Build-then-sell housing delivery system incoming

Tan&tan
post Oct 30 2023, 12:52 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(icemanfx @ Oct 29 2023, 08:12 PM)
Build the sell is meant to have developers to carry incompletion risks and to protect home buyers but many here are more keen to protect developers interest.
After so many replies from you . Only this I can listen. 1000000000000% agree
IAmYourFather
post Oct 30 2023, 08:36 AM

217 posts

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Oct 27 2023, 09:54 PM)
haha all feature buyer need to buy expansive property already. As developer need to bear higher risk and more uncertainty.

For example, project very high density like m vertica & razak city will be easy to sell before built, but once it built then people saw the project very high dense then will lose interested, so the project like this will be harder to sell at this scheme.
If anything isn't this good for the consumers? Bear in mind all the developers are selling at future price. We are not in the era where people need to queue to buy property anymore, we have oversupplied of them especially in klang valley right now.

I only see win for consumer
icemanfx
post Oct 30 2023, 09:17 AM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(Rol_98 @ Oct 28 2023, 09:50 AM)
If built then sell, there would be a huge down payment needed right? Nowadays youngster where got money to dump in.
As if buyers currently don't need to make down payment in spa.

QUOTE(Aldo-Kirosu @ Oct 28 2023, 10:49 AM)
Yes down payment needed. It's all about the valuation. If the valuation cannot fit the property price, more downpayment needed. Of course developer will adjust the package to overcome the problem but this will also come.out with another problem. If developer rushing to sell, they will actually aiming for bulk purchase group. As they want clear stock faster and get back the cost.

A lot unsold completed highrise project (right now) are actually corporate with bulk purchase group. So under this scheme I can see its a new heaven for bulk purchase group business.
Currently, value is decided by developers whim and fancy. on completed units, after comparing transacted of similar units in the vicinity, valuers could quote fair market price. buyers are less likely to be water fish.

QUOTE(lioncarlsberg @ Oct 29 2023, 03:27 PM)
A build-then-sell concept may not always help. Today there are so many unsold units in several locations, available for sale immediately but yet people would rather queue and book a newly launching project so that they can be the first to choose their preferred floor, preferred side etc.

Even if in future, the government imposes a build-then-sell concept, I won't be surprised if there will be buyers who will pay in advance to book their preferred unit.
When supply > demand, there still be oversupply either way.
kbandito
post Oct 30 2023, 09:30 AM

1,184 posts

How much premium are you willing to pay for to eliminate the risk of sell-than-build? That premium will be priced into your purchase price.

This post has been edited by kbandito: Oct 30 2023, 09:31 AM
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Oct 30 2023, 09:39 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

For build then sell scheme, the most affected are the small developer, they may not have ability to fund the whole project
Rinth
post Oct 30 2023, 09:45 AM

1,263 posts

Build then sell system wont be execute widely....Developer have to funds the whole construction, which even some big developers might have hardship to fund it...The current sell then build provides funding for developer thru bridging loan from banks, if there is no sales then bridging loan method could not works...

Most possible scenario for build then sell to happen is for landed properties only, shorter construction periods, less costly (land cost aside), and its more feasible to build row by row & deliver with limited infrastructure access...

For condo most likely not possible, and someone mentioned Sapphire WCT project, thats a fail project example for a build then sell...where got developer still dare to proceed with it....

and we haven't touch on possible higher price (due to developer funding whole projects), lower quality (to cost saving and faster completion), more hangover (built then unable to sell), unfair package to purchaser( 1st batch buyer might bought at higher price, later buyer got more discount due to developer clearing stocks), and so on.

This post has been edited by Rinth: Oct 30 2023, 09:50 AM
Angellynx
post Oct 30 2023, 09:58 AM

215 posts

The "good" thing about real estate for new comer at the moment was always the low entry point. (Can or cannot afford after purchase that one different story altogether).

If this scheme were to be implemented, a few things i foresee will happen:
1. Definitely a price hike set by the developer due to risk absorption
2. Mid-to-small sized developer will no longer have ball game in this sector due to capital constraint, and ultimately leads to lesser competition (and only in-between the big guys which they tend to have superb holding power)
3. SPA value & market value gap (completed project no longer use SPA price as 90%, but valuation required), which may lead to a huge hurdle for home buyer as they need to fork out tons of cash up front (I would say maybe >20-25% of the price?)
4. Harder for people to buy house, rich getting richer, those who don't own house will have to rent, maybe forever.

