Third House

TSTaintedOnes
post Dec 11 2023, 06:41 PM, updated 3y ago

35 posts

I am receiving mixed answers on this. Currently, I own two properties: Horizon Suites(semi-flexi loan) and Union Suites, which I purchased through the Maybank HouzKEY program. I am considering buying a third property in the near future. Am I entitled to a 90% mortgage loan if I plan to purchase a property with a residential title?

This post has been edited by TaintedOnes: Dec 11 2023, 10:34 PM
Babizz
post Dec 11 2023, 07:32 PM

12,528 posts

Wow both houses also need houzkey. Better look at other investment vehicle.
Aaron212
post Dec 11 2023, 07:40 PM

1,773 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Dec 11 2023, 03:32 PM)
+ 1

TS plz stop now while u can

2 is more than enough liao if u need to ask for 90% better use that moni do other investments
jojolicia
post Dec 11 2023, 09:26 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Babizz @ Dec 11 2023, 07:32 PM)
Sorry, What is houzkey? Mentioned there Maybank, something new in the market now?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Dec 11 2023, 09:26 PM
DragonReine
post Dec 11 2023, 09:41 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Dec 11 2023, 09:26 PM)
Sorry, What is houzkey? Mentioned there Maybank, something new in the market now?
It's one of the first "Rent 2 Own" programs: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...me/houzkey.page
DragonReine
post Dec 11 2023, 09:44 PM

just another dog on the Internet
2,610 posts

QUOTE(TaintedOnes @ Dec 11 2023, 06:41 PM)
I am receiving mixed answers on this. Currently, I own two properties: Horizon Suites and Union Suites, which I purchased through the Maybank HouzKEY program(Union Suites). I am considering buying a third property in the near future. Am I entitled to a 90% mortgage loan if I plan to purchase a property with a residential title?
1) If you needed Houzkey to buy investment-grade property, you're already on the losing curve and not maximizing profits as you should for investment with the high overall cost of Houzkey.

2) If you need 90% loan to buy a 3rd property, you're REALLY not managing your cashflow property.

3) Technically yes, you're entitled, the 70% max financing only applies to the 3rd RESIDENTIAL TITLE loan when you have 2 ONGOING RESIDENTIAL TITLE LOAN. Since Union Suites is a SOHO, you should not be subject to this limit. But TS really should rethink where you're putting your money's worth, if what you're buying is for investment, at the current economic state and property value.

This post has been edited by DragonReine: Dec 11 2023, 09:46 PM
TSTaintedOnes
post Dec 11 2023, 10:38 PM

35 posts

I edited my original post as it misled some people. I only bought the second property with HouzKEY.
taitianhin
post Dec 11 2023, 10:45 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

what is the fuzz abt HOuseKez?

What makes you think getting 3rd loan can get 90% loan?
First one paid off?
vinceleo
post Dec 11 2023, 10:45 PM

1,023 posts

US is Commercial HDA thus under Resi quota

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Dec 11 2023, 09:44 PM)
1) If you needed Houzkey to buy investment-grade property, you're already on the losing curve and not maximizing profits as you should for investment with the high overall cost of Houzkey.

2) If you need 90% loan to buy a 3rd property, you're REALLY not managing your cashflow property.

3) Technically yes, you're entitled, the 70% max financing only applies to the 3rd RESIDENTIAL TITLE loan when you have 2 ONGOING RESIDENTIAL TITLE LOAN. Since Union Suites is a SOHO, you should not be subject to this limit. But TS really should rethink where you're putting your money's worth, if what you're buying is for investment, at the current economic state and property value.
TSTaintedOnes
post Dec 11 2023, 11:00 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Dec 11 2023, 09:44 PM)

Thanks for the info. I'm contemplating purchasing a third property for investment as I'm currently working overseas. My cash flow still enables me to buy another property for less than 1 million. If I can secure another 90% financing, I hope to look for some properties with good rental yields.
TSTaintedOnes
post Dec 11 2023, 11:18 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(taitianhin @ Dec 11 2023, 10:45 PM)
what is the fuzz abt HOuseKez?

