Are korean cars more reliable than Japanese?

Taipan052
post Dec 23 2023, 04:56 PM

76 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Dec 23 2023, 02:32 PM)
My friend just now mentioned nowadays korean built cars are better, in terms of pricing, in car entertainment technology, reliability and also petrol consumption

Is it true? I plan to buy a car for my sis and if korean is better, im willing to give it a try
yes true starting from Kia Forte onwards.
do you still need another 14 years to review Korean car?
luckily I did my own research based on Forte in US and SG.. and I already enjoy driving it since the last 14 years.
MoneySolve
post Dec 23 2023, 04:58 PM

44 posts

If Korean car boleh pakai, their wimminz no need plastic surgery ady
SUSrtk74
post Dec 24 2023, 02:34 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ Dec 23 2023, 03:01 PM)
my friend celato 2019 dunno what mileage la already got greyish metal in engine oil. sc said need to overhaul.

hopefully wont happen to mine. same year same model same engine oil used also. haihz scary
EO should be replaced every 6 months or 8k km
netmatrix
post Dec 24 2023, 02:39 PM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,734 posts

QUOTE(KingArthurVI @ Dec 23 2023, 02:33 PM)
Ioniq 5 and 6 brows.gif
All the news about IONIC 5 battery costing more than the car itself is no longer rumour. And the condition/ warranty T&C that makes it need replacing with questionable damage is really stupid. I like the look and tech of this car a lot. But this single thing uncertain warranty T&C and high cost of battery makes it a NO RECOMMEND to anyone. I am sure the IONIC 6 and above would suffer the same fate. At the moment cases seems to be isolated to Canada.
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 24 2023, 02:53 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Dec 23 2023, 03:26 PM)
Regret, part replacement and mechanic is hard to find. I have central locking and automatic sliding door problem after a few month.
which car is this
jalan ipoh is your fren

Coldf3ar
post Dec 24 2023, 02:58 PM

520 posts

QUOTE(rtk74 @ Dec 24 2023, 02:34 PM)
EO should be replaced every 6 months or 8k km
his mileage only 50k. if he stretch engine oil to 10k km also wont till like this lo.
narf03
post Dec 24 2023, 02:58 PM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(Ukeke @ Dec 23 2023, 02:32 PM)
My friend just now mentioned nowadays korean built cars are better, in terms of pricing, in car entertainment technology, reliability and also petrol consumption

Is it true? I plan to buy a car for my sis and if korean is better, im willing to give it a try
be worry if you buying japanese related cars or parts, alot of their safety tests were faked.

https://japantoday.com/category/business/to...ed-safety-tests

https://www.drive.com.au/news/daihatsu-halt...eating-scandal/

https://japannews.yomiuri.co.jp/editorial/y...20211006-31426/

https://japanantifraud.org/warning-on-risin...fraud-in-japan/

This post has been edited by narf03: Dec 24 2023, 03:00 PM
siksa
post Dec 24 2023, 03:52 PM

T_T
1,016 posts

QUOTE(JimbeamofNRT @ Dec 24 2023, 02:53 PM)
which car is this
jalan ipoh is your fren
Starex from Sabah, everything need to order from Semenanjung. Service center need to keep your car just to fix things. First major problem is central locking and automatic sliding door, now it's starting to be faulty again, i need to fork out money because its not under warranty anymore.
pandah
post Dec 24 2023, 03:54 PM

719 posts

korean car mahal leh, mana ada good pricing?
SUSrtk74
post Dec 24 2023, 04:08 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Coldf3ar @ Dec 24 2023, 02:58 PM)
his mileage only 50k. if he stretch engine oil to 10k km also wont till like this lo.
Kesian...
afoka
post Dec 24 2023, 04:11 PM

315 posts

2 years own Kia Carnival KA4 11 seater since 2022. Bought it for the 5 years free service voucher and warranty.

Trade in Estima Acr50 2010 use for 7 years. Recond give big headache once need major parts replacements. It was clocked 189k km mileage when I trade it off for Carnival.
mick84
post Dec 24 2023, 04:15 PM

96 posts

Yes. I’m a kimchi car owner and I agree that Korean car is more reliable and better quality than Japanese

I recently rent Kona, ICE model. Performance not bad.

This post has been edited by mick84: Dec 24 2023, 04:18 PM
soul78
post Dec 24 2023, 04:21 PM

938 posts

ayamz noe a few fren drive killed-in-action kars.. always got electrical problems..

finally they all sold and some of them upgrade to merc and beamer..
JimbeamofNRT
post Dec 24 2023, 04:21 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(siksa @ Dec 24 2023, 03:52 PM)
Starex from Sabah, everything need to order from Semenanjung. Service center need to keep your car just to fix things. First major problem is central locking and automatic sliding door, now it's starting to be faulty again, i need to fork out money because its not under warranty anymore.
aiseh sorry to hear that bro. that bad eh
Nagashiro
post Dec 24 2023, 04:24 PM

401 posts

Clocking my K at 300k km.

Those kopek2 one, stick with your wira please
TSUkeke
post Dec 26 2023, 03:01 PM

91 posts

Korean
SUSMr Mercedes
post Dec 26 2023, 03:03 PM

424 posts

More technologically advanced yes.

More reliable than Japanese? Subjective. It's more reliable than Nissan, Mitsubishi and the WRX Subarus.

Certainly can't beat Toyota and Honda in terms of reliability.
post Dec 26 2023, 03:06 PM

269 posts

Drive Hyundai Getz for more than 6 years and Accent version 2 for more than 7 years without any real problems at all. All the talk about more expensive service is quite untrue as I faced more or less the same cost driving Honda. What is costly is they only have ori parts unlike Japanese and local brands which cause people to think they are costly to maintain.
netmatrix
post Dec 26 2023, 03:13 PM

6,734 posts

QUOTE(mick84 @ Dec 24 2023, 04:15 PM)
Yes. I’m a kimchi car owner and I agree that Korean car is more reliable and better quality than Japanese

I recently rent Kona, ICE model. Performance not bad.
All the Hyundai KIA made before 2008 are really bad. The Sephia, Accend, early version S Coupe, early version Elantra, early version Sportage & even the rebadged Atoz had bad reliability issues.

All that seemed to change after Forte arrived in 2008. The the 2 door Forte came and the Veloster later on. All these cars can still be spotted on the road from time to time. Even the Matrix & Sportage that came after 2008 has improved a lot.

The new gen Kia just 5 years ago looked really good and by then the brand had at least 10 years reliability record from USA.
netmatrix
post Dec 26 2023, 03:23 PM

6,734 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 26 2023, 03:06 PM)
Drive Hyundai Getz for more than 6 years and Accent version 2 for more than 7 years without any real problems at all. All the talk about more expensive service is quite untrue as I faced more or less the same cost driving Honda. What is costly is they only have ori parts unlike Japanese and local brands which cause people to think they are costly to maintain.
The Gets 2002 was launched 2 years later than Toyota Passo 2004. And we get the improved version from Toyota/ Daihatsu Passo/ Boon in 2006 in the form of Myvi.

At that time Hyundai was not really improving anything from their range until after 2008. My relative had a Getz and a Myvi in the same household. The Gets is a money pit. You can argue the Getz was already 5 years old (when she bought it) compared to the 2008 Myvi. But the repairs cost a lot more for same situation repairs like worn bushings. somehow it was quite costly to repair the engine oil leaking issues on the Getz. Even the shock original absorbers cost more than myvi.

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0208sec    0.60    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:32 AM