Personally I favor this scheme la, but don't implement so fast, let me buy few more first brows.gif
jetzxp
post Oct 30 2023, 10:00 AM

722 posts

anyone know which country implemented this system?
Jingle91
post Oct 30 2023, 10:05 AM

682 posts

I know both MetroKajang and SHL Property has been following build then sell concept since 20 years ago for their landed house, price is reasonable.

Like SHL they had successfully built the Sungai Long township.
PAChamp
post Oct 30 2023, 10:07 AM

1,159 posts

QUOTE(Angellynx @ Oct 30 2023, 09:58 AM)
The "good" thing about real estate for new comer at the moment was always the low entry point. (Can or cannot afford after purchase that one different story altogether).

If this scheme were to be implemented, a few things i foresee will happen:
1. Definitely a price hike set by the developer due to risk absorption
2. Mid-to-small sized developer will no longer have ball game in this sector due to capital constraint, and ultimately leads to lesser competition (and only in-between the big guys which they tend to have superb holding power)
3. SPA value & market value gap (completed project no longer use SPA price as 90%, but valuation required), which may lead to a huge hurdle for home buyer as they need to fork out tons of cash up front (I would say maybe >20-25% of the price?)
4. Harder for people to buy house, rich getting richer, those who don't own house will have to rent, maybe forever.

Personally I favor this scheme la, but don't implement so fast, let me buy few more first  brows.gif
I agree to what you say. I am all for build then sell as it provides security for the buyer. Aussie practices this. But the consequences of which many do not forsee is what you have mentioned. As a small time property investor, i am all for it. Why? Supply will greatly reduce. Not many more rumahwip/rumah selangorku will be launched as developers will need lots of capital locked up for tiny margin or even loss making project leaving less capital for profitable projects. Only big developers will benefit as with less competition, they can price their properties much higher. So enough talk lah MOH, just implement already!!! BTS! BTS! BTS!

ps. Bandar Utama Developer practice BTS for their BU9 condo...... i think so many years already still not fully sold, due to pricing , i think they use future future pricing which havent arrived yet
Cavatzu
post Oct 30 2023, 10:20 AM

2,834 posts

QUOTE(jetzxp @ Oct 30 2023, 10:00 AM)
anyone know which country implemented this system?
This used to be common in Western countries like Australia but these were primarily low rise units. Some of the bigger developers like Meriton operate like this with high rise. But pre-sales became common once the Chinese developers came in.

For landed, they do progressive payments and you can customize a bit.
Angellynx
post Oct 30 2023, 10:57 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(PAChamp @ Oct 30 2023, 10:07 AM)
I agree to what you say. I am all for build then sell as it provides security for the buyer. Aussie practices this. But the consequences of which many do not forsee is what you have mentioned. As a small time property investor, i am all for it. Why? Supply will greatly reduce. Not many more rumahwip/rumah selangorku will be launched as developers will need lots of capital locked up for tiny margin or even loss making project leaving less capital for profitable projects. Only big developers will benefit as with less competition, they can price their properties much higher. So enough talk lah MOH, just implement already!!! BTS! BTS! BTS!

ps. Bandar Utama Developer practice BTS for their BU9 condo...... i think so many years already still not fully sold, due to pricing , i think they use future future pricing which havent arrived yet
I think pricing mismatch is a thing, another thing is people are not ready to actually splash cash to buy house. (Or they are not aware of doh.gif )
Given a scenario let say developer wants to sell the unit for 1Mil (SPA price), valuation is at 900K. Loan of 90% (let say LTV for the buyer is still 1st or 2nd house) FROM THE VALUATION PRICE = 900k x 90% which is 810k
Imagine the buyer have to pay upfront 190K DP EXCLUDING paper works and etc., which easily costs another 70+k easily which adds up to like 260K, before we even talk about renovation works blink.gif

