Rate my build and recomendation, Rate my build and recomendation

TSWanderingLife P
post Dec 28 2023, 01:06 PM, updated 2y ago

Probation

My planned build

CPU Intel I5 13400F 899 ( viewnet)
Motherboard Gigabyte b760m aorus pro ax ddr5 829 (shopee Price)
Memory Klevv bolt V DDR5 6000m/t CL30 (2x16 GB) 511.5 ( found this on shopee , Taiwan Brand very attractive price with low latency not sure about the quality, any idea on this )
M.2 SSD Crucial 5 plus 1 TB 379 (shopee price)
Graphic Card Sapphire Pulse Rx 7600 1275 (shopee Price) not playing too much game , I'm happy with 1080P
PSU 550W 0 (already have it as my spare PSU)
PC Casing need suggestion 200 ( need suggestion for MATX casing below 200)
CPU cooler ID-COOLING SE-224 85 (shopee)
total 4178

Planned budget around 4000, already over a little bit , i also considering to swap the CPU to Ryzen 5 7500F and Gigabyte b650m aorus pro ax board .
Any suggestion for PC casing and hardware adjust ?
Baconateer
post Dec 28 2023, 01:19 PM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

switching to AMD will guarantee tht you will be able to upgrade the CPU in the future
OlgaC4
post Jan 2 2024, 10:21 AM

5,296 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Dec 28 2023, 01:19 PM)
switching to AMD will guarantee tht you will be able to upgrade the CPU in the future
ya with the cost of stability.
Baconateer
post Jan 2 2024, 10:28 AM

Meh..... (TM)
5,088 posts

QUOTE(OlgaC4 @ Jan 2 2024, 10:21 AM)
what cost of stability?

i have been using 7500F for a couple of weeks.

so far so good..no crashes.
OlgaC4
post Jan 2 2024, 11:36 AM

5,296 posts

QUOTE(Baconateer @ Jan 2 2024, 10:28 AM)
what cost of stability?

i have been using 7500F for a couple of weeks.

so far so good..no crashes.
you will not feel it if you are not a competitive gamer.
babylon52281
post Jan 2 2024, 07:36 PM

2,700 posts

QUOTE(WanderingLife @ Dec 28 2023, 01:06 PM)
My planned build
CPU                Intel I5 13400F                                899 ( viewnet)
Memory        Klevv bolt V DDR5 6000m/t CL30 (2x16 GB) 511.5  ( found this on shopee , Taiwan Brand very attractive price with low latency not sure about the quality, any idea on this )
M.2 SSD        Crucial 5 plus 1 TB                        379 (shopee price)
Graphic Card Sapphire Pulse Rx 7600                1275  (shopee Price) not playing too much  game , I'm happy with 1080P
PSU          550W                                                0 (already have it as my spare PSU)
PC Casing  need suggestion                                200 ( need suggestion for MATX casing below 200)
CPU cooler        ID-COOLING SE-224                          85 (shopee)
                                                                          total  4178
Planned budget around 4000, already over a little bit ,  i also considering to swap the CPU to  Ryzen 5 7500F and Gigabyte b650m aorus pro ax board .
Change out that Giga potential backdoor bios mobo for something else; MSI PRO B760M-A WIFI DDR4. RAM can change to 32GB 3200MHZ DDR4, you wont feel the difference with DDR5 unless high level esports every FPS counts, plus you will save money and maybe go under your 4K budget. Otherwise that KLEVV brand is actually offshoot from SK Hynix Korea.

Instead of PCIEx8 RX7600 I suggest get RTX3060 12GB for about the same price.

Casing Nexus Air/Montech Air 1000 airflow focus case.
AthrunIJ
post Jan 2 2024, 07:44 PM

2,992 posts

Been using 7800x3D as first lab rat.

Stable af. No issue so far smooth and high fps

👀🍷🍟
TristanX
post Jan 2 2024, 08:06 PM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

If you get crap chip, yes. AMD sells you crap chip as well.

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 2 2024, 07:44 PM)

👀🍷🍟
It does kill itself and mobo at one time though. Multiple cases reported.

This post has been edited by TristanX: Jan 2 2024, 08:07 PM
AthrunIJ
post Jan 2 2024, 08:11 PM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 2 2024, 08:06 PM)

Luckily, when I got it. It was already on the news.

I just set ma Vsoc to 1.22. All smooth sailing

chocobo7779
post Jan 6 2024, 11:33 PM

Power is nothing without control
14,674 posts

QUOTE(WanderingLife @ Dec 28 2023, 01:06 PM)
My planned build
CPU                 Intel I5 13400F                                 899 ( viewnet)
Memory         Klevv bolt V DDR5 6000m/t CL30 (2x16 GB) 511.5  ( found this on shopee , Taiwan Brand very attractive price with low latency not sure about the quality, any idea on this )
M.2 SSD         Crucial 5 plus 1 TB                         379 (shopee price)
Graphic Card Sapphire Pulse Rx 7600                 1275  (shopee Price) not playing too much  game , I'm happy with 1080P
PSU          550W                                                0 (already have it as my spare PSU)
PC Casing  need suggestion                                 200 ( need suggestion for MATX casing below 200)
CPU cooler        ID-COOLING SE-224                           85 (shopee)
                                                                           total  4178
Planned budget around 4000, already over a little bit ,  i also considering to swap the CPU to  Ryzen 5 7500F and Gigabyte b650m aorus pro ax board .
This build feels.... unfocused? I mean, what's your exact usage? Gaming? Productivity/Creation/workstation related? sweat.gif

