Battery without sirim certified and Manu. Date
alexei
Jan 11 2024, 10:38 AM
Koyoko are gel batteries, cannot overcharge every bike charging voltage is different, especially because our bike's rectifier is stupid
what everyone should do with their bikes, is check their manual for the battery voltage when the engine is revved. for example, rev til 5k and measure battery post to see if it reaches a certain voltage take note of this voltage: 14.4 14.6 14.8
access the battery and use a multimeter to measure the battery voltage start your bike, rev the bike and pay attention to the voltage at battery post
THIS, will tell you whether you can use Koyoko or not, or any Gel, or AGM, or you have to stick to the good old wet batteries, or even Lithium batteries
Gel - must between 14.0~14.2, above 14.4V will overcharge, below 14.0V cannot charge the gel enough AGM - must above 14.4, up to 15 is ok, if not above 13.8, it will not accept charge Sealed maintenance free - very wide, anything from 14.2~14.7 can tolerate up to 14.8 Traditional flooded - easiest - anything above 13.8 to 14.8 (up to 14.9)
and the charging voltage is specifically for cool temperature, as the battery heats up during use, the allowed charging voltage actually need to reduce
if you have a voltmeter installed, make sure it is 'calibrated' to the voltage at battery post for example, when doing the above test, the battery post shows 14.8V but voltmeter only 14.4V... remember the diff of 0.4V
alexei
Jan 18 2024, 11:01 AM
QUOTE(yhsiau @ Jan 18 2024, 10:54 AM) Tumpang thread, Does the battery which you guys purchased from the shop comes with warranty? Is it a shop warranty or manufacturer warranty? How long is the warranty period? lithium, macam 3 months or 6 months, shop/supplier warranty Motobatt - shop/supplier warranty, not sure how long, website says 1 year
alexei
Jan 18 2024, 12:29 PM
QUOTE(yhsiau @ Jan 18 2024, 12:25 PM) Looks like a shop (personal)warranty to me.. For YTX type, my boss usually give 1 or 2 weeks. For YTZ type, he gives 1 month. For YB type, no warranty.. So basically the motorbike battery has no real warranty unlike other big vehicles battery.  I'll just say motorcycle rectifier is stupid
alexei
Jan 18 2024, 02:31 PM
QUOTE(yhsiau @ Jan 18 2024, 02:09 PM) Not stupid la.. just those motorcycle makers wannabe save costs. BTW, those conti cars BMS(battery management systems) are not really efficient. The battery may suffer under charged due to very low usage. Need to manually extract the battery for boost charging. they can implement such system into the bike but, it will increase the cost. may be they can do that for the premium big bikes. seriously, it's stupid go read up motorcycle rectifiers... in short, the stators supply max power all the time (let's say 350W) the bike consumes, let's say 200W for everything remaining 150W is shorted to ground and converted to heat at the rectifier that's considering the rectifier has a preset output voltage which is different for every rectifier model, and this determines what type of battery can, or cannot be used
alexei
Jan 18 2024, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(yhsiau @ Jan 18 2024, 05:09 PM) eeh.. the stator motor rectifier can only convert consistent DC output from AC. AC -> DC Unlike alternator, outputs can be regulated(controlled). By controlling the RPM on the alternator pulleys. They both function as power generators for vehicles but, different approaches. Alternator can do dynamic output, Stator motor can do static output. I know u r frustrated, it's the nature of stator motor system. Unless u mod a starter motor & alternator on your bike to satisfy your power needs.  alternator not control the pulley, is the coil power for the magnet field the pulley different function maybe I'm wrong both are dynamic output, is just how they regulate is different
alexei
Jan 19 2024, 08:47 AM
QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Jan 19 2024, 02:07 AM) So is there any simple way to know if the motor rectifier is working ?? check morning voltage of the battery, make sure it's healthy level above 12.3V would be best after a long ride, touch the rectifier if it's warm or hot to touch, then it's ok if it's freaking hot, then it's due for a replacement
alexei
Jan 21 2024, 08:57 PM
QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Jan 20 2024, 03:10 PM) So the 2nd replacement battery now give me problem also after like 10 days. 1st image (reading looks ok): 2nd image (drop to almost zero when attempt to button start). WTF ?? So what now ?? Really stator or rectifier or actually some short circuit issue ?? By the way I wonder how hard would it be to replace rectifier or stator by myself who already has experience to DIY change engine oil / tyre / drum brake ?? what bike? should be medium easy, might need a magnet puller
alexei
Jan 21 2024, 10:14 PM
QUOTE(bluecat68 @ Jan 21 2024, 10:03 PM) Modenas Kriss MR1. The battery appear losing power even not using where the reading drop from ~13.5v to ~12.9v overnight after charging in bike repair shop looks to me got leak circuit somewhere but not sure how to check it. Might need to go back to the service shop to try their skill that's normal battery when sit overnight after fully charged, drops to 12.8V