Question on Buying a Sub Sales Property
TSynlowl
Oct 25 2023, 01:37 PM, updated 3y ago
Hi all sifus,
I am in the process of buying a sub sales terrace house got a question on below.
I pay 3% booking fees to agent company.
After signing SPA, the remaining 7% i pay to my own lawyer before transferring to seller lawyer after all due diligence?
Or
Pay directly to seller lawyer?
Agent said should pay to seller lawyer while my own lawyer said pay to them first.
Many thanks for your help.
mini orchard
Oct 25 2023, 02:40 PM
All due diligence to be done by lawyers before signing spa.
Once buyer signed spa, he has to forward the 7% to his own lawyer and the buyer's lawyer will then forward to the seller's lawyer.
This post has been edited by mini orchard: Oct 25 2023, 02:50 PM
DragonReine
Oct 26 2023, 11:37 AM
Pay own lawyer since you engaged your own lawyer to protect your interest. Your lawyer is there to prevent funds from being misused before deal is finalized.
Agent has no clue/only advise what is convenient to the seller (they act on own and seller interest) to close sales.
TSynlowl
Oct 26 2023, 04:10 PM
QUOTE(mini orchard @ Oct 25 2023, 02:40 PM) All due diligence to be done by lawyers before signing spa. Once buyer signed spa, he has to forward the 7% to his own lawyer and the buyer's lawyer will then forward to the seller's lawyer. thanks
TSynlowl
Oct 26 2023, 04:11 PM
QUOTE(DragonReine @ Oct 26 2023, 11:37 AM) Pay own lawyer since you engaged your own lawyer to protect your interest. Your lawyer is there to prevent funds from being misused before deal is finalized. Agent has no clue/only advise what is convenient to the seller (they act on own and seller interest) to close sales. thanks
hanhanhan
Oct 30 2023, 11:28 AM
» Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « QUOTE(ynlowl @ Oct 25 2023, 01:37 PM) Hi all sifus, I am in the process of buying a sub sales terrace house got a question on below. I pay 3% booking fees to agent company. After signing SPA, the remaining 7% i pay to my own lawyer before transferring to seller lawyer after all due diligence? Or Pay directly to seller lawyer? Agent said should pay to seller lawyer while my own lawyer said pay to them first. Many thanks for your help. either way works, but usually pay direct to seller's lawyer as stakeholder until seller signs the SPA u pay to ur lawyer also they will issue it terus to seller's lawyer together with the signed SPA (need wait 2 day if issue by cheque)