Reno on IBS homes, minor and major

TSdas99990428
post Nov 1 2023, 03:11 PM, updated 3y ago

119 posts

Hi there...

A new house owner of an IBS house project by Scientex. I want to ask a few questions regarding this type of house, the IBS house.

From what I've read, major reno on the house might be tricky, but most references I looked up did not specify what makes up a major reno..

There are several things we (me and my wife) would like to do to the house since we have observed that many "flaws" can be seen in that newly built house of ours.

1. Extending our second floor

Since there's a balcony access from the master bedroom, the balcony wall itself is very low, and the neighbours can literally jump into our balcony, we would like to extend the balcony until the end, perhaps either extending the master bedroom or making it a big open-space balcony there. Indirectly, we can get a covered porch for our cars.

My question for this is: Is this considered one of the limitations of an IBS house as it might "interfere" with the overall structure of the house?

2. Plug points

I don't know what was on the minds of the Scientex people, but the power plug for each area of the house only has one power plug. Damn boy, in this day and age, everything requires power access, and we need way more than just an outlet for each space. So, I was thinking of adding a few power plugs in each room and space area. But I'm not talking about buying a socket and DIYing it and making it look hideous with a power socket sticking out from the wall. I want the additional wall plugs to be flush with the wall, making it more aesthetically pleasing.

My question is: is it achievable with IBS house? I literally need to knock down, or partially knock down, the wall and pull the wires to extend to other parts of the walls in the room. Again, will it interfere with the structure of the house?

3. Shared bathroom on the second floor

I didn't expect the shared bathroom to be that small; it is no bigger than 2-toilet stalls in malls! We visited the showroom house, and the shared toilet was apparently decent enough for us, but what we got was a kind of disappointing. So, our plan is to tear down the wall of the shared bathroom (which is beside the 2nd bedroom) and maybe extend it a bit, eventually making the 2nd bedroom much smaller.

My question is the same as previously: is it achievable with IBS house?

4. The third floor of the house

It is an open space, very spacious. So we were thinking of building another toilet on the third floor.

My question is the same as previously.

I hope you can give some insights and help a fellow new home owner clear his doubts.

Thanks!
anep
post Nov 1 2023, 03:42 PM

OverClocker (Retired)
2,027 posts

is this strata title?
tvcat
post Nov 2 2023, 07:49 AM

Mr. Dumb Dumb
2,892 posts

Better consult with multiple contractors.
bryant601
post Nov 2 2023, 08:37 AM

grrrrrrrrr
1,066 posts

i would suggest better find out back whose the consultant who actually design and did the calculation. they would understand your concerns and advise accordingly.
Phyarc
post Nov 2 2023, 09:44 AM

153 posts

Not all precast house is built the same. So hardly anybody can advise exactly other than the original designer/contractor/developer unless drawings are available for others to study.

If it is a strata property, house rules & restriction applies.

Enquire the developer where can hack or not hackable and etc. They sold the product, purchaser has the right to know. Their engineer would have informed them and if not, they can check with their original engineer or you contact the engineer directly. Can also purchase copy of the structural drawings. Developer may even have renovation guideline ready. As you and family will stay in the house, better have professional engineer with experience in pre-cast system to advise.

If you modify during DLP, it will void warranty.

This post has been edited by Phyarc: Nov 2 2023, 09:45 AM
TSdas99990428
post Nov 2 2023, 10:57 AM

119 posts

QUOTE(anep @ Nov 1 2023, 03:42 PM)
is this strata title?
QUOTE(Phyarc @ Nov 2 2023, 09:44 AM)
Not all precast house is built the same. So hardly anybody can advise exactly other than the original designer/contractor/developer unless drawings are available for others to study.

If it is a strata property, house rules & restriction applies.

Enquire the developer where can hack or not hackable and etc. They sold the product, purchaser has the right to know. Their engineer would have informed them and if not, they can check with their original engineer or you contact the engineer directly. Can also purchase copy of the structural drawings. Developer may even have renovation guideline ready. As you and family will stay in the house, better have professional engineer with experience in pre-cast system to advise.

If you modify during DLP, it will void warranty.
Its strata title.

Thanks for the replies. Need to consult with the agent that sold us the house then.

EDIT:

I just remember, they also do not have socket for the ethernet.. How lah to install fibre to the house? rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by das99990428: Nov 2 2023, 10:59 AM

0.0150sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:44 AM