so never use any too.. sweat.gif
need to use ka this one?

maybe i really need to do valve clearance bcos my bike sometimes pandai mati on the road bcos idle not stable.
can do valve clearance at any workshops like, 'bawah pokok' workshop? or need to go service center?
approximately how much they'll charge for the valve clearance service?
alexei
post Jan 24 2024, 07:54 AM

Biker Mice from Mars
1,878 posts

QUOTE(bukankhadam @ Jan 23 2024, 10:59 PM)
orait ty for suggestions

the engine oil lost was kinda a lot. i never check how much, but maybe approximately close to 1/3 loss. so maybe 200-300ml?
i mostly use the 'default' yamalube oil. never change the oil type and change oil every 2k-3k range.
usually use fully 10W-40. sometime use semi, still 10-40.
recently bought & wanna try shell long ride, still 10-40 tho.. will see the difference later.

oof.. i never knew about fuel injector, so never use any too.. sweat.gif
need to use ka this one?

maybe i really need to do valve clearance bcos my bike sometimes pandai mati on the road bcos idle not stable.
can do valve clearance at any workshops like, 'bawah pokok' workshop? or need to go service center?
approximately how much they'll charge for the valve clearance service?
VC may cause exhaust valve to overheat and burning EO
injector cleaner and TB (throttle body) service is kinda needed sometimes, esp if owner remove air filter or mod it

for VC, can just ask for quote among service center and bawah pokok, and if got any after service warranty
I would want a reputable shop that can guarantee their work
Vi Merkz
post Jan 25 2024, 06:28 AM

tbh, on other bikes where parts might cost significantly more, then yes id recommend a topset overhaul to prevent further damage. In FZ's case, id just use it till the engine breaks down, then have it rebuilt, as the parts are cheap and plentiful, heck you can just spec it up just for fun without it costing too much money as aftermarket components can be found in almost all ali, ah seng and muthu shops.

10 years bike, consuming 1/3 of oil engine oil, that's not something a VC or filter replacement could fix. Unless you can get a real good bargain for a topset overhaul, id just ride it till it breaks. You prolly have a leaky valve seal or a worn piston ring, whichever the case, you'd have to open up block/head to fix.

As for other things you can do make it ride better before the need for an overhaul (assuming you keep basic maintenance in check)

You mentioned engine stalling and unstable idle, this is probably dirty throttle body, ISC, or fuel/air related, could also be bad ignition coils. Worst case could be due to low compression, a shop that knows that they're doing can run a quick compression test, and will take less than 5 mins, doing a compression test eliminate engine factor in troubleshooting.

TSbukankhadam
post Jan 25 2024, 03:18 PM

19 posts

QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 24 2024, 07:54 AM)
VC may cause exhaust valve to overheat and burning EO
injector cleaner and TB (throttle body) service is kinda needed sometimes, esp if owner remove air filter or mod it

for VC, can just ask for quote among service center and bawah pokok, and if got any after service warranty
I would want a reputable shop that can guarantee their work
noted. thank you very much thumbsup.gif

QUOTE(Vi Merkz @ Jan 25 2024, 06:28 AM)
tbh, on other bikes where parts might cost significantly more, then yes id recommend a topset overhaul to prevent further damage. In FZ's case, id just use it till the engine breaks down, then have it rebuilt, as the parts are cheap and plentiful, heck you can just spec it up just for fun without it costing too much money as aftermarket components can be found in almost all ali, ah seng and muthu shops.

10 years bike, consuming 1/3 of oil engine oil, that's not something a VC or filter replacement could fix. Unless you can get a real good bargain for a topset overhaul, id just ride it till it breaks. You prolly have a leaky valve seal or a worn piston ring, whichever the case, you'd have to open up block/head to fix.
As for other things you can do make it ride better before the need for an overhaul (assuming you keep basic maintenance in check)

You mentioned engine stalling and unstable idle, this is probably dirty throttle body, ISC, or fuel/air related, could also be bad ignition coils. Worst case could be due to low compression, a shop that knows that they're doing can run a quick compression test, and will take less than 5 mins, doing a compression test eliminate engine factor in troubleshooting.
i dont plan to keep my FZ. will probably change my bike in maybe 2-3 more years.
until then, i'll take care this one like how i used to but a bit better lah bcos of its age. sweat.gif

0.0144sec    0.21    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:46 AM