Qatar airways bans youtuber for negative review

TSRaddus
post Dec 18 2023, 04:25 PM, updated 2y ago

239 posts

This is the same youtuber that pissed off Malaysia Airlines for giving negative review

https://onemileatatime.com/news/qatar-airwa...medium=facebook

Qatar Airways has reportedly banned a YouTuber after he posted a negative review of a flight, and also fired the crew. The carrier’s approach here simply defies logic…

In this post:

Qatar Airways bans Josh Cahill over unfavorable review
My take on this Qatar Airways situation

Bottom line
Josh Cahill is a popular YouTuber who reviews flights, and on Saturday he published a roughly 20-minute video about how he was “banned and bribed” by Qatar Airways. This followed an August 2023 video review he published, entitled “the shocking decline of Qatar Airways,” about an economy class flight that he took from Colombo to Doha.

Let me try to summarize what happened as briefly but accurately as possible, according to Josh:

Days after he published the video review, Qatar Airways reached out to ask him to hop on a call, which he agreed to, and that included the company’s VP of corporate communications
Once on the call, the Qatar Airways representatives immediately said that whatever is talked about is off the record, which Josh didn’t agree to; he was then asked what his motive was for such a negative review
They said the video reflects negatively on the airline, and they offered Josh a free flight if he’s willing to delete the video, which he rejected
They then asked Josh to delete the negative comments on the video from Qatar Airways employees complaining about poor working conditions at the airline, which he also refused to do
A week later, he received an email informing him that an upcoming booking on Qatar Airways had been canceled, and that the airline can no longer permit additional bookings from him
The email references articles 8 & 12 of the contract of carriage, which require permission in order to film on an aircraft, though that was never otherwise enforced for him or any other YouTubers publishing positive reviews
A short time later, Josh received an email from one of the flight attendants who was working his flight, acknowledging that “I know I gave you permission to film the interaction, but I must ask you to remove me from the video,” because “I was pressured to write a statement that I didn’t give you permission to be filmed,” and “if I don’t write it, I will most likely be dismissed”
Since Josh wasn’t willing to voluntarily take down the video, Qatar Airways took all of these statements from crew and sent them to YouTube, demanding that the video be removed for privacy reasons
For those with an IP address in Qatar, Josh’s initial flight review has apparently been blocked, so that you can no longer watch it
While Josh can’t personally vouch for this, he claims that many sources have told him that the entire crew was terminated after the airline wasn’t able to remove the video

This post has been edited by Raddus: Dec 18 2023, 04:29 PM
SUSrtk74
post Dec 18 2023, 04:27 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

The last part is very dickish
DarkNite
post Dec 18 2023, 04:29 PM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

People who live in Glass house should NOT throw stones.
AKA
Don't eat & shit at the same place.
NathanJeans
post Dec 18 2023, 04:30 PM

77 posts

no wonder only hamas leaders love qatar
iGamer
post Dec 18 2023, 04:34 PM

Toxic ktards probably losers irl
1,374 posts

He caused entire crew to lose job?
olay biscuit barrel
post Dec 18 2023, 04:37 PM

93 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Dec 18 2023, 04:29 PM)
People who live in Glass house should NOT throw stones.
AKA
Don't eat & shit at the same place.
Please expand? I never watched this guy's video. He said he's a reviewer. He gave his opinion. Or you suggest he becomes a shill?
AfraidIGotBan
post Dec 18 2023, 04:37 PM

246 posts

wanna join in but later got meeting.

aihhh
Ttbatdtptsm
post Dec 18 2023, 04:38 PM

80 posts

Lol he and the other British guy who went to China From KL Without visa … very condescending tone Like what is wechat ? Why should i install wechat ? When one very pretty mas awek showed to him that he needed to install wechat app… just ban these brits who really have colonizing mentality
pandah
post Dec 18 2023, 04:41 PM

719 posts

Next time all airlines will enforce mandatory off camera and video cam, and phone filming as well...
g5sim
post Dec 18 2023, 04:44 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(Raddus @ Dec 18 2023, 04:25 PM)
This is the same youtuber that pissed off Malaysia Airlines for giving negative review
https://onemileatatime.com/news/qatar-airwa...medium=facebook

