5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Technical Linux on PlayStation 3, Yellow Dog Linux 6.1 for PS3 released

shamsul_LP
post Aug 27 2009, 04:29 AM

642 posts

So how linux going in ps3?interesting to install but must download linux for 3.6gb shocking.gif right? sweat.gif
nakata101
post Aug 30 2009, 09:41 AM

*******(PES&WE)******* Play Like Champion
2,423 posts

Thinking to try to install linux OS in PS3, but i got 1 question is it we cannot play PS3 game after install linux??
TerryZeroX
post Aug 30 2009, 12:34 PM

Starssssss
1,072 posts

No, Its something like window's dual-boot. You get to boot up either the normal XMB or linux smile.gif So Ps3 games are still playable cause you have a make a partition on your harddisk for the linux OS

This post has been edited by TerryZeroX: Aug 30 2009, 12:34 PM
amirzzz
post Aug 30 2009, 04:42 PM

sorry new here.
try to buy new 1. that slim.
but can it use as a computer. and can some one show any picture that what u done to your ps3 with linux??
man3k
post Aug 30 2009, 04:52 PM

52 posts

I heard only PS3 Fat can install Linux. This option was removed for PS3 Slim unless you hack it.

So far the performance is okay, but after a while the OS will start to lag a bit. There is an option for you to go back to PS3/Game OS.

1 problem i've encountered is, i cannot change the screen Resolution. Dunno why. So i opted to install the linux in 720p setting in the very beginning instead. You will need to plug a USB Mouse & Keyboard in order to install it.

http://man3k.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/yell...ux-6-1-for-ps3/

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 30 2009, 04:53 PM
JusticeDeserves
post Aug 30 2009, 04:54 PM

1,914 posts

QUOTE(shamsul_LP @ Aug 27 2009, 04:29 AM)
So how linux going in ps3?interesting to install but must download linux for 3.6gb shocking.gif right? sweat.gif
i thought linux only 700mb~
man3k
post Aug 30 2009, 04:58 PM

52 posts

700mb is for Live Disc. Live Disc are meant to only install Linux OS essentials. You will need to download other programs/utilities through the update panel. However, a fully packed 3.xGB ISO/DVD is ready to install anything you select. smile.gif

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 30 2009, 05:02 PM
Thrust
post Aug 30 2009, 05:00 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

I'm still waiting for YDL 6.2.. Wonder when can we get it off the net though.
GamersFamilia
post Aug 30 2009, 05:00 PM

Videogames Enthusiast , An Avid Gamer and Videogames Collector
13,071 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Aug 30 2009, 04:52 PM)
I heard only PS3 Fat can install Linux. This option was removed for PS3 Slim unless you hack it.

So far the performance is okay, but after a while the OS will start to lag a bit. There is an option for you to go back to PS3/Game OS.

1 problem i've encountered is, i cannot change the screen Resolution. Dunno why. So i opted to install the linux in 720p setting in the very beginning instead. You will need to plug a USB Mouse & Keyboard in order to install it.

http://man3k.wordpress.com/2009/07/21/yell...ux-6-1-for-ps3/
that makes ps3 fat more special then the slim edition...
Thrust
post Aug 30 2009, 05:02 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

Ya, only the Fat PS3 can install YDL. Slimline version has this option taken away smile.gif

A question, for PS3 users who has install YDL 6.1, is it possible to upgrade it to 6.2 without uninstalling the 6.1? Something like windows update?

This post has been edited by Thrust: Aug 30 2009, 05:05 PM
shamsul_LP
post Aug 30 2009, 05:17 PM

642 posts

One more question... to install linux we must format our hardisk & make two partiton...so if i make a backup, after install linux when i restore the backup,is it the backup go to partition where ps3 os it, or it (the backup) will make Linux gone?
man3k
post Aug 30 2009, 05:35 PM

52 posts

Once you've formatted the PS3 HDD and Make 2 Partitions. Your Restored Backup Data will go to your PS3 Side of the HDD Partition. It will not make your linux disappear. For safety reasons, it's better to backup your data to an External ThumbDrive or HDD.