I can only say Malaysians are getting too pampered when comes to property purchase. Here cannot there cannot, 0 downpayment still want 100% loan la, cashback la, free this free that la. Haiyaaaaaaa..... sweat.gif
When BTS time comes, I'll be glad to say: "Ha, baru kau tau rclxms.gif "
StupidGuyPlayComp
post Oct 30 2023, 11:51 AM

Kenny Is Here
13,681 posts

QUOTE(Angellynx @ Oct 30 2023, 10:57 AM)
I think pricing mismatch is a thing, another thing is people are not ready to actually splash cash to buy house. (Or they are not aware of  doh.gif )
Given a scenario let say developer wants to sell the unit for 1Mil (SPA price), valuation is at 900K. Loan of 90% (let say LTV for the buyer is still 1st or 2nd house) FROM THE VALUATION PRICE = 900k x 90% which is 810k
Imagine the buyer have to pay upfront 190K DP EXCLUDING paper works and etc., which easily costs another 70+k easily which adds up to like 260K, before we even talk about renovation works  blink.gif
I can only say Malaysians are getting too pampered when comes to property purchase. Here cannot there cannot, 0 downpayment still want 100% loan la, cashback la, free this free that la. Haiyaaaaaaa..... sweat.gif
When BTS time comes, I'll be glad to say: "Ha, baru kau tau  rclxms.gif "
for new project, even with build the sell scheme, the valuation most likely still in 100% of selling price
Aldo-Kirosu
post Oct 30 2023, 11:52 AM

662 posts

Under this scheme, i feel either government want to boost the sub-sale property market or limited to approve new high-rise project at city center.

Under this scheme we can see building landed project is easier compare to highrise, so maybe this is also a policy government encourage developer to develop outskirt area with everyone most favours landed property project.

icemanfx
post Oct 30 2023, 01:27 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(Angellynx @ Oct 30 2023, 10:57 AM)
I think pricing mismatch is a thing, another thing is people are not ready to actually splash cash to buy house. (Or they are not aware of  doh.gif )
Imagine the buyer have to pay upfront 190K DP EXCLUDING paper works and etc., which easily costs another 70+k easily which adds up to like 260K, before we even talk about renovation works  blink.gif
When BTS time comes, I'll be glad to say: "Ha, baru kau tau  rclxms.gif "
If buyers couldn't save for 10% down payment, it could be stretched to make monthly loan repayment.

icemanfx
post Oct 30 2023, 01:30 PM

21,458 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Oct 30 2023, 09:30 AM)
How much premium are you willing to pay for to eliminate the risk of sell-than-build? That premium will be priced into your purchase price.
In the last decade, developers already priced in this premium/future price. a reason why flippers hardly could make money.

Chanzeryl
post Oct 30 2023, 08:48 PM

646 posts

DAP is good good friend with developer, look at Penang, sure won't risk angering developer with new nonsense scheme, must continue squeezing buyers tongue.gif
Tan&tan
post Oct 31 2023, 01:17 AM

786 posts

QUOTE(kbandito @ Oct 30 2023, 09:30 AM)
Don’t buy lo . Macam la tak ada rumah nak tinggal . Adoi . Wake up buyers . Kena water fish so many years d .
forever1979
post Oct 31 2023, 07:31 AM

2,854 posts

follow ah mou style, rent and not buying...
Rinth
post Oct 31 2023, 09:44 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(StupidGuyPlayComp @ Oct 30 2023, 11:51 AM)
for new project, even with build the  sell scheme, the valuation most likely still in 100% of selling price
not really, valuation will be an issue if the SPA price is too premium compare to surrounding market price...most of the time valuer use the surrounding market price as measurement....but of course in this bolehland sometimes can do magic, see the developer want or dun want only....but it'll be challenging...

QUOTE(Tan&tan @ Oct 31 2023, 01:17 AM)
Don’t buy lo . Macam la tak ada rumah nak tinggal . Adoi . Wake up buyers . Kena water fish so many years d .
QUOTE(forever1979 @ Oct 31 2023, 07:31 AM)
follow ah mou style, rent and not buying...
but but but malaysian dun like to help other ppl serve installment....why help other ppl to own a house when you can top up abit and own it yourself....

7 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0306sec    1.53    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:08 PM