Samsung Galaxy S24 Series Discussion Thread, Galaxy AI is coming

leewh23
post Jan 21 2024, 02:22 PM

689 posts

Finally can confirm on the PWM screen dimming got improvement on s24u from 240Hz to 480Hz. Can pull trigger now..

https://www.reddit.com/r/PWM_Sensitive/comm...ultra_pwm_rate/
leewh23
post Jan 23 2024, 03:55 PM

689 posts

the new anti reflective screen on s24U looks promising, screen protector also need to buy AR one.. biggrin.gif

leewh23
post Jan 23 2024, 04:24 PM

689 posts

Oh no no, the phone in the picture does not have SP apply on it, and s24U shows very low reflection. Thus, when we looking for SP or TG, we should look for the anti reflection one also. And yes, Samsung one could be one of the option.

Currently i use the AR SP from smart devil on my s23U, its really reduce a lots of reflection from the bright light source. I strongly recommend for who always use the phone outdoor consider the AR SP for not only s24U, but for all other phone if the option available.

QUOTE(epsonstylux @ Jan 23 2024, 03:57 PM)
this one by samsung?
QUOTE(awol @ Jan 23 2024, 04:00 PM)
if from samsung, then i am glad i take it.
yes. they courier the device to SES using DHL
This post has been edited by leewh23: Jan 23 2024, 04:27 PM
leewh23
post Jan 30 2024, 08:14 AM

689 posts

This is common for the modern phone with big sensor and high aperture,
The dept of field will be very shallow .
I normally use zoom lens to capture documents content if needed.

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jan 30 2024, 01:42 AM)
S24U bad lens distortion LOL šŸ˜‚

Not to mention low quality camera viewfinder.

QUOTE(cassian948 @ Jan 30 2024, 01:45 AM)
Compared to my 2019 Note 10+

leewh23
post Jan 31 2024, 02:19 PM

689 posts

Anyone having problem with the dual messenger feature? I unable to activate my second WhatsApp because failed to trigger the verification code from the S24U 2nd WhatsApp, but the primary one ok..

try search online i found post in reddit provide some solution but not working for me also.. anyone have solution for this please share here ya..

https://www.reddit.com/r/samsung/comments/1...dual_messenger/

This post has been edited by leewh23: Jan 31 2024, 02:20 PM
leewh23
post Feb 1 2024, 08:13 PM

689 posts

I got 2 phone number, so both whatsapp will activate as main account.

BTW the problem resolved by activated using older version whatsapp.

QUOTE(screwedpeep @ Jan 31 2024, 11:22 PM)
I’d recommend rockspace. Silicon type, not tempered glass. Used it for my s23ultra, excellent fingerprint resistance.

For my s24u, currently using ringke dual easy film. Fitting is nice with ringke case, but quite fingerprint magnet. No isssue with fingerprint scanning at all. Just make sure redo fingerprint after apply the film.
No problem linking my second number to the dual whatsapp. Straight away can sync after scanning the qr code. Verification code only needed for main whatsapp, worked after second time trying.
leewh23
post Feb 2 2024, 01:56 PM

689 posts

nice, my pre-order SP still awaiting for dispatch cry.gif

For now i install the normal smart devil SP previously i bought for my s23U, but i really cannot tahan the reflection.

Anyone know any shop in KV can get the anti reflective SP? Yesterday I went Ninjaz at Kuchai lama and Sri Petaling, no luck.

QUOTE(kmc3388 @ Feb 2 2024, 01:18 PM)
I'm using it for s24+. Have minor reflection, but definitely can see huge difference. It's like mac book display anti reflective coating. The camera cutout isn't cover by the SP, so can see huge diff having their anti reflection SP.

leewh23
post Feb 7 2024, 11:59 AM

689 posts

Some quick camera comparison last weekend mainly point and auto mode shoot on main camera, tested on many complex lightning condition, s24U did shown big improvement over s23U.

for S24U
- way less disgusting sharpening
- color more true to life and accurate
- better dynamic range

while S23U looks brighter and shaper at glance, but if you zoom in you will see the photo is over expose at the bright area and over sharpening everywhere

Sample photo in spoiler, sorry about the orientation... i dont know why LYN rotate my upload photo rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by leewh23: Feb 7 2024, 12:11 PM
leewh23
post Feb 8 2024, 09:37 AM

689 posts

i didnt change any setting, both photo capture using auto mode. which setting you refer to can turn off AI

QUOTE(Fawkes @ Feb 8 2024, 06:45 AM)
Did you turn off AI for this?
QUOTE(leongsem @ Feb 8 2024, 08:25 AM)
how to turn on/off AI for camera?
leewh23
post Feb 8 2024, 10:01 AM

689 posts

Guys, finally I manage to change my phone SP from normal clear one to anti-reflective type, still not as good as naked screen.

Photo below i capture, see you can guys can notice the diff or not biggrin.gif

leewh23
post Feb 8 2024, 11:28 AM

689 posts

Here you go, there are no option for S23U, i bought the S23U one.. almost perfect, just need to be more careful on the alignment.

this is not TG, but UV harden TPU type.

Check out SmartDevil Soft Tempered Glass/Screen Protector/Hydrogel Film For Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra/S22Ultra Protective Film Curved Screen Explosion-proof Full Glue UV HD Film at 50% off! RM27.50 - RM49.50 only. Get it on Shopee now! https://shp.ee/pqr6tkn

QUOTE(igx0908 @ Feb 8 2024, 11:01 AM)
Can give link to purchase?
leewh23
post Feb 8 2024, 02:06 PM

689 posts

yes, UV made the PET harder, not hydrogel type, no rubbery feeling. after hardening it feel like glass..