Before formatting, there is an option to Allot/Allocate 10GB of your PS3 HDD for Other OS. *Corrected*

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 30 2009, 05:50 PM
shamsul_LP
post Aug 30 2009, 05:41 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Aug 30 2009, 05:35 PM)
Once you've formatted the PS3 HDD and Make 2 Partitions. Your Restored Backup Data will go to your PS3 Side of the HDD Partition. It will not make your linux disappear. For safety reasons, it's better to backup your data to an External ThumbDrive or HDD.

Before formatting, there is an option to Allot/Allocate 10GB of your PS3 HDD for Linux OS. But if you feel 10GB is too much for linux. You can Custom set it yourself around 6GB. The rest will be for gaming purposes.
can custom set it?just can't find that option...only has allocate 10gb to other OS/ps3
man3k
post Aug 30 2009, 05:46 PM

52 posts

Sorry, my bad. There isn't any option for it actually. tongue.gif Now that my PC is fixed. I no longer use linux on the PS3 so much. Either Way, 10GB is okay. (That is if you don't install too much games on the PS3) Try viewing these youtube video for guides.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VfXulPhwAX4
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3thVsq3pgKA

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 30 2009, 05:51 PM
esca_flo
post Aug 30 2009, 07:51 PM

just learned how to do custom title today.....
770 posts

honestly , i installed linux on ps3 but then im not that into linux , so it went unused for sometime until i revert back my hdd to contain only gameos , so now no more linux for me. my reason to install linux is try to get mkv file to play in linux on my ps3 , i cant get it to work properly. so i just gave up.
man3k
post Aug 31 2009, 09:20 PM

52 posts

Yeah, i simply did it for fun. At the time my pc had a problem. So i was desperate for an internet browser and word processor. tongue.gif The Default PS3 Browser was too slow/not supporting some things/easily hang.

I would like to remind, Do BACKUP your PS3 games/settings/saves before format. Else your games/saves WILL be LOST. ph34r.gif Use any media storage you have, be it a Thumbdrive or External HDD. Better be safe than losing your hard-earned game progress.

This post has been edited by man3k: Aug 31 2009, 09:33 PM
shamsul_LP
post Aug 31 2009, 09:28 PM

642 posts

QUOTE(man3k @ Aug 31 2009, 09:20 PM)
Yeah, i simply did it for fun. At the time my pc had a problem. So i was desperate for an internet browser and word processor. tongue.gif The Default PS3 Browser was too slow/not supporting some things/easily hang.
me also want to do it (install linux) for fun..
Thrust
post Aug 31 2009, 09:51 PM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

Sad sad.gif Anyone knows whether Logitech Cordless Media Pro keyboard for PS3 is compatible with YDL PS3?
afrojo
post Sep 1 2009, 02:13 AM

QUOTE(Thrust @ Aug 30 2009, 05:00 PM)
I'm still waiting for YDL 6.2.. Wonder when can we get it off the net though.
sudah kuar la bro...ydl 6.2
succesful installing it but get the same problem
cant get the wifi to work
with the 6.1 cant connect the wifi at all
with the 6.2 seem connected but cannot browse others website except fixstar web which is kinda weired aarr

This post has been edited by afrojo: Sep 1 2009, 02:18 AM
Thrust
post Sep 1 2009, 08:07 AM

Power To The People!!!
3,690 posts

QUOTE(afrojo @ Sep 1 2009, 02:13 AM)
sudah kuar la bro...ydl 6.2
succesful installing it but get the same problem
cant get the wifi to work
with the 6.1 cant connect the wifi at all
with the 6.2 seem connected but cannot browse others website except fixstar web which is kinda weired aarr
ada link tak?

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0192sec    0.64    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 05:25 PM