Banking GXBank - First Malaysian Digital Bank (by Grab), UNLIMITED 1% cashback+3% p.a. interest!

shawnme
post Dec 10 2023, 07:15 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(westlife @ Dec 10 2023, 05:31 PM)
i think it is highly likely that the rebate tnc is no different than cc. dun think they will give rebate for government bills etc..
I've seen all these clearly stated somewhere when it first started.. It's all been stated, and I remember it being similar to CC.

One moment, let me try to recall.

Here it is..i know I wasn't dreaming.. Haha

https://gxbank.my/docs/general/GX-Card-PDS-(Nov2023).pdf

Wait.. That's not it.. Sorry.. Later I'll try to find it.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Dec 10 2023, 07:20 PM
shawnme
post Dec 10 2023, 08:53 PM

743 posts

There you go.

https://gxbank.my/campaign-tnc
shawnme
post Dec 10 2023, 09:31 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(privatequity @ Dec 10 2023, 09:29 PM)
when can we apply?
I wouldn't know.
shawnme
post Dec 10 2023, 09:34 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(FLYING PANTIES @ Dec 10 2023, 09:24 PM)
But what does 3% p.a daily intest means?  hmm.gif

In this case, I'd suggest referring to Google.
shawnme
post Dec 10 2023, 10:06 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Dec 10 2023, 09:55 PM)
Cukai Pintu, Cukai Tanah count as uneligible?
I'm sorry, I'm not able to confirm that. I've never had the chance to try it out with credit cards either, I can only guess that it's ineligible. icon_rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by shawnme: Dec 10 2023, 10:06 PM
shawnme
post Dec 12 2023, 05:38 PM

743 posts

I'm not familiar with digital banks, so I'm asking. Would there usually be a web based access in the future?

If not, it would be a headache whenever app is down, phone no battery, lost of phone, etc. Wouldn't it?

Since it's unlike Versa, which has no urgency for withdrawal or multiple transactions a day. Hopefully you get what I mean.
shawnme
post Dec 14 2023, 08:19 PM

743 posts

Sounds fickle like an ewallet, much less of a bank..

Speaking of which.. I think something is up with my account as well.. I'm not able to transfer in. Tried transferring in from different sources, all same name, but fails.

Update, after a chat with CS, magically it works again.

Received automated email from OCBC, showing "Reason:TRX NOT ALLOW"

This post has been edited by shawnme: Dec 14 2023, 08:56 PM
shawnme
post Dec 15 2023, 01:25 PM

743 posts

Damn...I tried a few times. I realize that I am unable to receive funds when Automatic Time Zone (Android) is disabled.

Newly encountered since yesterday. Was never this way when it first launched.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Dec 15 2023, 01:43 PM
shawnme
post Dec 18 2023, 04:41 PM

743 posts

Just to share.

I registered for GX ever since the day they launched with limited users, and it has yet to show up in my Grab app to link the account. Same number used.

Didn't bother to follow up, as it doesn't matter to me, but my other account, it showed up pretty quickly and everything went smoothly including the cashback for unlimited.
shawnme
post Jan 7 2024, 04:55 PM

743 posts

Received an email in my Spam folder requesting for relationships and source of funds. Only by luck, I saw..
Confirmed with CS that the email is legit. Even so, still felt weird.. Especially with the surge of scam warnings about GX.

Not an issue as I keep proper documentation, but lack confidence. Probably because I've never had issues from other bank accounts, while all these time only wary of ewallets.
Now it feels even more of an ewallet rather than a proper bank account... Haha.. "like a crazy ex-gf", someone once mentioned.

Anyway, withdrew most of the balance until further clarification, then I'll decide.

Anyway, just my experience ... Cheers!
shawnme
post Jan 7 2024, 05:18 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(thecurious @ Jan 7 2024, 05:03 PM)
They request for the info, if don't give them then they close account?

Or they just request without any objective or penalty?
Ah, I don't know. But I guess they may have the right to freeze account or similar for anti money laundering purposes.

