QLED vs OLED TV

TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 12:08 PM, updated 2y ago

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Guys, planning to replace my current LED TV due to burn in issue.

Any idea which is better between QLED and OLED in terms of reliability? Or any pros and cons? In terms of picture quality, OLED should be better based on articles I read.

Would love some actual feedback from actual users here, instead of those reviews/articles available online.

Ignore the price, as I believe the price difference is negligible for something that you will use multiple years.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 12:15 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(blek @ Jan 7 2024, 12:10 PM)
LG
QUOTE(hihihehe @ Jan 7 2024, 12:10 PM)
LGBT > LGOLED
QUOTE(submergedx @ Jan 7 2024, 12:11 PM)
LG OLED EVO C3
48 RM4599

promotion season can get under RM4k with lazada/shopee voucher
QUOTE(ipohps3 @ Jan 7 2024, 12:12 PM)
why LG don't bring in the 42 version?
Any feedback on the technology? OLED vs QLED.

Once i decide the tech i want, then only i plan to decide the brand.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 12:49 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Jan 7 2024, 12:28 PM)
For me it’s OLED n LG cos Life is Good.

OLED colour is more natural to me. Mum n wife prefer QLED. Depends on who wants it. U can visit some electrical shops that show OLED n QLED side by side n hear them explain it. Not all salesman able to explain it well. They’re just worker try to assist customers. Experienced salesman n fan of TV can tell u exactly what u want to know. Hard to find such ppl in electrical shops
Thanks for the feedback. What is the reason your wife/mum prefer qled?

If we didnt put it side by side, its hard to differentiate between oled and qled right?

QUOTE(khreve @ Jan 7 2024, 12:30 PM)
First, Location:
TV in a dim lit bedroom  (buy OLED for its blackness and color accuracy, but weaker brightness)

or

Living hall TV (bright area, QLED better for high brightness and viewing angle, full array local dimming is a must)
next to consider is either Android vs Tizen vs WebOS.... (the UI and the apps available)
next based on above requirements pick model suits your needs
(unless you had certain pref brand)
I am putting in hall, but the hall has tinted glass, so it will be abit dark. I dont think high brightness is needed here.

Any feedback on the android/tizen/webos? I didnt heard of it before. Currently using samsung smart tv led, which have some apps like youtube inside. This is android right?

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 7 2024, 12:33 PM)
No QLED - not for human use
QLED - B40
QLED with mini led 2023 version China version - lower M40
QLED with mini led 2023 version non China - upper M40
OLED - lower M40
QD OLED - upper M40
Sony QLED with mini Led - T20
Sony QD OLED - T10
How to know if they are using mini led? Written on the box? And is sony really that good? Most of the sony items are overpriced, but quality so so.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 12:54 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(-kytz- @ Jan 7 2024, 12:46 PM)
Could I humbly suggest you to do more reading on "mini led" vs "oled" instead as you're looking at the wrong technologies.

QLED TVs are still LCD TVs with LED backlight but with an added "quantum dot layer". But this is something common, which most LCD TVs come with...

So right now the industry is still ONLY divided between LCD and OLED.

The thing you should look out for in LCD technology is the type of backlight, which currently mass market available is "MINI LED". This is way more advanced and more $$ than conventional LED backlighting or "full array local dimming" (FALD) tech you may see in some TVs like Sony or others...

Why is backlighting important? This almost essentially equates to picture quality...

The reason why the colours on OLED pop so much is due to the infinity contrast aka extremely dark blacks. The individual pixels are self illuminated and can turn off individually as opposed to LCD which needs a backlight to light up the pixels..

Mini LEDs mean the backlighting are composed by tiny mini LEDs which enables selective scenes to be lit up instead of the entire scene. This means darker scenes can remain dark.

For now, OLED is still king of picture quality, deeper blacks than mini LEDs, however, OLED has the relatively lower brightness compared to mini LEDs. This is crucial if your viewing environment is going to be bright. But in a dark/pitch dark environment, OLED is still king.
Good feedback. Didnt knew about this at all thumbsup.gif

So its still LCD vs OLED after all. Let me read more on the mini led as per what you suggest. But based on the comments here, seems like OLED is still the superior tech and i might get this, as my hall is not that bright.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 12:55 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(sixshot @ Jan 7 2024, 12:53 PM)
Oled all the way. Those who said oled inferior is delusional.

