10% Tax For Online Purchases Of Overseas Goods

narf03
post Dec 19 2023, 01:08 AM

4,547 posts

those sellers in china selling to every countries on the planet, over 200 countries, 200 different rules and law, do they really care ?
narf03
post Dec 19 2023, 01:23 AM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(BL98 @ Dec 19 2023, 01:17 AM)
Seller increase 10% due to tax is greed

then government tiba-tiba extra tax 10% is not greed?
human society is evolving, last time old generations buy from physical shops, today new generations buy from online shops, gov used to tax physical shops, now they have to tax from online shop else gov will lose income.

its fair, just hope the transition is painless.
narf03
post Dec 19 2023, 12:03 PM

4,547 posts

QUOTE(ben_ang @ Dec 19 2023, 09:17 AM)
with my experience with my company's machine parts frm spain when kena tax last time, when parts reached kastam, they will ask u to pay tax, in this case probably fedex/DHL/pos laju will contact u for the payment
so better make sure the contact given can reach u, 10% based on the declared price in this case.u agreed, fedex/DHL/pos laju collect money and send ur item, no agree probably will return back to country of
origin.
japan side tax probably quoted inside the price, so japan side i think no problem, this is MY side import tax.
dont think it will work, especially extremely cheap items, like below rm10, when item arrived, custom will have to evaluate the price of the item, check if tax paid, if not contact buyer, then keep item in storage, when seller paid, seller need to come to custom to collect, custom employee will have to find the item and give to buyer, that process make rm1 tax ?

i guess if the item is cheap, the buyer will just tell custom f. it im not going to collect or just ignore custom, then custom will have millions and billions of cheap items in their storage within years. they dont make money, they only make loss.

0.0152sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 11:02 PM