Help decide what should I upgrade (1080P Gaming)

TStkwmm
post Jan 17 2024, 09:34 PM, updated 2y ago

65 posts

I started having Video TDR failure, and current graphic card GTX 1060 6GB is struggling to run most of the latest game at 1080P.

Thus, I'm considering getting a new graphics card. However, I'm having difficulty deciding whether I should upgrade only the graphics card or if my current build can still last for 3-5 more years with a new graphics card.

My current build:

Processor: i5-9400F
GPU: Zotac GTX 1060 6GB
RAM: 16GBX1 DDR4 2666MHZ
SSD: 240GB
HDD: 2TB
PSU: Thermaltake 450W
MainBoard: MSI B365M Pro-VH mATX

Planning switch to RTX 4060.

Any Budget Gamer / Sifu can advice?

This post has been edited by tkwmm: Jan 17 2024, 09:35 PM
Snapdragon4G
post Jan 17 2024, 10:05 PM

I have nearly the same setup as you, except for psu and ram la, my ram 8gb x 2

I just upgraded from an RX580 2048sp 4GB to RX5600XT 6GB

For me, a lot of games were now playable cuz i struggled with sudden drop of fps on my old GPU

For me, the build can last another 2-3 years la, provided you upgrade the GPU. Personally, the games i played is severely taxing the GPU (new and old one) more than our aging CPU.
iZuDeeN
post Jan 17 2024, 11:32 PM

3,467 posts

Save money and buy proper system... Ur system aging... Just play as is

U start upgrade gfx card then ur CPU bottleneck... Next u want upgrade ..need change Mobo..change ram... Then ur psu can't support... Ended up giving you more headache

AthrunIJ
post Jan 17 2024, 11:44 PM

2,993 posts

Overhaul better.

Sell current parts by part is what I suggest

Unless you are not planning to upgrade many thing in the future then gpu is fine.

This post has been edited by AthrunIJ: Jan 17 2024, 11:44 PM
TristanX
post Jan 18 2024, 12:56 AM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 17 2024, 09:34 PM)
I started having Video TDR failure, and current graphic card GTX 1060 6GB is struggling to run most of the latest game at 1080P.

Thus, I'm considering getting a new graphics card. However, I'm having difficulty deciding whether I should upgrade only the graphics card or if my current build can still last for 3-5 more years with a new graphics card.

My current build:

Your RAM is running at single channel. It will give you more stutters. Get another same brand 16GB DDR4-2666 or 16GB X2 DDR4-3200.

Do not buy RTX 4060. Its rubbish for the price. Either RTX 3060 12GB or RTX 4070 Super. RX 6700 XT 12GB or RX 7800 XT is another option.

You have to upgrade your power supply as well.
babylon52281
post Jan 18 2024, 09:04 AM

2,712 posts

My current build:

Current build is fine for the near future. Compared with latest family 13400F you lose about 20 FPS but with a good GPU your can still average >100FPS

Running on single stick of RAM your will have low 1% lows thus more stuttery gaming even if your upgrade the GPU. So get another stick of same model 16GB DDR4 2666MHZ for dual channel mode. Get this Kingston https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KF426C16BB_4.pdf or this https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KVR26N19S6_4.pdf or equivalent whichever is the make of ur current RAM. Get this first!

Then GPU, 4060TI 8GB has fallen to under Rm2k but anything below 4070 (<RM3k) is not value for money and just an Nvidia cash grab. Imho in that segment RX6700/6750XT is better, else 4070/RX6800. But all these recos needs a better PSU too, at least 650W for the former & 750W for the latter.

But then whats your budget anyways? Above roughly RAM rm200 + 4070 rm3000 + PSU rm300

And if your looking into this GPU segment, wait for 4070S to come then reconsider.
TStkwmm
post Jan 18 2024, 09:12 AM

65 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 18 2024, 09:04 AM)
Current build is fine for the near future. Compared with latest family 13400F you lose about 20 FPS but with a good GPU your can still average >100FPS

Running on single stick of RAM your will have low 1% lows thus more stuttery gaming even if your upgrade the GPU. So get another stick of same model 16GB DDR4 2666MHZ for dual channel mode. Get this Kingston https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KF426C16BB_4.pdf or this https://www.kingston.com/datasheets/KVR26N19S6_4.pdf or equivalent whichever is the make of ur current RAM. Get this first!