It's not the info/request that is an issue, in fact, it's pretty common I'd say, and I always have documentations ready for instants like these. It's the overall GX experience that doesn't feel right to me, I guess.

Anyway, to each their own..
shawnme
post Jan 7 2024, 06:25 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(ericlaiys @ Jan 7 2024, 06:10 PM)
what u did previously that triggered it? deposit or withdraw too many?
I'm not quite sure myself..

Another reason I can think of probably, are the petty to medium amount transactions to/from self/family.
For this, I use GX as somewhat like KDI but more liquid..
So since there's nothing else can be done with the app, even funds can't be withdrawn say from KDI into GX directly as its not listed, and inconvenient to pay with as well, it'll be transferred back to my main accounts in due time.
Not too keen on memorizing every account number and typing each..

Guess what was posted earlier was right.. I'll just have to get used to it, or not use it after all.. Just feels weird when I have to email my birth certificate or similar.. Haha... Feels exposed like naked, especially with our well known cyber security

Year end, too much time to play around and join the hype.. Hahaha.. Play with fire, feel the burn..

This post has been edited by shawnme: Jan 7 2024, 06:27 PM
shawnme
post Jan 30 2024, 01:09 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Jwkhor @ Jan 30 2024, 12:57 PM)
Anyone else gotten an email from gxbank asking for RFI(request for information)? Just wondering if its legit and should i reply or contact them directly to clarify.

Yes. Spoke to CS, gave my case ID, verified legit for my case.

I'd suggest you to check with CS.

This post has been edited by shawnme: Jan 30 2024, 01:13 PM
shawnme
post Feb 7 2024, 01:42 PM

743 posts

Do you notice that the part in the "pocket" where it shows interest earned since opened, isn't showing correctly today?

Interest earned for yesterday isn't summed. However, the grand total is correct.
shawnme
post Feb 25 2024, 08:39 AM

743 posts

Very weird. I'm not able to receive funds to GX right now. Tried multiple banks, same...
Not always, but occasionally even though rare.

I recall that I face similar issue in the past, however I couldn't find a post if I've mentioned it..

update : now it works...after multiple tries...weird...and somewhat gives an unreliable impression

This post has been edited by shawnme: Feb 25 2024, 08:45 AM
shawnme
post Apr 2 2024, 03:49 PM

743 posts

I'm not receiving both email & app notifications for Card Payments since few weeks ago while it worked fine prior. No setting changed since.

Able to receive all other notifications, including cashback for card usage. Both app and email.

Any collective solution here?
I just reinstalled the app, currently stuck in cooling-off purgatory.

Speaking to CS was no help absolutely, which I'm surprised that CS quality fell so far from the tree in just a matter of months.
As my niece used to say... "Vomit thunder" trying to explain to CS..
shawnme
post Apr 2 2024, 07:16 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(bokbokchai @ Apr 2 2024, 07:09 PM)
I have the same issue too. Are you using iOS? Mine is iPhone.
Android.

What I don't understand is, how does an error with the app, if any, affects the email notification. Unless maybe, it's the app that sends the email when notification received? No idea.
shawnme
post May 2 2024, 03:11 PM

743 posts

QUOTE(Barricade @ May 2 2024, 02:55 PM)
Yes mine charged 23.04.2024

I'm trying to argue now with GX bank because during signup TNC says 6 months rite? Doesn't make sense they terminate early.
Maybe you can use this, unless I misunderstood.

https://gxbank.my/docs/terms/GX%20Rewards%2...0Apr%202024.pdf

Also, according to their illustration, all of it states "end of day of the 11th of the month."
Meanwhile, above it, it states:

"The cashback will be credited to your GX Account by the end of the
next day from the date of your GrabUnlimited monthly subscription
renewal. In exceptional cases, crediting of the cashback could take
up to two (2) weeks from the date of your GrabUnlimited monthly
subscription renewal."

So if I put both together, the only possibility to get it the next day is where the next day is 11th, otherwise, wait till 11th.

Anyway, unsure.

This post has been edited by shawnme: May 2 2024, 03:20 PM

0.0260sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 10:51 PM