Computer hardware prices

TStrent666
post Nov 12 2023, 01:07 AM, updated 3y ago

422 posts

Hi guys. Just finished buying a new budget rig on 11.11.

I'm shocked that a lot of computer parts - mobo, CPU, SSD - are more expensive than US MSRP.

The last time I put something together was a decade ago. Prices in US was higher than lowyat price list so I waited till I got back and secured parts from Techview and Linglong aka dotatech (at the time they didn't have brick and mortar shops yet).

Now, it's cheaper to put a rig together in US after conversion.

Can someone explain why? I remember that since the late 1990s, our computer hardware prices are lowest in the world. Am I wrong?

Current Events guy
post Nov 12 2023, 01:19 AM

966 posts

I'll chalk it up to our weak ringgit currently.

It's slightly better now than what it was back during covid

Theres also the fact that stuff is priced higher in retail now vs previously for the same tier, like high end cards are more than 1k USD vs below like during the 20 series gpu.
netmatrix
post Nov 12 2023, 02:08 AM

The machine... it sees everything.
6,733 posts

Confirm currency not good. Also manufacturing costs getting higher. In Sept/ Oct can still buy 480GB SSD at just slightly above RM100. Now most are going back up.
lawliet88
post Nov 12 2023, 04:45 AM

995 posts

with currency go ham
gpu some model now local could be cheaper during sales day, bought 6700 from amazon month ago becoz i want xfx 3 fan model

mobo, ssd/nvme yeah amazon cheaper

cpu i think now local cheaper, unless amazon got sales

also, most company store their stock at US (becoz amazon , walmart, microcenter exist)

Enjoise
post Nov 12 2023, 07:22 AM

462 posts

weak linggit, total damage berapa
Chanwsan
post Nov 12 2023, 08:05 AM

सोहम
1,406 posts

Weak lingkek, greedy local distros
andrekua2
post Nov 12 2023, 08:20 AM

13,478 posts

Malaysia price are cheaper than US prior to this? Really?

As far as I remembered, MY price were never competitive. We're more expensive than even Singapore.

Most of the time, I attribute it to the middle man aka main distributor who import the hardware and take a huge chunk of profit in return for establishing a service center for returns and RMA.

kslee79
post Nov 12 2023, 08:24 AM

452 posts

QUOTE(trent666 @ Nov 11 2023, 06:07 PM)

I'm shocked that a lot of computer parts - mobo, CPU, SSD - are more expensive than US MSRP.

The last time I put something together was a decade ago. Prices in US was higher than lowyat price list so I waited till I got back and secured parts from Techview and Linglong aka dotatech (at the time they didn't have brick and mortar shops yet).

Can someone explain why? I remember that since the late 1990s, our computer hardware prices are lowest in the world. Am I wrong?
I was a Uni student in US spanning from 1999 to 2002. Computer hardware price (online merchant) ha always been cheaper than in Malaysia. They get the latest and greatest at better price because of the volume and rebate programs.
andrekua2
post Nov 12 2023, 08:34 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(kslee79 @ Nov 12 2023, 08:24 AM)
I was a Uni student in US spanning from 1999 to 2002. Computer hardware price (online merchant) ha always been cheaper than in Malaysia. They get the latest and greatest at better price because of the volume and rebate programs.
Yes... Ever since I learned how to use the internet, I have never encountered things that are cheaper in MY (apart from the rare occasions where we get to buy Philips HP890 for RM120 whereas headfis in US are paying the same amouny in USD). There was once where I see Overclock Paradise (OP) selling Alpha heatsink fan for almost RM300. I managed to buy one from US for less than RM160 shipping included. It took more than 4 months to arrive and without any tracking at all. Payment by Western Union back then.
mois
post Nov 12 2023, 08:35 AM

Enemy Territory
3,626 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Nov 12 2023, 08:20 AM)
Malaysia price are cheaper than US prior to this? Really?

As far as I remembered, MY price were never competitive. We're more expensive than even Singapore.

Most of the time, I attribute it to the middle man aka main distributor who import the hardware and take a huge chunk of profit in return for establishing a service center for returns and RMA.
That is added value service isnt? If same price as US, then who gonna settle RMA and warranty stuff?
andrekua2
post Nov 12 2023, 08:39 AM

13,478 posts

QUOTE(mois @ Nov 12 2023, 08:35 AM)
That is added value service isnt? If same price as US, then who gonna settle RMA and warranty stuff?
Warranty claims are an arsehole back then. It wasn't like what it is now. It took months to get a replacement.

And they don't get them from US right? It all came from China or Taiwan. They are nearer to MY than US. It's all just because these brands never bat their eyelids on MY market and would rather just let someone else do it.

Just look at Samsung. Sometimes they are selling cheaper here than US. Great warranty as well.
beetch
post Nov 12 2023, 10:18 AM

429 posts

Blame local distributor jacking up MSRP prices.
smokey
post Nov 12 2023, 10:27 AM

Infinity speed
3,506 posts

yup
amazon 20tb hdd can get myr 1.5k ish even after x5 conversion
but malaysia is selling 2.2k
sad
tvcat
post Nov 12 2023, 11:41 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,922 posts

Cannot compare with other contry like that. Different market different price. Logistic and tax are different for every country.
Hattori
post Nov 12 2023, 12:45 PM

(ノಠ益ಠ)ノ彡┻━┻
1,186 posts

How to explain the AMD CPUs "Made in Malaysia" in Malaysian retail shops are more expensive compared to US retail price even after currency conversion ?

They exported the CPUs out from Malaysia and then reimported them to sell ?
Icehart
post Nov 12 2023, 12:48 PM

14,899 posts

Mostly to do with local distros. Unless the brand got establish own service centre in Malaysia.
And these local distros most of it end up sending back to origin country for claim anyway.
lawliet88
post Nov 12 2023, 02:33 PM

995 posts

QUOTE(Hattori @ Nov 12 2023, 12:45 PM)
How to explain the AMD CPUs "Made in Malaysia" in Malaysian retail shops are more expensive compared to US retail price even after currency conversion ?

They exported the CPUs out from Malaysia and then reimported them to sell ?
Send back to us warehouse , then redistribute to worldwide

ListenToTheWind
post Nov 12 2023, 02:41 PM

453 posts

What I notice is the prices of Seagate hard disk price.
The prices on Seagate "official store"on Shopee is about the same as the "reseller" price on distributor pricelist.

Whereas thw price on Amazon (sold and fulfill by Amazon), after convert to Ringgit is so much cheaper than what being publish on the distributor pricelist.

The difference is huge about rm2k difference for a 20TB drive. Maybe the local distributor want to make huge fat profit or the government want to make huge big profit out of import duties or maybe US put a sanction on Hard disk drive export? I don't know.
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 12 2023, 02:49 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(trent666 @ Nov 12 2023, 01:07 AM)

you should see the crazy time during covid 2020-2022

price is way higher than now

and nope, you can get much better deal than those you mentioned above in shopee/lazada

This post has been edited by JimbeamofNRT: Nov 12 2023, 02:49 PM
JimbeamofNRT
post Nov 12 2023, 02:51 PM

the Original Lanji@_ Chicken Rice Shop Since 2002
1,902 posts

QUOTE(netmatrix @ Nov 12 2023, 02:08 AM)
Confirm currency not good. Also manufacturing costs getting higher. In Sept/ Oct can still buy 480GB SSD at just slightly above RM100. Now most are going back up.
naik a bit only lah

https://shope.ee/8zeVuaCZBm

now around rm125 for 480GB SSD

few months ago was hovering around rm110 IIRC

0.0241sec    0.69    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 03:21 PM