Samsung Galaxy S24 Series Discussion Thread, Galaxy AI is coming

TimeFlies
post Feb 19 2024, 06:02 PM

134 posts

Successfully installed Whitestone Dome Glass.

https://imgur.com/a/Y0VkQSv

Reflections +100 xD
TimeFlies
post Feb 19 2024, 06:19 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(pierrechoong @ Feb 19 2024, 05:18 PM)
Any leads if certain color or storage capacity will deliver faster? like 1tb or black?
Not sure about that. If want online exclusive colours, best is to just wait patiently. T_T
TimeFlies
post Feb 19 2024, 06:27 PM

134 posts

After using the S24 Ultra for a while, I now understand what's the problem with the washed out colours that ppl are complaining. It feels like the screen isn't bright enough and constantly makes me wanna increase the brightness of the screen. But it actually the colours that is making that illusion. When compared side by side with S23 Ultra, the colours on S23 Ultra are popping so vibrantly.
This YT video explains it well.
Hopefully they will fix it.

https://youtu.be/fS0OjQJ8MGE?si=1W3lVbeUmtQBJDDi
TimeFlies
post Feb 20 2024, 09:18 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(jonthebaptist @ Feb 20 2024, 06:23 AM)
On Reddit people complaining the screen is grainy too. Can search #graingate for more info
Yea. I compared the S24 Ultra with S23 Ultra using this method.
https://www.reddit.com/r/GalaxyS24Ultra/s/TcBSNuLihZ

S24 Ultra screen definitely can see the grain if side by side but I don't see any banding.

TimeFlies
post Feb 22 2024, 01:07 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Iylia @ Jan 30 2024, 06:21 PM)
After reading this, I just checked my s-pen too.. I think some glue got into the S-pen slot (I removed the pen during SP installation). After taking out S-pen can see got damage.. Wonder if can claim from samsung care +
QUOTE(Iylia @ Feb 22 2024, 12:03 AM)
I would like to tell you guys my experience so that hopefully others will not encounter the same nightmare.
I received my S24U on 27th Jan, I had already ordered a T-Max tempered glass screen protector so I installed it on 28th Jan. It was not my first time installing UV glue type screen protector as I used to work part time in a phone repair shop many years ago. During installation, the provided sticker for the bottom part of the phone was not strong enough and came off. The provided glue also seemed to be too much and was overflowing after put the SP on. I proceeded to cure using UV light. After complete, clean up all the excess glue that overflow from the sides, top and bottom. Proceeded to put my s pen back inside the slot. Everything seemed well, no bubbles, fingerprint scanner working perfectly.
Two days later, wanted to use the pen and tried taking out, but seemed like it was stuck. Pulled it out and saw the pen has been completely damaged and the material deformed. Must have been due to glue residue. I thought ok fine, can replace the pen.
After a few more days, realised there is a dark spot at the bottom left part of my screen. Looks like the glue has somehow seeped under the glass. Also top part of screen is giving off more reflections than normal with a green hue. And my volume buttons stopped being tactile / stuck/ hard to press. Icing on the cake is that the SP cause blooming in photos when using flash with front camera. So I removed it.
I then went to service centre pavilion and showed them the issues. After checking with technician they asked me if I had put on a glue type screen protector. As I think they suspect already, I told them the truth. Then they said normal warranty will not cover this damage. Asked me to submit claim to care+. Luckily I did purchase care+..
After submit claim, they picked up phone and approved the claim, need to pay excess RM 219 for liquid damage. Within 2 days I got my phone back with a new screen and full new side body.

Moral of the story, never use UV glue screen protector. And also always buy Care+ for piece of mind (it was free using PO voucher anyway)
Wow. This is a nightmare.
I was wondering what happened to the person who posted their s-pen that was damaged by uv glue. Glad to hear that you got your phone back in good condition.
Thanks for sharing your experience.

Installing SP with uv glue really need patience and research and follow the instructions to a T.
When I 1st try the whitestone dome Glass SP on my S23 Ultra, some glue overflow to the sides of the phone too because I was nervous when I saw the glue didn't spread to the edges. I was supposed to wait a lil longer for the glue to spread. I was impatient and pressed on the sp and glue flow out from the sides but at least the tape given to cover the holes is intact. However, there is still a very small gap between the screen and the body of the phone. After cleaning everything and curing using uv light, I can see the residue in the gap throughout the phone. Some even went into the top ear piece. I manage to scrape out the hardened glue from the ear piece. Thank God there is no internal damage.

I just installed Whitestone dome Glass on S24 Ultra few days ago and no overflow of glue and the installation is perfect.

Anyone else using t-max sp here?
I think I can only trust whitestone dome Glass for now. The protection sticker they provide is better for installation. Oleophobic coating seems like the best compared to other brands.
TimeFlies
post Feb 23 2024, 10:57 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(ryanlow134 @ Feb 23 2024, 08:34 PM)
Updating mine too. Let's see if the new features are coming

Update:
Can confirm the Vivid Slider is working and is there~

Update 2:
Don't forget to update Google Play System after the major update
Never heard of Google Play System. Now I know. Thanks.

QUOTE(ramen241 @ Feb 23 2024, 10:38 PM)
How do you update Google play system?
Phone Settings > Security & privacy > Updates > Google Play system update.
U will be prompted to restart phone.
TimeFlies
post Mar 4 2024, 04:01 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 4 2024, 12:15 PM)
Samsung never got such setting
I use a paid app near 10 years
What paid app u using?
TimeFlies
post Mar 5 2024, 01:12 PM

134 posts

Found a fun font to use.
TimeFlies
post Mar 5 2024, 02:30 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(PJng @ Mar 5 2024, 01:47 PM)
Lol, what if on whatsapp msg? Colorfull like that?
Yes 🤣🤣
TimeFlies
post Mar 6 2024, 04:47 AM

134 posts

QUOTE(Dyson Jin @ Mar 4 2024, 10:19 AM)
can try download goodlock from galaxy store and choose customize Quickstar...
It does not show network speed.

QUOTE(ToniV @ Mar 5 2024, 07:31 PM)
Can u show the setting?
TimeFlies
post Mar 9 2024, 03:41 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(sjovie05 @ Mar 8 2024, 09:04 AM)
Is it advisable to keep phone charged using wirelessly?

I have a slow 5w wireless charger in the office, wondering if i should just leave the phone and keep it charged to around 60-70+ whenever im seated on my desk.

And how you all managed to get 6-7 hours of SOT with 1 80% charged cycle?
Wired is always better than wireless in terms of heat generated when charging.
If you really want to prolong your phone's battery health, charge till 85%(OneUI 6.0) or 80%(OneUI6.1) and don't let it drain lower than 20%. Just keep continuously charge your phone whenever you are able to.

Try disabling RAM Plus option to have better battery life.
TimeFlies
post Mar 30 2024, 04:13 PM

134 posts

QUOTE(Abu Agrabah @ Mar 29 2024, 10:13 PM)
Hi, I want to hear some opinions.

I will be upgrading from s20fe 5g. I'm undecided between s23+ or s24+. Mainly because snapdragon in s23+ vs newer stuff and better specs in s24+

Will be using it for work, light media consumption, browsing and reading manga. Never really gamed on mobile.

I am also living in pedalaman so the ability of the phone to tarik line is also important.
S23+ for last reason.

4 Pages « < 2 3 4Top

0.0513sec    0.30    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 07:55 AM