Then GPU, 4060TI 8GB has fallen to under Rm2k but anything below 4070 (<RM3k) is not value for money and just an Nvidia cash grab. Imho in that segment RX6700/6750XT is better, else 4070/RX6800. But all these recos needs a better PSU too, at least 650W for the former & 750W for the latter.

But then whats your budget anyways? Above roughly RAM rm200 + 4070 rm3000 + PSU rm300

And if your looking into this GPU segment, wait for 4070S to come then reconsider.
I only focus on 1080P gaming. Cause not planning to spend too much on monitor.

If budget for GPU, is around RM1600.

Not yet decided a budget to change entire set. But if really want change it, budget should be around RM 3200.
babylon52281
post Jan 18 2024, 10:04 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 18 2024, 09:12 AM)

Not yet decided a budget to change entire set. But if really want change it, budget should be around RM 3200.
I suggest tack on extra rm2-300 on top for new PSU as well. Anything you upgrade to, even 3060 12GB, will need a higher wattage PSU anyhow.
x3BabyLemon
post Jan 18 2024, 12:39 PM

99 posts

My current build:

if you upgrade yr gpu will need upgrade yr psu too.
mine gpu also same as you now, just change the mobo and processor to 12gen smile.gif
TristanX
post Jan 18 2024, 02:33 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

Try

Core i5-12400F - 587
MSI B760M-E - 465
Kingston HyperX Fury Beast 32GB DDR4-3200 kit - 344
Gigabyte RTX 3060 12GB Windforce - 1285
Adata XPG Core Reactor 750W - 469

RM3150 total (Shopee prices)

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 18 2024, 02:35 PM
xxboxx
post Jan 19 2024, 04:32 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

Your monitor is 60hz or faster? No need to spend upgrading your system if 60hz. Get another RAM stick to run dual channel and RTX 3060 12GB should be enough.
TStkwmm
post Jan 19 2024, 04:43 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Jan 19 2024, 04:32 PM)
Your monitor is 60hz or faster? No need to spend upgrading your system if 60hz. Get another RAM stick to run dual channel and RTX 3060 12GB should be enough.
75hz
xxboxx
post Jan 19 2024, 07:37 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 19 2024, 04:43 PM)
75hz
Depends on the game you play, 3060 12gb might be enough

yeo1992cc
post Jan 20 2024, 01:22 PM

417 posts

See how much is your budget.
If I were you, I will get RTX 3XXX or 4XXX according to your needs and budget first.

Then in future, replace motherboard CPU and reuse the GPU, etc.
You want to get CPU or GPU that performance at least can last year 3~5 years. (even it's bottleneck CPU or GPU, it doesn't matter, once you reach the bottleneck, then just upgrade another part to remove bottleneck)
babylon52281
post Jan 20 2024, 03:54 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(yeo1992cc @ Jan 20 2024, 01:22 PM)
See how much is your budget.
If I were you, I will get RTX 3XXX or 4XXX according to your needs and budget first.

Then in future, replace motherboard CPU and reuse the GPU, etc.
You want to get CPU or GPU that performance at least can last year 3~5 years. (even it's bottleneck CPU or GPU, it doesn't matter, once you reach the bottleneck, then just upgrade another part to remove bottleneck)
Modern AAA games these days asks for 12GB VRAM for smooth gameplay, so min is either 6700XT or 4070. The 3060 12GB dont really have the core to fully utilise its sizable VRAM.
gacktleong
post Jan 20 2024, 05:16 PM

GLLLL
755 posts

straight answer by not changing any of ur setup now

1. used 3070
2. new 4060
3. used 4060
TristanX
post Jan 20 2024, 07:47 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 20 2024, 03:54 PM)
Modern AAA games these days asks for 12GB VRAM for smooth gameplay, so min is either 6700XT or 4070. The 3060 12GB dont really have the core to fully utilise its sizable VRAM.
Are you sure?

https://www.techspot.com/review/2701-nvidia...force-rtx-4060/

Yes, more Nvidia 8GB bashing!