Regarding burn in, very2 hard to occur unless ur watching the same content for 12-18 hours everyday, for months.

RTINGS already done extensive test on this, out of 100 oled tv, only 4 suffered burn in. (All tv playing the same content, 18 hours a day, for 4 months,. After the test, only 4 tv affected by burn in)

So under normal usage, burn in is kinda impossible to happened.
I didnt watch the same content, just normal content.

The burn in i am currently facing is 2 dots (around 5cm diameter) on the screen, with whitish color. This is burn in right? Now my tv looks like a tv with 2 nipples
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 05:13 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(khreve @ Jan 7 2024, 01:28 PM)
pls consider as normal content(NEWS, SPORTS, TUBES, DRAMA/SERIES) will burn in OLED quicker compared to movies(pixel more active)

so also for normal content, don't bother spend OLED TV price for these content.... QLED(improved version of LED) more than enough
even local dimming not compulsory(living hall)

unless you are looking to max out spending then go either OLED or microLED

* btw, manufacturer will keep on churning out display tech names/acronyms  that confused consumer
QUOTE(joeblow @ Jan 7 2024, 04:10 PM)
If your current LED TV got burn in issue, then obviously OLED is a big no no. You watch a lot of shows with static images like news etc? Or like to pause?

I have had 2 OLEDs (LG and Sony) and after 6 months to 1 year confirm will have burn in. LG change panel once after 1 year and Sony too. I watch a lot of talk shows.

Sony lastest mini led looks good. But don't know when will come to Malaysia.
I normally use it for sports, news and youtubes. Very very seldom watch movie with it, maybe 1x or 2x in a year. No static image and seldom pause.

Yes, my current led tv has burn in issue, so looking for unit that last longer in term of reliability (not so often burn in). Meaning in term of burn in, qled should perform better right?

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 7 2024, 03:50 PM)
What TV you using currently?

And how is your TV watching time environment?
Brightly lit area?  Or dark cozy ?
Normal led tv. Watching environment is ok, not too dark, not too bright. Have natural light through the sliding door but tinted glass.

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 7 2024, 03:56 PM)
Kalau takut burn in tapi mau OLED thingy.

Look for Mini LED back-lit tech.

Have fun choosing.

Waiting for Sony to show off Mini LED back lit tech in CES soon

Hopefully

👀🍟🍷🤤
What brand that have mini LED now? Samsung? Seems like many ppl recommend mini led for reliability.

QUOTE(kidmad @ Jan 7 2024, 04:09 PM)
OLED 65 inch overpriced so Qled saja for me.. When compared to normal LED really can see the diff. Bought a 55 inch LED and another 65 inch Qled.
I think most probably because oled is still a new tech. Is the qled quality much better than led?
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 05:16 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(0168257061 @ Jan 7 2024, 04:11 PM)
Ask yourself, what kind of environment you watch TV the most? Bright? or Dim?

Since I always watch TV in well lit environment. Any LCD TV is good enough for me. OLED can reflect a lot in bright room.
Not too bright. Natural light go through the tinted glass of sliding doors, so its quite cozy.

QUOTE(azbro @ Jan 7 2024, 04:34 PM)
I guess reliability is QLED?

My LG G2 OLED Panel lasted 8 months only.
Lucky the replacement was easy.
Now the brightness setting I only set to 80, no more 100.
8 months meaning replace it under warranty? Is the new panel comes with any warranty?

QUOTE(PJng @ Jan 7 2024, 04:55 PM)
Is it now no more normal TV? All smart TV?
Dunno how to choose TV now, home still using panasonic 32inch 720p, no any special function
I think so all is smart tv now. Went few shops, unable to find any standard tv. Want to find 32in also hard nowadays.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 08:16 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Xsence @ Jan 7 2024, 06:57 PM)
If you have burn in I think you're using oled too? If you've used to oled hard to go back I think
Oled is like the gold standard but price like yahudi
Nope, i using standard led, not qled or oled. Thats why looking at newer tech with better reliability.

From the comments here, seems like oled is the newest and best tech in term of picture quality, but the reliability like worse than normal led. Few members already have burn in issue within a year.

If this is the case, then most likely i will go for mini led. Still studying the this vs oled.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 08:31 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 7 2024, 08:21 PM)
OLED is not the newest tech, its been around for many years. If you talk about sheer picture quality with deepest black and brightest highlights, then OLED is the best.

