News Tenant’s rights vs landlord’s rights

TSsmallbug
post Dec 29 2023, 09:43 AM, updated 2y ago

874 posts

https://www.msn.com/en-my/news/national/ten...e7873f766&ei=16

PETALING JAYA: While landlords should be wary in filtering out dodgy tenants, the proposed Residential Tenancy Act (RTA) – aimed at addressing rental property issues – should be fair and not foster any discrimination, say real estate experts.

They said the RTA should address the many concerns among landlords, tenants and property agents.

Property expert and content creator Sean Tan Iherng said that making property owners fully liable for their tenants could lead to more discrimination, which is an existing problem in the property market.

While the police should investigate when a rented place is used for crime, Sean said the owners should be careful of a tenancy that seems “too good to be true”.

“When a tenancy offer indicates it’s too good to be true and the owner still accepts it, then the owner should be penalised,” he said in an interview.

“When the landlord is penalised, the agent involved should be liable too,” he added.

While it is not appropriate to fully blame landlords for their tenants’ actions, Sean said tenancy agreements are there for a reason.

“The most I think landlords can do is to filter tenants based on profile, then ensure rules of conduct are laid within the contract.

“Because how will landlords know when tenants misbehave within their premises during their tenancy? Are we penalising the knife manufacturer when their products are used for murder?” said Sean.

Malaysian Institute of Estate Agents president Tan Kian Aun said a specialised division within the Local Government Development Ministry should be formed to handle matters related to the return of deposits between landlords and tenants under the proposed RTA.

Looking to Australia’s implementation of the RTA as a reference, he said the legislation primarily provides a balanced framework that offers tenants protection, ensuring they feel secure in their homes while respecting the legal rights and interests of landlords.

“The ministry could be a third party responsible for holding rental deposits. When tenants decide to not renew the tenancy agreement, they must return the property to the landlord by tenable conditions.

“The landlord should only return the deposit after being satisfied with the property’s condition, or the tenant must compensate for any damage to the property.

“As a third party, the ministry, upon receiving the landlord’s approval or an agreed-upon compensation amount for property damage, would return the deposit to the tenant. This third party would function like a tribunal,” he said.

When asked, Kian Aun said there are existing loopholes in the current rental market where some tenants have outstanding rent of up to six months, while some landlords, after asking the tenant to leave, find that the same tenant rents another property only to default on rental payment again.

“This leads to losses for landlords. There is currently no means to deter such tenant behaviour. The RTA can address these situations,” he said.

National House Buyers Association committee member and Chinese division head Tan Chong Leng said landlords and tenants must have a tenancy agreement with clauses restricting tenants from engaging in illegal activities.

The tenancy agreement, he added, will have legal effects when it is stamped.

“Landlords can have a lawyer draft the agreement,” he said.

However, Chong Leng said that having the government act as a third-party custodian for rental deposits could be complicated, as the process to recover the deposits could be lengthy.

In March, former deputy local government development minister Akmal Nasrullah Mohd Nasir said that the RTA would be tabled in Parliament next year, as the ministry was in the midst of drafting the law.

On Dec 11, the police called for landlords who rent out their houses or apartments to criminals, including scam syndicates, to be held accountable.

Bukit Aman is pushing for the possibility of putting the liability on the owners following many cases where such premises were used as scam call centres.

statikinetic
post Dec 29 2023, 09:44 AM

BaneCat
2,940 posts

Waiting here until the race element enters the chat.
Lada Putih
post Dec 29 2023, 09:54 AM

214 posts

i wish they provide a list form
niwde
post Dec 29 2023, 09:57 AM

100 posts

How do landlords go poke nose into
The rented place?
Even if landlord go look look, see see.
But the tenant already disguise the premises as genuine.
How can landlords guarantee it is legit biz?
If landlords go impromptu and discover illegal activities,
Don't you think it will endanger the landlord?
netflix2019
post Dec 29 2023, 10:01 AM

416 posts

Much like how animals are conditioned to avoid bitter food because most of the poisonous stuff is bitter. That doesnt mean we avoid bitter food completely. but u cannot blame us for not choosing bitter when given a choice.

I still be cordial with Indian. But to rent my hard earned property to them? No sorry. Too much risk.

This post has been edited by netflix2019: Dec 29 2023, 10:02 AM
poweredbydiscuz
post Dec 29 2023, 10:08 AM

3,834 posts

QUOTE(smallbug @ Dec 29 2023, 09:43 AM)
“When a tenancy offer indicates it’s too good to be true and the owner still accepts it, then the owner should be penalised,” he said in an interview.
This is stupid.
acbc
post Dec 29 2023, 10:10 AM

9,048 posts

Alternatively, make easier for landlords to kick problematic tenants out within 72 hours or max a week.