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 20 2024, 07:48 PM
TStkwmm
post Jan 20 2024, 09:17 PM

65 posts

I only play at 1080P 75hz monitor. Not going beyond that.
TStkwmm
post Jan 20 2024, 09:26 PM

65 posts

Btw, just a quick update.

Based on the feedback, for better game experience at 1080P, what my setup need is.

1. new Graphic Card
2. change the RAM into 2X8GB
3. upgrade the psu so it will fit the new GPU

----
Based on price I can find.
Cost for changing min parts only, reuse most of the part.
1. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
2. Cooler Master ELITE V4 600W - around RM 220
3. Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB 2666MHz - Around RM75 X2

Cost for changing almost entire sets, reuse some of the part.
1. I5-12400 - around RM750
2. GIGABYTE B760M H D4 (MATX) - around RM450
3. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
4. Cooler Master ELITE V4 600W - around RM 220
5. Kingston HyperX FURY 8GB 2666MHz - Around RM75 X2
6. Casing - around 250

which is around 1200 different. I guess the rest is for me to decide it.

If someone can suggest a better budget build, I am always ready to dive deep into it.

---

I could always switch to RTX 3060 which cost around RM1500. But not sure 600W is it enough.

This post has been edited by tkwmm: Jan 20 2024, 09:27 PM
babylon52281
post Jan 20 2024, 10:13 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 20 2024, 07:47 PM)
Are you sure?

In the words of Steve Walton: YES!

https://www.techspot.com/article/2661-vram-8gb-vs-16gb/
[we believe this is definitive proof that 8GB of VRAM is no longer sufficient for high-end gaming. To be clear, we're not talking about a single outlier in The Last of Us Part 1, but there are a number of new AAA titles that will break 8GB graphics cards]

https://www.techspot.com/review/2685-nvidia...ce-rtx-4060-ti/
[the latest version of The Last of Us Part I, which addresses VRAM usage. While it does improve the situation, it still underscores the limitations of 8GB graphics cards. Even at 1080p, we're seeing worse 1% low performance on 8GB models, affecting the 4060 Ti.]

https://www.techspot.com/review/2714-nvidia...x-4060-ti-16gb/
[Many of this year's newly released games, such as The Last of Us Part 1, ran well on 16GB graphics cards like the Radeon RX 6800, while they struggled on 8GB cards.]

And as for bashing Nvidia, here is what Steve said
https://www.techspot.com/review/2718-geforc...vs-radeon-7600/
[Today, we've got an in-depth comparison between the Radeon RX 7600 and GeForce RTX 4060. As of writing, the Radeon 6700 XT can still be purchased new from retailers for $330, with open-box stock selling for as low as $300. So our recommendation remains to buy the 6700 XT over either of the newer releases.]

If you think I just bash Nvidia, I also have no mercy for AMD and their local pricing structure.

babylon52281
post Jan 20 2024, 10:24 PM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 20 2024, 09:17 PM)
I only play at 1080P 75hz monitor. Not going beyond that.
The problem isnt ur hardware but how AAA games are made these days. Most of them are basically console ports and current gen consoles; PS5 & Xbox Series have >8GB VRAM so games are developed to use >8GB and this will only get more worse when games are rushed out unoptimised for GPU with 8GB and less VRAM.

You can of course turn down settings when stuttering & lag but that is a real manual way just to keep games within VRAM buffer and its real no fun if you spend first hour in a new game just to tweak down settings in a trial & error way. Some games do provide a setting scale to indicate how much VRAM it will use (Halo Infinite iinm?) but not all has this handy feature.

