6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Banking GXBank - First Malaysian Digital Bank (by Grab), UNLIMITED 1% cashback+3% p.a. interest!

soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 05:29 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(exeon @ Apr 11 2024, 05:09 PM)
Many are too relying on their smartphone calculator that made the rounding automatically for them, should use this

If want illustration of different answers from different calculators/devices/apps can try this:
arcsin (arccos (arctan (tan (cos (sin (9) ) ) ) ) )
*in degrees mode
http://www.rskey.org/~mwsebastian/miscprj/models.htm

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 11 2024, 05:43 PM
soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 05:50 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(Optizorb @ Apr 11 2024, 05:30 PM)

Now im just interested to find out how come they credit the 2% part as 0.26 and not 0.27, likewise for the 3% part as 0.41 and not 0.40
Ya wor. I haven't looked at the transactions but now I have and I see what you mean.

Looks like error on GXB part. Somehow they rounded the 3pct ie: 0.40499998461 to 0.41 (not as per their doc)
but 5pct is: 0.67499999082 to 0.67 (as per their doc)
Based on the above: 2pct = 5pct - 3pct = 0.67-0.41 = 0.26

weird...

Update:
If 3pct is calculated using (at least) 15 decimal points then it becomes 0.41. And 2pct becomes 0.26. Then it tallies with the GXB credit transactions that we see in the app for RM4941.

No change to 4941.01

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 11 2024, 06:26 PM
soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 10:38 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 11 2024, 09:19 PM)
so for RM4941 interest RM0.67 memang correct lah.
you cannot just round it
you have to either round it up or round it down.
when you round a long numbers you either cut some or add some.

GXbank made a mistake on which decimal to round up/down
---
Yes, correct. Rounding means rounding up or down or no change. Yes, some cut or some add.

For RM4941, 0.67 (0.40+0.27) is correct but the 2 interest credited (0.41+0.26) is incorrect.

(0.41+0.26) is correct if 3% interest is calculated using 15 decimal points while the others are 11 decimal points (as per their example in pdf).

So far, GXBank seems consistent with rounding on the nth+1 decimal point. As stated explicitly with examples in one of their TnCs. This one is quite clear. For interest, they round to the nearest sen ie: n=2.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 11 2024, 11:05 PM
soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 10:55 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 11 2024, 10:49 PM)
so GXbank made a mistake on that 3% it should be RM0.40 and not RM0.41 which is the source of your headache.

Important to note that this is not a rounding mistake then it becomes clear.
soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 11:36 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 11 2024, 11:15 PM)
what mistake then?
calculation mistake?

it should be rounded down to RM0.40
but GXbank made a rounding mistake
went rounded it up to RM0.41
Precision. 11 vs 15.

Assuming they use standard function for something as common as round. For example in php: round(number,precision);

It's observed that both 11 and 15 were used for precision.

We know they use 11 because their example uses 11.
From GXB's PDF: Interest rate per day = 3% p.a. / 365 days = 0.00008219178
(0.000082191780822)

For RM4941, if they use 11 consistently then it should 0.40 + 0.27

I believe they used 15 for the 3% because that's one way to get 0.41 + 0.26.
It may be that they use 15 or they forgot to set precision and their system defaults to 15.

It's the same reason I got 4941 which is wrong because my calculator defaults to precision of 15 decimal points. Using GXB's 11 decimal points, the magic number should 4941.01.
soonwai
post Apr 11 2024, 11:49 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 11 2024, 11:32 PM)
How to round it up if next decimal is  less than 5?

I give  few numbers below awaiting for round up from whoever can confirm it

any one can confirm all  would be rounded  up to 0.05, 0.13, 0.35 and 0.46?

i think  only 0.46 can happen, the rests would be rounded down.

The Raya 2% was incorrectly done  because GXbank has rounded up wrongly
something that should be rounded down..
Rounded would be like this. Old school behaviour.
0.0445 -> 0.04
0.1247 -> 0.12
0.3449 -> 0.34
0.4550 -> 0.46

It can be more complicated. For example, in Swift, round can have different behaviours: awayFromZero, toNearestOrAwayFromZero, toNearestOrEven, towardZero, down, up or just old school round (which is toNearestOrAwayFromZero).

As far as GXB is concerned, I've tested that 0.005 rounds to 0.01. RM61 @ 3% gives 1 sen interest. (0.005000000000015) This is with at least a precision of 15 decimal points.
14 decimal points will get 0 sen. (0.00499999981)
Then you're back to 1 sen at 8 decimal points precision. (0.00500017)

The 3% is incorrect. The Raya 2% was incorrectly done because of the 3%.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 12 2024, 12:27 AM
soonwai
post Apr 12 2024, 12:43 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Apr 12 2024, 12:35 AM)
Source: from Facebook group

