RCCB trip on heavy lightning
TSmascot123
Nov 13 2023, 04:45 PM, updated 3y ago
Hi all sifu,
My house have two db, ground and first floor. After reading alot here and fb, I separated both circuit to have 100ma for lights and 30ma for power.
Weird thing is when heavy lightning, only the first floor 30ma rccb for power is tripped. I dont turn off my pc so I want to eliminate the tripping issue.
So far I engaged licensed pw4 electricians to check -earth grounding already below 10ohm -insulation/meager test no issue
Some thing to note: Before this the same circuit trip during rain. I have a water pump installed on the roof. Already tried isolate that the pump cause trip whenever it rains. So i rewired the wiring for the pump but still trip when rain. Then I replaced the pump itself as it is leaking as well. Now normal rain no more tripping
I want to ask what else can I do at this point? Does it make sense that it trip only first floor 30ma rccb? Does type 2 SPD help?
The rccb is hager 40a 30ma, i installed when splitting the circuit
jio
Nov 13 2023, 07:06 PM
1. Use Hi-Immunity RCCB such as Hager CH240J, Hager CDA540D or ABB AP-R (https://shopee.com.my/ABB-F202AC-40-0.03AP-R-2CSF202301R1400-ABB-RCCB-40A-2P-30mA-i.386581856.19661390144) 2. Use SPD to reduce the surge current. 3. Use leakage current clamp meter to check the standing leakage current (should be below 30% of the RCCB rating). Insulation test cannot detect leakage that only happen during operation. The fault could be hidden behind power relay or contactor inside an appliance.
TSmascot123
Nov 13 2023, 08:11 PM
QUOTE(jio @ Nov 13 2023, 07:06 PM) 1. Use Hi-Immunity RCCB such as Hager CH240J, Hager CDA540D or ABB AP-R 2. Use SPD to reduce the surge current. 3. Use leakage current clamp meter to check the standing leakage current (should be below 30% of the RCCB rating). Insulation test cannot detect leakage that only happen during operation. The fault could be hidden behind power relay or contactor inside an appliance. Which model is for 3phase ya? Current is hager cd440b. SPD install on ground floor only or both db? Leakage current clamp meter.. okay noted I get some replies saying to install time delay rccb but i cant find much info on it
TSmascot123
Nov 13 2023, 09:37 PM
Found ABB F204 on shopee, after reading spec sheets, seems like high immunity have 3kamp on maximum surge protection compared to 0.25k amp on normal rccb.. might try this first before getting spd.. spd for both db already rm1k hah
jio
Nov 13 2023, 09:50 PM
QUOTE(mascot123 @ Nov 13 2023, 08:11 PM) Which model is for 3phase ya? Current is hager cd440b. SPD install on ground floor only or both db? Leakage current clamp meter.. okay noted I get some replies saying to install time delay rccb but i cant find much info on it Hager CH440J. Or B type also will have high immunity. QUOTE(mascot123 @ Nov 13 2023, 09:37 PM) Found ABB F204 on shopee, after reading spec sheets, seems like high immunity have 3kamp on maximum surge protection compared to 0.25k amp on normal rccb.. might try this first before getting spd.. spd for both db already rm1k hah Only AP-R model is high immunity 3ka, normal is 250a. B type also 3ka. SPD only needed at the main DB. This post has been edited by jio: Nov 13 2023, 09:53 PM
TSmascot123
Nov 13 2023, 10:24 PM
ABB easier to find on shopee.. i see, i thought spd needed on both floor. But the trip is on first floor not ground floor, shouldn't i do spd on first floor? Sorry abit noob hahhah
jio
Nov 13 2023, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(mascot123 @ Nov 13 2023, 10:24 PM) ABB easier to find on shopee.. i see, i thought spd needed on both floor. But the trip is on first floor not ground floor, shouldn't i do spd on first floor? Sorry abit noob hahhah You can't really find high immunity RCCB on Shopee. You will have to order it from supplier, if there is no ready stock the lead time usually be several weeks. The spd should be immediately after main switch. Any additional spd is supplementary.
TSmascot123
Nov 14 2023, 12:18 AM
Didnt realize the part no. is abit different, almost bought the wrong one.. thanks alot for reminder
TSmascot123
Nov 15 2023, 06:43 AM
QUOTE(jio @ Nov 13 2023, 11:01 PM) You can't really find high immunity RCCB on Shopee. You will have to order it from supplier, if there is no ready stock the lead time usually be several weeks. The spd should be immediately after main switch. Any additional spd is supplementary. Hi jio, i found cdh440j on shopee which stated high immunity but for ev.. i checked the specs it is same 3ka surge. Wonder if its okay to use? I asked around and all shop reply me they dont sell high immunity or type b rccb
jio
Nov 15 2023, 12:33 PM
QUOTE(mascot123 @ Nov 15 2023, 06:43 AM) Hi jio, i found cdh440j on shopee which stated high immunity but for ev.. i checked the specs it is same 3ka surge. Wonder if its okay to use? I asked around and all shop reply me they dont sell high immunity or type b rccb CDH440J is not high immunity but type G 250A, similar like your current one. CH440J and CDA640D is the one with 3KA immunity. I suggest you use leakage current clamp meter to check the standing leakage current. If any the circuit contribute to excessive leakage current, either fix it or isolate it to a separate 10ma RCD.