PS Oh and you dont need to buy another kit of 2x8GB RAM. Since you ady have a 16GB stick, just buy another 16GB DDR4 2666MHZ single stick. Its the same price as 2x8GB and your end with 32GB RAM.

PPS Just for 3060 / 4060 class GPU, a 600W PSU is good enuff. Im using a 650W for my 3060TI w/o issues.

This post has been edited by babylon52281: Jan 20 2024, 10:31 PM
TristanX
post Jan 20 2024, 10:57 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 20 2024, 09:26 PM)

Based on the feedback, for better game experience at 1080P, what my setup need is.

1. new Graphic Card

----
1. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
3. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
6. Casing - around 250

If someone can suggest a better budget build, I am always ready to dive deep into it.

---

I could always switch to RTX 3060 which cost around RM1500. But not sure 600W is it enough.
Do not change RAM to 8GB X2, just add 16GB DDR4-2666. Check the brand of your RAM. Buy back the same model. Low quality power supply is not recommended. And why still going for RTX 4060 trash?

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 20 2024, 10:24 PM)
The problem isnt ur hardware but how AAA games are made these days. Most of them are basically console ports and current gen consoles; PS5 & Xbox Series have >8GB VRAM so games are developed to use >8GB and this will only get more worse when games are rushed out unoptimised for GPU with 8GB and less VRAM.

You can of course turn down settings when stuttering & lag but that is a real manual way just to keep games within VRAM buffer and its real no fun if you spend first hour in a new game just to tweak down settings in a trial & error way. Some games do provide a setting scale to indicate how much VRAM it will use (Halo Infinite iinm?) but not all has this handy feature.

PS Oh and you dont need to buy another kit of 2x8GB RAM. Since you ady have a 16GB stick, just buy another 16GB DDR4 2666MHZ single stick. Its the same price as 2x8GB and your end with 32GB RAM.

PPS Just for 3060 / 4060 class GPU, a 600W PSU is good enuff. Im using a 650W for my 3060TI w/o issues.
Talking about this...

The 3060 12GB dont really have the core to fully utilise its sizable VRAM.
This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 20 2024, 10:59 PM
WhiteFlag
post Jan 20 2024, 10:59 PM

540 posts

change to ps5
TristanX
post Jan 20 2024, 11:03 PM

Where is my stars?
24,355 posts

QUOTE(WhiteFlag @ Jan 20 2024, 10:59 PM)
change to ps5
More expensive games. Extremely limited upgrades. Cannot do PC only tasks. Have fun.
WhiteFlag
post Jan 20 2024, 11:17 PM

540 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 20 2024, 11:03 PM)
More expensive games. Extremely limited upgrades. Cannot do PC only tasks. Have fun.
yes games more expensive but usually i only buy 1,2 games so for my use case ps5 is ok, u can buy second hand disc also.

Extremely limited upgrades, yes, no need upgrade pun, save the money.

Cannot do pc only task, yes, your current old rig also can do every pc task u have, no need a 4060 to do

PJng
post Jan 20 2024, 11:21 PM

12,063 posts

I only have one high resource game, ratchet & clark
If turn on ray tracing, some level can use over 8GB VRAM on 3060, some already know i using HP PC
And is very ok at 75fps
As is my first time buy RTX card, i also dunno choose 3060 or 4060, at last i choose 3060 because 12GB, run 4.0 x16 (4060 only 4.0 x8 but i dunno how affact performance)
The downside is more power use 170W, no FG but i no use it
babylon52281
post Jan 21 2024, 10:48 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 20 2024, 11:21 PM)
I only have one high resource game, ratchet & clark
If turn on ray tracing, some level can use over 8GB VRAM on 3060, some already know i using HP PC
And is very ok at 75fps
As is my first time buy RTX card, i also dunno choose 3060 or 4060, at last i choose 3060 because 12GB, run 4.0 x16 (4060 only 4.0 x8 but i dunno how affact performance)
The downside is more power use 170W, no FG but i no use it
According to Derbauer, most likely little to no performance loss going to x8 bandwidth

babylon52281
post Jan 21 2024, 11:06 AM

2,712 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 20 2024, 10:57 PM)
Do not change RAM to 8GB X2, just add 16GB DDR4-2666. Check the brand of your RAM. Buy back the same model. Low quality power supply is not recommended.  And why still going for RTX 4060 trash?
Talking about this...
Linus discussed this and came to the same exact conclusion (watch from 8:15 onwards)

yeo1992cc
post Jan 21 2024, 03:44 PM

417 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 20 2024, 09:26 PM)

