Man abducted as a child in China reunites with, family 25 years later — thanks to AI

TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:06 AM, updated 3y ago

269 posts

A family in China has been reunited with their son 25 years after he was taken from them — thanks to technology.

Authorities used a facial comparison algorithm that takes age-related changes and family similarities into account to reunite Xie Qingshuai with his parents, reported China Daily.

Qingshuai's family was living at Xingtai, Hebei province in 1998 at the time of the incident when his mother left the then three-month-old boy with the door unlocked to buy groceries.

When she returned 10 minutes later, Qingshuai was nowhere to be found.

The matter was reported to the police and a search that extended to Beijing, Tianjin and Henan province were mounted, but the child was not found.

Qingshuai's father Kefeng kept up his own search, spending almost all his savings in the process and the boy's mother slipped into depression, and remained on medication for almost 10 years.

Kefeng, 52, was informed of Qingshuai last month when he received a call from the police informing him that a facial comparison led to his son being found, and a DNA comparison later confirmed that it was indeed his long-lost son.

Investigations showed two people were involved in the abduction.

While one of the suspects had since died, another was taken into custody by the police and a middleman who helped to sell the baby was also apprehended.

Qingshuai, who now works in Chengdu, Sichuan province, was reunited with his parents and siblings on Friday.

Investigations revealed that Qingshuai was initially sold to a couple who lived in Handan, another city in Hebei.
After the man he knew as his father died, his wife remarried and moved away, leaving Qingshuai to be taken care of by his “adoptive” grandparents.

News of Qingshuai reuniting with his family was shared by Beijing DeepGlint Technology Co, an artificial intelligence technology company, on Weibo on Sunday.

The company said it used photos of both parents and the boy's older brother to help the facial comparison algorithm narrow the search down to five possibilities.

It said that Qingshuai was the fourth abducted person it had helped the police locate in the past six months.

https://www.msn.com/en-my/lifestyle/other/m...b1a4ffea8&ei=22
ThirdSon
post Dec 7 2023, 09:08 AM

84 posts

good pulis work
TOMEI-R
post Dec 7 2023, 09:09 AM

Extraordinaire
24,228 posts

That is why don't mess with the CCP. Criminals cannot outrun the authorities there because of this.
TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:11 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(TOMEI-R @ Dec 7 2023, 10:09 AM)
That is why don't mess with the CCP. Criminals cannot outrun the authorities there because of this.
All the criminals run to Myanmar and Cambodia to do scam work because cannot do in China laugh.gif
hoonanoo
post Dec 7 2023, 09:18 AM

1,782 posts

last time china so crazy one, if don't have child, kidnap other person child to be your own child.

So despo one.

tankerbell12345
post Dec 7 2023, 09:23 AM

58 posts

This post has been edited by tankerbell12345: Dec 21 2023, 08:17 PM
delon85
post Dec 7 2023, 09:24 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

His bio parents saved 25 years of rice money

This post has been edited by delon85: Dec 7 2023, 09:24 AM
pinamorita
post Dec 7 2023, 09:27 AM

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 7 2023, 09:11 AM)
All the criminals run to Myanmar and Cambodia to do scam work because cannot do in China  laugh.gif
true that, criminal cant cari makan in china, all went to crime friendly asean
TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:27 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Dec 7 2023, 10:23 AM)
dude its very common there . Even there are syndicates who mutilates little kids and adults and recruits them to beg.

During the peak of communism , if u went home , they would prevent you from coming back and enslave you as little pig. They viewed oversea chinse who ran away from the communism as traitors.
"Even there are syndicates who mutilates little kids and adults and recruits them to beg" - This is still happening in India.
giftfre
post Dec 7 2023, 09:29 AM

Control Macho
687 posts

This guy so luck that he is still complete with all organ.
Before this , syndicate transform normal kid to become OKU (as a pro Begger).
hoonanoo
post Dec 7 2023, 09:30 AM

1,782 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Dec 7 2023, 09:23 AM)
dude its very common there . Even there are syndicates who mutilates little kids and adults and recruits them to beg.

During the peak of communism , if u went home , they would prevent you from coming back and enslave you as little pig. They viewed oversea chinse who ran away from the communism as traitors.
Reason why kidnap kids biz so big there is because there are childless couples willing to pay a lot just to have a child, because to them it is good luck and bring prosperity.

TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:30 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(pinamorita @ Dec 7 2023, 10:27 AM)
true that, criminal cant cari makan in china, all went to crime friendly asean
They more or less eliminated petty theft like pickpocket, robbery, etc. as their facial recognition system is too good and everywhere nowadays especially with AI some more. Pros and cons of their facial recognition system. On the good side, you really can prevent crime and ease society with things like facial recognition payment. On the bad side, you will be monitored constantly when out from home, and some people feel it's against human rights.

This post has been edited by 30624770: Dec 7 2023, 09:34 AM
Taikor.Taikun
post Dec 7 2023, 09:31 AM

1,019 posts

We should enroll, subscribe, even buy this tech for SEA
tankerbell12345
post Dec 7 2023, 09:31 AM

58 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 7 2023, 09:27 AM)
"Even there are syndicates who mutilates little kids and adults and recruits them to beg" - This is still happening in India.
yeah another failed democratic country . careful there will be some india wumao who is going to say we are racist.

TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:35 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(Taikor.Taikun @ Dec 7 2023, 10:31 AM)
We should enroll, subscribe, even buy this tech for SEA
Some people will say backdoor for China to track us whistling.gif
TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:37 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(tankerbell12345 @ Dec 7 2023, 10:31 AM)
yeah another failed democratic country . careful there will be some india wumao who is going to say we are racist.
I won't say India is a failed democratic country. It is just work in progress and they really need to find a system that works for them.

China also works in progress but they seem to settle on a system that works for them today, but we do not know what will happen in the future.
potatolala
post Dec 7 2023, 09:38 AM

141 posts

Technology is the best.

We should have facial recognition camera everywhere in the public areas
thesoothsayer
post Dec 7 2023, 09:52 AM

954 posts

QUOTE(30624770 @ Dec 7 2023, 09:27 AM)
When I was a kid in the 80's, my mother and neighbour would share horror stories of kids from Malaysia kidnapped and mutilated to beg in Thailand and vice versa. I was skeptical, but played safe just in case. I remember running off as fast as I could when some car stopped by the road to ask for directions. My parents taught me if anyone needs directions, they shouldn't stop and ask a kid, and to never to approach a stranger's car. biggrin.gif
ch@ich@i
post Dec 7 2023, 09:55 AM

330 posts

fuhh cina damn powderful in technology usage
TS30624770
post Dec 7 2023, 09:57 AM

269 posts

QUOTE(ch@ich@i @ Dec 7 2023, 10:55 AM)
fuhh cina damn powderful in technology usage
It’s human rights abuse lah! 😝