Convert Hardware Heat to something usefull, issit possible. ?

overclockalbert
post Oct 27 2007, 10:52 PM

1,058 posts

@empire23, the heat coupling was interesting. any link for that?

as for my imagination, might be good to heat my aquarium heater system.

empire23
post Oct 27 2007, 11:31 PM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(overclockalbert @ Oct 27 2007, 10:52 PM)
@empire23, the heat coupling was interesting. any link for that?

as for my imagination, might be good to heat my aquarium heater system.
Well, it's called the Peltier Seeback Effect.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peltier-Seebeck_effect

Using a proper semiconductor plate and voltage converter (quite easily found) you can turn waste heat into power.
nelienuxe_sara
post Oct 27 2007, 11:50 PM

noob im ur father
2,546 posts

so if got 75 degree C for 24 hour
how much the power u can gain from it?
in WATT pls
hehe
empire23
post Oct 28 2007, 02:06 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Oct 27 2007, 11:50 PM)
so if got 75 degree C for 24 hour
how much the power u can gain from it?
in WATT pls
hehe
To tell you the truth, i'm unsure of the specific calculations.

but most probably with 25 percent efficiency, you'll be getting around 20 to 40 watts.
Ickythump
post Oct 28 2007, 02:19 AM

544 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Oct 28 2007, 02:06 AM)
To tell you the truth, i'm unsure of the specific calculations.

but most probably with 25 percent efficiency, you'll be getting around 20 to 40 watts.
how bout the price? 20 sen per hour?
empire23
post Oct 28 2007, 02:28 AM

Team Island Hopper
9,417 posts

at best maybe you'd save 2 sen an hour. Power is cheap lah, so don't worry, my quad core rig with 4gb, an X2900XT, a soundcard, a 680i mobo and 4 HDDs, a few fans and a WC system only eat 250 watts on idle. On load it consumes 400. So people buying giant 1kw PSUs is definitely a waste ler.

Around 50 ringgit to run on load 24/7. Mixed load about 35 bucks 24/7. Turned off when not needed about 20.

The only reason you'd wanna reclaim such power is 2 fold.

1) To cool down the system
2) To use that excess power to run extras (fans, drivebays.....ect)

0.0133sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 09:29 PM