1. new Graphic Card

----
1. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
3. Zotac RTX 4060 - 1600
6. Casing - around 250

---

1. I would suggest you dun get ZOTAC GPU. Try go for others. (expensive few RM 1xx for better GPU which have more heatpipes for better thermal dissipation is better than you save the RM 1xx for something else)
2. PSU any will do, as long full load utilization never > 70%, cheaper option can try FSP.
3. For ram, if you wan increase your available memory, I suggest just get another 1x16GB of your same brand ram same clock speed ram.
4. Not mentioning I not sure your case can fit RTX series or not. You might need consider this aspect as well.

This post has been edited by yeo1992cc: Jan 21 2024, 03:56 PM
yeo1992cc
post Jan 21 2024, 03:48 PM

417 posts

My current build:

Have you try stress test your GPU? Try use OCCT.
If OCCT stress test GPU VRAM 15mins and 3D adaptive 1hr no issue. Then you might want to downgrade your GPU driver, and modify TdrDelay to 10 and TdrDdiDelay to 13.
If stress test have error usually GPU hardware side have issue, stress test BSOD might due to PSU.

I myself new brand new RTX 4080 mobile getting Tdr issue as well, but only in Apex Legends. Downgrade driver and modify TdrDelay & TdrDbiDelay resolve the issue for me.

This post has been edited by yeo1992cc: Jan 21 2024, 03:50 PM
TStkwmm
post Jan 21 2024, 07:15 PM

65 posts

QUOTE(yeo1992cc @ Jan 21 2024, 03:44 PM)
1. I would suggest you dun get ZOTAC GPU. Try go for others. (expensive few RM 1xx for better GPU which have more heatpipes for better thermal dissipation is better than you save the RM 1xx for something else)
2. PSU any will do, as long full load utilization never > 70%, cheaper option can try FSP.
3. For ram, if you wan increase your available memory, I suggest just get another 1x16GB of your same brand ram same clock speed ram.
4. Not mentioning I not sure your case can fit RTX series or not. You might need consider this aspect as well.
May I know what issues with ZOTAC GPU?

From what I know, ZOTAC cooling design not the best if compare with other well known brand such as MSI. However performance wise they are the same. Cooling part I can resolve by choosing proper casing with fan + aircon.

RMA support, I heard all brand are same, difficult to deal with. I own a MSI before and it died a day before the warranty run out, and the outcome of the RMA is bad (they mentioned they honor the warranty and fix it, but issues was still there). I haven encounter any issues with Zotac gpu.
yeo1992cc
post Jan 22 2024, 02:59 AM

417 posts

QUOTE(tkwmm @ Jan 21 2024, 07:15 PM)
May I know what issues with ZOTAC GPU?

From what I know, ZOTAC cooling design not the best if compare with other well known brand such as MSI. However performance wise they are the same. Cooling part I can resolve by choosing proper casing with fan + aircon.

RMA support, I heard all brand are same, difficult to deal with. I own a MSI before and it died a day before the warranty run out, and the outcome of the RMA is bad (they mentioned they honor the warranty and fix it, but issues was still there). I haven encounter any issues with Zotac gpu.
As you mentioned, ZOTAC heat dissipation aren't that good. I not sure about new model, but in past Zotac fans is cannot last long. After few years the fans need replaced which required mod the GPU.
If you alright with ZOTAC gpu, just go ahead, just my personal opinion.

0.0421sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 06:11 PM