QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jan 23 2024, 06:22 PM)
my bike 63k... i just changed my oil n oil filter only... air filter washable, already washed at 40k km when i did my valve clearance. planning to wash at 70k km.
valve clearance basically ensures clearance between ur valves n pistons so they dont bang each other.
if u havent done valve checks... go do it... other than that, just service like normal
QUOTE(jaycee1 @ Jan 23 2024, 08:12 PM)
The FZ is basically a simple bike with cheap plentiful parts.
Bike only needs an overhaul if you are massively loosing oil or coolant or have loud knocking noises...or the engine doesn't run at all.
Beyond that, just regular maintenance will do. About the only other thing engine related is to do a valve clearance check.
As for loosing oil, sometimes it depends on the oil and the viscosity you use. Some brands resist burn off better than others..sometimes your engine just needs thicker oil, especially older ones with higher mileage.. I was loosing about 250 to 300ml every 5000km OCI, on motul 5100 10/40 but don't loose any on my Mizu 15/50 both full synthetic.
My Dominar just turned 65k after less than 3 years of use.
QUOTE(alexei @ Jan 23 2024, 09:12 PM)
that's nothing to worry about
- use fuel injector cleaner, change spark plug
- EO makan - change different oil brand, what spec you use? 15W-40?
- can consider valve clearance, but so far I don't hear FZ/LC having this issue - main symptom is difficult to start, and idle not stable due to exhaust valve unable to close properly
not really, it's actually the other way around, and to prevent improper valve closure and burning it
+1
orait ty for suggestions
the engine oil lost was kinda a lot. i never check how much, but maybe approximately close to 1/3 loss. so maybe 200-300ml?
i mostly use the 'default' yamalube oil. never change the oil type and change oil every 2k-3k range.
usually use fully 10W-40. sometime use semi, still 10-40.
recently bought & wanna try shell long ride, still 10-40 tho.. will see the difference later.
oof.. i never knew about fuel injector, so never use any too..
need to use ka this one?
maybe i really need to do valve clearance bcos my bike sometimes pandai mati on the road bcos idle not stable.
can do valve clearance at any workshops like, 'bawah pokok' workshop? or need to go service center?
approximately how much they'll charge for the valve clearance service?