"more precise than any other calculator" hmm.gif  hmm.gif
Nevermind lah. We lose 1 sen for every RM4941.00 @ 5% but GXBank lose 1 sen for every RM61 @ 3%. Just because 3% is using a precision of 15 instead of 11 decimal points.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 12 2024, 12:51 AM
soonwai
post Apr 12 2024, 10:43 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(LostAndFound @ Apr 12 2024, 10:08 AM)
In the midst of everyone doing detailed calculation suddenly can have 'pick from air' numbers like this. To earn 1 million at 10 cents per pax over 30 days need 333,333 customers to be affected. Each customer save 3k (at exactly the right decimal value per pocket)?
GX's 15 decimal points oddity has been present at least 10 days before the Raya promo. It makes them payout 1 sen for every pocket that has RM61 @3%. RM61 should be 0 sen interest if calculated with 11 decimal points.
soonwai
post Apr 12 2024, 01:11 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(gooroojee @ Apr 12 2024, 12:42 PM)
Actually the excess you can park in main account.. best is rm60.84 to earn another 1 sen each day.
Are you sure? I calculated 61.00. 3% and 15 decimal points.
For 11 decimal points, 61.01
soonwai
post Apr 12 2024, 01:57 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(virtualgay @ Apr 12 2024, 01:48 PM)
I cannot tahan u all go down till cents
But again this is how u all get rich
Keep it up even I cannot tahan is fine
just for the lulz. When dealing with bank, have no mercy, cos they won't. sweat.gif
soonwai
post Apr 13 2024, 03:42 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(guy3288 @ Apr 12 2024, 11:27 PM)
bro
are you sure there?
with 8 decimal precision you can  get 0.00500017?

if at 14 you are down to 0.00499999981
at 8 decimal i expect you to be down ever further.
Yeah, I'm sure. Less (or more) precision just affects accuracy, it doesn't make a number larger or smaller.
soonwai
post Apr 14 2024, 06:17 PM


11,458 posts

If no letrik, cannot charge car, how to go bank?
soonwai
post Apr 18 2024, 08:26 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 18 2024, 08:02 AM)
A reply from my "missing" 0.01 from the RM4941 Savings pocket
Ask them why the RM61 main pocket got extra 1 sen.
soonwai
post Apr 19 2024, 10:56 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 19 2024, 10:31 AM)
add to get 5% in the pockets?
just sign up GX bank

if I create a pocket, I need to put in RM 5k in the pocket right?

not the main account, am i right?

3% in from the main account is it?

thank you
QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 19 2024, 10:35 AM)
and get the physical gx card is free right?
Yes to all. RM4941.01 in pocket.
soonwai
post Apr 19 2024, 10:57 AM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(BboyDora @ Apr 19 2024, 10:48 AM)
yaya. i mean i can put as low as RM 100 to enjoy the 5%.

may i ask why only 4942 and not RM 5k?  biggrin.gif

coz I didnt read the GX bank long lengthy terms and conditions...hhaha
No need RM100. Pocket RM36.61 cukup.

because you get the same amount of interest per day. 1 sen and 68 sen.

Actually not in the TnC.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 19 2024, 11:00 AM
soonwai
post Apr 19 2024, 02:19 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(ronnie @ Apr 19 2024, 02:05 PM)
join the 4941.01 gang !!!
ngam ngam
soonwai
post Apr 20 2024, 01:28 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(gaijin @ Apr 20 2024, 12:44 PM)
If 5% , Rm5k should have higher interest right ? There is a cap ?  blink.gif
Yes, Rm5k will have higher interest than RM4941. Same interest as RM4941.01.

Why, you might ask. GXBank answers "Our system uses a specific algorithm for this calculation, which might result in a slight difference (e.g., RM 0.01) compared to the figure generated by a regular calculator."

If got extra money, put in 5015.03 5014.23 into 3 pockets, that'll get you RM0.70 or extra 2 sen daily.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 20 2024, 01:57 PM
soonwai
post Apr 20 2024, 01:47 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Apr 20 2024, 01:45 PM)
Max is 68 cents la. More than that you will be earning 3%
Correct. Even more correct is: Max is 68 sen per pocket lah.

Note: I'm using a regular calculator app, which might result in a slight difference (e.g., RM 0.01) compared to the figure generated by a specific algorithm for this calculation.

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 20 2024, 01:51 PM
soonwai
post Apr 20 2024, 01:56 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(victorian @ Apr 20 2024, 01:50 PM)
You can get more than 68 cents for each pocket, just that the Raya interest is capped at 27 cents
Also correct. Don't misunderstand. I'm not saying that you're wrong. I'm just saying for RM5015.03, I get 70 sen daily interest. If got extra pockets, I'll take a screenshot later.

Actually RM5015.03 is wrong. Later I post correct figure.
soonwai
post Apr 20 2024, 07:50 PM


11,458 posts

QUOTE(Chiggah @ Apr 20 2024, 06:13 PM)
Yes I’m getting 69 cents coz I just randomly put rm5100 in there
If you put RM5014.23 into 3 pockets actually can get 70 sens. 68+1+1

This post has been edited by soonwai: Apr 20 2024, 07:51 PM

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top