4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Bmw 330i vs 530i, Any thoughts

TSTan&tan
post Nov 6 2023, 09:17 AM, updated 2y ago

786 posts

Hi members recently I’m asking rx300 and glc . Then one day my friend bring me to bmw showroom and I’m amazed with what the brand offers . To cut it short . I’m still in love with sedan. Now the question is . 3 series is still the new model until 2026 ( let’s assume like what bmw always do , 7 years cycle ) and 530i is already jadi old model ( new 5 already launched in Malaysia ) I can’t afford the new 5 . Let’s say g20 and g30 is not much difference in price .
Will you go for the new 3 or the old 5 . Thanks
nomoredfox
post Nov 6 2023, 09:37 AM

324 posts

totally different segment....

i will go for G30 for the space and engine.... unless u r single..then 3 ok lor

future will be hybrids / EVs / SUVsss
whphon
post Nov 6 2023, 09:38 AM

166 posts

g30 is better
usop8290
post Nov 6 2023, 10:09 AM

998 posts

g30 530i.
TSTan&tan
post Nov 6 2023, 12:35 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(nomoredfox @ Nov 6 2023, 09:37 AM)
totally different segment....

i will go for G30 for the space and engine.... unless u r single..then 3 ok lor

future will be hybrids / EVs / SUVsss
Why engine ? I thought g20 faster ?
ktek
post Nov 6 2023, 01:11 PM

小喇叭
13,219 posts

can parking or not u try places
Raymond T.
post Nov 6 2023, 01:13 PM

Glock 19 Holder
1,368 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Nov 6 2023, 09:17 AM)
Hi members recently I’m asking rx300 and glc . Then one day my friend bring me to bmw showroom and I’m amazed with what the brand offers . To cut it short . I’m still in love with sedan. Now the question is . 3 series is still the new model until 2026 ( let’s assume like what bmw always do , 7 years cycle ) and 530i is already jadi old model ( new 5 already launched in Malaysia ) I can’t afford the new 5 . Let’s say g20 and g30 is not much difference in price .
Will you go for the new 3 or the old 5 . Thanks
530i the better choice
unitron
post Nov 6 2023, 01:53 PM

W1(R)3d
2,730 posts

All i can say as a passenger is 3 series very cramped, 5 series cramped.
ktek
post Nov 6 2023, 02:16 PM

小喇叭
13,219 posts

QUOTE(unitron @ Nov 6 2023, 01:53 PM)
All i can say as a passenger is 3 series very cramped, 5 series cramped.
unless is long wheel base edition
TSTan&tan
post Nov 6 2023, 03:52 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 6 2023, 02:16 PM)
unless is long wheel base edition
Perhaps can consider 330li . Coz if you guys who’s driving g30 for some years , the new 5 appeared it won’t bother you guys . But today , am going to buy old g30 . It seems a bit akward . Since new model is there d . Perhaps I’ll consider the new 3 peace ✌️ cramp or not it doesn’t matter as If I need space . Anytime the mini van
TSTan&tan
post Nov 6 2023, 03:52 PM

786 posts

QUOTE(ktek @ Nov 6 2023, 01:11 PM)
can parking or not u try places
Parking.?
keyser soze
post Nov 6 2023, 03:55 PM

571 posts

I heard the new 3 suspension is so stiff. Is the face lift version out already?
GamersFamilia
post Nov 6 2023, 05:12 PM

Proud to be Malaysian
17,901 posts

QUOTE(whphon @ Nov 6 2023, 09:38 AM)
g30 is better
agreed nod.gif
alexace88
post Nov 6 2023, 05:14 PM

41 posts

330i. the space is not like the old 3 series. more spacious now. almost like the old 5 series.

