QUOTE(C-Fu @ Jan 2 2024, 11:41 AM)
I have a kinda big house, even 3 deco m9 plus is struggling to cover all especially when it needs to bypass walls and mirrors and doors. but I'm actually researching on ways to cover a whole neighborhood. think for old folks in kampung areas, with 100 nodes (estimated) and everybody chip in to pay 1 bill (and a router per house punya electric bill), cover whole kampung, rate limited per device for basic use.
was thinking about aimesh, but officially it supports 5 nodes wired, and people have done 8 nodes max (everything else after that gets turned into wireless automagically). that's why easymesh and the kaon router sounds exciting to me.
The main problem to WiFi probably more on interference than the brick wall or wooden door. So, depends on house layout probably. With only 1 wireless AP I can cover my whole house of about 3000+ sqft with no problem.. Even on 5GHz band it still managed to to deliver speed of at least about 200Mbps anywhere in the house.
I've never heard about limit of mesh of just only 5 nodes wired. That is probably that particular brand firmware with star distribution to 5 mesh nodes. Theoretically is can go much higher. Even in theory one router can go 255 clients but in reality you will have sluggish connection. This due to the way WiFI operates. As you know WIFI is just simplex communication. A router can only transmit or receive at any given time and only can handle 1 client at a time. When many (or even two) clients try to talk to router at the same time, only one can get through. Thus the rest have to wait for turn but the problem is the wait time is just random, not first come first served.
I think the Deco mesh if connect wirelessly is not efficient because The mesh communication and users transmission shares the same band. Therefore, you will have more data collisions. It will significantly slow down connection where many use the network. Home grade WiFi router can slow down with just probably around 6 to 8 clients although theoretically can serve 255 clients
That is why big companies uses enterprise solution to manage mesh routers. Maybe this article will helps your project.
https://commotionwireless.net/docs/cck/netw...lines-for-mesh/