QUOTE(dopeisgood @ Nov 3 2007, 12:20 AM)
i stick insuflex on the door panel instead on the door.. so far ok.. everythg works fine..
Stick at door panel and at the door(not inside. The plastic sheet there) is good... Later when I done sound proof at shop, i post give u see.. ehehe..
QUOTE(the_catacombs @ Nov 3 2007, 12:31 AM)
That is ronnie car ma. Hehe.. He dunno join what competition liao oh..
QUOTE(Gilbert5107 @ Nov 3 2007, 01:17 AM)
i using the white colour filter....good quality 1.my uncle bought it for me.
i see alot saga/iswara,wira using k&n filter.
so good ah?
How good quality you mean?
K&N filter is good. And why so many ppl using it? Because of the K&N brand. While K&N filter can be clean with the special cleaning chemical from K&N. K&N drop in is better that open pod or can said, K&N drop in can be open pod too...
QUOTE(kweng84 @ Nov 3 2007, 02:25 AM)
Yeah, KNN drop-in is still the best but as for open pod, really no comment. Heard some other ppl's feedback bout KNN open pod. Hmm..
Bro kweng, when you free ler?? I need suggestion and quotation for exhaust setup..
Added on November 3, 2007, 9:42 amQUOTE(neosaint99 @ Nov 3 2007, 12:05 AM)
err...you should leave the holes in the beams open
those holes are there for ventilation
if water gets in and all is closed (and it will get in...thats y the whole car can drain...all the beams...under the car...the channels forming the door sill...in the bonnet...even the doors have drainage holes....), water vapor will be trapped inside n cant dry out that fast
and as im sure u all know...water n iron dont exactly make a good team
the engine will most prolly be more silent compared to using the triangular pieces
but then the life of the metal will be compromised

and btw...its not sound waves we are trying to stop from getting out when we install this sound insulation as we call it
it is actually damping material
we are basically trying to dampen the vibration of the metal surface in question
not stop sound waves from penetrating it (which is impossible as the metal is a solid and sound waves are merely vibrating air particles)
Actually my main reason for that, is not for dampen the bonnet for vibration. I just wanna lower down the engine sound. About the ventilation, I don't scare because my front grill is a mesh which those hot air can go tru or even the water can dry fast. I had try spray water inside the bonnet, then close the bonnet. Within 2 or 3 minutes, the water get dry. After I stick that, seriously that the the engine sound had been lower.
QUOTE(neosaint99 @ Nov 3 2007, 12:39 AM)
hmm...k&n need to oil again after wash rite?
the only way that a filter can increase efficiency is by reducing the resistance to the airflow of the intake manifold
this in turn would mean either a thinner membrane, or bigger holes in the filter membrane
either way, the bottom line is the same...more dust particles get into the engine
these kind of filters evolved from racing and rally cars
i do admit that they improve performance
but as the saying goes....theres no such thing as a free lunch
there is always a compromise somewhere
in this case, its in the life of the engine
more particulate entering into the combustion chamber wears out parts faster (think sand paper)
the vac gauge does not influence the operation of the engine's system in any way therefore it will last as long as it can as long as it is properly taken care of
you can monitor how much you press and thus make sure that you are not merely dumping unburnt hydrocarbons into the atmosphere
this is especially important for underpowered cars like the iswara lmst as it is easy to overpress when it comes to underpowered cars
Added on November 3, 2007, 12:43 amerr...arent we then not addressing the real problem at hand?
the doors sound 'tinny' (like milo tin) coz the outer door panel vibrates and has no damping on it
that is the main source of the sound from the doors
even if you insulate the plastic panel inside, the metal outer panel is still vibrating
this vibration transfers to the rest of the car body through the door links and will thus increase the overall cabin noise
its better to try and stop the problem at the source...not just cover it up

How I sound proof my door? I stick door panel, door metal inside and also the plastic sheet there.. If wanna see good sound proof, try feralee car. His door sound proof feel like mercedes door. Heaving and solid..
This post has been edited by singchaii: Nov 3 2007, 09:42 AM