IMHO a 13400F isn't worth it, as they are marginally faster than the 12400F in terms of gaming performance and costs more, and if you want multithreading performance you might want to go for a 13500(F) instead. The 12400F or AMD's equivalent (5600) might be even a better choice over the 13400F due to the lack of E cores (which can cause scheduling issues on certain games) icon_idea.gif

A 7600 isn't exactly great either at current price point, probably a good buy if it drops to the price point that the RX6600 currently occupies (around RM1K atm) icon_idea.gif

Anyway if you are only gaming, then this will be better:

Ryzen 5600 - RM519
MSI B550M Pro VDH WiFi - RM475
2x8GB DDR4 3200CL16 (pick a brand) - RM198
Kingston KC3000 1TB - RM340
PowerColor RX6700 XT Fighter - RM1585
Silverstone Viva Gold 650W - RM299
Tecware Nexus Air M - RM193

Total: RM3949

The 6700 XT is quite a bit faster than the 7600, and more crucially the extra VRAM and memory bandwidth will be useful for modern games icon_idea.gif
A little note: SSD/RAM prices may increase due to the earthquake in Japan, which may disrupt the supply of DRAM/NAND flash icon_idea.gif

PSU          550W 
Might be worth mentioning the exact make and model, as it could be a very low quality unit icon_idea.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 6 2024, 11:33 PM
chocobo7779
post Jan 6 2024, 11:56 PM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 2 2024, 07:36 PM)
Change out that Giga potential backdoor bios mobo for something else; MSI PRO B760M-A WIFI DDR4. RAM can change to 32GB 3200MHZ DDR4, you wont feel the difference with DDR5 unless high level esports every FPS counts, plus you will save money and maybe go under your 4K budget. Otherwise that KLEVV brand is actually offshoot from SK Hynix Korea.

Instead of PCIEx8 RX7600 I suggest get RTX3060 12GB for about the same price.

Casing Nexus Air/Montech Air 1000 airflow focus case.
Gigabyte has fixed that long ago:
https://www.bleepingcomputer.com/news/secur...security-flaws/
chocobo7779
post Jan 7 2024, 01:20 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(TristanX @ Jan 2 2024, 08:06 PM)

Well, that's silicon lottery for you, and I'm pretty sure that the same thing also happens to Intel chips too icon_idea.gif

IINM many motherboard manufacturers are already issued new BIOS updates and have taken down the affected ones that caused the overvoltage issue icon_idea.gif
TristanX
post Jan 7 2024, 01:57 AM

Where is my stars?
24,351 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 7 2024, 01:20 AM)
Well, that's silicon lottery for you, and I'm pretty sure that the same thing also happens to Intel chips too icon_idea.gif
IINM many motherboard manufacturers are already issued new BIOS updates and have taken down the affected ones that caused the overvoltage issue icon_idea.gif
Not as bad as AMD. Like the complain about potato chip on this forum. It won't even boost to advertised speed. Multiple cases of crappy FCLK speed preventing higher RAM speed support. Even my own 5900X won't even hit 3800mhz stable. Intel on the other hand, the OC headroom.

And this...

adamtayy
post Jan 7 2024, 06:52 AM

1,399 posts

QUOTE(AthrunIJ @ Jan 2 2024, 07:44 PM)

👀🍷🍟
How's the proc, max load temperature??
AthrunIJ
post Jan 7 2024, 11:39 AM

2,992 posts

QUOTE(adamtayy @ Jan 7 2024, 06:52 AM)
How's the proc, max load temperature??
Hovering around 70 Celsius

👀🍟🍷
babylon52281
post Jan 7 2024, 04:58 PM

2,700 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 6 2024, 11:56 PM)
You never know if some are still hidden. There are plenty other mobos for the price. No need so hardup on Giga.
chocobo7779
post Jan 14 2024, 08:04 AM

14,674 posts

QUOTE(babylon52281 @ Jan 7 2024, 04:58 PM)
You never know if some are still hidden. There are plenty other mobos for the price. No need so hardup on Giga.
Sure, if you want you can always audit its code sweat.gif
But really though most modern CPUs already had a backdoor built in (see ME/PSP) - if you are that worried about backdoors you might as just well not use any modern PC sweat.gif

This post has been edited by chocobo7779: Jan 14 2024, 08:05 AM
babylon52281
post Jan 14 2024, 10:00 PM

2,700 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jan 14 2024, 08:04 AM)
Sure, if you want you can always audit its code sweat.gif
But really though most modern CPUs already had a backdoor built in (see ME/PSP) - if you are that worried about backdoors you might as just well not use any modern PC sweat.gif
Then enlighten me whats so gr8 about Giga mobos. Whats their USP? As I said, for the price there are other equivalent or better mobos from brands that didnt have this vulnerability in the first place. So why need to hardup on Giga? confused.gif

0.0209sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 12:59 AM