What makes you think getting 3rd loan can get 90% loan?
First one paid off?
Because some agents are saying I can still get another 90% loan, whereas others say it's not possible. If not, then I will reconsider where I should park my money.
taitianhin
post Dec 11 2023, 11:40 PM

Look at my STARS, it never burn out
1,523 posts

QUOTE(vinceleo @ Dec 11 2023, 10:45 PM)
US is Commercial HDA thus under Resi quota
how much loan you have got from US? 90%?
On a ...residential Loan? or Commercial Loan Rate?
jojolicia
post Dec 12 2023, 07:22 AM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(DragonReine @ Dec 11 2023, 09:41 PM)
It's one of the first "Rent 2 Own" programs: https://www.maybank2u.com.my/maybank2u/mala...me/houzkey.page
I see. Thanks for replying 👍
nauticat99
post Dec 12 2023, 07:28 AM

587 posts

Should buy industrial properties rather than residential properties as an investment
optprime
post Dec 12 2023, 08:05 AM

349 posts

Are you buying houses for the sake of it or for investment?
You do know you don't own those houses and you're heavily in debt.
Jingle91
post Dec 12 2023, 09:19 AM

682 posts

QUOTE(jojolicia @ Dec 11 2023, 09:26 PM)
I was briefed by Maybank staff last time. Basically you only rent the house for first 5 years with maybe 50% of normal installment amount compared to normal loan, locked for 5 years, then on sixth year you must choose either convert to normal SPA follow the initial purchase price, or choose to discontinue and return the house to developer and bank. You can also choose to convert the housekeyz to normal loan and spa starting on 3rd year.

Some people prefer this loan due to foresee tight cash flow in first few years after move in, so they keen to start installment later. Some also want to give a try with five year to see if the place really suit them, other is purely for investment purpose, betting that the price will go above their entry price in five years later, if the price rise a lot then they can convert to normal loan and then sell it. If price fall below purchase price then just exit on fifth year. To me it work more like leasing program.

jrshow
post Dec 12 2023, 09:49 AM

2,186 posts

QUOTE(TaintedOnes @ Dec 11 2023, 06:41 PM)
I am receiving mixed answers on this. Currently, I own two properties: Horizon Suites(semi-flexi loan) and Union Suites, which I purchased through the Maybank HouzKEY program. I am considering buying a third property in the near future. Am I entitled to a 90% mortgage loan if I plan to purchase a property with a residential title?
property is not an only way to invest...
Deathscythe@@
post Dec 12 2023, 10:21 AM

989 posts

both houses tenanted or...?
jojolicia
post Dec 12 2023, 12:18 PM

1,922 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Dec 12 2023, 09:19 AM)
I was briefed by Maybank staff last time. Basically you only rent the house for first 5 years with maybe 50% of normal installment amount compared to normal loan, locked for 5 years, then on sixth year you must choose either convert to normal SPA follow the initial purchase price, or choose to discontinue and return the house to developer and bank. You can also choose to convert the housekeyz to normal loan and spa starting on 3rd year.

Some people prefer this loan due to foresee tight cash flow in first few years after move in, so they keen to start installment later. Some also want to give a try with five year to see if the place really suit them, other is purely for investment purpose, betting that the price will go above their entry price in five years later, if the price rise a lot then they can convert to normal loan and then sell it. If price fall below purchase price then just exit on fifth year. To me it work more like leasing program.
Thanks for the elaboration, Jingle.

The last part of your last para is interesting. An exit plan too good, any string attached ?

This post has been edited by jojolicia: Dec 12 2023, 02:20 PM
yuen300
post Dec 12 2023, 01:31 PM

163 posts

QUOTE(Jingle91 @ Dec 12 2023, 10:19 AM)

Hmm, is there any misunderstanding in between?
So, if property fall below the purchase price, then can exit? I thought we still need to settle the differences in between.
My understanding is like the HouzKey is like 100% financing and suitable those like do not have sufficient downpayment plus you are on budget tight for the initial years. Thus, during the construction period, you are not required to pay any mortgage fee (interest still incurred) plus only required to pay 50% of the installment for the first 5 years.
In another words, your cost for Mortgage is likely to be higher. Not like after 5 years, you dont like, you can sell it away and no cost in between when property price slump.

0.0198sec    0.57    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:29 PM