This post has been edited by alexace88: Nov 6 2023, 05:15 PM
ktek
post Nov 6 2023, 05:42 PM

小喇叭
13,219 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Nov 6 2023, 03:52 PM)
Parking.?
5 meter

QUOTE(keyser soze @ Nov 6 2023, 03:55 PM)
I heard the new 3 suspension is so stiff. Is the face lift version out already?
rim so bigs
constant_weight
post Nov 6 2023, 10:16 PM

916 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Nov 6 2023, 03:52 PM)
Perhaps can consider 330li . Coz if you guys who’s driving g30 for some years , the new 5 appeared it won’t bother you guys . But today , am going to buy old g30 . It seems a bit akward . Since new model is there d . Perhaps I’ll consider the new 3 peace ✌️ cramp or not it doesn’t matter as If I need space . Anytime the mini van
Used or BMW Premium Selection M340i
Boy96
post Nov 7 2023, 03:13 AM

That's a tripod.
3,848 posts

As a 330Li driver, sat in the new bmw i5 earlier. The legroom is not up to par... Very cramped for its size
jonlee
post Nov 7 2023, 03:49 AM

143 posts

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Nov 6 2023, 12:35 PM)
Why engine ? I thought g20 faster ?
G20 and G30 are the generation code for 3 and 5 series. Under those two there are various variants, here are the ones I know of which are sold in Malaysia.

320i 330e 330i 330i Black out edition 330Li M340i

520i 530e 530i

Basically the first number is model, second number is engine 'rating', higher = more powerful. e is PHEV and i at the back means ICE. so 330i and 530i share the same engine...anyway you get the idea.

I drive 330i and 530e on regular basis, this is what I felt. The 3 series is a more 'fun' car to drive.. its smaller size means it accelerate faster, weave through traffic faster, its responsive, totally fits their motto 'sheer driving pleasure' So it's a very driver centric car. However, suspension are super stiff, you feel every bump, every hiccup on uneven roads. Smaller cabin means 3 passengers is ideal than 4. parking is way easier.

5 series is everything the 3 series isn't, spacious, smooth and firm ride, you can cruise more comfortably. Fits 4 passengers comfortably and not worry about them getting car sick. I find myself wanting to sit at the rear passenger seat often because its that comfortable. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying it's not a fun car to drive, its just a better if roads are wide and straight. Parking... well you just need 1 or 2 more turns, no biggie.

p/s if you are considering the 3 series, look out for the 2022 330i black out edition or 2021 M340i, might get a good deal. Else, get the 530i

Hope my thought helps

This post has been edited by jonlee: Nov 7 2023, 03:52 AM
TSTan&tan
post Nov 7 2023, 06:11 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(jonlee @ Nov 7 2023, 03:49 AM)
G20 and G30 are the generation code for 3 and 5 series. Under those two there are various variants, here are the ones I know of which are sold in Malaysia.

320i 330e 330i 330i Black out edition 330Li M340i

520i 530e 530i

Basically the first number is model, second number is engine 'rating', higher = more powerful. e is PHEV and i at the back means ICE. so 330i and 530i share the same engine...anyway you get the idea.

I drive 330i and 530e on regular basis, this is what I felt. The 3 series is a more 'fun' car to drive.. its smaller size means it accelerate faster, weave through traffic faster, its responsive, totally fits their motto 'sheer driving pleasure' So it's a very driver centric car. However, suspension are super stiff, you feel every bump, every hiccup on uneven roads. Smaller cabin means 3 passengers is ideal than 4. parking is way easier.

5 series is everything the 3 series isn't, spacious, smooth and firm ride, you can cruise more comfortably. Fits 4 passengers comfortably and not worry about them getting car sick. I find myself wanting to sit at the rear passenger seat often because its that comfortable. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying it's not a fun car to drive, its just a better if roads are wide and straight. Parking... well you just need 1 or 2 more turns, no biggie.

p/s if you are considering the 3 series, look out for the 2022 330i black out edition or 2021 M340i, might get a good deal. Else, get the 530i

Hope my thought helps
Noted and thanks for the input . May I check what’s the difference of the black out edition ?
em_on
post Nov 7 2023, 06:20 AM

On My Way
612 posts

Side note : why u ditched Rx300?

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0241sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:54 AM