safe weight limit for built in cabinets

TSroadie
post Nov 11 2023, 09:27 AM, updated 3y ago

335 posts

i'm moving to an apartment for the 1st time in my life. we have done built in cabinets from floor to ceiling there. i asked the cabinet contractor what is the weight limit for each shelf. he didnt know. he just said best to keep heavy stuff low and light stuff up. anyone know what the safe weight limits are on these kind of cabinets.
kesvani
post Nov 11 2023, 10:17 AM

953 posts

Hai ya. Do your own calculation. See what the material used for cabinet and the support it use. Customise stuff can calculate but proffesional fees lor. Contractor job pasang only.
TSroadie
post Nov 11 2023, 10:41 AM

335 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Nov 11 2023, 10:17 AM)
Hai ya. Do your own calculation. See what the material used for cabinet and the support it use. Customise stuff can calculate but proffesional fees lor. Contractor job pasang only.
how to calculate? i even check ikea website, their tall wardrobe that look similar to what i have, material also similar. but they dont have any weight related info in their safety or measurement section
acbc
post Nov 11 2023, 10:49 AM

9,041 posts

Light materials ok. Max 50kg.

Reason because some wardrobe used pegs to support the shelves. My IKEA wardrobe Max also 50kg. If need to add heavier items, I will add L brackets on all 4 corners.
tvcat
post Nov 11 2023, 11:06 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,893 posts

This is not industrial product, no one will calculate this. Just do as the contractor told you to.
TSroadie
post Nov 11 2023, 06:01 PM

335 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Nov 11 2023, 10:49 AM)
Light materials ok. Max 50kg.

Reason because some wardrobe used pegs to support the shelves. My IKEA wardrobe Max also 50kg. If need to add heavier items, I will add L brackets on all 4 corners.
thanks! i just got thru to ikea customer support. they said for tall wardrobe, 35kg per shelf, recommended max 5 shelves per tall frame, and 25kg on top of the frame
kesvani
post Nov 11 2023, 07:30 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Nov 11 2023, 10:41 AM)
how to calculate? i even check ikea website, their tall wardrobe that look similar to what i have, material also similar. but they dont have any weight related info in their safety or measurement section
You check the board what type of wood plywood or solid wood or other type then check how strong the wood can generally sustain. Then check the material used to support the wood and check how much can the support. Atleast you get general idea how much it cam hold.
kesvani
post Nov 11 2023, 07:31 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(roadie @ Nov 11 2023, 10:41 AM)
You check Ikea. Design might be similiar but the material most likely different
kesvani
post Nov 11 2023, 07:34 PM

953 posts

QUOTE(tvcat @ Nov 11 2023, 11:06 AM)
This is not industrial product, no one will calculate this. Just do as the contractor told you to.
It can be calculate if you can construct exact copy. Keep adding weight till failure then take percentage out before failure for buffer. That how thing is calculate sometimes
amduser
post Nov 11 2023, 07:35 PM

5,542 posts

It depends on the design of the wardrobe and how it is secured to the wall

Some of these factors include the width of the shelf, the materials of the shelf and carcass

Wood don't break out of sudden, if you try to place heavy item in it you will see it start to sag or start making cracking sound, that's when you know you need to stop
Roadwarrior1337
post Nov 11 2023, 07:37 PM

979 posts

Once you see the board bending a little bit then it’s you know
tvcat
post Nov 11 2023, 08:03 PM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,893 posts

QUOTE(kesvani @ Nov 11 2023, 07:34 PM)
It can be calculate if you can construct exact copy. Keep adding weight till failure then take percentage out before failure for buffer. That how thing is calculate sometimes
I'm not saying this cannot be calculate. Like when you have a 10KG washing machine, do you weight every time you wash? Common sense apply here.

The supported weight need to include how it is install and the material it is installed onto, not that easy even if the manufacture did mention the supported weight of said product.

The installer was right, heavy at the bottom and light at the top.

0.0178sec    0.58    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:55 PM