10 Years Proton Saga FLX Manual still reliable?, Thinking to use or buy new one

TSITzai
post Jan 5 2024, 12:15 PM, updated 2y ago

107 posts

I owned a 10years Proton Saga FLX manual with 130k mileage.
Do you guys think it still can go strong and reliable?
I plan to use this car back and forth for states like JB KL Ipoh.

I'm thinking if do a car inspection and change car tyres, rims, brake pad will be enough?
Or getting a new car is better choice?

The reason I hesitated is because I just escaped from the car loan year ago and don't want so fast to jump back in. doh.gif

This post has been edited by ITzai: Jan 5 2024, 12:25 PM
BobThe Builder
post Jan 5 2024, 12:17 PM

38 posts

if saga buy cash, go for saga
max_cavalera
post Jan 5 2024, 12:18 PM

rebirth
5,614 posts

Cheap car with plenty of spare parts

Buy jer
zero5177
post Jan 5 2024, 12:18 PM

Sixth Sense Unlocked
1,553 posts

Depends how much the selling price and your affordability.

Manual pretty reliable on its own, the only gripe is probably clutch pump failure that can cost few hundreds to fix because need to open gearbox to access.

If u can afford new one, always go for new one for peace of mind.
SUSMr Mercedes
post Jan 5 2024, 12:23 PM

424 posts

Protons from gen2-iriz/persona generation are quite reliable.

Don't buy the CFE and punch powertrain ones though.
General_Nic
post Jan 5 2024, 12:23 PM

D5000 fully loaded n ready to shoot~!!
3,508 posts

FL/FLX is one of the most reliable Proton, parts berlambak too

my previous FLX used for 11.5 yrs, 170k mileage, no issues

but ofc if can afford new Saga, even better
lordgamer3
post Jan 5 2024, 12:24 PM

847 posts

QUOTE(ITzai @ Jan 5 2024, 12:15 PM)
Do you guys think 10years Proton Saga FLX manual with 130k mileage still can go strong and reliable?

I'm thinking if do a car inspection and change car tyres, rims, brake pad will be enough?

The reason I hesitated is because I just escaped from the car loan year ago and don't want so fast to jump back in.  doh.gif
Blm manual and this almost same car hence personally even though I had privilege driving a lot of nice cars this shit is one of the toughest mother effers I've driven. When work in Sarawak off-road terrain still can tahan abuse but my stupid driver farked the car the day before return to kl by damaging the compressor through a minor knock . That aside is a beast of car. I guarantee cucubird corolla can't tahan next to saga besides better FC la.
kurangak
post Jan 5 2024, 12:26 PM

certified /k addict
1,170 posts

Do you guys think 10years Proton Saga FLX manual with 130k mileage still can go strong and reliable?

The reason I hesitated is because I just escaped from the car loan year ago and don't want so fast to jump back in.  doh.gif
U used this car for 10 years but dunno whether it is still reliable or not?laugh.gif

Any car with regular maintenance and is driven conservatively can be reliable.

TSITzai

107 posts

Edited my post.
I owned the saga now.

So now I either use it or buy a new car. smile.gif
linkinstreet

Red Bull Addict
9,275 posts

I am using manual Saga FL for 11 years. Still reliable. But for peace of mind, if you want to do a clutch pump replacement, replace the clutch plate at the same tine as well since the gearbox is open anyway.
TSITzai
post Jan 5 2024, 12:28 PM

107 posts

QUOTE(kurangak @ Jan 5 2024, 12:26 PM)
U used this car for 10 years but dunno whether it is still reliable or not?laugh.gif

Any car with regular maintenance and is driven conservatively can be reliable.
I been working overseas for years and the car is used by family members all the while and for the past 1 year it stay at home and rest.
So this is where my doubt coming from. smile.gif
alanyuppie
post Jan 5 2024, 12:28 PM

2,834 posts

The only way to find out would be keep using it until it finally cannot cope . Could be 1 year or 5 years from now.

pureawesomeness
post Jan 5 2024, 12:29 PM

191 posts

Go test drive a Vios 2010 generation.

Test how the clutch, gear shifts, accelerator response, noise, vibration, smoothness, acceleration, even the seats.

Then go test a Saga and see if you still wanna get it.

kswee
post Jan 5 2024, 12:31 PM

577 posts

Saga flx , break tak makan, corner macam intial D when rain & fuel consumption .
Long range check timing belt.
vapanel
post Jan 5 2024, 12:32 PM

1,075 posts

New car la

Don't buy old car

dickybird
post Jan 5 2024, 12:33 PM

2,093 posts

They still make manuals?
MishimaZ
post Jan 5 2024, 12:34 PM

269 posts

I'd get the older Black Lives Matter (BLM) AT than any CVT or manual variation of the Saga. Both version engines are robust, but Saga's CVT gearbox mostly already close to kaput already while the traditional AT still going strong.

Getting a manual car today just doesn't make sense, especially this Saga is not supposed to race.

This post has been edited by MishimaZ: Jan 5 2024, 12:36 PM
terradrive
post Jan 5 2024, 12:36 PM

RRAAAWWRRRRR
1,943 posts

grab drivers using this car abused over 300000kms also seems to still drive well

just maintain it properly, do major service back at proton every 3 years or 80k km
GTA5
post Jan 5 2024, 12:38 PM

1,412 posts

I understand your situation TS.

You are afraid that your 10 year old car might break down halfway and give you lots of headache.

So my question to you:-

Is it giving you lots of problems now?

If the cost of fixing it is a burden to you, perhaps can consider trade in and get a new/newer car.

Age on a car is not an indicator of reliability.

Heck, even a 1 day old Bezza can have reliability issue.

If your car have not been giving you MAJOR issues (not minor issues and normal wear and tear), then perhaps just keep maintaining it

Until you are financially ready to upgrade your car.

mambangafro
post Jan 5 2024, 12:39 PM

ME IS KUDA PING :3
639 posts

Masalah campro ni minyak kuat tu jer

0.0160sec    0.59    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 03:02 PM