Right now, as long the property has a residential title and the tenancy agreement is under the tenant's name, the landlord will need a court order first. By then, the tenants would have destroyed the property already.

Been there before and I ended up hiring thugs to chase them out. The damage was over 15k mostly for broken doors, windows and tiles. But hey, I got back my property and later sold it cheaply.
Exeunt
post Dec 29 2023, 11:08 AM

828 posts

masukkan nama tenant dlm CTOS, menggulupur la diorg nanti nk bayar hutang, ez
stevenryl86
post Dec 29 2023, 11:10 AM

1,769 posts

Cut off the stupid agents and simplify procedure via online for all documents/tenancy agreement.

Give government untung rather than giving it to stupid agent
mac_mac21
post Dec 29 2023, 11:24 AM

189 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Dec 29 2023, 11:08 AM)
How to legallize this ?

Put clause inside rental agreement?
SUSCincai lar
post Dec 29 2023, 11:27 AM

113 posts

another day,.. another so called expert cakap kosong,... deposit is just 2 months,.. how to cover lost of non rental payment when the legal tenants eviction warrant take more than 3 months ??.... if there's big damage on the property, that 2 months deposit can't even cover repair,..
loserguy
post Dec 29 2023, 11:32 AM

500 posts

if they use telco to call, why pulis never go after telco?
hoonanoo
post Dec 29 2023, 11:33 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(niwde @ Dec 29 2023, 09:57 AM)
How do landlords go poke nose into
The rented place?
Even if landlord go look look, see see.
But the tenant already disguise the premises as genuine.
How can landlords guarantee it is legit biz?
If landlords go impromptu and discover illegal activities,
Don't you think it will endanger the landlord?
if let say your tenant default no pay rent for 6 months

u call scold he give excuses after excuses

then one day he invite you to his place to discuss

u dare to go or not ?
hoonanoo
post Dec 29 2023, 11:38 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(Exeunt @ Dec 29 2023, 11:08 AM)
good idea

if your tenant default, how to masuk dalam CTOS ?
TruboXL
post Dec 29 2023, 11:40 AM

Keep on keeping on! 👍
1,050 posts

I know a certain IG user keep hyping property like no return
SUSCincai lar
post Dec 29 2023, 11:45 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(stevenryl86 @ Dec 29 2023, 11:10 AM)
Cut off the stupid agents and simplify procedure via online for all documents/tenancy agreement.

Give government untung rather than giving it to stupid agent
good luck doing tenants profiling and filtering online,.. u must be genius,..
submergedx
post Dec 29 2023, 11:56 AM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Dec 29 2023, 11:27 AM)
another day,.. another so called expert cakap kosong,... deposit is just 2 months,.. how to cover lost of non rental payment when the legal tenants eviction warrant take more than 3 months ??.... if there's big damage on the property, that 2 months deposit can't even cover repair,..
Not every investment must have positive return....
if you ready got ball to pour so much into property invest, then got ball to expect some loss?

I got not much properties for rent but i understand the rule of game

Eventually they are paying you RM24,000 (RM2,000 per month) revenue, they are the boss to be honest.
What kind of business investment, can let you goyang telur while you just sit and collect monies every month?

Let's face the truth.
SUSCincai lar
post Dec 29 2023, 11:58 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Dec 29 2023, 11:56 AM)
if you ready got ball to pour so much into property invest, then got ball to expect some loss?

Eventually they are paying you RM24,000 (RM2,000 per month) revenue, they are the boss to be honest.
What kind of business investment, can let you goyang telur while you just sit and collect monies every month?

Let's face the truth.
lulz,.. investment don't mind loses,.. great investment guru you are,..

This post has been edited by Cincai lar: Dec 29 2023, 11:58 AM
SUSCincai lar
post Dec 29 2023, 12:00 PM

113 posts

QUOTE(submergedx @ Dec 29 2023, 11:56 AM)

Let's face the truth.
no wonder u never own and rent out property b4,..
submergedx
post Dec 29 2023, 12:00 PM

1,132 posts

QUOTE(Cincai lar @ Dec 29 2023, 11:58 AM)
lulz,.. investment don't mind loses,.. great investment guru you are,..
Buy reit la if you kepoci and there

nabeh
buy property to investment cannot covered now rant here and there

so all the people must please you to the max?

0.0211sec    0.29    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:39 AM