Qatar Airways has reportedly banned a YouTuber after he posted a negative review of a flight, and also fired the crew. The carrier’s approach here simply defies logic…

In this post:

My take on this Qatar Airways situation
Bottom line
Josh Cahill is a popular YouTuber who reviews flights, and on Saturday he published a roughly 20-minute video about how he was “banned and bribed” by Qatar Airways. This followed an August 2023 video review he published, entitled “the shocking decline of Qatar Airways,” about an economy class flight that he took from Colombo to Doha.
Let me try to summarize what happened as briefly but accurately as possible, according to Josh:

Days after he published the video review, Qatar Airways reached out to ask him to hop on a call, which he agreed to, and that included the company’s VP of corporate communications
Once on the call, the Qatar Airways representatives immediately said that whatever is talked about is off the record, which Josh didn’t agree to; he was then asked what his motive was for such a negative review
They said the video reflects negatively on the airline, and they offered Josh a free flight if he’s willing to delete the video, which he rejected
They then asked Josh to delete the negative comments on the video from Qatar Airways employees complaining about poor working conditions at the airline, which he also refused to do
A week later, he received an email informing him that an upcoming booking on Qatar Airways had been canceled, and that the airline can no longer permit additional bookings from him
The email references articles 8 & 12 of the contract of carriage, which require permission in order to film on an aircraft, though that was never otherwise enforced for him or any other YouTubers publishing positive reviews
A short time later, Josh received an email from one of the flight attendants who was working his flight, acknowledging that “I know I gave you permission to film the interaction, but I must ask you to remove me from the video,” because “I was pressured to write a statement that I didn’t give you permission to be filmed,” and “if I don’t write it, I will most likely be dismissed”
Since Josh wasn’t willing to voluntarily take down the video, Qatar Airways took all of these statements from crew and sent them to YouTube, demanding that the video be removed for privacy reasons
For those with an IP address in Qatar, Josh’s initial flight review has apparently been blocked, so that you can no longer watch it
While Josh can’t personally vouch for this, he claims that many sources have told him that the entire crew was terminated after the airline wasn’t able to remove the video

Wow wow! Well done Josh! Well done. Dun worry about employment. Hamas lkely actively hiring. Also what's Qatar's Aljazera news has to say about this??

g5sim
post Dec 18 2023, 04:48 PM

5,752 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Dec 18 2023, 04:34 PM)
Not entirely his fault. Crews stupidly n yarn for instant famous with in influencer video played a part to. Many big companies include World top MNCs have this ethics that you don't publicly n intentionally shame the company. There is internal channels for you to voice out your grievance. I would say base on this solely, the firings if true are legit.
alanyuppie
post Dec 18 2023, 04:51 PM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(iGamer @ Dec 18 2023, 05:34 PM)
Certain outcomes is out of his control.. maybe he expect underperforming crew to be penalised leniently.

Same like when we complain a few staff in gomen department slow and rude and hope they can improve... suddenly whole department fired/liquidated pulak.

This post has been edited by alanyuppie: Dec 18 2023, 06:46 PM
Cookie101
post Dec 18 2023, 04:52 PM

1,616 posts

At least he got more followers and making more money off by giving pity nonsense on those crews. And those crews get nothing out of it. Lol

knumskul
post Dec 18 2023, 04:56 PM

784 posts

This the guy that negatively reviews all airlines?
siaoand1
post Dec 18 2023, 05:04 PM

210 posts

QUOTE(pandah @ Dec 18 2023, 04:41 PM)
Next time all airlines will enforce mandatory off camera and video cam, and phone filming as well...
thanks to buggers lik these, the rest can't enjoy at peace
yhtan
post Dec 18 2023, 05:04 PM

8,652 posts

kesian the crew
BobThe Builder
post Dec 18 2023, 05:05 PM

38 posts

Sam Chui wannabe?
dickybird
post Dec 18 2023, 05:15 PM

2,093 posts

Was a mistake to give Qatar the WC, how many bangles and pakis died building the stadia.
Qatar not see non Qatari as human.
wong_86
post Dec 18 2023, 05:16 PM

DUDE
565 posts

all airlines should red flag him...lol
SUSjoe_star
post Dec 18 2023, 05:17 PM

Serving the Servants
1,810 posts

These white supremists are scums who want to make Asian look bad