QUOTE(bennedict82 @ Feb 8 2024, 11:52 AM)
Thanks for sharing .. where can get Smart Devil Anti-reflective SP? Is it UV type that need to make the hydrogel SP harder?
no problem unlock using FP, i dont feel any impact on the accuracy.
QUOTE(vexus @ Feb 8 2024, 01:56 PM)
Can detect fingerprint easily?
Choose s23U one.. make sure is clear+AR type
Check out SmartDevil Soft Tempered Glass/Screen Protector/Hydrogel Film For Samsung Galaxy S23 Ultra/S22Ultra Protective Film Curved Screen Explosion-proof Full Glue UV HD Film at 50% off! RM27.50 - RM49.50 only. Get it on Shopee now! https://shp.ee/pqr6tkn

This post has been edited by leewh23: Feb 8 2024, 02:09 PM
leewh23
post Feb 8 2024, 02:41 PM

689 posts

Fit, but need to alight carefully, it is close to 100% cover on the screen.

QUOTE(vexus @ Feb 8 2024, 02:10 PM)
s23u can fit s24u?
leewh23
post Feb 15 2024, 12:13 PM

689 posts

I got mine delivered also icon_rolleyes.gif

and just got the Samsung Anti-reflective SP i bough during pre-order... took so long doh.gif

QUOTE(maviko @ Feb 15 2024, 11:49 AM)
Just received the 25W power adapter from DHL today. Redeemed from Samsung on 5th February.
This post has been edited by leewh23: Feb 15 2024, 12:17 PM
leewh23
post Feb 19 2024, 10:07 AM

689 posts

where did you get it? Price? I was looking for AR TG to try out, although the Smart Devil AR SP serve me well for now. tongue.gif

QUOTE(skinny @ Feb 19 2024, 09:13 AM)

Anyone try this?
leewh23
post Feb 19 2024, 11:00 AM

689 posts

Oic, i was try to get this from NinJaz before CNY but no luck, maybe now got stock already.

QUOTE(skinny @ Feb 19 2024, 10:46 AM)
Saw this from FB posted by some one. Anti reflective type, not sure how well it works. Maybe can get from Ninjaz?
leewh23
post Feb 25 2024, 09:59 PM

689 posts

Just tested, my phone screen having same problem.. but only at very low brightness and lite grey color using testmyscreen.com..

But far hard to notice in normal usage, hopefully the light saber not coming too soon.. 😬

QUOTE(y2ou @ Feb 25 2024, 11:33 AM)
My batch is the early Feb before Cny. I thought it is the coating but it is way too distracting when watching video, I Google and found it is an issue. Other members got the same issue? It is grainy and have 2 lines of dark banding.
QUOTE(y2ou @ Feb 25 2024, 12:44 PM)
Not just 2 banding. After using testmyscreen.com shows 3 banding.

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Feb 25 2024, 01:16 PM)
How you determine this? I did the thes but my naked eyes not able to capture it..
Mine presumably 1st bath before cny
QUOTE(y2ou @ Feb 25 2024, 01:40 PM)
Go into a dark room, set brightness to low and u might notice it with a grey background. If u watch football in a dark room at low brightness, it is very noticeable. Like a oily/or dirty screen effect.

Due to the pixel not lighting up uniformly.

Can refer here for explanation.

https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyS24Ultra/com..._under_400x_om/

If u don't have, then good for you. You got a proper unit with no defective screen.
QUOTE(ramen241 @ Feb 25 2024, 02:08 PM)
I get what you are saying. Comparing to my 5 year old note 9, under lowest brightness, I realise the white is not as glowy or to saw a bit greyish as it is on my note 9 compare to s24 ultra.. it's a bit muddy...this is what you are saying?
leewh23
post Feb 25 2024, 10:01 PM

689 posts

Your bought firm type or TG? I using firm type so far no problem to install.. and it is pretty easy also..

QUOTE(vexus @ Feb 25 2024, 09:22 PM)
smartdevil is worst screen protector to install bought 2. None can install successfully. wasted. The back adhesive refuse to pop out when squeezing it. the method to install is different from those accessories shop method.
leewh23
post Mar 5 2024, 06:13 PM

689 posts

bought this Hoda AR TG from Taobao, expensive but not bad. fully cover the screen. and the AR works also although not as good as naked screen but definitely better than non AR type.

Ranking of AR effectiveness.
Naked Screen>Samsung Ori AR SP> Smart devil AR UV Film > Hoda AR TG.

Screen coverage
Naked Screen> Hoda AR TG > Smart devil AR UV Film > Samsung Ori AR SP (few MM gap)

Finger Print Sensor
Need to re-register, after that working as good as naked screen.

This post has been edited by leewh23: Mar 5 2024, 06:19 PM
leewh23
post Mar 21 2024, 01:51 PM

689 posts

can share link? I cant find in taobao, currently using Hoda AR type, good experience but a bit expensive to me if need to replace in the future, good to have cheaper alternative.

QUOTE(Jack234 @ Mar 21 2024, 12:39 AM)
For those looking for tempered glass screen protector and have taobao, you can consider this.

This is very good and not expensive. Fingerprint scanner work 99% of the time. The black frame doesn't cover the screen. It's very comfortable to use back swipe gesture as the screen protector edge is curved and cover outside the screen. The AR effect is not as good as naked screen.

I used Spigen previously but it covers only the screen and I'm annoyed by the rainbow effect at the side edge. The sharp side edge also make it uncomfortable to use the back swipe gesture.

0.1236sec    0.88    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:51 AM