How do you guys protect your assets in a divorce?, Question for non-muslim
TSlindtra
Dec 26 2023, 11:35 AM, updated 2y ago
From my research, prenup seems to be none binding in Malaysia. But may be used as a reference in court, seems ambiguous as to how much of weight it carries in court as it doesn't guarantee the conditions of prenup.
My questions to non-Muslims, how do you protect your assets in the event of divorce? Also, what is the "default" entitlement for man and woman, is it 50/50?
Men who are going through it or with past experience, what have you done or think you should have done earlier? Did you manage to win any dispute, if you had any in the past regarding this matter?
cooldog_777
Dec 26 2023, 11:40 AM

few family members went thru divorce. normally very gentlemen will give the house to the ex-wife. alimonies tak tahu ada bagi tak. coz never ask them. then about children, never rebut. just follow mom, when free can go visit the children anytime
This post has been edited by cooldog_777: Dec 26 2023, 11:49 AM
hksgmy
Dec 26 2023, 11:40 AM
Good luck bro. I hope things work out well for you.
il0ve51
Dec 26 2023, 11:59 AM
QUOTE(lindtra @ Dec 26 2023, 12:35 PM) From my research, prenup seems to be none binding in Malaysia. But may be used as a reference in court, seems ambiguous as to how much of weight it carries in court as it doesn't guarantee the conditions of prenup. My questions to non-Muslims, how do you protect your assets in the event of divorce? Also, what is the "default" entitlement for man and woman, is it 50/50? Men who are going through it or with past experience, what have you done or think you should have done earlier? Did you manage to win any dispute, if you had any in the past regarding this matter? set up trust,
th3.h04rd3r
Dec 26 2023, 12:08 PM

Try the Achraf Hakimi strategy, transfer all your assets to your mother.
-mystery-
Dec 26 2023, 12:09 PM
Dec 26 2023, 12:13 PM This post has been deleted by lindtra because: Useless reply.
jerm57
Dec 26 2023, 12:42 PM
While pre-nups are not binding, the judge will also try to give a fair separation. Mostly they just want to see that the man is not leaving the wife with nothing. Judges are people too.
Rusty Nail
Dec 26 2023, 12:46 PM
I thought split of assets only applies to those accumulated after date of marriage?
TSlindtra
Dec 26 2023, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(jerm57 @ Dec 26 2023, 12:42 PM) While pre-nups are not binding, the judge will also try to give a fair separation. Mostly they just want to see that the man is not leaving the wife with nothing. Judges are people too. "fairness" will be very subjective and won't be very fair if it is based on the fair definition of the judge alone, without a real objective guide for this kind of dispute. What if the judge is a misandrist or have some personal bias. Anyways, my question was, what can be done to protect one's asset. If you have any idea or experience, share it.
jerm57
Dec 26 2023, 01:02 PM
QUOTE(lindtra @ Dec 26 2023, 12:50 PM) "fairness" will be very subjective and won't be very fair if it is based on the fair definition of the judge alone, without a real objective guide for this kind of dispute. What if the judge is a misandrist or have some personal bias. Anyways, my question was, what can be done to protect one's asset. If you have any idea or experience, share it.  that's why divorce is usually best negotiated with a legally appointed mediator. Anyway, I had a blacksheep uncle who never kept any asset or money under his own name. He had shell companies set up and confidantes to hold his assets. So in his 3 divorces, he just left them high and dry.
xHj09
Dec 26 2023, 01:08 PM
For properties, if you bought before getting married it won’t be split.
MasBoleh!
Dec 26 2023, 01:21 PM
QUOTE(Rusty Nail @ Dec 26 2023, 12:46 PM) I thought split of assets only applies to those accumulated after date of marriage? QUOTE(xHj09 @ Dec 26 2023, 01:08 PM) For properties, if you bought before getting married it won’t be split. How about shares and other kind of assets that easily liduidate? This post has been edited by MasBoleh!: Dec 26 2023, 01:21 PM
netflix2019
Dec 26 2023, 01:44 PM
( wife asset + husband asset ) divice by two is what ppl want.
The truth is depend on how u nego with your ex. Usually will avoid to trigger each other, if drag to courtroom in the end lawyer win all. Most of the time the ex-wife will think she entitled to half of everything, bising mau go courtroom. End up just attrition battle, keep going to court until she give up. I have friend battle in court for close to 5 years, toward the end the wife just gave up and agree for 200k cash settlement.
-mystery-
Dec 26 2023, 01:49 PM
QUOTE(jerm57 @ Dec 26 2023, 12:42 PM) While pre-nups are not binding, the judge will also try to give a fair separation. Mostly they just want to see that the man is not leaving the wife with nothing. Judges are people too. look at murica esp California law the men are desperately getting away from marriage lmao
blindmutedeaf
Dec 26 2023, 02:22 PM

It is case by case basis. If got 3rd party involve then it will become very complicated especially if spouse already planning it for example keeping proof of assist to do repayment and etc then yea... Again, it is case by case basis
TSlindtra
Dec 26 2023, 03:03 PM
QUOTE(netflix2019 @ Dec 26 2023, 01:44 PM) ( wife asset + husband asset ) divice by two is what ppl want. The truth is depend on how u nego with your ex. Usually will avoid to trigger each other, if drag to courtroom in the end lawyer win all. Most of the time the ex-wife will think she entitled to half of everything, bising mau go courtroom. End up just attrition battle, keep going to court until she give up. I have friend battle in court for close to 5 years, toward the end the wife just gave up and agree for 200k cash settlement. Of course in an ideal world and scenario, we would prefer a peaceful end, but a lot(mostly wealthy people) will go through dispute of wealth, and a lot will be unprepared for it.
TSlindtra
Dec 26 2023, 03:04 PM
QUOTE(MasBoleh! @ Dec 26 2023, 01:21 PM) How about shares and other kind of assets that easily liduidate? I need answer to this as well.
TSlindtra
Dec 26 2023, 03:05 PM
QUOTE(jerm57 @ Dec 26 2023, 01:02 PM)  that's why divorce is usually best negotiated with a legally appointed mediator. Anyway, I had a blacksheep uncle who never kept any asset or money under his own name. He had shell companies set up and confidantes to hold his assets. So in his 3 divorces, he just left them high and dry. Maybe can invite your uncle to this thread to learn a thing or two
RGRaj
Dec 26 2023, 03:17 PM
QUOTE(-mystery- @ Dec 26 2023, 01:49 PM) look at murica esp California law the men are desperately getting away from marriage lmao It seems even cheating ex wives get a lot in the settlement .
hoonanoo
Dec 26 2023, 10:28 PM
Convert...then divorce