Only 2 best Mini LED TVs in the market now, thats the Sony X95L which only comes in 85" size and Samsung QN95C which comes in many sizes. The rest you can ignore.
X95L is out of my list, as the size is too big. I am aiming for 65in, max also is 75in due to size of my hall.

Qn95c is mini led?
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 08:36 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 7 2024, 08:35 PM)
Ya true to spend the one can afford. Today buy 10k tomorrow is 5k

Actually I spend whatever I can afford with biggest size and minimum have mini led

TS is retarded because he say his hall can only fit 65". No such thing as hall can only fit 65".
This statement basically qualifies you as a tokok singsong guy which other guy has claimed before.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 08:40 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(hovercraft97 @ Jan 7 2024, 08:35 PM)
Typo,

It's x95L
So you bought x95l? Can give any review?

What is the suitable viewing distance?
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 08:57 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 7 2024, 08:50 PM)
If that's the case QN95C is your option. Yes MiniLED with superb HDR peak brightness ~1700nits @ 10% window based on Rtings. When we talk about peak brightness, we need to know how long the brightness can sustain in real life test. Not just "oh this TV has very high brightness, then it must be very good". Most of the movies are mastered at 1000 nits level.

If the TV falls below the 1000 nits mark, the TV will do tone mapping to fit the curve.
How can i know if a tv is mini led?

Like qn95c, below is the spec from official samsung. It didnt state any mini led words or the brightness in nits. So where can i get those info? Is it from review site?

https://www.samsung.com/my/business/tvs/qle...95cakxxm/#specs
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 09:09 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(Kahlamx @ Jan 7 2024, 09:01 PM)
For peak brightness readings, you will need a colorimeter to measure. smile.gif That's why consumers need to rely on credible test sites like rtings to get the values or credible TV reviewer like Vincent Teoh (HDTVtest on youtube).

Here you go. https://www.samsung.com/my/business/tvs/qle...qa65qn95cakxxm/

Scroll down a bit under "Quantum Matrix Technology" descriptions.
Thanks, so Quantum Matrix Technology is a name samsung give for their mini led. Appreciate the explanation notworthy.gif
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 09:19 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

Is LG mini led tv good? Their mini led models (like qned 75/81) seems to be much more cheaper compared to samsung or sony. Quite sceptical on the quality.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 09:26 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 7 2024, 09:22 PM)
Sucks

75 and 81 is not mini led

Only 86 is mini led

And 86 is IPS. Not va.

So all led TV for LG sucks.
Then Lg is out of my list. What about panasonic? I have a special love for this brand as most of my house appliances are using this brand (air cond, washing machine, fans, water heater, and etc).

Their mx950 looks ok? Price is ok too, similar like samsung/sony level. https://www.panasonic.com/my/consumer/audio...h-75mx950k.html

This post has been edited by ry8128: Jan 7 2024, 09:26 PM
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 09:33 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 7 2024, 09:30 PM)
This guy below  say Panasonic is good
A80L is not bad. If you read through this thread, some swear by Lg C series.
Not bad, seems like that thread is quite good. Most likely will be shifting my goal post to 75in already instead of 65.
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 09:36 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 7 2024, 09:34 PM)
Ya bigger screen is nicer.
My hall is not that big la pundek. How far the viewing distance need to be to view comfortable for 75in and 85in?
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 10:04 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 7 2024, 09:56 PM)
Agree on this
So what tv u using and the size?
TSry8128
post Jan 7 2024, 11:10 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(skyblu3 @ Jan 7 2024, 10:09 PM)
70"

Philips ada baik? Ayam very long no heard of this brand d. The previous philips I own was when ayam didn't have fur on my D
TSry8128
post Jan 8 2024, 01:59 PM

♣Just a noob♣
3,642 posts

QUOTE(luckyMan99 @ Jan 8 2024, 11:10 AM)
Oled will provide much better image quality, but you need to make sure your viewing environment is not too bright, most oled is glossy and not really bright unless you go high end model. Besides, it also depends on your viewing content, the extra price of oled only worth it if you gaming or netflix a lot.
I didn’t do any gaming at all. Netflix also very seldom.

Normally use it for sports, news, documentaries and YouTube videos. Is oled worth it for this kind of usage?

QUOTE(vapanel @ Jan 8 2024, 11:23 AM)
And hence my my name is vapanel

I purposely buy 85" QN85C for rm13k because it has VA panel.
Topkek, so this is what it means

0.0215sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:47 PM